Updates - reviews


Reviews
Satan - Cruel Magic

Innovation is overrated.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.11.2018 by nikarg | Comments (7)

Reviews
Servants Of The Apocalyptic Goat Rave - Queen Of Darkness

Merging extreme metal with more mainstream genres of music, at times making it more accessible and even danceable, is a strange venture one's inner cynic would probably assume wouldn't be overly inclined to success. But that certainly doesn't stop Servants Of The Apocalyptic Goat Rave from trying, now does it?

Read more ››
Posted: 12.11.2018 by Apothecary | Comments (16)

Reviews
Anaal Nathrakh - A New Kind Of Horror

Anaal Nathrakh's A New-ish Kind Of Horror comes from the same family as The Whole Of The Law and Desideratum: the traditional cesspit of black metal, grindcore, and industrial metal broken up by clean choruses, now littered with electronics, groove, and other increasingly disparate elements. The duo hasn't yet gone full-bore into this more avant-garde side yet, but the metal side remains wicked.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.11.2018 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (7)

Reviews
Outer Heaven - Realms Of Eternal Decay

Yes, this is death metal. Filthy death metal.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.11.2018 by RaduP | Comments (2)

Reviews
Mare - Ebony Tower

What was the longest time a band waited to release its debut full-length? And I mean active time, none of that break-up and reunion thing? 8 years? 10? What about 12? Well Mare have been cooking Ebony Tower for 15 fucking years.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.11.2018 by RaduP | Comments (8)

Reviews
Emma Ruth Rundle - On Dark Horses

You liked Marriages? That's cool. You know Marriages is Emma Ruth Rundle's band, right?

Read more ››
Posted: 10.11.2018 by RaduP | Comments (18)

Reviews
Daughters - You Won't Get What You Want

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. Ok, since I had to fail No-Nut November to relisten to this album for this review, I might as well take y'all with me.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.11.2018 by RaduP | Comments (16)

Reviews
A Forest Of Stars - Grave Mounds And Grave Mistakes

Two things are unfair about Grave Mounds And Grave Mistakes: how high the bar was set by previous records, and how unfair it is for other bands that they have to compete with A Forest Of Stars.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.11.2018 by RaduP | Comments (5)

Reviews
Dee Snider - For The Love Of Metal

This is one of the biggest surprises this year not just for me, but also for Dee Snider himself. "This is a really incredibly exciting album that I did not expect to make, especially at this point in my life", Dee said about For The Love Of Metal. And my guess is that no one expected him to deliver a triumphant piece of metal music such as this either.

Read more ››
Posted: 31.10.2018 by nikarg | Comments (10)

Reviews
Carpe Noctem - Vitrun

Today's black metal scene in Iceland is a bit of a mixed bag, featuring both bands with very derivative songwriting as well as those who charge daringly into more unconventional territory. And at times bands like Carpe Noctem emerge, who cannot easily be classed in either category.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.10.2018 by Apothecary | Comments (3)

Reviews
Haken - Vector

Haken have became a household name in progressive metal ever since their breakout album The Mountain, and Affinity proved their willingness to grow beyond being Dream Theater copycats. Where to now?

Read more ››
Posted: 24.10.2018 by RaduP | Comments (10)

Reviews
Horrendous - Idol

A lot of death metal is either ultra-polished technical wankery or derivative old-school worship. And then there's Horrendous, which is a bit of both but without the downsides.

Read more ››
Posted: 24.10.2018 by RaduP | Comments (5)

Reviews
Lurk - Fringe

Doom is good. Doom mixed with sludge is better.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.10.2018 by nikarg | Comments (5)

Reviews
Author & Punisher - Beastland

Exploring industrial metal more over the past year, it sometimes feels as though the bleaker, more painful side of the genre was something that was seen more so in its early history than anything else. While not nonexistent, few bands today seem to really tap into the grittier and more agonizing approach that the style can really conjure. Author & Punisher, however, is certainly an exception to that trend.

Read more ››
Posted: 15.10.2018 by Apothecary | Comments (4)

Reviews
Corpselium - Storm Of Shadows

This album from Corpselium is quite likely going to end up being one of the most overlooked in the metal world for 2018. But I'll be damned if it isn't one most deserving of attention.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.10.2018 by Apothecary | Comments (6)

Reviews
Seventh Wonder - Tiara

In 2008, Seventh Wonder released Mercy Falls, a near-perfect concept album seemingly written and performed by demigods, including the coolest prog singer the world had discovered since Roy Khan in Conception. Just like Roy Khan before him, Tommy Karevik eventually joined Kamelot, and life happened to the other members, so the break between their Mercy Falls follow-up The Great Escape and Tiara was eight years long. That's a long time to spend waiting for an album - you can ask me, I got into the band in 2009.

Read more ››
Posted: 11.10.2018 by Milena | Comments (6)