Pantera - Official Live: 101 Proof review



Reviewer:
4.0

281 users:
8.42
Band: Pantera
Album: Official Live: 101 Proof
Release date: August 1997


01. A New Level
02. Walk
03. Becoming
04. 5 Minutes Alone
05. Sandblasted Skin
06. Suicide Note Pt. II
07. War Nerve
08. Strength Beyond Strength
09. Dom/Hollow
10. This Love
11. I'm Broken
12. Cowboys From Hell
13. Cemetery Gates
14. Fucking Hostile
15. Where You Come From [new studio track]
16. I Can't Hide [new studio track]


The first live album of Pantera was recorded in 1997 during Tourkill that has followed the release of The Great Southern Trendkill. This live, released in summer, has gone more or less unnoticed. And the least I can say is that it's only fair. This album could [and should] have been entitled 'Live from the toilets'. It could have been great, it could have kicked ass, it could have reproduced on stage all the energy that some songs like 'Walk', 'Strength Beyond Strength' or 'I'm Broken' had in studio, but hell no, the sound is so poor that you don't hear anything but an infamous sound mess. And yet, Phil 'I sing in a yoghurt pot' Anselmo and his mates seem enthusiastic, the crowd follows the band, the setlist is good, but maybe a few overdubs or a real producer [without insulting Vinnie Paul and Dimebag Darrell] would have been necessary.

The worst tracks are probably the most violent two: on 'Suicide Note Pt2', the whole band is off the mark, and on 'Fucking Hostile', the crappy sound does not allow to hear the famous riff. Only one track dissociates itself from the rest: 'Cemetary gates'. Ok the sound is still no good, but this song is really wonderful and the arrangements are even better than on Cowboys From Hell. And how cool it is not to hear the glam-rock voice of Anselmo on it... Good stuff, unfortunately blocked between 'Cowboys From Hell' [the worst version I've ever heard] and 'Fucking Hostile' [see above]. Finally, the disappointment you feel at first when you see the setlist is lacking in tracks like 'Mouth For War', 'Rise', 'Slaughtered' or 'Psycho Holiday' changes into relief. You say to yourself: 'Luckily I don't have to take anymore!'. After all, the two good points are the studio bonus tracks, 'Where You Come From' and 'I Can't Hide', two cool tracks that could have been on Vulgar Display Of Power.

To sum up, this Official live is a real massacre, it sounds like a bad bootleg. If you want a great live by a thrash band, pick up Iced Earth's Alive in Athens.

Highlights: Cemetary Gates, Domination/Hollow

Written by Deadsoulman | 02.09.2003


 


Comments

Comments: 10   Visited by: 143 users
20.07.2009 - 06:42
Dangerboner
:D
Lol hmm I gotta disagree with almost everything written - this is one of the most energetic albums I've heard, thanks to the production and Phil's timing and aggression. It could probably have used a second guitar though

Suicide Note Part II and Strength Beyond Strength are my favorites
Loading...
20.07.2009 - 11:26
Deadsoulman
Lemmyng
Written by Dangerboner on 20.07.2009 at 06:42

Lol hmm I gotta disagree with almost everything written - this is one of the most energetic albums I've heard, thanks to the production and Phil's timing and aggression. It could probably have used a second guitar though

Suicide Note Part II and Strength Beyond Strength are my favorites


Well, last time I got a comment on this review some guy wrote three pages of insults, calling me a "bubblefucker" among others, so I guess you're not the only one who disagrees with me

Anyway, it's been years since I wrote this review but I still stand by what I said: I think this is one of the worst live albums I've ever heard. Only the rendition of "Cemetary Gates" is brilliant IMO. It's funny that you think the production helps, because I think it killed this album.
Loading...
20.07.2009 - 11:56
Ivor
Staff
Written by Deadsoulman on 20.07.2009 at 11:26

Well, last time I got a comment on this review some guy wrote three pages of insults, calling me a "bubblefucker" among others, so I guess you're not the only one who disagrees with me

Shame that rant got lost. Bubblefucker mania was a pretty fun time on MS.

I.
----
No friends for playing games
No foes who scorn my name
Computerized machines of steel and rust
/---/
No friends in my house on Mars
No foes in my house on Mars
I was born in my house on Mars
I will die in my house on Mars
-- Ayreon - My House on Mars
Loading...
09.04.2010 - 08:46
Salbitani
Men ok you dont like the production, but is not that bad.
You cant kill a well played album like this just couse you dont like the production.
You give a 4, men a least 7.
I cant feel the bad production you say, in my case this album drives me crazy, its so full of energy!
Its true it lacks of good tracks but, still 4 its too low.
sry my english xD
Loading...
22.11.2011 - 19:12
Regolith
At least bump up your rating for Phil's hilarious commentary/dialogue with the crowd between songs. Lines like "..we'll see you next time...Smoke f**'n dope." and "Ya hear Rex's bass? Answer me! Ya hear the f***'n bass?!" - Classics, man.

Personally I disagree with a '4'. Yes, production = bad, but there are some good moments and the musical execution isn't horrible. It's still a fun live album.
Loading...
22.11.2011 - 21:36
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I agree with the rating on the basis that everything Pantera has ever released is only worth a 4. D<
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
17.01.2012 - 17:28
Thrash del Sur
Quote:
[

It's still a fun live album.


Yeah! I can't cout how many times we partied with this album...Some ppl got obnoxious writing reviews!!!
Loading...
29.12.2012 - 00:03
Butters49
Ya gotta love Dom/Hollow.
And the monologue before Suicide Note part 2.

Not to mention the studio tracks are awesome!

Definitely a good live album, in my opinion
----
"Sataaaaaaaaan. Yeah yeah!"
-King Diamond
Loading...
29.12.2012 - 00:03
Butters49
Ya gotta love Dom/Hollow.
And the monologue before Suicide Note part 2.

Not to mention the studio tracks are awesome!

Definitely a good live album, in my opinion
----
"Sataaaaaaaaan. Yeah yeah!"
-King Diamond
Loading...
29.12.2012 - 00:18
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Terrible live album
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...

Hits total: 7300 | This month: 43