Updates - reviews


Reviews
Reido - Anātman

After 8 years of radio silence, Reido have finally returned, ready to destroy the hopes and ears of many a listener with their crushing brand of grimy funeral doom.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.12.2019 by Troy Killjoy | Comments (3)

Reviews
Alcest - Spiritual Instinct

If I could make a painting of Alcest's music, it would be rays of light finding their way through the branches of dark green cypress trees (you know, the ones that like cemeteries). The amount of light shining through and the thickness of the trees' branches both vary from album to album and if you were afraid that the band's signing to a big label would make the light too bright and blinding for you, fear not; Spiritual Instinct is not Shelter, even though it wouldn't be bad at all if it actually was.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.12.2019 by nikarg | Comments (3)

Reviews
Fit For An Autopsy - The Sea Of Tragic Beasts

In my review of Shadow Of Intent's Melancholy, I called myself a hypocrite for complaining that the most popular deathcore release of the year was a cheesy symphonic one, while it also being the only one that I review. So fuck it, I'm reviewing another one. And you know what, I like it more than Melancholy.

Read more ››
Posted: 05.12.2019 by RaduP | Comments (5)

Reviews
Kull - Exile

The legacy of Bal-Sagoth lives on! Thirteen years ago the eccentric British barbarians released their final chapter The Chthonic Chronicles and then faded into obscurity as the band's future became uncertain. While naming Kull the successor to Bal-Sagoth is a logical conclusion, this new project essentially feels like the continuation of Bal-Sagoth as four of the five members of the original band's last line-up bring their signature sound to Kull.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.12.2019 by Baz Anderson | Comments (2)

Reviews
Bölzer - Lese Majesty

Lese Majesty features exactly the type of songwriting I was hoping Bölzer would pursue after Hero.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.12.2019 by Apothecary | Comments (4)

Reviews
Takafumi Matsubara - Strange, Beautiful And Fast

Rarely do you find an album whose title perfectly describes it. Rarely is that album a grindcore one with performances from members of Gridlink, Full Of Hell, Phobia, Maruta, Kill The Client, Brutal Truth, Wormrot, Khanate and Organ Dealer among others.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.12.2019 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
Capilla Ardiente - The Siege

Doom metal is often plagued by misconceptions regarding its pacing and atmosphere, as if speed and aggression are completely foreign and unwelcome characteristics. Enter Chilean outfit Capilla Ardiente, who are here to challenge preconceived notions of what makes doom, doom.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.12.2019 by Troy Killjoy | Comments (8)

Reviews
Shadow Of Intent - Melancholy

Out of all the deathcore releases this year, of course it's the epic bombastic cheesy symphonic one that gets all the attention. And what a hypocrite am I to complain, considering that out of all of those, I'm also only reviewing this one.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.11.2019 by RaduP | Comments (2)

Reviews
Mortem (NOR) - Ravnsvart

Before CDs, mp3s and streaming, there were cassettes. And before Arcturus there was Mortem (NOR). The founding members of both bands, Marius Vold and Steinar Sverd Johnsen, along with Hellhammer and newly recruited bassist Tor Stavenes of 1349 fame decided to resurrect Mortem (NOR) and add another comeback album to the year that can safely be called 'the year of comeback albums'.

Read more ››
Posted: 28.11.2019 by nikarg | Comments (2)

Reviews
The Offering - Home

What would it sound like if Rob Halford fronted a nu metal band that didn't suck?

Read more ››
Posted: 27.11.2019 by RaduP | Comments (5)

Reviews
The Great Old Ones - Cosmicism

Raise those tentacles high and sing to the Outer Gods. The hottest Lovecraft nerds in the French metal scene are back in town.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.11.2019 by Apothecary | Comments (12)

Reviews
Cattle Decapitation - Death Atlas

How much is too much of a good thing? Travis Ryan is on a quest to find out.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.11.2019 by musclassia | Comments (7)

Reviews
Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Covenant

Goth witches, female fronted doom and ex-Ephel Duath members. Count me in!

Read more ››
Posted: 25.11.2019 by RaduP | Comments (4)

Reviews
Cloud Rat - Do Not Let Me Off The Cliff

*Spinning in my desk chair in slow motion*

Read more ››
Posted: 24.11.2019 by Ilham | Comments (5)

Reviews
WRVTH - No Rising Sun

It really sucks when you decide not to review an album, but afterwards you find out that it would be the band's last. It happened with Call Of The Void. I'm not letting it happen with WRVTH.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.11.2019 by RaduP | Comments (1)

Reviews
Have A Nice Life - Sea Of Worry

Dan and Tim, now adults with adult problems, are reunited by fate once again. And things aren't a whole lot better.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.11.2019 by RaduP | Comments (5)