Updates - reviews


Reviews
Boris - LφVE & EVφL

Over 20 years and 30 albums in, Boris still manage to impress and mesmerize with new material.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.10.2019 by Apothecary | Comments (2)

Reviews
Car Bomb - Mordial

*pew pew thr thr pew pew hnghhhhh chug chug ugh*

Read more ››
Posted: 15.10.2019 by RaduP | Comments (6)

Reviews
Eternal Storm - Come The Tide

When this got advertised as "Death Metal" on Transcending Obscurity's Bandcamp page, I never expected it to be melodic death metal. Neither did I expect to be so moved by a melodic death metal debut in 2019.

Read more ››
Posted: 15.10.2019 by RaduP | Comments (8)

Reviews
Atlantean Kodex - The Course Of Empire

We all tend to throw in our metal-related conversations the word "epic" way too often and sometimes without enough justification. If you could have a photo next to that word in the dictionary, it would be the cover art of The Course Of Empire.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.10.2019 by nikarg | Comments (6)

Reviews
Netherbird - Into The Vast Uncharted

An accurately self-described formidable force, these serious Swedes have released what is likely the most rounded, intricate extreme metal album of the year.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.10.2019 by Troy Killjoy | Comments (19)

Reviews
Enthroned - Cold Black Suns

Sometimes wars exist only in ourselves.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.10.2019 by Troy Killjoy | Comments (0)

Reviews
Blut Aus Nord - Hallucinogen

Advance statements for Hallucinogen regarding its sound appeared to imply that it would be the start of a considerably new direction for Blut Aus Nord. And so it is.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.10.2019 by Apothecary | Comments (8)

Reviews
Golden Ashes - Gold Are The Ashes Of The Restorer

Given such a singular style of playing and composing, we should start talking about "Mories metal".

Read more ››
Posted: 10.10.2019 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (2)

Reviews
Haunter - Sacramental Death Qualia

Once again, the artwork of Elijah Tamu has been responsible for luring me into another awesome band discovery.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.10.2019 by Apothecary | Comments (9)

Reviews
Gaahls Wyrd - GastiR - Ghosts Invited

The path from Gorgoroth to Gaahls Wyrd is a long and tumultuous one, grandiose and dramatic in scale as if written for TV. Rather than dusting off old skeletons, however, let's instead gather some fresh corpses to bury in our collective closet.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.10.2019 by Troy Killjoy | Comments (2)

Reviews
Gatecreeper - Deserted

I wasn't aware that Arizona was a part of Sweden.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.10.2019 by RaduP | Comments (2)

Reviews
October Tide - In Splendor Below

Fredrik Norrman's pet project is back again with another solid effort. Did October Tide finally release an album worthy of comparison to Rain Without End?

Read more ››
Posted: 06.10.2019 by Troy Killjoy | Comments (5)

Reviews
Weeping Sores - False Confession

Minimal disgusting artwork for some filthy death doom riffs. And a violin.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.10.2019 by RaduP | Comments (2)

Reviews
Leprous - Pitfalls

I'm not entirely sure whether this is a Leprous album or Einar Solberg's first solo record.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.10.2019 by musclassia | Comments (7)

Reviews
Serpent Column - Mirror In Darkness

We've all surely heard of technical death metal by now. But technical black metal? Now there's something you don't hear every day.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.10.2019 by Apothecary | Comments (8)

Reviews
Lice - Woe Betide You

Who knew a Shining-Teitanblood collaboration would sound nothing like either of those bands.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.10.2019 by Troy Killjoy | Comments (3)