Reviews
Reasons Behind - The Alpha Memory

Reasons Behind waste no time in undertaking an ambitious concept album with their debut, The Alpha Memory. Guitar-driven symphonic metal that is full of exuberant keyboard and piano melodies and plenty of unique and memorable vocal passages, Reasons Behind give the listener an emotional journey into the mind of a woman living with one of the greatest conditions of the mind, that of Alzheimer's.

Read more ››
Posted: 20.12.2014 by Jason W. | Comments (1)

Reviews
Sedna - Sedna

In need of an album to prove to all the Gorgoroth and "one trve Mayhem" worshipers that black metal today is anything but confined to Satanic and dark themes? Sedna have got you covered.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.12.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (2)

Reviews
Ghost Brigade - IV - One With The Storm

For three records the Finnish band Ghost Brigade have provided a unique example of melodic death metal progression. Basing their studio efforts well beyond generic limits and engaging the structures and tones of post-metal, they continue to issue their original and outlying style in IV: One With The Storm, but to a similar result as any of their prior releases.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.12.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (6)

Reviews
Kolony - Sledge

Have you ever listened to one of those albums where it's quite clear one member of the band gives significantly less shits than everyone else around him/her? That's Kolony's Sledge in a nutshell.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.12.2014 by Doc Godin | Comments (0)

Reviews
Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

Staving off doubts given their frequency of line-up changes, Mors Principium Est consistently prove themselves to be a vital name in melodic death metal. Not for reasons of clear originality of style, but vital for their shared vitality, a remarkable feat considering the rate at which their rhythm guitars switch hands.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.12.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (9)

Reviews
Faithful Darkness - Archgod

It's with a restrictive rigidity that Faithful Darkness deliver in Archgod. For a band that would seize upon the frenetic kinetics of thrash in order to differentiate their position within melodic death metal, fixed tempos and a generic construct prove pervasive and limiting.

Read more ››
Posted: 17.12.2014 by R'Vannith | Comments (2)

Reviews
Machine Head - Bloodstone & Diamonds

Metal fans can be hypocritical sometimes.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.12.2014 by Ilham | Comments (34)

Reviews
Downfall Of Gaia - Aeon Unveils The Thrones Of Decay

Downfall Of Gaia are a really hard band to place in one specific genre. Their second full-length album, Aeon Unveils The Thrones Of Decay, carries on the experimentation they dabbled with on their debut LP Suffocating In The Swarm Of Cranes. Dissonant black metal, post metal, doom metal, and sludgy, hardcore elements pervade both albums but where their debut was a bit raw, this new LP has been refined, re-tooled, and re-focused to take advantage of the band's amazing talents and superb originality.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.12.2014 by tea[m]ster | Comments (3)

Reviews
Major Parkinson - Twilight Cinema

As curious as it is, one of my favourite albums this year was released quite early at the beginning of the year. This stellar album blew me away when I first heard it and it has continued to amaze me throughout the year. I might even say, Twilight Cinema has already stood the test of time. It has definitely survived the initial round of childish excitement. Most importantly, however, each time I listen to it I'm still awed by the detailed theatrical expressiveness and beauty of this album.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.12.2014 by Ivor | Comments (5)

Reviews
Nightingale - Retribution

A new Nightingale album has taken a long time to see daylight. To me it's at least 3-4 years overdue. Ever since Swanö hinted at it being in the works I've been impatiently waiting for a release date. As days, weeks, months and years went by, I started filing the scarce news of its progress under speculative fiction and fantasy. I was slowly starting to think of it as a vapourtune.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.12.2014 by Ivor | Comments (8)

Reviews
N.K.V.D. - Hakmarrja

For someone as lazy as I am, I love when reviews write themselves. So without any delay I'll start with a simple "What the fuck happened?"

Seriously, what happened? N.K.V.D.'s Diktatura EP gave a promise of great things to come and then some. Later on Vlast came along and it was, well… A blast. Yeah, not original but at least I don't need to. Vlast was so much in your face than even a pornstar would think it was too much. Hakmarrja on the other hand just drags on and on with songs that should just be intros. The tempo and structure of the songs barely change throughout the album. We went from unforgiving war to something inoffensive and monotonous like Battleship. Scratch that… At least that game involves violence since there's always a cheating asshole that gets rightfully beat up (fuck you, cousin).

Read more ››
Posted: 13.12.2014 by Mr. Doctor | Comments (3)

Reviews
Darkspace - Dark Space III I

So, one of the biggest ambient black metal bands released their new album this year. Time to lose some words on that. Darkspace from Switzerland continue their journey through the dark space (no pun intended as it's the actual name of their albums) with Dark Space III I. And not only that but even the songs are simply called "Dark 4.18", "Dark 4.19" and "Dark 4.20". Looks like the band is quite out of ideas, doesn't it? However, the important point is the music, so let's have a closer look at that.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.12.2014 by Windrider | Comments (13)

Reviews
Hierophant - Peste

Water torture, CIA-style.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.12.2014 by Ilham | Comments (8)

Reviews
Sxuperion - Through Cosmic Corridors

The death metal genre has, quite thankfully, been seeing a notable spike in creativity in recent years. With the likes of Tribulation, Morbus Chron, and even Horrendous this year, a good number of bands seem to now be hell bent on updating the old school sound with their own original twists. Naturally, being the intense fan I am for solo work, I asked myself what the one man response to this growing trend would be. If you were wondering as well, question no longer, for Sxuperion is your answer.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.12.2014 by Apothecary | Comments (25)

Reviews
Job For A Cowboy - Sun Eater

I will admit that I was never a Job For A Cowboy fan. They were OK but I found them to be too noisy at times, too faceless at others and, very often, just average. Just another modern death metal band, for the most part.

And then they released Sun Eater.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.12.2014 by deadone | Comments (46)

Reviews
Axenstar - Where Dreams Are Forgotten

Axenstar is one of those solid power metal bands that have established themselves firmly in the genre. They have many followers and some people consider Axenstar favorites, yet they are not quite one of the giants. It's albums like this, however, that assures fans they're on the right track.

What makes these Swedes so awesome is how their music is grand and epic without having to be symphonic in some obligatory way. With very minor keyboards, Axenstar manages to create a full power metal sound. It's not the hard rock- or thrash-influenced result that is most non-symphonic power metal. They just don't need any assistance to make something great. As usual, they topped it off with their kick-ass vocalist. Yes, founding member and bassist Magnus Winterwild is an example of a quintessential power metal voice: one who takes solid music and makes it even better.

Read more ››
Posted: 08.12.2014 by Susan | Comments (2)

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 ... 6