Metal Storm logo
Writing songs and make an album

10.05.2023 - 11:40
Zenzero
Zenzero
I'd like to share my experience in writing and recording an album. I'll try to be as short as possible. It's not easy to share your experience because many people don't care at all about the process and they judge the final product after listening to it partially or approximatively.

Premise: I am a biologist and I can barely strum the guitar, that's it, so I am not a musician. Oasis are my favourite non metal band, so I can manage to play them and to write similar stuff.

During the last 20 something years I've been writing songs for fun, for myself, in my bedroom. Just acoustic guitar and voice. I can't sing, I am terrible so a friend joined me and we teamed up for a long while. Unluckily he lost the motivation during the years, while I went on as usual.
2-3 years ago I met a guy where I live now (Prague) and since it was something with no commitment he decided to help me finishing the songs. So we got a terrible singer and a bass guitarist and we rehearsed for few months... It didn't work, the guy didn't study the new songs and the singer was quite bad. We were still stuck at 4 songs.
We disbanded the band and my friend (who is from Croatia) involved his brother and his friend so we went to play with them for 2 days without singer. 3 months after we found the singer and we went there again to rehearse with her, two more days. Finally after 2 more months we went (again in Croatia since everyone lived there except me) to record 10 songs plus an instrumental that they improvised on a base I made time ago. Obviously they came to the studio in the evening, after work, when they could.
Well few months after we got the album and I can say I am proud of it, even though many things could have done better.