Updates - reviews


Reviews
Moonspell - 1755

Moonspell have returned with a concept album sung entirely in Portuguese language and focusing on the massive earthquake that took place in Lisbon in 1755, resulting in a devastating number of human casualties and a city turned to rubble. But you already know all that because the band has made quite an effort to promote these certain traits of their new album and this is called good marketing. The question is if 1755 lives up to the great expectations it created as soon as it was announced.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.11.2017 by nikarg | Comments (8)

Reviews
Elvenking - Secrets Of The Magick Grimoire

All right, I give up; I've noticed you, Elvenking.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.11.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (9)

Reviews
Dreadrealm - The Essence Of Winter

Most of you probably aren't familiar with Dreadrealm, a new atmospheric black metal, one-man band from Estonia, for which the music, lyrics, vocals, instrumentation and production are handled exclusively by Metren Angerjärv. The Essence Of Winter is his project's debut and let me now tell you why you should do yourself a favour and get to know Dreadrealm sooner rather than later.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.11.2017 by nikarg | Comments (41)

Reviews
Steven Wilson - To The Bone

This is not a good album, and not just taken at face value. However, this is a Steven Wilson album. Given that, you could expect me to go on a long-winded argument with a favourable conclusion, praise and a cherry on top. Here's the deal, though. It's just not a good album. For all sorts of reasons. While there's more to it than meets the ear, in the end the pieces just don't fit together.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.11.2017 by Ivor | Comments (11)

Reviews
Cannibal Corpse - Red Before Black

The task of writing an original and attention-grabbing review for a new Cannibal Corpse album is almost as hard as trying to make out the sick lyrics Corpsegrinder pours out. Nearly thirty years into their career, the band's sound evolution makes Motörhead look like the pinnacle of variety and diversity. Red Before Black is, as you might have guessed already, the 14th episode in a predictable series of aural horror.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.11.2017 by nikarg | Comments (12)

Reviews
Sons Of Apollo - Psychotic Symphony

Sons Of Apollo is progressive metal mixed with Americana and retro sounding rock brought to you by insanely accomplished musicians. Read that again, that is what they are all about.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.11.2017 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (4)

Reviews
Almyrkvi - Umbra

Iceland. For a time there were several hints suggesting that this tiny Arctic island of fjords and volcanoes was about to host the next major black metal explosion. Now those hints seem closer to reality than to any sort of word of mouth whispers.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.11.2017 by Apothecary | Comments (3)

Reviews
Wintersun - The Forest Seasons

I can't believe I nearly missed one of the biggest releases of 2017. I totally lost track of time. Here I am, three whole months late, and I'm only just getting to the new Wintersun. Oh, man. How embarrassing, right, guys?

Read more ››
Posted: 30.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (13)

Reviews
Cyhra - Letters To Myself

Cyhra brings Peter Iwers and Jesper Strömblad of In Flames together with erstwhile Amaranthe vocalist Jake E, backed by drummer Alex Landenburg (of many projects, including Mekong Delta) and guitarist Euge Valovirta (formerly of Shining). That's an impressive array of credits. Some might call this a supergroupů perhaps before they've listened to it.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (0)

Reviews
Forefather - Tales From A Cloud​-​Born Land

Tales From A Cloud-Born Land is the Forefather half of the English Steel split released earlier this year, a joint venture with The Meads Of Asphodel. Forefather, the world's premiere (perhaps only?) Anglo-Saxon folk metal band, has been quietly dominating its own little corner of the metal world for a number of years now, and this release, half a split EP it may be, is further proof that no one will ever dethrone them.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (4)

Reviews
Primitive Man - Caustic

Primitive Man - Caustic. The name alone flies in the face of all that is pretentious, and yes, their music does too. Despite that, it's the type of album that leaves you unsure as to whether you're too dumb to understand it, or just dumb enough to try and find a deeper album below the surface.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.10.2017 by Doc Godin | Comments (10)

Reviews
Akercocke - Renaissance In Extremis

Ten long years after Antichrist, the mighty Akercocke are back. This time they have taken off their suits and the band's renaissance has occurred without sacrificing any goats. Female breasts are also absent and there is no sign of Lucifer worship. But fear not, for their admirable inability to deliver a less-than-extraordinary record is intact.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.10.2017 by nikarg | Comments (5)

Reviews
Samael - Hegemony

I don't mind waiting forever for a new album by a band I like. I'd rather wait 10 years than get an album that disappoints. More frequent output may mean decline in quality. Samael certainly did take their time after Lux Mundi. 6 years is the longest we've had to wait between their albums. How does wait time translate into quality? I'm happy to announce that the ratio is more than satisfactory.

Since 1996's seminal Passage, Samael's output has been pretty consistent, with the exception of Above. So don't expect any dramatic switch in musical direction. What you should expect though, is an increase in song quality. It's been hit-and-miss before, but this time every songs hits the bull's eye. The absolutely best one, "Black Supremacy" is so good that I can't really remember when was the last time that Samael sounded so good. Perhaps on Passage? But it would be unfair to point to a single song. What seems to be a solid mass of Samael's trademark sound reveals plenty of layers upon multiple listens. It's hard to believe how much effort and thought was put in every song. On the surface it's Samael's standard fare, but if you look beneath, you discover a lot of subtle elements that elevate this music to the heights Samael haven't reached in a long time.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.10.2017 by Daniell | Comments (11)

Reviews
Yhdarl - Antithesis

Periphrasis: a literary device in which inflated, circumlocutory language is employed in the place of a more succinct explanation purely for the sake of being tortu(r)ously oblique, much in the same way that we have all padded out writing assignments with minimum word counts by abandoning the concept of efficiency.

Drone: that, but music.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (3)

Reviews
Blut Aus Nord - Deus Salutis Meæ

A new Blut Aus Nord album inevitably raises anticipation high among black metal fans. Why is this, exactly?

Read more ››
Posted: 21.10.2017 by Apothecary | Comments (28)

Reviews
Bell Witch - Mirror Reaper

Bell Witch already had a broader emotional span and more colorful sonic palette than most funeral doom bands, but informed by the untimely death of former drummer/vocalist Adrian Guerra last year, Mirror Reaper embodies something even heavier and more personal. The sober, reflective nature of the band's sound feels even more palpable than before. Thrice now they have produced a serious contender for doom album of the year.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.10.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (4)