Updates - reviews


Reviews
Holocaust - Elder Gods

Some bands are destined to remain obscure despite their influential and pioneering sound. In the case of Holocaust, songs of theirs have been covered by the likes of Metallica, Gamma Ray, Six Feet Under, and even the Meat Puppets, yet I am sure that many of you reading this review have never heard of them.

Read more ››
Posted: Today by nikarg | Comments (1)

Reviews
Abyssal - A Beacon In The Husk

In a sea of unoriginal, serviceable but nonetheless great OSDM, bands like Abyssal really know how to stick out.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.08.2019 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
Sacred Reich - Awakening

Another thrash band from the '80s decides to unleash a new album in 2019 after decades of musical drought. It's officially becoming an epidemic and I have to ask myself: is it really necessary? Well, in this case it is.

Read more ››
Posted: 19.08.2019 by nikarg | Comments (7)

Reviews
Sabaton - The Great War

You know what rhymes with "Russia"? PRUSSIA.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.08.2019 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (9)

Reviews
Goregäng - Neon Graves

Goregäng is a duo of audio engineers, Jeramie Kling and Taylor Nordberg, whose CVs include participation in bands like The Absence, Ribspreader, Wombbath, Infernaeon, Venom Inc. and Soilwork. But enough with the bio; Goregäng are here to put a smile on your face and exercise your neck muscles.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.08.2019 by nikarg | Comments (1)

Reviews
The Sombre - Into The Beckoning Wilderness

Sometimes you have to go back in time in order to experiment.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.08.2019 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (4)

Reviews
Tomb Mold - Planetary Clairvoyance

I reviewed a lot of OSDM albums in 2018. For some reason, I decided not to review Tomb Mold's Manor Of Infinite Forms. It got nominated for Best Death Metal Album in our awards. So I guess now it's time to right some wrongs.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.08.2019 by RaduP | Comments (6)

Reviews
Celestial Grave - Secular Flesh

At this point it should come to no surprise that music from Finland evokes sorrow. Such is the case with black metal as well.

Read more ››
Posted: 07.08.2019 by RaduP | Comments (2)

Reviews
Abbath - Outstrider

Black metal's favourite source of memes iconic figure Olve Eikemo, better known as Abbath Doom Occulta, is back with the second album of his project Abbath, in an effort to make this European summer's heat wave a little more bearable.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.08.2019 by nikarg | Comments (6)

Reviews
Diamond Head - The Coffin Train

Oi, Metalstormers! I got a 'surprise of the year' contender right here for ya.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.07.2019 by nikarg | Comments (8)

Reviews
Neoandertals - Neanderthal Parallax

Brute force with intricate thoughts put into it. This two-sided concept is what makes Neoandertals the brilliantly puzzling yet undeniably simple band ready to bash your skull in with a club.

Read more ››
Posted: 28.07.2019 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (3)

Reviews
Torche - Admission

This is a metalgaze record. Alright now hear me out.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.07.2019 by RaduP | Comments (2)

Reviews
Wormwood - Nattarvet

If you have read my review of Ghostlands - Wounds From A Bleeding Earth, you can imagine how quick I was to grab Nattarvet from the stack of promos waiting to be reviewed. Wormwood's second full-length offering is different from their debut that topped my 2017 list of favourites and also won two categories in that year's Metal Storm Awards by a landslide, yet you can easily still tell it is the same band behind the heaps of inspiration and songwriting brilliance of both records.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.07.2019 by nikarg | Comments (4)

Reviews
False - Portent

Three long epics of riff-heavy USBM (and a postlude) from a Gilead Media band. And also look at that cover art. Get on fucking board.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.07.2019 by RaduP | Comments (3)

Reviews
Krypts - Cadaver Circulation

I'm not letting this one slide.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.07.2019 by RaduP | Comments (5)

Reviews
Spirit Adrift - Divided By Darkness

So Spirit Adrift abandoned much of their doom sound in their third album, Divided By Darkness. Was it worth it though?

Read more ››
Posted: 20.07.2019 by nikarg | Comments (1)