Buy for
(3 items)

Release date: 1992
Style: Death metal


7.3 | 144 votes


229 have it
17 want it

01. Future Consciousness
02. Pandemonic Outbreak
03. Cthulhu
04. Symphony Of The Dead
05. Beyond Sanctorum
06. Enter The Depths Of Eternal Darkness
07. Illusions Of Life
08. The Way
09. Paths
10. Tyrants Of The Damned [bonus]
11. Cthulhu [Demo Version] [Re-issued 2000 bonus]
12. Future Consciousness [Demo Version] [Re-issued 2000 bonus]
13. Symphony Of The Damned [Demo Version] [Re-issued 2000 bonus]
14. Beyond Sanctorum [Demo Version] [Re-issued 2000 bonus]

Lyrics (10)

Christofer Johnsson - vocals, guitar, bass
Peter Hansson - guitar, keyboards, bass
Oskar Forss - drums
Magnus Eklöv - lead guitar
Anna Granqvist - vocals
Fredrik Lundberg - vocals

Additional info
Recorded at The Montezuma Studio 1991.
Produced by Rex, Christofer and Peter.
Engineered by Rex.
Cover illustration by Kristian Wahlin.
Demon pentagram drawing by Johan Losand.
Photo, art direction and design by Mike Eriksson.

Guest review by

Therion is one of the oldest Swedish death metal bands. Although they have totally changed their sound after 5-6 years their old work should not be underestimated. I actually prefer their older albums.

Beyond Sanctorum is the second full-length by Therion and the first thing that can be noticed when listening to the album is that they have changed their sound a bit. Thrash metal elements are less present than in their debut and there are more melodic death characteristics. It is also important to notice that the songs greatly differ in length, some songs like "Beyond Sanctorum" are shorter than 3 minutes while the longest "The Way" is longer than 10 minutes. With that they proved that they are capable of creating very progressive songs.

published 18.01.2009 | Comments (4)

Found in 1 list
Top lists

Vonpire Vonpire's 1992 Best  | #11
More lists | Create a list! ››

Post comments

Login or register to post here.

Hits total: 3938 | This month: 67