Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.7
Wilds Forlorn - We, The Damned
1 January 2012


01. Traces
02. Path Of Sorrows
03. Renouncing The World
04. We, The Damned
05. Parting


We, the Damned is a very bleak, miserable form of atmospheric black metal with depressive undertones, entirely composed, recorded, and produced by mainman Yuri Theuns - with the exception of a mesmerizing guitar solo on the opening track. One glance at the enticing cover art (he's also responsible for that) will quickly tell you what you're in for. You're going to feel more alone than ever before. You're going to feel vulnerable in the darkness that devours every last thought of happiness. You're dust in the wind, forgotten in the blink of an eye, doomed to fail before you had the chance to even begin. . . .

The spellbinding instrumentation leads you into the vortex and spits you out - stripped of innocence and confidence - into a hollow eternity, littered with dying stars so far in the distance a single breath dissolves them from memory. Your body is stripped of its clothing and your naked flesh becomes a target for Yuri's vicious, whip-like vocals, lashing at your chilled skin, splitting your shell down to the bone and watching you slowly bleed out into space. A thick production allows you to focus on the lifestream pouring from your cracked skin, gathering as part of a giant red star on the horizon. Another breath, and it dissolves.

Beautiful melodies and macabre neoclassical ambiance aim to steal the remnants of your soul, burrowing into your open wounds and snaking through your shivering flesh, constricting your internal organs, dragging claws across your veins like nails on a chalkboard. The spoken word at the end of the title track reflects the end of your journey, a journey met with all the pains the world has to offer - a journey that inevitably culminates in your demise.

Immerse yourself in its grace, and you'll find yourself carved from the inside out, waiting for death in a most painful state of disbelief as the album's piano outro plays to the tune of your memory... and then it's over. The eye blinks, and you're gone. . . .

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 10


Band profile: Wilds Forlorn
Album: We, The Damned


 



Written on 15.01.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 20  
Users visited: 290  
Search this topic:  


Ag Fox - 15.01.2012 at 14:27  
>lifestream pouring from your cracked skin, gathering as part of a giant red star on the horizon. Another breath, and it dissolves
beautiful
3rdWorld - 15.01.2012 at 14:59  
I wonder if i ever get time to try this within 2012????!!!
ravendeath - 15.01.2012 at 15:35  
This is kind of masterpiece, it really made my day...
Merchant of Doom - 15.01.2012 at 15:52  
Pretty good... I especially enjoyed the second track, with more doom influences and growls. The neoclassical parts remind me of Aquilus. Check out the new album. Not sure about being a "masterpiece", though...
Mindheist - 15.01.2012 at 16:01  
You like figurative reviews, don't you? Me too

This is the first time I think you wrote something "nontechnical". Let it not be your last one - though it's needless to warn you because once you get hooked, it's very difficult to stop
Merchant of Doom - 15.01.2012 at 16:22  
Written by Mindheist on 15.01.2012 at 16:01

You like figurative reviews, don't you? Me too

This is the first time I think you wrote something "nontechnical". Let it not be your last one - though it's needless to warn you because once you get hooked, it's very difficult to stop


Personally, I do hope it's his last one in this style. Way too forced, trying to convey and cram too many images in one sentence. Gets "heavy" after 4 lines.
Abattoir - 15.01.2012 at 16:29  
Sounds like something I might enjoy.

Btw a very nice album cover.
Lokaeda - 15.01.2012 at 17:33  
Troy Killjoy - 15.01.2012 at 23:29  
Written by Mindheist on 15.01.2012 at 16:01
You like figurative reviews, don't you? Me too
This is the first time I think you wrote something "nontechnical".

I do, but I don't think it's my first one. Woods of Desolation, Deafheaven, some of the atmo-black albums I reviewed at the beginning of the year, and this one.

I'd say about 10/90 reviews have been in a more figurative style.
Mindheist - 15.01.2012 at 23:45  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 15.01.2012 at 16:22

Personally, I do hope it's his last one in this style. Way too forced, trying to convey and cram too many images in one sentence. Gets "heavy" after 4 lines.

I understand it can be very strenuous sometimes to toil over the review trying to comprehend the meaning of the metaphors and descriptions used. And I also understand that most people would rather read a tiny technical review than drown in a bottomless figurative one. Maybe the reviewer here should have focused more on loosening up the sentences instead of adopting the same pattern for each one, but I still believe it's very good. Believe me, writing a figurative review is much much difficult than writing a technical one. you have to be able to snatch the reader's attention from the beginning without gorging the review with "tangled" words.

Anyway,I completely respect your opinion and I think you have many valid points
Merchant of Doom - 16.01.2012 at 01:09  
Written by Mindheist on 15.01.2012 at 23:45

Written by Merchant of Doom on 15.01.2012 at 16:22

Personally, I do hope it's his last one in this style. Way too forced, trying to convey and cram too many images in one sentence. Gets "heavy" after 4 lines.

I understand it can be very strenuous sometimes to toil over the review trying to comprehend the meaning of the metaphors and descriptions used. And I also understand that most people would rather read a tiny technical review than drown in a bottomless figurative one. Maybe the reviewer here should have focused more on loosening up the sentences instead of adopting the same pattern for each one, but I still believe it's very good. Believe me, writing a figurative review is much much difficult than writing a technical one. you have to be able to snatch the reader's attention from the beginning without gorging the review with "tangled" words.

Anyway,I completely respect your opinion and I think you have many valid points



I'm not against figurative reviews per se, I just find them a bit pointless when you are describing a BM album. To be honest, if I want poetry, I'll read [put your favorite poet here]... no offence, of course... Troy's review is a good one, just not my cup of it, unlike the album...
K†ulu - 18.01.2012 at 22:32  
Written by Mindheist on 15.01.2012 at 23:45

Written by Merchant of Doom on 15.01.2012 at 16:22

Personally, I do hope it's his last one in this style. Way too forced, trying to convey and cram too many images in one sentence. Gets "heavy" after 4 lines.

Believe me, writing a figurative review is much much difficult than writing a technical one. you have to be able to snatch the reader's attention from the beginning without gorging the review with "tangled" words.

But the review should describe the music, and while inserting some metaphors and similes could be nice, but the review should tell about what the music sounds like on the album. This could as well be an Esoteric review... I don't really know what expect from this album. Ok, I have an idea, but I don't know if my interpretation of Troy's poetry is correct. Let's see.
Matus Dust - 19.01.2012 at 00:34  
Great review. After reading, I knew I am gonna like this... It doesnt even have to be very technical, but it describes the music well.
Troy Killjoy - 19.01.2012 at 00:52  
Written by K†ulu on 18.01.2012 at 22:32
This could as well be an Esoteric review... I don't really know what expect from this album.

- atmospheric black metal with depressive undertones (somewhat depressive atmo-black)
- spellbinding instrumentation (instruments that draw you in to the album - also mentioned a thick production so you can focus on every little detail)
- beautiful melodies and macabre neoclassical ambiance (melodic approach, mixing neoclassical elements [piano and shizz])
- and a bunch of fancy poetic nonsense to illustrate how depressing and dark it all is

That's how I justified it anyway.
K†ulu - 19.01.2012 at 01:03  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.01.2012 at 00:52

- atmospheric black metal with depressive undertones (somewhat depressive atmo-black)
- spellbinding instrumentation (instruments that draw you in to the album - also mentioned a thick production so you can focus on every little detail)
- beautiful melodies and macabre neoclassical ambiance (melodic approach, mixing neoclassical elements [piano and shizz])
- and a bunch of fancy poetic nonsense to illustrate how depressing and dark it all is

That's how I justified it anyway.

oh yes! Atmospheric black metal! I don't know how I missed that, but with thick production, I could not interpret that as being able to "focus on every little detail." Ok, there are some clues, but I think they are very obscure and covered too much by the veil of your mind's dismal spawn...

I will still check the album out; the review captured my attention: "spellbinding instrumentation" is something to crave for...
Merchant of Doom - 19.01.2012 at 10:12  
It's just a good melodic/atmospheric black metal album (with some blackened doom and neoclassical elements thrown in), with a great (read "thick") production to cap it all. I think it's the quality of the compositions and the production which make this album stand out...
Mindheist - 19.01.2012 at 17:28  
Written by K†ulu on 18.01.2012 at 22:32

But the review should describe the music, and while inserting some metaphors and similes could be nice, but the review should tell about what the music sounds like on the album. This could as well be an Esoteric review... I don't really know what expect from this album. Ok, I have an idea, but I don't know if my interpretation of Troy's poetry is correct. Let's see.

I think you have a point
Oaken - 08.02.2012 at 23:21  
Written by 3rdWorld on 15.01.2012 at 14:59

I wonder if i ever get time to try this within 2012????!!!

You must find time. This is awesome. And for the neoclassical parts. To me, they were on par with the BM parts.
Susan - 12.02.2012 at 22:53  
What a beautiful review! Pity I'm coming to it a month late. I just started the album then found this review... in even just the few minutes of the album I can tell this is going to be one of the good ones. Love the metaphors. So far they're spot on.

And I can't stop starring into the abyss on the cover. Dude...
MandoMikey - 29.04.2013 at 03:47  
Awesome review, really captures the vibration. Truly bleak sounding album, kind of funeral doomy at points. the production to me makes it sound like your hearing it through deep space, when the piano pieces hit, you are floating lost in space and slowly and blissfully dying of lack of oxygen.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Wilds Forlorn - We, The Damned 7.5 30.11.2012 by Draugen
Reviews Scar Symmetry - The Unseen Empire 6 14.11.2011 by J. N.
Reviews Hellspawn - The Great Red Dragon 6 08.07.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews The Haunted - Unseen 6 30.11.2011 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Benevolent - The Covenant 6 22.03.2014 by mz



Hits total: 4256 | This month: 69