The Undivine - Biography




The Undivine was founded in 2005 by original members Juha Pakalen (ex-Steeple City) and Iiro Illman (ex-Thousand Years, Abortification) in Lohja, Finland. Mikko Nevanlahti (Catamenia) joined in on drums, Ville Telen (The Enchained) on bass, and Petri Muukkonen (Midget Fetish, The Enchained) on vocals. In the beginning the band was strongly influenced by the great ones, like Pantera, Sepultura, etc. as well as contemporary metalcore bands like Killswitch Engage.

In 2006 Iiro and Petri took a trip to India. For the time being, the band decide to take a break. A year later, The Undivine started working on new songs, changing their style slightly. The band has since adopted influences from death metal, hardcore and grindcore. Ville was too busy with schooling and his other band, so he was replaced by Dorian Logström. Petri departed soon after, leaving the band without a vocalist. Nevertheless, the band began working on their first CD, with Mikko handling vocals during the recording process.

In 2008, after a long search for a proper vocalist, The Undivine found their singer: Jere Kilpinen (ex-Chaosphere, Cut To Fit). The Metamorphosis single was released on February 15th - recorded, mixed and produced by The Undivine. Dorian was forced to go back to Australia due to an expired visa, so the band asked Ville to rejoin the family. The band then performed a two-gig mini-tour at the south side of Finland.

On January 31st, 2009, the band released the Man-Made Apocalypse EP - mixed and mastered by Tomppa Saarenketo (Profane Omen). Vocals were produced by Jules Näveri (Profane Omen, Enemy Of The Sun). The band performed several gigs on the strength of positive worldwide reviews.

On April 24th, 2010, the band released the Rise to Command EP - engineered, mixed, and mastered by Ilpo Satuli at Windmill Alley Studio. Vocals were produced by Jukka Pihlajaniemi (Ghoul Patrol). More gigs followed, more extensively than before. Jere, Ville and Mixu were then replaced by Jukka Pihlajaniemi (vocals), Ville Riihelä (bass) and Rainer Tuomikanto (drums). The band also performed on the RoadShow Tour with Bonesaw.

2011 brought a spring tour with Kalmisto and The Enchained. Jukka left the band, replaced by Henri Harberg. The band's debut album, Face the Chaos, was finally released in June - recorded and engineered in Kirkniemi Studios by The Undivine, and mixed and mastered by Perttu Kurttila at Seawolf Studios. The cover artwork was created by Mikko Virtanen, which coincided with the launching of the band's official website. The band is currently working on new material.