Updates - reviews


Reviews
Decline Of The I - Johannes

I spent a lot of time pondering the intricacies of post-black metal in my review of Kevel's Mutatis Mutandis last year. Of the three possible definitions I put forward then, Decline Of The I's Johannes falls squarely into the third category, and what a great and unique fusion of post-metal and black metal it is.

Read more ››
Posted: Today by musclassia | Comments (3)

Reviews
Lake Of Tears - Ominous

The only constant is change.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.04.2021 by nikarg | Comments (5)

Reviews
Alice Cooper - Detroit Stories

Ever in search of a change of vestments, Alice Cooper dives back into a long-dead world for an album that threatens to exchange personality for nostalgia.

Read more ››
Posted: 12.04.2021 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (0)

Reviews
Blaze Bayley - War Within Me

An enjoyable journey in the middle lane.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.04.2021 by omne metallum | Comments (3)

Reviews
Fuoco Fatuo - Obsidian Katabasis

You funeral doom should be either an atmosphere of desolation or an atmosphere of death. Fuoco Fatuo go for the latter.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.04.2021 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
Devil Sold His Soul - Loss

By going through loss, Devil Sold His Soul seem to have found themselves again.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.04.2021 by musclassia | Comments (1)

Reviews
Nightfall - At Night We Prey

This right here is the melodic death metal that I prefer. The one that embraces melody without sailing the seas of cheese. The one that doesn't sound like power metal if you remove the growls. This is Nightfall.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.04.2021 by nikarg | Comments (5)

Reviews
Soothsayer - Echoes Of The Earth

That glowing album artwork promises an incendiary listening experience, and Echoes Of The Earth delivers.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.04.2021 by musclassia | Comments (0)

Reviews
Crowhurst - Harsh Metal

The title ain't kidding. This is the harsh noise take on death metal.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.04.2021 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
Kanonenfieber - Menschenmühle

Kanonenfieber's Menschenmühle was recommended to me by the German minesweeper of Metal Storm. Only the mines he is sweeping are fantastic albums of the underground that he brings to the attention of quality extreme metal-hungry metalheads like those of you reading this review.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.04.2021 by nikarg | Comments (8)

Reviews
Lucid Planet - Lucid Planet II

The clear breakout hit of the 2020 Metal Storm Awards, what's the deal with Lucid Planet II?

Read more ››
Posted: 04.04.2021 by musclassia | Comments (3)

Reviews
Moanaa - Embers

It's been a while in the making, but one of Poland's most promising post-metal acts finally tackles their difficult third album.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.04.2021 by musclassia | Comments (4)

Reviews
Evanescence - The Bitter Truth

Why does the cover art give me Marshmello vibes?

Read more ››
Posted: 03.04.2021 by omne metallum | Comments (10)

Reviews
Warrior Path - The Mad King

Bombastic, cheesy, and energetic. What more could you possibly want?

Read more ››
Posted: 03.04.2021 by tominator | Comments (6)

Reviews
The Beast Of Nod - Multiversal

How many bands do you know that have their own encyclopedias for their lore?

Read more ››
Posted: 02.04.2021 by RaduP | Comments (3)

Reviews
Sanguisugabogg - Tortured Whole

It's the funny brutal death metal band!

Read more ››
Posted: 02.04.2021 by RaduP | Comments (1)