Updates - reviews


Reviews
Esoctrilihum - Eternity Of Shaog

I am genuinely having a hard time believing this is a one-man band.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.06.2020 by RaduP | Comments (9)

Reviews
Loviatar - Lightless

I didn't know that I wanted to hear an alt/post/doom metal hybrid until I came across Lightless, but it turns out they go quite well together.

Read more ››
Posted: 31.05.2020 by musclassia | Comments (15)

Reviews
16 - Dream Squasher

Anger, frustration, despair and addiction. 16 (or -(16)- as it's stylized) have been spewing intensely bitter sludge for about three decades. Dream Squasher is no different. If anything it made them more bitter.

Read more ››
Posted: 31.05.2020 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
Calligram - The Eye Is The First Circle

The quest to combine black metal, sludge and/or hardcore to make the most vicious and chaotic sound possible has been an increasingly popular one in the past decade or so. With The Eye Is The First Circle, Calligram serve up a black metal/hardcore hybrid cacophony with an intensity to rival the best of the bunch.

Read more ››
Posted: 31.05.2020 by musclassia | Comments (0)

Reviews
The Funeral Orchestra - Negative Evocation Rites

There are very few funeral doom bands that are so slow and cold that you can actually feel your blood chilling. One of them was The Funeral Orchestra, who, until now, have only released one full length. We've had a lot of releases from The Funeral Orchestra lately, but this one is it. THIS is the The Funeral Orchestra comeback, 17 years in the making.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.05.2020 by RaduP | Comments (6)

Reviews
King Buffalo - Dead Star

Long after Stoned Jesus had declared themselves to be The Mountain, King Buffalo were Longing To Be The Mountain. Dead Star isn't going to elevate King Buffalo to the level of recognition that Stoned Jesus achieved with that song, but it should maintain their upwards momentum within the stoner rock scene.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.05.2020 by musclassia | Comments (6)

Reviews
Dwaal - Gospel Of The Vile

Gospel Of The Vile isn't quite as putrid as the name would imply; however, it's still a punishing, yet rewarding, listen.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.05.2020 by musclassia | Comments (3)

Reviews
Xibalba - Años En Infierno

Xibalba gained some notoriety for realizing that you could blend hardcore and Swedish tinged death metal. They always knew you could sprinkle some doom as well, but this feels like Professor Utonium accidentally spilling "Chemical X" into the cauldron, but it's five huge guys spilling doom.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.05.2020 by RaduP | Comments (4)

Reviews
Wake - Devouring Ruin

Wake may have started as a grindcore band but they have been expanding their sound with every release to the point where, on Devouring Ruin, the grind element is far from being the dominant one on display.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.05.2020 by nikarg | Comments (8)

Reviews
Dopelord - Sign Of The Devil

Poland became quite the hotbed for interesting heavy stoner/psychedelic music in the decade just gone; amongst the leaders of this emerging pack, Dopelord are arguably the most conventional-sounding, and with that comes pros and cons.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.05.2020 by musclassia | Comments (0)

Reviews
Old Man Gloom - Seminar VIII: Light Of Meaning

After the surprise dessert-cum-surprise starter that was Seminar IX: Darkness Of Being, we finally get to taste the main course, Seminar VIII: Light Of Meaning.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.05.2020 by musclassia | Comments (1)

Reviews
Dark Forest - Oak, Ash & Thorn

Three sacred trees in English folklore. The fallen warriors through its history. Iron Maiden meeting Elvenking. Need I say more?

Read more ››
Posted: 23.05.2020 by RaduP | Comments (5)

Reviews
Insect Ark - The Vanishing

Yes, groovy drone albums do exist, thank you very much!

Read more ››
Posted: 22.05.2020 by RaduP | Comments (7)

Reviews
Alestorm - Curse Of The Crystal Coconut

Alestorm is the only band you can trust in 2020, because they're giving you exactly what you don't want: nu metal trap beats.*

Read more ››
Posted: 21.05.2020 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (5)

Reviews
Agodea - Of Stars And Madmen

Melodic death metal is probably the last style I would expect to listen from a Greek band, but never say never.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.05.2020 by nikarg | Comments (5)

Reviews
Umbra Vitae - Shadow Of Life

Listen, I have an important deadline tomorrow, so I'll make this quick. This album is also quick, but what can you expect from a death metal album made by members of Converge, The Red Chord and a bunch of other namedrop bands.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.05.2020 by RaduP | Comments (0)