Updates - reviews


Reviews
Wormhole - The Weakest Among Us

The technical, brutal death metal style may not have reached its apex as of yet, but Wormhole couldn't care less.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.02.2020 by Troy Killjoy | Comments (0)

Reviews
Yoth Iria - Under His Sway

Yoth Iria features in its ranks a very big and very important part of the Hellenic black metal history, and they take their name after the lyrics of Rotting Christ's song "The Fourth Knight Of Revelation" from their debut, Thy Mighty Contract. You can guess where I am going with this, can't you?

Read more ››
Posted: 20.02.2020 by nikarg | Comments (6)

Reviews
Sylosis - Cycle Of Suffering

Do the Germans have a word for "very glad this exists but also a bit disappointed"?

Read more ››
Posted: 19.02.2020 by musclassia | Comments (2)

Reviews
Sons Of A Wanted Man - Kenoma

Most bands would choose the sparse shortest track as their opener and the monumental longest track as their closer. Sons Of A Wanted Man do the exact opposite.

Read more ››
Posted: 17.02.2020 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
Helleborus - Saprophytic Divinations

If your second wave melodic black metal itch is in need of scratching, you could do a lot worse than listen to this.

Read more ››
Posted: 16.02.2020 by Troy Killjoy | Comments (0)

Reviews
Envy - The Fallen Crimson

Do you still believe the government-fed lie that blackgaze came from black metal and shoegaze instead of from Japanese screamo?

Read more ››
Posted: 13.02.2020 by RaduP | Comments (3)

Reviews
Dawn Of Solace - Waves

Tuomas Saukkonen shocked the world seven years ago when he disbanded all of his projects to focus solely on Wolfheart. But somehow we now have a new Dawn Of Solace, so that was a fucking lie.

Read more ››
Posted: 13.02.2020 by RaduP | Comments (11)

Reviews
Psychotic Waltz - The God-Shaped Void

The reunion epidemic of bands inactive for decades that has been sweeping over metal music has not left the progressive genre untouched. 2018 was the year of Heir Apparent's comeback, 2019 marked Conception's return, and 2020 signifies the resurrection of Psychotic Waltz.

With their original line-up no less!

Read more ››
Posted: 11.02.2020 by nikarg | Comments (16)

Reviews
Obsidian Tongue - Volume III

Man, it's really been a while since I heard an atmospheric black metal album with so much versatility.

Read more ››
Posted: 10.02.2020 by RaduP | Comments (3)

Reviews
Rorcal - Muladona

Can I get away with sliding one last 2019 review onto the home page before focusing on 2020 albums? Yes, I think I just might have to.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.02.2020 by Apothecary | Comments (5)

Reviews
Thy Catafalque - Naiv

I've been waiting a long time for a Thy Catafalque album to make me feel this level of joy.

Read more ››
Posted: 09.02.2020 by musclassia | Comments (14)

Reviews
Adrian Tăbăcaru - Lucifer - A Rock Opera

I often recommend people to listen to an album. But how often do I recommend that you watch an album?

Read more ››
Posted: 08.02.2020 by RaduP | Comments (7)

Reviews
Sepultura - Quadra

Have you realized that Derrick Green has been a member of Sepultura twice as long as Max? I know, it's preposterous.

Read more ››
Posted: 04.02.2020 by nikarg | Comments (37)

Reviews
Marko Hietala - Pyre Of The Black Heart

Nightwish bassist/vocalist Marko Hietala is the one artist I always knew I needed a solo album from.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.02.2020 by RaduP | Comments (2)

Reviews
Kirk Windstein - Dream In Motion

Crowbar frontman Kirk Windstein is the one artist I never knew I needed a solo album from.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.02.2020 by RaduP | Comments (10)

Reviews
Zalmoxis - A Nocturnal Emanation

When I first saw the album cover for A Nocturnal Emanation about 3 weeks ago, something about the misty mountain dragon and crescent moon on it led me to suspect that it was going to end up being one hell of a majestic listening experience. My hypothesis turned out to be correct.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.02.2020 by Apothecary | Comments (8)