Updates - reviews


Reviews
Katavasia - Magnus Venator

Katavasia is a supergroup whose younger members use their instruments to revive the style of music that their eldest member helped shape and evolve back in the '90s.

Read more ››
Posted: 01.10.2020 by nikarg | Comments (5)

Reviews
Amaranthe - Manifest

At this point, Amaranthe have been around long enough for most users on this or any metal site to have had the opportunity to encounter them and develop one of what I imagine are the only two possible opinions to have about them; I'm not sure this review will particularly satisfy either group.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.09.2020 by musclassia | Comments (3)

Reviews
Rezn - Chaotic Divine

Either because the genre has just been pretty weak in 2020 or because I simply haven't been paying attention, I haven't heard many doom or stoner metal releases this year that have really knocked my socks off. But that, of course, was before Rezn entered the picture with Chaotic Divine.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.09.2020 by Apothecary | Comments (2)

Reviews
Incantation - Sect Of Vile Divinities

After 30 years of existence, John McEntee refuses to let Incantation go quietly into that good night.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.09.2020 by Troy Killjoy | Comments (10)

Reviews
Enslaved - Utgard

Given how explorative their career had been from their beginning up until 2010's iconic Axioma Ethica Odini, Enslaved's last few albums were surprisingly similar stylistically. Utgard is here to change that.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.09.2020 by musclassia | Comments (12)

Reviews
Anna Von Hausswolff - All Thoughts Fly

*Ominous organ starts playing*

Read more ››
Posted: 29.09.2020 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
Fawn Limbs - Sleeper Vessels

I have long* criticized Frontierer albums for being too long for how brutal they are. So they kinda took Fawn Limbs under their wing to condense it to 28 minutes.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.09.2020 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
Cytotoxin - Nuklearth

Leave it to the Germans to operate at peak efficiency.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.09.2020 by Troy Killjoy | Comments (7)

Reviews
Amiensus - Abreaction

Amiensus started off being labelled as a meloblack band without really playing all that much black metal. They've moved increasingly towards black metal as their career has progressed, but the further that they walk down the road, the more I wonder how much this journey is benefitting them.

Read more ››
Posted: 28.09.2020 by musclassia | Comments (0)

Reviews
Emotion Killer - Tragic Life In A Modern World

Every now and then, I click through my promos on a whim, because I am stupid and unaware that I already have too much content I am supposed to be publishing in addition to my editorial duties. I enjoyed the first Emotion Killer song that popped up in front of me, but when I investigated a second, and then a third, I realized I was getting six different sounds in three different songs.

Read more ››
Posted: 28.09.2020 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (0)

Reviews
Disavowed - Revocation Of The Fallen

There will always be room for healthy debate about whether maintaining relevance or establishing a niche is the most important aspect of content creation.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.09.2020 by Troy Killjoy | Comments (4)

Reviews
Vous Autres - Sel De Pierre

A mysterious duo of French musicians posing with metallic heads; now where have we seen that before?

Read more ››
Posted: 27.09.2020 by musclassia | Comments (4)

Reviews
Night - High Tides - Distant Skies

In 2017, I discovered Night by listening to their then newly released album Raft Of The World. The cover art of that album was so good it immediately piqued my interest, and to my pleasant surprise the music on it was excellent as well. It ended up being in my top 5 favourite albums of that year. Now, as you can see from the score that I've given to High Tides - Distant Skies, this album doesn't really live up to the excellence of the previous record. Let's discuss!

Read more ››
Posted: 27.09.2020 by tominator | Comments (7)

Reviews
The Ocean - Phanerozoic II: Mesozoic / Cenozoic

In late September 2019, I gave a glowing review to a new album with monochrome artwork released by an established post-metal band. Given all the chaos that has come with 2020, I'm experiencing a surprising degree of déjà vu right now.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.09.2020 by musclassia | Comments (11)

Reviews
Onslaught - Generation Antichrist

A new take on the tried and tested formula.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.09.2020 by omne metallum | Comments (2)

Reviews
Plague Organ - Orphan

I came for the artwork. I stayed for the hallucinatory jamz behind it.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.09.2020 by Apothecary | Comments (6)