Updates - reviews


Reviews
Toby Driver - They Are The Shield

If Toby Driver hadn't been the main man of Kayo Dot and Maudlin Of The Well, this piece of music wouldn't be here. There's a certain feeling of pride or delight I feel when I get the opportunity to review a nonmetal album on a metal website, in the same way I feel like talking about metal on websites about other music. It's great seeing people online slowly discovering metal through Deafheaven or Sleep or Burzum. It works the other way around, too.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.09.2018 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
Gama Bomb - Speed Between The Lines

I listen to thrash so I can hear songs about Kurt Russell. That's basically the whole point of the genre, as far as I'm concerned.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.09.2018 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (3)

Reviews
Khanus - Flammarion

Within the realm of extreme metal, it's often black metal that we see take the greatest interest in themes of pre Christian religion and the exploration of more ancient legends and mythologies. But what about death metal?

Read more ››
Posted: 13.09.2018 by Apothecary | Comments (4)

Reviews
Son Of The Morning - Son Of The Morning

Female fronted fuzzed out retro stoner doom - sheesh, at this point the niche genre should get its own category in the MSA's. If that came to pass, the self-titled offering by Iowa quartet Son Of The Morning would be a worthy addition.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.09.2018 by BitterCOld | Comments (1)

Reviews
House Of Atreus - From The Madness Of Ixion

If you want to like Arghoslent but are not yourself a horrible racist, House Of Atreus is the band you have been waiting for.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.09.2018 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (9)

Reviews
Xenward - Xenward

Black metal has always had a strong inclination towards ritualism and the creation of alien atmospheres with its distinct sense of ambiance. But damn, does Xenward know how to nail the aesthetic well.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.09.2018 by Apothecary | Comments (7)

Reviews
Abhorrence - Megalohydrothalassophobic

How on earth do you obtain legendary status if you have only released one demo and one EP almost three decades ago? And then how do you make new music after so many years that sounds so relevant and splendid? Well, think of this as a "hyperobject", a phenomenon that you just can't get your head around, if I may borrow the term coined by philosopher Timothy Morton.

Read more ››
Posted: 07.09.2018 by nikarg | Comments (2)

Reviews
Korpiklaani - Kulkija

"Harmaja" had me excited about the possibility of a middle-aged Korpiklaani album; the morose, acoustic single suggested with its downtrodden sulk that some purer traditional pieces might be found on Kulkija. In part, the album follows through on its foreshadowing, but perhaps not quite enough to convince most folks that this is different from a typical Korpiklaani album.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.09.2018 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (7)

Reviews
Extremity - Coffin Birth

Old-school death metal worship isn't anything new and very often feels like an unnecessary rehash. Sometimes. Sometimes not. Sometimes a supergroup can do it.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.09.2018 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
Manes - Slow Motion Death Sequence

If for some reason you aren't familiar with Manes, you may be familiar with Ulver. Manes also has the Ulver syndrome.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.09.2018 by RaduP | Comments (4)

Reviews
Manii - Sinnets Irrganger

If for some reason you aren't familiar with Manes, you may be familiar with Ulver. Manes also has the Ulver syndrome. But Manii is the cure.

Read more ››
Posted: 02.09.2018 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
Alice In Chains - Rainier Fog

Nothing Alice In Chains has released or will release after their reunion will come close to being as good as their pre-breakup stuff. Nobody expects a new Alice In Chains album to hold a candle to Dirt. Now that we got that out of the way, let's try to look at Rainier Fog through its own merits.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.09.2018 by RaduP | Comments (19)

Reviews
P.H.O.B.O.S. - Phlogiston Catharsis

A lot of the metal bands out there who like to fancy themselves as the heaviest of the heavies really ought to sit down and listen to some P.H.O.B.O.S..

Read more ››
Posted: 01.09.2018 by Apothecary | Comments (8)

Reviews
U.D.O. - Steelfactory

U.D.O. are back with their sixteenth studio album, Steelfactory, and it comes just after Udo Dirkschneider's worldwide tour under the name Dirkschneider, in which this heavy metal legend performed his Accept material for the last time. This chapter is supposed to be closed for good now and we have new music from U.D.O. to listen to. But does someone ever close one of the most successful chapters in his career?

Read more ››
Posted: 28.08.2018 by nikarg | Comments (3)

Reviews
Parius - The Eldritch Realm

Are you ready to get spooked?

Read more ››
Posted: 26.08.2018 by RaduP | Comments (4)

Reviews
Spaceslug - Eye The Tide

A great disturbance in the cosmic dimensions as molluscan beings of great power have been invading earth-realm. First came Slugdge, born of slime, but not so late after that came another, its arch-nemesis. The being is, of course, Spaceslug.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.08.2018 by RaduP | Comments (4)