Rating:
N/A
Blood Stain Child - εpsilon
15 June 2011


01. Sirius Ⅵ
02. Forever Free
03. Stargazer
04. S.O.P.H.I.A
05. Unlimited Alchemist
06. Electricity
07. Eternal
08. Moon Light Wave
09. Dedicated To Violator
10. Merry-Go-Round
11. La+
12. Sai-Ka-No
13. Void Dmn-str-mix [Japanese bonus]
14. Royal Sky [Digipak bonus]


There comes a time in every man's life when he asks himself: Am I metal? Vanilla or chocolate? Fart or hold it in at the mercy of this hot chick in line next to me at the super market? And especially the age-old question: Why don't girls find me approachable? Well, it's probably because they're steering clear of your sweet (yet highly dangerous) moves while you're dancing to Blood Stain Child's latest album, you friggin' weirdo.

Now before hearing εpsilon, I was only familiar with Blood Stain Child's album, Mozaiq, and I have to admit that I was not entirely convinced with the band's blend of electro-pop and metal. To me, it sounded like Children Of Bodom with electronic elements kinda forced into the concoction. But I figured they were still experimenting, so I let it slide (but just that once). Luckily, I think they've really found a great balance with εpsilon, given that I can't really figure out if I would describe the music on this album as metal or electronic. And it certainly doesn't take the most worldly person in the world to figure out that εpsilon is clearly an album spawned from the Land of the Rising Sun at first listen. For lack of a more concrete description, it's like someone took a modern Children of Bodom-ish album, taped it to some sugar, strapped it to a unicorn and then launched the mythical horse into the depths space where cotton candy grows on meteors.

To be honest, I'm not going to sit here and describe each element of the music. This is because, besides the great female-fronted vocals, nothing really stands out or is all that special; it's the final product that matters here. εpsilon is an album full of aggressive electro-metal music that is full of catchy beats and melodies that will make you groove whether you want to or not. Sure, half of εpsilon could be considered filler, but the album's great flow and really (and I mean really) infectious, catchy songs more than make up for it. Metal purists will probably hate this after a minute of listening, but the rest of us who are looking for something a bit easier and fruity to listen to (admit it... that's like most of the population of us Metal Stormers) will be shitting rainbows and dancing around their living room for months to come. εpsilon is pure ear candy for those able to stomach it. With that being said: happy listening, space cowboys.

Songs that will make your body move: "Stargazer", "Electricity", and "Dedicated to Violator".

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Blood Stain Child
Album: εpsilon


 


written by Fat & Sassy! | 25.12.2011


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 39  
Users visited: 494  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 25.12.2011 at 06:50  
This is straight-up the equivalent to a lump of coal in your stocking.

And not the good kind of coal either. >>

Funny review though. Made me literally blow air through my nostrils. That's how funny it was.

PS trancecore is the worst
Fat & Sassy! - 25.12.2011 at 07:00  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.12.2011 at 06:50

Funny review though. Made me literally blow air through my nostrils. That's how funny it was.

PS trancecore is the worst


Thanks! IT IS MY AIM TO PLEASE.

Also, this... is "trancecore"? Like hardcore? Sounds like power-ish metal more than anything else to me.

AND ALSO ALSO, I friggin' just noticed that I unintentionally kinda made what could be mistaken for a reference to an anime series with my closing comment. Whoops! A slap on the ass to the first loser that can figure out which one I'm talking about! ^-^
Troy Killjoy - 25.12.2011 at 07:06  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.12.2011 at 07:00
Also, this... is "trancecore"? Like hardcore?

Trancecore is this new thing going around where melodic metalcore, synth pop and trance all get tossed into a blender (similar to The Browning). Some bands focus on one of those elements more than others. BSC seem to have balanced their watered down melo-death with trance and (subjectivity aside) made it work. I personally despise the sound but at least they found a common ground, whereas The Browning made their trance elements seem awkward and completely out of place.

And then of course there's Asking Alexandria... For the record, nobody ever asked Alexandria anything ever again.
Fat & Sassy! - 25.12.2011 at 07:12  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.12.2011 at 07:06

Trancecore is this new thing going around where melodic metalcore, synth pop and trance all get tossed into a blender (similar to The Browning). Some bands focus on one of those elements more than others. BSC seem to have balanced their watered down melo-death with trance and (subjectivity aside) made it work. I personally despise the sound but at least they found a common ground, whereas The Browning made their trance elements seem awkward and completely out of place.


Oh, I agree. The Browning sounded like clashing poops.

Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.12.2011 at 07:06

And then of course there's Asking Alexandria... For the record, nobody ever asked Alexandria anything ever again.


XDDD
strade - 25.12.2011 at 07:24  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.12.2011 at 07:06

And then of course there's Asking Alexandria... For the record, nobody ever asked Alexandria anything ever again.


If this doesn't end up in somebody's signature, I'll be shocked.
Troy Killjoy - 25.12.2011 at 07:42  
Written by strade on 25.12.2011 at 07:24
If this doesn't end up in somebody's signature, I'll be shocked.

I'll be honored if it does.
Lit. - 25.12.2011 at 07:54  
Meh, who needs girls when you got Metal?








*closes the blinds and has a good cry*
Fat & Sassy! - 25.12.2011 at 07:59  
Written by Lit. on 25.12.2011 at 07:54

Meh, who needs girls when you got Metal?


*Underlying moral of this review has been realized* x3
Întunecatul - 25.12.2011 at 08:28  
Agree with the review, this album is simply great for those who don't mind the easy listen. But I must say, I find it that they resemble In Flames in the infectious solos and other guitar parts, more that CoB. The first two albums were CoB worshipers writen over them.
Fat & Sassy! - 25.12.2011 at 08:34  
Written by Întunecatul on 25.12.2011 at 08:28

But I must say, I find it that they resemble In Flames in the infectious solos and other guitar parts, more that CoB. The first two albums were CoB worshipers writen over them.


Yeah, I can understand that. I was originally going to compare them to both bands, but I hate getting hung up on comparisons, so I picked one. In Flames just doesn't have that power metal feel that this album has.

But hey, what do I know? I'm not really a fan of In Flames or CoB (so I'm no expert on their music).
Ag Fox - 25.12.2011 at 08:59  
Each paragraph is golden haha
Întunecatul - 25.12.2011 at 09:01  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.12.2011 at 08:34

Written by Întunecatul on 25.12.2011 at 08:28

But I must say, I find it that they resemble In Flames in the infectious solos and other guitar parts, more that CoB. The first two albums were CoB worshipers writen over them.


Yeah, I can understand that. I was originally going to compare them to both bands, but I hate getting hung up on comparisons, so I picked one. In Flames just doesn't have that power metal feel that this album has.

But hey, what do I know? I'm not really a fan of In Flames or CoB (so I'm no expert on their music).

Indeed, but the solos just scream In Flames to me. Anyhow, I'm pretty sure my vote will got for this album if there is a section for electro/trance/industrial metal.
Marcus - 25.12.2011 at 10:18  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.12.2011 at 07:00

AND ALSO ALSO, I friggin' just noticed that I unintentionally kinda made what could be mistaken for a reference to an anime series with my closing comment. Whoops! A slap on the ass to the first loser that can figure out which one I'm talking about! ^-^

It seems kind of fitting for the album to close with an anime reference.

Anyways it's Cowboy Bebop, DUH! My ass is all ready for a good ole fashioned cyber-slap.
M C Vice - 25.12.2011 at 10:39  
Written by Întunecatul on 25.12.2011 at 09:01

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.12.2011 at 08:34

Written by Întunecatul on 25.12.2011 at 08:28

But I must say, I find it that they resemble In Flames in the infectious solos and other guitar parts, more that CoB. The first two albums were CoB worshipers writen over them.


Yeah, I can understand that. I was originally going to compare them to both bands, but I hate getting hung up on comparisons, so I picked one. In Flames just doesn't have that power metal feel that this album has.

But hey, what do I know? I'm not really a fan of In Flames or CoB (so I'm no expert on their music).

Indeed, but the solos just scream In Flames to me. Anyhow, I'm pretty sure my vote will got for this album if there is a section for electro/trance/industrial metal.

Yeah, I'm not sure whether it would be under power or melodeath, but it'll definatly be getting my vote in the MS awards. The funest album since There Be Squabbles Ahead.
Milena - 25.12.2011 at 11:27  
Funny review. I stayed away from this album like plague and I don't intend to check it out ever... after a song, it was painfully clear I'd waste my time with this
neonxaos - 25.12.2011 at 11:44  
I must confess that I love this album. I wouldn't rate it as any kind of masteripiece, but damn, is it just FUN. I like that metal has sides like this.
Uldreth - 25.12.2011 at 11:51  
Written by strade on 25.12.2011 at 07:24

Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.12.2011 at 07:06

And then of course there's Asking Alexandria... For the record, nobody ever asked Alexandria anything ever again.


If this doesn't end up in somebody's signature, I'll be shocked.

There you go!
Mr. Doctor - 25.12.2011 at 14:00  
I enjoy this album a friggin lot. Love your review Fatty. Disagree about the highlights though... Stargazer is awesome but the othe two are meh. The ones that make me dance and feel all fuzzy inside are: Sirius VI, Forever Free, Stargazer and my personal favorite: Merry-Go-Round... The chorus of that track gives me diabetes type over 9000.

But yeah, your review was boss.

Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.12.2011 at 07:06

And then of course there's Asking Alexandria... For the record, nobody ever asked Alexandria anything ever again.

This line is pure gold... I'm *this* (picture me making a tiny gesture with me fingers) close to make it a signature.
Dark†SymphonY - 25.12.2011 at 15:03  
This has got to be the most pop, catchiest, most happy, fun, fun, FUN! (metal) album i've ever heard. And playing it almost every day doesn't help. AND YES, this got me dancing like a complete idiot on Christmas Day.
BlueMobius - 25.12.2011 at 15:16  
Yeah, I'm going to go ahead and say I enjoyed this one. Every now and again you need to enjoy some catchy pop metal, if only to give yourself a little variety.
Void Eater - 25.12.2011 at 20:42  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.12.2011 at 07:00

AND ALSO ALSO, I friggin' just noticed that I unintentionally kinda made what could be mistaken for a reference to an anime series with my closing comment. Whoops! A slap on the ass to the first loser that can figure out which one I'm talking about! ^-^

I don't know what series you're referring to, but... Can you please slap my ass anyways?
Unhealer - 25.12.2011 at 21:04  
I saw the cover and I was pretty sure I wouldn't like it.
Then I read the review and convinced myself I wouldn't like it.
But I'm just checking some songs and I'm sorta liking it, what kind of sorcery is this?
Mr. Doctor - 25.12.2011 at 21:28  
Written by Unhealer on 25.12.2011 at 21:04

I saw the cover and I was pretty sure I wouldn't like it.
Then I read the review and convinced myself I wouldn't like it.
But I'm just checking some songs and I'm sorta liking it, what kind of sorcery is this?


Same thing happened to me, it was one of the cds I heard the most during the summer and I still listen to some songs
RavenKing - 25.12.2011 at 23:38  
The cover seems to be taken directly from Final Fantasy XIII.
This music is kinda catchy but there is absolutely nothing metal musically. Only a few screamed vocals here and there among the electro-pop shit.
Fat & Sassy! - 26.12.2011 at 00:23  
Written by Ag Fox on 25.12.2011 at 08:59

Each paragraph is golden haha


Thanks!

Written by Marcus on 25.12.2011 at 10:18

It seems kind of fitting for the album to close with an anime reference.

Anyways it's Cowboy Bebop, DUH! My ass is all ready for a good ole fashioned cyber-slap.


Fuck yeah, son! *smacks ass* >:[

Written by M C Vice on 25.12.2011 at 10:39

The funest album since There Be Squabbles Ahead.


+1 to cool points for mentioning such an awesome album. ;3

Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.12.2011 at 14:00

I enjoy this album a friggin lot. Love your review Fatty. Disagree about the highlights though... Stargazer is awesome but the othe two are meh. The ones that make me dance and feel all fuzzy inside are: Sirius VI, Forever Free, Stargazer and my personal favorite: Merry-Go-Round... The chorus of that track gives me diabetes type over 9000.


Thanks, and I like these songs, but I figured I'd chose my favorites. No point in recommending *every* song. xD

Written by Dark†SymphonY on 25.12.2011 at 15:03

This has got to be the most pop, catchiest, most happy, fun, fun, FUN! (metal) album i've ever heard. And playing it almost every day doesn't help. AND YES, this got me dancing like a complete idiot on Christmas Day.


Yay! ULTIMATE CHRISTMAS JAMS.

Written by RavenKing on 25.12.2011 at 23:38

This music is kinda catchy but there is absolutely nothing metal musically. Only a few screamed vocals here and there among the electro-pop shit.


There are clearly also heavy riffs and very melodic metal solos. The music can be so drenched in synth, it can be distracting. Also, I kinda feel like most of the songs have a noticeable level of aggression to them, helping it sound a bit more "metal". But yeah, as described, this is far from any kind of pure metal.
Promonex - 26.12.2011 at 04:32  
Whenever I listen to this album, I feel like Agnes in "Despicable Me" screaming IT'S SO CATCHY I'M GONNA DIE!! ...... IT'S SO CATCHEH!!!!!11

And you stole the rainbow-shitting line from me >:[
Fat & Sassy! - 26.12.2011 at 20:36  
Written by Promonex on 26.12.2011 at 04:32

Whenever I listen to this album, I feel like Agnes in "Despicable Me" screaming IT'S SO CATCHY I'M GONNA DIE!! ...... IT'S SO CATCHEH!!!!!11


XD I know how that feels.

Written by Promonex on 26.12.2011 at 04:32

And you stole the rainbow-shitting line from me >:[


But... but... I shit rainbows all the time... ;______________;
AngelCorpse13 - 26.12.2011 at 20:42  
Anime album is like anime. That is all.
Progpostman - 26.12.2011 at 21:48  
Pretty good album !
Surprisely issue,very good production,catchy melodies...
Nice !
BloodTears - 26.12.2011 at 22:04  
Hilarious review from the sassy of the sassiest. Also, I think I will never listen to this album.
Mr. Doctor - 26.12.2011 at 23:51  
Written by BloodTears on 26.12.2011 at 22:04

Hilarious review from the sassy of the sassiest. Also, I think I will never listen to this album.


You're missing out

*dances his way out*
Fat & Sassy! - 27.12.2011 at 05:34  
As usual, Mr. Doctor being grim as fuck. >:[
hadriel - 28.12.2011 at 15:58  
I can't stop listening to some of the songs even though I know this album is garbage, lol! I actually like some of BSC's older material though. Hilarious review!
BoxCar Willy - 28.12.2011 at 17:20  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.12.2011 at 07:42

Written by strade on 25.12.2011 at 07:24
If this doesn't end up in somebody's signature, I'll be shocked.

I'll be honored if it does.

thy will has been done.





XD
Mr. Doctor - 28.12.2011 at 17:52  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 27.12.2011 at 05:34

As usual, Mr. Doctor being grim as fuck. >:[


I learned from the best.
*grimfive!* >:[
drf1223 - 28.12.2011 at 23:38  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 25.12.2011 at 07:00

AND ALSO ALSO, I friggin' just noticed that I unintentionally kinda made what could be mistaken for a reference to an anime series with my closing comment. Whoops! A slap on the ass to the first loser that can figure out which one I'm talking about! ^-^

Cowboy Bebop is a gem!

I completely agree with your review. I wouldn't be able to rate it either. It's just like the japanese to release something weird and creative like this...
By the way, when I first saw the cover I thought it was a metal arrange Megurine Luka album LOL
Evil Chip - 29.12.2011 at 05:56  
I like hearing this in the subway but it's highly dangerous for the extreme dance moves that it may unleash in you.
M C Vice - 31.12.2011 at 06:58  
Did you know that the singer is Greek?
Cuca Beludo - 10.03.2012 at 23:00  
Written by Lit. on 25.12.2011 at 07:54

Meh, who needs girls when you got Metal?


I need both, I can't live without both of 'em.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Blood Stain Child - Mozaiq 7 27.08.2007 by
Reviews Blood Stain Child - Idolator 7 12.06.2011 by The Benighted
News Blood Stain Child - European Tour Dates Postponed 6 22.11.2011 by Milena
Albums Blood Stain Child - Mozaíq 6 06.06.2011 by Fat & Sassy!
Albums Blood Stain Child - Idolator 6 09.07.2011 by beyondtehdarksun



Hits total: 4956 | This month: 39