Arkaik - Biography

This band's profile is 'invisible', meaning that it's much less prominent on the site - either because it's incomplete, or maybe doesn't entirely fit MS format.



Arkaik was formed in 2004 by Chance Strickland (guitars) and Jared Christianson (vocals) with the intention of creating innovative and creative death metal to take extreme music to the next level. After various line-up changes, they met Eric Cohen (bass guitar/backing vocals), who now also contributes to the writing process.

The band later found Craig Peters (lead guitars/backing vocals), who fit the position perfectly by adding various guitar harmonies and his own style to the musical composition. After a rotating door of drummers, they met current drummer Keith Roylance, whose attitude and drumming ability brought the band to a whole new level.

In early 2009 the band released a promo with their current line-up. Just a couple of months later the band signed a 2-album deal with Unique Leader Records. Since then, Arkaik has shared the stage with bands such as Dying Fetus, Decrepit Birth, Necrophagist, Suffocation and much more. In July the band entered SeahorseSound Studios with engineer Samur Khouja to begin recording their debut album Reflections Within Dissonance. The album was then mastered by Stefano Morabito of 16th Cellar Studios. The album consists of 10 tracks that blend brutality, technical fret work, sophisticated lyrics, creative bass lines, memorable grooves, powerful vocals, solos and much more!

Arkaik's debut album, Reflections Within Dissonance, displayed a unique marriage of superior craftsmanship and a forward-thinking promise rarely seen in a band this young. Their sophomore album, Metamorphignition builds on their progressive and adventurous predilections and aims to transcend the boundaries of "Technical Death Metal" even as it revels in the sub-genre's wanton brutality.

The band's founder Jared Christianson (vocals) has pooled an immensely talented core of musicians around the band in its over ten years of progression, including emerging drum phenom Alex Bent (who has already done session work for Decrepit Birth, Rings Of Saturn and Battlecross), bassist Ivan Mungia (Deeds Of Flesh), and lead/rhythm guitarists Miguel Esparza and Greg Paulson.

Having already toured North America supporting the likes of The Black Dahlia Murder in 2011, and Cannibal Corpse in 2012, they have been touring ever since, creating their own enthusiastic fanbase and pushing the genre forward. Now Arkaik has released another crushing onslaught in the form of their newest full-length release Lucid Dawn in late 2015, their third Unique Leader Records release to date. Looking forward with ever increasing determination the band continues to seek out new boundaries of extremity and creativity - and then annihilate them.

(Source: Unique Leader Records + Facebook)