Metal Storm logo
Most underrated guitarist?

16.06.2016 - 10:57
Ganondox
This is specifically for guitarists who you find to be consistently less well regarded than you think they really deserve, not ones who are simply unknown. I personally think the most underrated metal guitarist is Disturb's Dan Donegan. Despite what his detractors claim, he's actually a fairly talented guitarist, which is pretty obvious if you hear his work outside of Disturbed such as Vandal. It's especially impressive when you considered that he is entirely self taught. Yes, Disturb's songs generally aren't that hard to play, but he can shred with the best of them, he just chooses not to for Disturb as it just doesn't fit their style and he emphasizes feel over technicality. I really can't think any other band with a guitar style quite like Disturb's, and I seriously consider him to be a competitor for the best riff maker of the 21st Century. After listening to so many far more technical bands, I keep coming back to Disturbed and just keep finding that they just have some REALLY good riffs. Yeah, plenty of really lame riffs as well, but that can be said for every metal band. So, that's what I think, who do you think is severely underrated?
20.06.2016 - 11:30
Overrwatcher
Definitely agreed with Disturbed's guitarist. The opening riff for "Stricken" is stuck in my head for eternity.

The guitarists in the party deathcore band Attila are actually pretty talented. As a whole the band instrumentally is good actually, and Fronz is a very good and super innovative vocalist. It's just that their lyrics have always been so-bad-it's-hilarious, their songwriting, production, and vocals were very weak for their first two albums, and their two latest albums are great jokes that just goes on forever and ever and ever and ever and wonder when it will end because it overstayed its welcome after the third song. The two middle albums Rage and Outlawed are pretty good. Rage was filled with really good riffs.