Metal Storm logo
Punk Is Dead, But Not Forgotten

Okay, so it's not "dead" per say. But much like many genres of metal, it'll never be the same. My point is, this list will not feature Blink 182. I am by no means an expert in the genre, but this is a list of required listening entry-level punk that even the heaviest of metal fans should find something to enjoy. Links are in the first comments box. Most go to full albums, but some to single songs.

Created by: flightoficarus | 12.02.2015

1. Dead Kennedys - Fresh Fruit for Rotting Vegetables
1980: This album is like a punk rock Jesus sent to turn water into punk. Punk. PUNK! Some of the most eviscerating social commentary out there.
2. Bad Religion - Against the Grain
1990: Fast, hard, political. One of my favorite albums of all time.
3. Bad Religion - No Control
1989: See above. They could be part I and part 2.
4. Ramones - Ramones
1976: It's a timeless classic. Without this album, I have no idea what "punk" would sound like.
5. Bad Religion - The Process of Belief
2002: Huge comeback after what was probably their worst album. Of their post-90's stuff, this is where it's at. Supersonic, Kyoto Now, Evangeline. All amazing.
6. Ramones - Rocket to Russia
1977: Cretin Bop. Hilarious, biting, fun.
7. Black Flag - Damaged
1981: Henry Rollins is a hero of mine for many reasons, but this is where it all begins. Inconsistent, but entertaining.
8. AFI - Shut Your Mouth and Open Your Eyes
1997: Before they turned into a bunch of fashion-rock pussies, AFI put out 3-4 solid albums of grit-your-teeth, balls-to-the-wall punk. This is my personal favorite and their debut.
9. Green Day - Dookie
1994: Similar to above. Now writing ballads for the radio and wearing eye-liner, Green Day used to kill it. One of the last great punk albums.
10. The Offspring - Smash
1994: Bad Habit. 'nuff said. But honestly every track on here is solid. This is in my regular rotation at all times.
11. Alkaline Trio - Goddamnit