Lynch Mob - Biography

This band's profile is 'invisible', meaning that it's much less prominent on the site - either because it's incomplete, or maybe doesn't entirely fit MS format.



Lynch Mob is an American band featuring former Dokken guitarist George Lynch, who has been the band's only permanent member. The rest of the original band which featured Oni Logan, Anthony Esposito and Mick Brown have come and gone, and in some cases, come back.

Lynch Mob was formed in 1989, from the remains of Lynch's former band, Dokken. The band original line-up also features Dokken's drummer, Mick Brown. The first Lynch Mob album was released in 1990, titled Wicked Sensation, and it is highly regarded as the group's best work.

Many feel that songs such as the title track, "River Of Love," "She's Evil But She's Mine," and "For A Million Years" would have done very well in the 80's hair metal scene. However, with the waning popularity of "hair metal," the album didn't make much of an impact but reached gold status in the United States. Vocalist Oni Logan was fired shortly after the tour, as his life style had negatively impacted his ability to perform.

The next album was the self-titled Lynch Mob (released in 1992), which fared even worse upon its release due to the explosion of grunge. The album sported many great rock anthems such as "Tangled in the Web" and a cover of Queen's "Tie Your Mother Down". Despite attempts to re-unite with Oni Logan, the album features the vocals of new vocalist Robert Mason. Lynch Mob disbanded after the tour for the album and in 1995, Lynch and drummer Mick Brown reunited with Dokken.

In 1998, Lynch was let go from Dokken. Consecutively, Lynch attempted to reform the original Lynch Mob line-up. The band broke-up again after a single writing session. The fruits of this session was a three song demo which ended being released as Syzygy. A Lynch Mob tour of 13 U.S. cities was realised in 1998 featuring vocalist John West, and Anthony Esposito.
Lynch then formed the third incarnation of the group, with all new unknown members taking the music into a rap metal direction, though the sound was entirely distinct from rapcore bands such as Limp Bizkit and Linkin Park. In 1999, Smoke This was released to disappointed fans and critics. A tour followed the album and the group disbanded again.

In 2003, second vocalist Robert Mason, original bassist Anthony Esposito, and Lynch reformed to record modernized Lynch Mob and [band[Dokken[/band] material. Mick Brown stayed with [band[Dokken[/band] and Michael Frowein was hired as the drummer. The new recordings on the album titled REvolution were heavier and faster than the originals. Frowein was replaced by Chas Stumbo (ex-Earshot) for the 2003 REvolution Tour. A live CD/DVD package of the final show of that tour was later released, strangely the audio was from a different performance and often does not match the images.

George Lynch toured Europe in 2006 under his own name and focused on his 'Guitar Dojo' online lessons. In 2007, George and his solo band performed a marathon 26 show/30 day tour, which included a much talked about feature on the Tonight Show with Jay Leno. Lynch also started a new band, Souls Of We.

The popular lineup of Dokken was set to reunite to play Rocklahoma 2008 in Pryor, Oklahoma and tour during the summer, however those plans fell apart. George used this chance to reunite Lynch Mob (with vocalist Oni Logan) to play at Rocklahoma 2008 sans Esposito and Brown. As of January 2010, Oni Logan and George Lynch have tried another incarnation of the Lynch Mob. Releasing Smoke And Mirrors in 2009, featuring Marco Mendoza on bass. A tour followed, with Fred Coury on drums. Drummer Brian Tichy joined Lynch Mob in 2010.

Anthony Esposito plays bass on tour with former Kiss guitarist Ace Frehley and is featured on his 2009 release Anomaly, Mick Brown is still doing shows playing drums with Dokken and Ted Nugent and Robert Mason is currently Warrant's lead singer.

Bassist James Lomenzo joined Lynch Mob in late July 2010, replacing Marco Mendoza. James previously jammed with Lynch Mob drummer Brian Tichy in both Pride & Glory and Slash's Snakepit. Keith St. John replaced Marq Torien on vocals for the last two US dates on the tour.

Dokken drummer Mick Brown reunited with Lynch Mob for the first time in 15 years and is set to do a full US tour in January 2011.

George Lynch stated on Eddie Trunk's radio show that a new Lynch Mob album will be recorded with Oni Logan, Mick Brown, and Jeff Pilson.