Rating:
8.8
The Devil's Blood - The Thousandfold Epicentre
11 November 2011


01. Unending Singularity
02. On The Wings Of Gloria
03. Die The Death
04. Within The Charnel House Of Love
05. Cruel Lover
06. She
07. The Thousandfold Epicentre
08. Fire Burning
09. Everlasting Saturnalia
10. The Madness Of Serpents
11. Feverdance


Retro-esque bands are always a touchy subject. On one hand, you've got the obvious downside; it is quite derivative. On the other hand, when it's done right, you've got a celebration of past greats. There's absolutely nothing wrong with digging up the past, so long as you do it with some creativity and personality. Let's just say The Devil's Blood do it with class; a blatant nod to the past, combined with a little bit of harder-edged modernization and just enough of their own flavour to make it distinct.

We're living in an era that is celebrating the modernization of classic rock - The Sheepdogs, The Black Keys, and maybe to a slightly lesser extent Rival Sons & The Answer have all seen their share of praise from mainstream media. While these bands achieved their accolades by creating some easy flowin', radio friendly rock n roll, The Devil's Blood chose a path that nods more toward the dark, menacing, noisy psychedelic. They pull off the psychedelic in a fashion that's equally experimental as it is accessible. It's the noise found in 70's LSD-soaked experimental rock, put through a heavy 2000-whatever era studio, interwoven with melodic riffs that sound like Quentin Tarantino's wet dream.

Oh, and those vocals! Man, do they ever tie the whole thing together; bringing in mind something along the lines of Janis Joplin. So the timbre might only rarely sound similar, but the delivery is along the same stream; a somewhat controlled wailing, that sounds more natural, and emotive than focused on being as technically precise as possible (not say this lady doesn't have the chops.)

Sure, you're probably not going to hear The Thousandfold Epicentre on the radio alongside many of these other retro bands popping up these days, but The Devil's Blood are offering something a little less moon-spoon-june, creating music that makes a nice & friendly crossroad between derivation and innovation.


 



Written on 09.01.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 36  
Users visited: 334  
Search this topic:  


Milena - 09.01.2012 at 11:31  
I shall seek this out at once.
Boxcar Willy - 09.01.2012 at 14:52  
TO ITUNES!!!!
K†ulu - 09.01.2012 at 15:14  
I will check this... but I wonder whether the modern production is not ruining the psychedelia. I guess you have no problems with it. Also a woman on vocals... she better be good...
Eidwlon - 09.01.2012 at 17:28  
I just realised I read an interview with the guitarist in the newspaper last week. It was about his motivation in life. What a loser... he seemed to be a very childish man, to me at least.
Therefor, although this review caught my eye in a positive way, I don't think I will be checking out this band.
pisymbol - 09.01.2012 at 18:23  
Written by Eidwlon on 09.01.2012 at 17:28

I just realised I read an interview with the guitarist in the newspaper last week. It was about his motivation in life. What a loser... he seemed to be a very childish man, to me at least.
Therefor, although this review caught my eye in a positive way, I don't think I will be checking out this band.


You sure?

See here...

http://www.invisibleoranges.com/2012/01/interview-selim-lemouchi-of-the-devils-blood

...for a nice interview with the founder and major force behind The Devil's Blood.

EDIT: URL tags are not working for whatever reason.
snake? snaaaake! - 09.01.2012 at 18:48  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 09.01.2012 at 14:52

TO ITUNES!!!!


Do you actually pay for digital music? It's actually cheaper most of the time to buy CD's than it is to buy from itunes. I gotta admit though, Itunes is pretty convenient.
@gent_-_orange - 09.01.2012 at 19:07  
Written by snake? snaaaake! on 09.01.2012 at 18:48

Written by Boxcar Willy on 09.01.2012 at 14:52

TO ITUNES!!!!


Do you actually pay for digital music? It's actually cheaper most of the time to buy CD's than it is to buy from itunes. I gotta admit though, Itunes is pretty convenient.


iTunes is convenient I agree but I personally cant stand not having a physical copy of an album. Given the choice I would always buy the CD.

Nice review btw.
Lit. - 09.01.2012 at 21:51  
Ooo... this looks interesting.
Boxcar Willy - 09.01.2012 at 21:54  
Written by @gent_-_orange on 09.01.2012 at 19:07

Written by snake? snaaaake! on 09.01.2012 at 18:48

Written by Boxcar Willy on 09.01.2012 at 14:52

TO ITUNES!!!!


Do you actually pay for digital music? It's actually cheaper most of the time to buy CD's than it is to buy from itunes. I gotta admit though, Itunes is pretty convenient.


iTunes is convenient I agree but I personally cant stand not having a physical copy of an album. Given the choice I would always buy the CD.

Nice review btw.

I also prefer to have the cd, but most of the time my. Cd stores don't have don't have what I'm looking for
DahliaRock - 09.01.2012 at 22:06  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 09.01.2012 at 14:52

TO ITUNES!!!!


iWha?

bandcamp if possible
Marcel Hubregtse - 09.01.2012 at 22:10  
Written by pisymbol on 09.01.2012 at 18:23

See here...

http://www.invisibleoranges.com/2012/01/interview-selim-lemouchi-of-the-devils-blood

...for a nice interview with the founder and major force behind The Devil's Blood.

EDIT: URL tags are not working for whatever reason.


I just inserted the [ url ]...[ /url ] tag and it works
Marcel Hubregtse - 09.01.2012 at 22:14  
Written by Eidwlon on 09.01.2012 at 17:28

I just realised I read an interview with the guitarist in the newspaper last week. It was about his motivation in life. What a loser... he seemed to be a very childish man, to me at least.
Therefor, although this review caught my eye in a positive way, I don't think I will be checking out this band.


If there is one inetresting guy it's Selim. Can you link me up to the newspaper article? Cause all the interviews I have read with him he was interesting, even though I didn't agree with most of what he said. I see you have Arckanum in your fav bands, then I guess you never read an inetrview with that guy, cause he comes across a lot more childish in his beliefs than Selim.
@gent_-_orange - 09.01.2012 at 22:32  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 09.01.2012 at 21:54


I also prefer to have the cd, but most of the time my. Cd stores don't have don't have what I'm looking for

Same here, TBH I cant remember the last time I bought a CD from a major store (Such as HMV) best off looking at smaller record stores who can order in the CD from wherever Or you could hit up a distributor on-line or use Amazon or something along those lines (if possible of course)
pisymbol - 10.01.2012 at 00:51  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.01.2012 at 22:10

Written by pisymbol on 09.01.2012 at 18:23

See here...

http://www.invisibleoranges.com/2012/01/interview-selim-lemouchi-of-the-devils-blood

...for a nice interview with the founder and major force behind The Devil's Blood.

EDIT: URL tags are not working for whatever reason.


I just inserted the [ url ]...[ /url ] tag and it works



Interesting, I typically use [ url name=<address>]<highlighted text>[ / url]

Please click here

This works when I submit news. Not for regular posts.
Boxcar Willy - 10.01.2012 at 01:08  
Written by @gent_-_orange on 09.01.2012 at 22:32

Written by Boxcar Willy on 09.01.2012 at 21:54


I also prefer to have the cd, but most of the time my. Cd stores don't have don't have what I'm looking for

Same here, TBH I cant remember the last time I bought a CD from a major store (Such as HMV) best off looking at smaller record stores who can order in the CD from wherever Or you could hit up a distributor on-line or use Amazon or something along those lines (if possible of course)

Seeing as I dont have a job, i dont have a credit card, so i canty make online purchases very easy, but i can buy pre-paid visa's. however they have lots of taxes on them.

sometimes HMV can order me stuff in, however it takes forever.
snake? snaaaake! - 10.01.2012 at 01:12  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 10.01.2012 at 01:08

Seeing as I dont have a job, i dont have a credit card, so i canty make online purchases very easy.


Haha...thats a blessing in disguise..... The amount of money i've spunked away on CDs in 2011 alone is eye watering.
Boxcar Willy - 10.01.2012 at 01:13  
Written by snake? snaaaake! on 10.01.2012 at 01:12

Written by Boxcar Willy on 10.01.2012 at 01:08

Seeing as I dont have a job, i dont have a credit card, so i canty make online purchases very easy.


Haha...thats a blessing in disguise..... The amount of money i've spunked away on CDs in 2011 alone is eye watering.

true

I'm applying at good ol' McDonalds soon.
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.01.2012 at 01:15  
Written by snake? snaaaake! on 10.01.2012 at 01:12

Written by Boxcar Willy on 10.01.2012 at 01:08

Seeing as I dont have a job, i dont have a credit card, so i canty make online purchases very easy.


Haha...thats a blessing in disguise..... The amount of money i've spunked away on CDs in 2011 alone is eye watering.


I bet it doesn't even come close to what I spent on cd's, vinyls, cassettes in 2011

thank God I don't have a credit card or paypal account or it would have been even more.
I just just pay via bank transfer within Europe, long live SEPA.
snake? snaaaake! - 10.01.2012 at 01:16  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.01.2012 at 01:14

I bet it doesn't even come close to what I spent on cd's, vinyls, cassettes in 2011

It probably doesn't even compare to what you've probably spent on 2011 Doom releases
Mr. Doctor - 10.01.2012 at 01:16  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.01.2012 at 01:15
I bet it doesn't even come close to what I spent on cd's, vinyls, cassettes in 2011

It's so much that Marcel has to post twice about it.
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.01.2012 at 01:20  
A cookie for the one that comes closest when guessing the amount in Euros.
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.01.2012 at 01:24  
Written by pisymbol on 10.01.2012 at 00:51

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.01.2012 at 22:10

Written by pisymbol on 09.01.2012 at 18:23

See here...

http://www.invisibleoranges.com/2012/01/interview-selim-lemouchi-of-the-devils-blood

...for a nice interview with the founder and major force behind The Devil's Blood.

EDIT: URL tags are not working for whatever reason.


I just inserted the [ url ]...[ /url ] tag and it works



Interesting, I typically use [ url name=<address>]<highlighted text>[ / url]

Please click here

This works when I submit news. Not for regular posts.


I see where you went wrong it should be [ url = http://blablabla ]highlighted text[ /url ]
gav1230 - 10.01.2012 at 02:34  
Just the kind of music I was looking for, definitely checking this out
snake? snaaaake! - 10.01.2012 at 16:47  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.01.2012 at 01:20

A cookie for the one that comes closest when guessing the amount in Euros.


Well i've spent about £4500 (roughly €5400) in 2011.
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.01.2012 at 16:50  
Written by snake? snaaaake! on 10.01.2012 at 16:47

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.01.2012 at 01:20

A cookie for the one that comes closest when guessing the amount in Euros.


Well i've spent about £5000 in 2011.


let mme see how much that is in Euros.

Okay that would be a little under 6000 euros.

In total I spend just above 8000 euros on cds, casettes and vinyls.
Mr. Doctor - 10.01.2012 at 16:54  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.01.2012 at 16:50
In total I spend just above 8000 euros on cds, casettes and vinyls.


What the....How the... I don't even...?




This reaction is actually honest because I totally forgot about the number when we talked about it a while ago so I was going to bet on 4000 or something.
deepwithin - 10.01.2012 at 16:54  
I can only recommend to check The Devil's Blood out, not only on CD but certainly live. Saw them last year at Speedfest and on stage the whole Devil's Blood experience (they call it Rituals themselves) is the sum of all their musical and occult elements. And although I liked Docs review, I kinda missed the musical context of The Devil's Blood. You can't compare these Dutch black magicians to the colourful Irish The Answer and the likes... This is pure classic retro doom, groovy but yet dark as hell. The Thousandfold Epicentre is definitely their best work, allbeit a bit monotonous at times, but that comes with the musical genre. This cd has ended up high in some doom-metal blog cd of the year lists and has earned its share deal of spins in my cd-player as well (only to be knocked out of there by The Wounded Kings for the last weeks)...
deepwithin - 10.01.2012 at 17:00  
Written by Eidwlon on 09.01.2012 at 17:28

I just realised I read an interview with the guitarist in the newspaper last week. It was about his motivation in life. What a loser... he seemed to be a very childish man, to me at least.
Therefor, although this review caught my eye in a positive way, I don't think I will be checking out this band.


Not checking out music because of a childish interview... in a newspaper? Really? I mean, I still have a problem trying to listen to and like Burzum because of its history, but in all other cases it's always worth checking a band out and forming some kind of opinion based upon the music and nothing else. And today I am not even sure if the Satanism in The Devil's Blood is as real as they pretend it to be. To me it is just part of the occult atmosphere of their music and a nice live gadget during their Ritual/performance...
pisymbol - 10.01.2012 at 17:09  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.01.2012 at 16:50

Written by snake? snaaaake! on 10.01.2012 at 16:47

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.01.2012 at 01:20

A cookie for the one that comes closest when guessing the amount in Euros.


Well i've spent about £5000 in 2011.


let mme see how much that is in Euros.

Okay that would be a little under 6000 euros.

In total I spend just above 8000 euros on cds, casettes and vinyls.


~10k USD. Really? I thought I was bad. I spent a few hundred bucks in the last 3 months on CDs.
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.01.2012 at 17:11  
Written by deepwithin on 10.01.2012 at 16:54

I can only recommend to check The Devil's Blood out, not only on CD but certainly live. Saw them last year at Speedfest and on stage the whole Devil's Blood experience (they call it Rituals themselves) is the sum of all their musical and occult elements. And although I liked Docs review, I kinda missed the musical context of The Devil's Blood. You can't compare these Dutch black magicians to the colourful Irish The Answer and the likes... This is pure classic retro doom, groovy but yet dark as hell. The Thousandfold Epicentre is definitely their best work, allbeit a bit monotonous at times, but that comes with the musical genre. This cd has ended up high in some doom-metal blog cd of the year lists and has earned its share deal of spins in my cd-player as well (only to be knocked out of there by The Wounded Kings for the last weeks)...


I find them not good live at all. I have seen them live 7 times now, both in clubs and at festivals and only the last time, the 7th were they good live. But then again they played just over two hours that time and started just after midnight. My biggest problem with them live is that Farida's vocals are powerless in a live atmosphere.
As for retro doom there is next to no doom in their sound even though doom fans generally like them.
Milena - 11.01.2012 at 19:25  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.01.2012 at 16:50

In total I spend just above 8000 euros on cds, casettes and vinyls.

O_O My mom earns less than that over the course of one year, and the average pay in Serbia is around 30% lower than hers. Whoever's been stealing our country's money, please, give it back, so we can spoil ourselves for the first time in twenty years
Marcel Hubregtse - 11.01.2012 at 19:42  
Written by Milena on 11.01.2012 at 19:25

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.01.2012 at 16:50

In total I spend just above 8000 euros on cds, casettes and vinyls.

O_O My mom earns less than that over the course of one year, and the average pay in Serbia is around 30% lower than hers. Whoever's been stealing our country's money, please, give it back, so we can spoil ourselves for the first time in twenty years


I have to pay 6000 euros rent a year allready which is immensely cheap here
Milena - 11.01.2012 at 20:14  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 11.01.2012 at 19:42

I have to pay 6000 euros rent a year allready which is immensely cheap here

I personally consider myself a lucky Serbian person for living with four other people in a two-room apartment instead of one room like a lot of people have, that my family can afford paying most of the bills and buying non-crappy food, that we all have our own cellphones (although my brother hasn't bought himself a new one for six years) and for "spoling" myself with a couple of cheap-ass shirts or pieces of jewelry each month What is funny in this whole story is that other European people complain about a three year recession and in the meantime we're all high-fiving each other because our standard has been so low in the past 20 years, it can't possibly go lower.

Most of kids in my generation are pretty humble and it makes me happy, although it makes a lot of other kids hungry for cash and doing whatever they can to get it. But I'm pretty happy about it because, if I'm meeting some of my needs with no money whatsoever, I can't wait to see how it will be like when I finish college and start earning on my own.
Marcel Hubregtse - 12.01.2012 at 00:06  
You won't hear me complain about my standard of living at all, recession or not. Funny thing thing is even though there is a so-called recession here people still earn as much as they used to and get their yearly salary raises. Inflation isn't too bad either and they can still go on holiday, eat properly, pay their rent etc. Us Westeners should stop complaining. We're spoiled rotten.
@gent_-_orange - 12.01.2012 at 01:51  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.01.2012 at 00:06

You won't hear me complain about my standard of living at all, recession or not. Funny thing thing is even though there is a so-called recession here people still earn as much as they used to and get their yearly salary raises. Inflation isn't too bad either and they can still go on holiday, eat properly, pay their rent etc. Us Westeners should stop complaining. We're spoiled rotten.


The recession has really hit me hard I have had to fire three of my maids and sell two of my five Rolls Royce's just so we can keep our holiday home in the Bahamas, Sometimes I wonder how I get by at all.

Really you are right, We are spoiled rotten, But years of being spoiled rotten have got us bitching about how "bad things are" in reality we are the lucky ones.
Sworn - 12.01.2012 at 10:51  
Best album of 2011 in my opinion.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums The Devil's Blood - The Thousandfold Epicentre 9 27.11.2011 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews 3 Inches Of Blood - Fire Up The Blades 7.5 17.11.2009 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Goatwhore - Blood For The Master 7.5 07.02.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Powerwolf - Blood Of The Saints 7.5 12.09.2011 by The Shape 1973
Articles Clandestine Cuts #7 - Feat. Kunt Puncher, Blood Meridian, Somne, Ipsilon, Morito Ergo Sum, The Blind 6.5 04.04.2011 by LeChron James



Hits total: 5798 | This month: 49