Updates - reviews


Reviews
Set And Setting - Reflectionless

Does reviewing a band from your home state mean that your review will probably contain some bias? I'd like to think not, but it's probably inevitable. Let's hop to it, then.

Read more ››
Posted: 18.02.2017 by Apothecary | Comments (2)

Reviews
Plasmodium - Entheognosis

The early months of a new year are an opportunity not only to discover new music from that year, but to go back to the previous year and unearth albums you overlooked as well. Most of what you find are typically average to mediocre releases, but every now and then, through digging, you find a few gems. Gems like Plasmodium.

Read more ››
Posted: 14.02.2017 by Apothecary | Comments (3)

Reviews
Santo Rostro - The Healer

So I've really enjoyed Santo Rostro's first two efforts. With their third offering, The Healer, they really got their shit together and created an album that batters their prior offerings. It's like the difference between a 10yo and a 12yo scotch. Whatever characteristics that make that 10-year-old Islay Malt good only improve with the added couple years.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.02.2017 by BitterCOld | Comments (0)

Reviews
Emptiness - Not For Music

In 2014, the Belgians in Emptiness threw out Nothing But The Whole, a thundering album of black and death metal that combined the two quite seamlessly, with a delicious sense of atmosphere to boot. Being almost universally praised in underground metal circles, how exactly does the band follow up such a powerhouse release? Easy: by going for something different.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.01.2017 by Apothecary | Comments (22)

Reviews
Avenged Sevenfold - The Stage

I have never liked Avenged Sevenfold. I had some very unkind things to say about their last album, Metallica Rulez!!, and fondly remember deriding my younger brother for purchasing Nightmare when it came out. I was in middle school when the band was really in its stride, and I strongly disliked them then; nowadays when I listen to old Avenged Sevenfold I am reminded of middle school, and I feel terrible. I think, therefore, that my endorsement might carry a little more weight, as A7x had to pull off something quite impressive to win me over.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.01.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (7)

Reviews
Firewind - Immortals

Spartaaaa!! After a five-year hiatus, The Greek powerhouse that is Firewind is back in full force with a power metal concept album about the Battle of Thermopylae and Salamis in 480 BC during the second Persian invasion of Greece. Look it up, it's fascinating and a few movies were made about it.

Read more ››
Posted: 15.01.2017 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (0)

Reviews
Eye Of Solitude - Cenotaph

You like being miserable? Then get the heck on over here, you miserable sack of misery. It's groveling time.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.01.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (2)

Reviews
Mors Principium Est - Embers Of A Dying World

Mors Principium Est is at the core a Gothenburg metal band from Finland with a duo of killer albums released in the early 2000s, Inhumanity and The Unborn. Yet their front man Andy Gillion is from the UK. He took over songwriting and guitar duties when the band was on the brink of being dissolved in 2011. He carried on the legacy with Ville Viljanen [vocals], Mikko Sipola [drums] and Teemu Heinola [bass]. This Mors Principium Est v2.0 has been thriving under his astute vision and vista.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.01.2017 by Demonic Tutor | Comments (9)

Reviews
Jambinai - A Hermitage

Wielding an array of Korean folk instruments in addition to a standard metal four-piece setup, Jambinai already stands out as an unusual sight. Combine that with uncommon songwriting intuition and you've got a wondrous, expansive, and engaging album the likes of which rarely stumble across your path.

Read more ››
Posted: 06.01.2017 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (7)

Reviews
Gateway To Selfdestruction - Death, My Salvation

I knew I made a good decision when I picked this up from Northern Silence Productions and a bad decision when I slept on it for three months. On the surface, and, indeed, to a great extent beneath that, Gateway To Selfdestruction is another friendly neighborhood black metal band, but this debut release executes its mission with such creativity and spirit that it should not be overlooked.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.12.2016 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (4)

Reviews
Pylar - Pyedra

Quick everybody! It's "Guess The Style By The Album Artwork" time! Here we seem to have a cover depicting a giant rock with a portion missing, the drawing style of which could easily be misinterpreted as a male genitalia by our more imaginative friends, or a cake by the more gluttonous. Just what are we dealing with here?

Read more ››
Posted: 24.12.2016 by Apothecary | Comments (10)

Reviews
Bölzer - Hero

If there's one release from 2016 that has generated the most mixed reaction in me, it would probably have to be Bölzer's Hero.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.12.2016 by Apothecary | Comments (4)