Advertise on Metal Storm
Agoraphobic Nosebleed - Honky Reduction review


10 users:
Band: Agoraphobic Nosebleed
Album: Honky Reduction
Release date: February 1998

Disc I
01. Black Ink On Black Paper
02. Polished Turd
03. Filthy Murder Shack
04. The Withering Of Skin
05. Empowerment
06. The House Of Feasting
07. Die And Get The Fuck Out Of The Way
08. Insipid Conversations
09. Vexed
10. Circus Mutt (Three Ring Inferno)
11. Lives Ruined Through Sex (For Anita)
12. Clawhammer And An Ether Rag (For Bill)
13. NYC Always Reminds Me
14. Her Despair Reeks Of Alcohol
15. Chump Slap
16. Burned Away In Sleep
17. Grief Is Not Quantifiable
18. Cloved In Twain
19. Torn Apart By Dingos
20. Pagan Territories
21. Hat Full Of Shit
22. McWorld
23. How Sean Threw His Back Out Sneezing
24. Bones In One Bag (Organs In Another)
25. Acute Awareness (For Wood)
26. Two Shits To The Moon

Disc II [The Glue That Binds Us]
Side COC:
01. Hessian Bodyfarm
02. Solvent
03. Glade, A Straw & A Sandwich Bag
04. Headglass
05. DC5

Side DRI:
06. Hungry Child
07. I'd Rather Be Sleeping
08. I Don't Need Society
09. Black Ass, White Dick
10. Black Market Blast Beats
11. Death Takes A Shit 2
12. Ketamine And Kryptonite
13. Pudrock

There are some people that say "…No dude Agoraphobic Nosebleed is so not Good and shit, I mean their music sounds so fast and Extreme yuk…" I call them ignorant people with idiotic statements, the fact that Agoraphobic Nosebleed is Experimental Grindcore do not mean they are not metal, in fact Honky Reduction has a lot of Death Metal elements in it, let's give it a try.

The album starts fast and gets right to the point, "Black Ink On Black Paper" is a short song (29 seconds) but with a lot of feeling, this song is awesome, the drums really sound amazing (I swear you WON'T notice that it's a Drum Machine till you read the booklet), a fast-paced track with violent riffs and crushing vocals, "The House Of Feasting" is another great song, it starts a little bit slow (in fact the entire song is quite different from the other ones due to the speed) but this track it's like a short break for what's coming next, from this point on you won't be able to stop. (just another note, hear "Circus Mutt (Three Ring Inferno)" this song is the best one in this album starts very fast and violent, but when the chorus enters (0:30) you will hear on of the weirdest riffs in Grindcore history, stretched and prolonged Riffs, with really melodic drum beats, a song worth to be highlighted for sure)

The rest of the songs are incredibly well structured (yes I am very impressed too) and this gets me to the next point, another huge difference in this album is that all the songs are individual tracks, I mean this album has a concept yes, but it is not like every other conceptual album with all of the songs attached to each other, in Honky Reduction you will be able to know when a song ends and the next one begins, and the context is still there with a lot of power and supremacy isn't that cool?

So anyway this album is incredible, ultra fast violent music but with a little twist that will enchant a lot of Grindcore lovers, not the usual stuff for sure, let me tell you one more thing, if you like Pig Destroyer you will love this band for sure (Scott Hull is the guitar player and Drum Programmer in Agoraphobic Nosebleed). Album Recommended for those who love Grindcore, Experimental Grindcore, Death Metal, in fact extreme music in general.

Best Tracks: "Acute Awareness", "Filthy Murder Shack"

Written by Herzebeth | 18.08.2005



Comments: 1   Visited by: 28 users
07.06.2011 - 19:33
Account deleted
While I definitely prefer their newer style this is a thoroughly brutal 17 minute delight. It's hard to make 25+ -1 minute songs sound distinct but they managed it in spades here.

Hits total: 3088 | This month: 16