Rating:
8.2
Drone Throne - Everybody Dies Alone
22 August 2011


01. Intro
02. Black Lung
03. Bud Clot
04. Greens
05. Dead Weight
06. Fatal Rips From The North
07. Stone Dome
08. Contact High
09. Gettin Pitted
10. Last Of The Larva
11. Ghost Smoke
12. Everybody Dies Alone


So it's probably seemed like Metal Storm has become Sludge/Stoner/Doom Storm over the past few months. Well folks, it's all about supply & demand. Stoner & sludge has seen an explosion in their fan base over the past couple years. It's a cyclical thing, more bands = more prevalence in the metal scene = more fans, more fans = more bands. Here's another one for the "above average, not quite great" pile.

To answer your question, no, they don't play drone. If nothing else, Drone Throne should be commended for their creativity. What they play is a mix of punk with sludge doom. Now, punk, generally speaking, is a type of music that puts a large emphasis on unrestrained displays of spunk...er...youthful energy. While a genre like grindcore is a completely logical step, using punk-like song structures and cranking up the speed and intensity, combining punk with doom is a more difficult task without compromising qualities of either genre. Well, Everybody Dies Alone is a supreme example of how to do it right. It's got it's own stripped-down, bare bones energy borrowed from punk, while at the same time being a band whose talents primarily lie in pounding, grimy riffs, a la doom.

It all gets a bit samey by the end, unfortunately. A dozen songs, mostly clocking in at under 3 minutes a piece, you'd think they would have a wider variety to display. Nope. Tempos fluctuate from time to time, but you're in for what is essentially a pretty monotonous ride.

The overall sound is fantastic, even if it gets a bit dry by the end. If you're a sludge fan, there's no reason not to be listening to this, especially considering the band is offering it to you for the fair price of $0.


 



Written on 15.12.2011 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 23  
Users visited: 169  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2011 at 07:31  
Before I break the bank, do these guys sound anything like Rising?
Edmund Fogg - 15.12.2011 at 07:32  
Nice. You sir just made my day. These guys are really good at what they do and your review is just descriptive enough to peek our interest without revealing too much. Well done.
afu - 15.12.2011 at 07:57  
Just checked some out on You Tube. Nice.
J. N. - 15.12.2011 at 09:21  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.12.2011 at 07:31
Before I break the bank, do these guys sound anything like Rising?

TROY, Y U NO FIND OUT YOURSELF?
Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2011 at 09:23  
Written by J. N. on 15.12.2011 at 09:21
TROY, Y U NO FIND OUT YOURSELF?

Mostly laziness to be honest. It sounds semi-interesting but I happened to like Rising's latest quite a bit. If they're in any way similar (aside from both being sludge albums) I'd be willing to take a serious effort to listen to this.
Milena - 15.12.2011 at 10:18  
They're the first ones ever to think of the name Drone Throne? World, I am disappoint.
Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2011 at 10:26  
Written by Milena on 15.12.2011 at 10:18
They're the first ones ever to think of the name Drone Throne? World, I am disappoint.

Electric Wizard came close...
BlueMobius - 15.12.2011 at 14:12  
So are we going to start calling newer stoner/doom/sludge bands "retro," "revivalist," "trendy" and "unoriginal" just like the newer thrash bands?
Boxcar Willy - 15.12.2011 at 14:47  
From what i hear, its a very good album liike doc said.
feel kind of bad for downloading it for $0
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.12.2011 at 15:43  
Flagrant misadvertising. I may check them out anyway.
K†ulu - 15.12.2011 at 15:47  
Cool review. The combination sounds interesting although the usage of the word "monotonous" makes me a bit cautious.
barmyarmy414 - 15.12.2011 at 17:26  
So what is everyones opinion of the album?
barmyarmy414 - 15.12.2011 at 17:35  
They also released a really great 5 song EP in 2008 which is also up for free download on their bandcamp. That one is much more doomy, I recommend checking that one out to
Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2011 at 19:26  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.12.2011 at 15:43
Flagrant misadvertising.

Talking about the band name? Prior to reading the review I thought the same thing... I was like, this isn't Sunn O))). :s
Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2011 at 19:28  
Written by BlueMobius on 15.12.2011 at 14:12
So are we going to start calling newer stoner/doom/sludge bands "retro," "revivalist," "trendy" and "unoriginal" just like the newer thrash bands?

No, because they're building on a sound, not "reviving" it. Maybe in a decade when all the new sludge bands start worshiping sludge pioneers and the old-time sludge bands are still writing good music, then we'll start calling it trendy unoriginal revivalist drivel.
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.12.2011 at 19:33  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.12.2011 at 19:26

Talking about the band name? Prior to reading the review I thought the same thing... I was like, this isn't Sunn O))). :s

Yeah band bame. I did get a bit excited about the prospect of a drone band being reviewed here (seriously, when was the last time that happened? Daniel's Bong review is the only one I can think of this whole year. Damnit Lucas, you need to review again).
Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2011 at 19:35  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.12.2011 at 19:33
Damnit Lucas, you need to review again.

No you.

I like some drone but I don't think I'd be able to write a review for a drone album. I'd be like, uh, this is about 50 minutes of a buzzing sound... but it's cool and I like it, so you should check it out. /review
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.12.2011 at 19:37  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.12.2011 at 19:35

No you.

I like some drone but I don't think I'd be able to write a review for a drone album. I'd be like, uh, this is about 50 minutes of a buzzing sound... but it's cool and I like it, so you should check it out. /review

To be honest it's pretty hard to find new drone, and often when I do it's shit. Bands not understand the subtle art of droning and just sticking a guitar up to an amp and recording the feedback.
Mr. Doctor - 15.12.2011 at 20:33  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.12.2011 at 19:37

Bands not understand the subtle art of droning and just sticking a guitar up to an amp and recording the feedback.


So that's NOT the way to do it? Shit.. I have to start all over again with my pal...
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.12.2011 at 20:34  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.12.2011 at 20:33


So that's NOT the way to do it? Shit.. I have to start all over again with my pal...

If you do it well then layer it in an effective and pleasing manner it's a good way to do it, though you'd probably end up with a noise band rather than a drone one...
Mr. Doctor - 15.12.2011 at 20:39  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.12.2011 at 20:34
though you'd probably end up with a noise band rather than a drone one...


Considering my growing attraction for Noise... I'm not seeing the problem here

PS. The sarcasm was too subtle before, I actually know what you mean
Boxcar Willy - 16.12.2011 at 02:18  
I bought it for $0. I feel bad about it, but i'm cheap.

the album is very good, the songs are very well written.
Edmund Fogg - 19.12.2011 at 04:02  
To all the people feeling bad about buying the album for 0$, You know name your price means you can actually, wait for it ... name your price.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Drone Throne - Everybody Dies Alone 9 24.12.2011 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Otherwise - True Love Never Dies 6.5 12.05.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Savage Messiah - Plague Of Conscience 4.5 23.01.2012 by strade
Reviews I Exist - II: The Broken Passage 4.5 11.02.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Turisas - The Varangian Way 4.5 17.12.2011 by Milena



Hits total: 6029 | This month: 35