Metal Storm logo
Long growls/screams/whatevaucallit

18.07.2011 - 22:39
moe5512
Hi! I have a bit of a problem; when I'm doing long screams, you know, the "yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrr:s" I can't do it for very long, just a few seconds then I need to take a breath again. Why's that? I can do clean sounds for very long so its nothing wrong with my lungs . But anyhow, tips?
28.07.2011 - 22:23
Ankläger
You might be exhaling too quickly (which I think can damage your throat, but I'm no expert)
30.07.2011 - 03:55
BeastOfMetal456
Account deleted
I have the same problem too...
01.08.2011 - 17:41
Ankläger
Do you exhale, or do you push the air out with your chest?
01.08.2011 - 22:47
moe5512
Maybe this sounds stupid but what's the difference?

edit: when I growl a lot of air is coming out of my lungs and I can't figure out how to decrease the amount of air coming out but still keep a good growling sound
04.08.2011 - 18:31
Maybe you're just more of a SINGER than growler. Growling has a very important place in metal music, but (with certain exceptions) I would rather hear somebody sing all day long and not growl once than something with all growls and no singing.
----
I am doom - your lost soul
04.08.2011 - 21:15
moe5512
Maybe I'm both
19.08.2011 - 14:56
Don Martin
le fu-
I don't know how these guys from Cephalotripsy do this shit. Their singer goes like: "Bruuuuuuuuuuu" for maybe more than 10 seconds, I can only do that for maybe 5.
----
What a tackastrophe!
20.08.2011 - 00:35
Metalorgy
Written by Ankläger on 28.07.2011 at 22:23

You might be exhaling too quickly (which I think can damage your throat, but I'm no expert)

Indeed, exhaling too much is not very good for your vocal cords.