Dark Lunacy - Biography




Dark Lunacy is a "Dramatic Death Metal" band from Parma (Italy). Their genre is the result of different musical concepitions, but all of them oriented towards gothic-decadent atmospheres, always underlined by fast rhythmics and melodic openings, to give a definite identity to the content of the music and the words,being always aware to mix rightly anger and poetry.
The main features of DL is that they use in support a string quartet made by very high level musicians and a mixed three voices choir made by 20 elements.

Born in 1997, only as a project by Mike (lead vocal) and Enomys (guitars), during these years it has progressively grown, exploiting old project left in the drawer for a long time and developing much further than the initial expectation.
In this way, after having auto-produced a mini-cd called "Silent Storm" (1998) and having received a very good response from the public, with the definitive arrival of Baijkal (drum) and Harpad (bass), this project has become a real band.
In the spring of 1999, DL hace produced another mini-cd called "Serenity", made of 4 pieces, in wich a real quartet defines what will be the sound of the band.

In 2000, the band signed a contract with label SELF, with whom they made their first official cd called "Devoid", the album came out for FUEL RECORDS in November 2000.
With the active support of SPIN-GO!, DL appeared in the two months after the release on all the national specialized magazines, with interviews and very good reviews.
Thanks to the two singles "Dolls" and "Forlorn", DL entered in the play-list of many radios and night clubs specialized in Heavy Metal music.

In February 2001, the contract with METAL BLADE arrives, and "Devoid" will be republished and distributed in all Europe. In March "Devoid" has been licensed to Japan, China, South-East Asia, Mexico and all South America.
The 11 pieces of this work represent definitely what DL want to transmit: a desperate scream, that dies in the arms of hope.

In March, the band starts the "Devoid Italian Tour 2001", and in May, the first video "Dolls" has been filmed on MTV.
In December 2001, Harpad left the band for personal freat misfortunes, so Imer replaced him. With the new line-up, Mike (vocal), Enomys (guitar), Baijkal (drum) and Imer (bass) produced a split-cd with Infernal Poetry, that contained 2 songs: "Defaced" and "Die To Reborn" and the video-clip of "Dolls".

In June 2003 DL produced the new album called "Forget-Me-Not" (2003), with 11 new songs of pure Dramatic Death Metal full of pathos, rage and melody.