Rating:
8.3
Megadeth - Th1rt3en
1 November 2011


01. Sudden Death
02. Public Enemy No. 1
03. Whose Life (Is It Anyways?)
04. We The People
05. Guns, Drugs & Money
06. Never Dead
07. New World Order
08. Fast Lane
09. Black Swan
10. Wrecker
11. Millennium Of The Blind
12. Deadly Nightshade
13. 13


2011 set big expectations for Megadeth for that year and for 2012. After huge "Big 4" shows, the return of Dave Ellefson and "the kiss and make up" between Dave Mustaine, Lars Ulrich and James Hetfield, finally two of the pioneers of thrash metal, Megadeth and Metallica are together. Certainly Th1rt3en is a great way to show the good vibes they are transmitting since 2010.

Th1rt3en is in my humble opinion the best work of the decade for Megadeth; the more you listen more you love it. Dave doesn't need to show to anyone how great he is and it's obvious. There are no ghosts anymore, the friendship between Dave, James and Lars make this album a pure and simple thrash metal collection. The previous one, Endgame, was a good album but it was made with a purpose to be better than the then successful Death Magnetic of Metallica. Endgame was way exaggerated both in concept and content, a real effort just to be better than Metallica.

With all this considered, Th1rt3en starts amazingly with "Sudden Death", exquisite and powerful chorus. Really well structured song from the beginning to the end with awesome solos. One of the great things is the effort to make it a really good album. A lot of diversity is presented with amazing song contenders for live shows, like "Sudden Death", "Public Enemy No.1", "13", "Never Dead", "Fast Lane" or even "Whose Life (Is It Anyways?)". Only two maybe three songs are filler songs. Really powerful and strong lyrics and real emotional songs like "13" and "Millenium Of The Blind". Mustaine's criticism is as harsh as ever, attacking political and social issues, that has only been sharpened by the experience of adulthood, family life and spiritual faith. The mix between Dave Mustaine and Chris Broderick is confirmed in this album as a really good combination with strong riffs and fast solos. Even the songs I didn't like in the beginning I learned to love them, songs like "Black Swan" or "Guns, Drugs & Money" make an afternoon well spent. The bad thing about this album that is worse than the previous is the production area. When listening to the CD it seems that it is way too loud, remembering Death Magnetic for example. Dave steps up to the plate and makes you forget about all this (production) with a great ending with "Millenium of the Blind" and "13" closing with more cruel and raw perspective of life in many senses.

Th1rt3en is a great acquisition for everyone that admires or is a big fan of Megadeth. Although opinions change a lot when talking about this album I really think it starts a new era and solidifies their position in the metal history. It's in my opinion the best since 2001 for Megadeth.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Megadeth
Album: Th1rt3en


 


written by AndMetalForAll | 05.02.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 205  
Search this topic:  


thehondo - 05.02.2012 at 00:40  
I dont believe Dave is as concerned with Metallica as some would suggest.
doyle777 - 05.02.2012 at 10:34  
I lol'd hard when I saw rating, I am a HUGE fan of MegadetH, and if Th1rt3en is 8.3, then Rust In Peace is 13.0.
Athropos - 05.02.2012 at 14:07  
I couldn't get into this album, and I'm not stuck in the past as I really liked TSHF, UA, and Endgame. But this one, I don't know, there's something I don't like about it...
Angelic Storm - 05.02.2012 at 15:30  
Written by thehondo on 05.02.2012 at 00:40

I dont believe Dave is as concerned with Metallica as some would suggest.


Right now, that is perhaps true. But for most of his (and Megadeth's) career, he certainly was concerned with what they were doing. Far more than was healthy, in actual fact.

As for this album... it's one of those albums I struggle to have definitive feelings about. It's certainly not a bad album, but it's far from being something special either. I do think it's slightly better than "Endgame", though quite far off the quality of "The System Has Failed", which is still their best post-RIP album in my opinion. Only a couple of songs are actually bad, though there isn't a great deal of truly great songs on here either. It's a good album, but that's all it is.
rodion-z - 05.02.2012 at 18:11  
Well, if Endgame was his attempt (successful) to be better than Metallica, then with Th1rt3en he's made one just as shitty as they have.
NLthrasher - 05.02.2012 at 22:40  
Written by Angelic Storm on 05.02.2012 at 15:30

Written by thehondo on 05.02.2012 at 00:40

I dont believe Dave is as concerned with Metallica as some would suggest.


Right now, that is perhaps true. But for most of his (and Megadeth's) career, he certainly was concerned with what they were doing. Far more than was healthy, in actual fact.

As for this album... it's one of those albums I struggle to have definitive feelings about. It's certainly not a bad album, but it's far from being something special either. I do think it's slightly better than "Endgame", though quite far off the quality of "The System Has Failed", which is still their best post-RIP album in my opinion. Only a couple of songs are actually bad, though there isn't a great deal of truly great songs on here either. It's a good album, but that's all it is.

100% agree
Apothecary - 05.02.2012 at 22:50  
I haven't been too big a fan of Megadeth's post-reunion material, in all honesty. Not because it's not good, but... eh, it just misses the classic hook. But just for the hell of it:

1. Endgame
2. The System Has Failed
3. Thirteen
4. United Abominations
Olli - 06.02.2012 at 07:31  
Found this album pretty boring, Dave doesnt even seem to be trying vocally too :/
Darth Mitchell - 01.04.2012 at 19:49  
In my opinion a good Megadeth record. Not their best, but it has enough "power" in it for me to enjoy it!
AndMetalForAll - 01.04.2012 at 21:38  
Written by Darth Mitchell on 01.04.2012 at 19:49

In my opinion a good Megadeth record. Not their best, but it has enough "power" in it for me to enjoy it!


I didn't said it was the best...it's the best of the decade 2001-2011.

Thanks for reading

greets,
AndMetalForAll
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.04.2012 at 22:10  
Written by AndMetalForAll on 01.04.2012 at 21:38


I didn't said it was the best...it's the best of the decade 2001-2011.




I would say The System has Failed is by far Megadeth's best of the decade 2001-2011, by a big margin
Angelic Storm - 01.04.2012 at 22:43  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.04.2012 at 22:10
I would say The System has Failed is by far Megadeth's best of the decade 2001-2011, by a big margin


I totally agree with that statement. Not that their other 3 albums this decade have been totally awful, but System... is their only latter day album that has come anywhere near touching their 80's classics. It has that similar morbid, scathing spirit which is lacking in their other three 00's albums.
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.04.2012 at 22:44  
Written by Angelic Storm on 01.04.2012 at 22:43

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.04.2012 at 22:10
I would say The System has Failed is by far Megadeth's best of the decade 2001-2011, by a big margin


I totally agree with that statement. Not that their other 3 albums this decade have been totally awful, but System... is their only latter day album that has come anywhere near touching their 80's classics. It has that similar morbid, scathing spirit which is lacking in their other three 00's albums.


and tbh imo Endgame is even better than this last one.
Angelic Storm - 01.04.2012 at 22:46  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.04.2012 at 22:44
and tbh imo Endgame is even better than this last one.


Hmm... "13" has more standouts, but "Endgame" is a more solid, and consistent effort. I don't hate any of "Endgame"'s songs, whereas there are some on "13" that are completely abysmal.
Hermann Langke - 15.05.2012 at 10:00  
Endgame is far better than 13.
Darth Revan - 13.09.2012 at 23:35  
I'm surprised no one's mentioned the name yet. Really, naming your album in 1337? That's just... ugh... Guess it doesn't matter long as the music's decent.

And yeah, I get that it's supposed to be the numerical number in the alphabetical letter, but still.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Megadeth - Rust In Peace 4 18.01.2009 by K†ulu
Reviews Megadeth - Killing Is My Business 4 06.02.2008 by Lady Bathory
News Megadeth - New Album In The Works 3 20.11.2010 by Captain Obvious
News Megadeth - Frontman Forms New Band 3 12.05.2011 by Xim
News Megadeth - Dave Mustaine Posts A Sappy Update 3 27.12.2009 by Magatouve



Hits total: 2580 | This month: 58