Srodek - Förfall review



Reviewer:
6.0

1 user:
8.00
Band: Srodek
Album: Förfall
Release date: March 2011


01. Echoes From The Past
02. Bleak
03. Förfall
04. Rotboskogens Djup
05. Vågtjärns Svarta Vatten
06. Ödestad
07. Outro


Srodek is a relatively new one-man project formed by yet another depressed Swede, with a not-so-depressive stage name: Nekrofucker. Because Necrobutcher was already taken I guess. The debut album - En Hälsning Till Döden - was one of those "come and go" albums where nobody really remembers it a year after its release... and it certainly doesn't help when you limit the quantity to 100 copies on CD.

But, with a new (more active) label and better promotion, the Nekro is back to his fucking and we're all graced with the presence of Förfall. It follows a pretty typical depressive black metal structure; the overall theme is set on despair and agony, the music is raw and confined to its little box, and the atmosphere aims to destroy the soul.

So why am I not praising this thing to High Heaven? I dunno - probably because it feels incredibly flat. Amateurish at times, even.

I know it's cool to give good production the finger when it comes to this kind of music, but it's also cool to have good bad production. Don't squint your eyebrows at me - it makes sense. Let's start with the vocals. They aren't exactly Bono-caliber to begin with, so I'm not entirely sure why it was decided to have them brought so high in the mix. They completely kill any sense of agony I would have felt had I been able to focus on the instrumentation. Instead, I'm looking at my monitor thinking... this sounds like something I've listened to in the Metal Storm forums posted by some random user looking for help with his black metal project before.

And the instrumentation? Lackluster at best. The songs drag from the opening track, saddled by a "by-the-motions" vibe. When music like this relies solely upon its ability to make the listener feel a connection with the emotions being conveyed, you'd best be sure to have those emotions present. Just because you wail into the mic for 20 minutes and strum a few dissonant chords doesn't mean I'm going to jump off a roof. Instead, I'm left with the bitter disappointment that I still have to live on this fucking planet.

Maybe there's some kind of reverse psychological trolling or irony going on that I'm not picking up on. (Fucking sarcasm, how does it work.)

Perhaps this will pass by unnoticed and Srodek will be altogether forgotten as a one-man project. All that can be said for this is that it does a good job as an aural paint-by-numbers, and sadly, nothing more.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 6
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Production: 5


 



Written on 04.01.2012 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 17   Visited by: 108 users
04.01.2012 - 11:57
Milena
Learning To "X"
*comes for the mandatory unrelated comment* So you consider Bono to be a good singer?
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 12:30
Merchant of Doom
Sounds like the latest Burzum and I hate his voice!
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 16:10
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Milena on 04.01.2012 at 11:57

*comes for the mandatory unrelated comment* So you consider Bono to be a good singer?

ah you beat me to it
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 16:29
Milena
Learning To "X"
Written by Boxcar Willy on 04.01.2012 at 16:10

ah you beat me to it

I read all the front page reviews minutes within their publishing if they're in decent hours within my timezone
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 16:34
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Milena on 04.01.2012 at 16:29

Written by Boxcar Willy on 04.01.2012 at 16:10

ah you beat me to it

I read all the front page reviews minutes within their publishing if they're in decent hours within my timezone

this was published like 20 minutes after i went to bed >:(


when I saw the Notification I thought it was another quote from Mr.Doctor... WAIT!.. I think he's in the house!



----
forever bummed out
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 20:44
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Milena on 04.01.2012 at 11:57
So you consider Bono to be a good singer?

"In the Name of Love", "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For", "With or Without You"... all great songs sung by a great vocalist.

Although I'm not a big U2 fan. I find most of their singles more than pleasing - just can't get into the albums.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 21:29
Mattybu
The music doesn't sound too interesting but I will say that's some awesome album artwork.
Loading...
04.01.2012 - 21:31
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mattybu on 04.01.2012 at 21:29
The music doesn't sound too interesting but I will say that's some awesome album artwork.

Agreed on both accounts. I was actually expecting something far more in line with the epic atmospheric black metal bands as opposed to this stripped down depressive black metal stuff.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.01.2012 - 00:30
strade
Hey look, it's Aske.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
05.01.2012 - 00:50
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by strade on 05.01.2012 at 00:30
Hey look, it's Aske.

Fuck as if I missed that.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.01.2012 - 01:25
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.01.2012 at 00:50

Written by strade on 05.01.2012 at 00:30
Hey look, it's Aske.

Fuck as if I missed that.


Pfff, go listen to your pop music, poser.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
05.01.2012 - 01:26
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.01.2012 at 01:25
Pfff, go listen to your pop music, poser.

Obviously I should stop listening to metal altogether and just stick to Journey.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.01.2012 - 01:30
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.01.2012 at 01:26
Obviously I should stop listening to metal altogether and just stick to Journey.


Even Journey are too metal for you now.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
05.01.2012 - 01:32
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.01.2012 at 01:30
Even Journey are too metal for you now.


I'll go listen to Elton then...

On a serious note, I'll be pumping out a lot more black metal reviews this year.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.01.2012 - 01:36
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.01.2012 at 01:32
On a serious note, I'll be pumping out a lot more black metal reviews this year.


In that case make sure you put the necessary references, bitch.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
06.01.2012 - 01:43
TrollandDie
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.01.2012 at 01:32

Written by Mr. Doctor on 05.01.2012 at 01:30
Even Journey are too metal for you now.


I'll go listen to Elton then...

On a serious note, I'll be pumping out a lot more black metal reviews this year.




....and the odd U2 album on the side. For good measure of course.
----
Hello, my name is Mr......Snrub and I think it would be a capital idea to invest the money back in the nuclear plant.
Loading...
06.01.2012 - 07:55
INÆRIS
I actually really enjoyed this album, just taking it for what it is. I like how some passages sound almost happy, except for the vocalist. I thought the music was pretty decent, and I enjoyed how melodic most of it was. The vocalist is interesting. The "metal room" style reverb is an interesting touch on his voice, but it gives it some character. I'd give it a solid 7.5
----
Still Life, Still Death
Loading...

Hits total: 2504 | This month: 5