El Caco - Hatred, Love & Diagrams review



Reviewer:
7.9

12 users:
7.83
Band: El Caco
Album: Hatred, Love & Diagrams
Release date: January 2012


01. After I'm Gone
02. Hatred
03. Autopsy
04. Equivalence
05. Go Forward
06. Confessions
07. Sixty To Zero
08. Skeleton
09. She Said
10. Disconnect


Just because Tool only release an album once in a blue moon, doesn't mean you can't dig on some very similar tunes in the meantime. Not strictly a Tool knock off, but damn close enough to have an incredibly accessible appeal, especially to fans of those heavy prog-rock legends.

It's a swaggering, dark prog rock built with a lot of attention to detail. It's emotional and passionate, yet there is still a cold sort of feeling that gives it a sense of despair. Hatred, Love & Diagrams is sort of a nice fence where technical prowess meets raw emotion. More times than not, bands tend to swing too far in one direction or another; some personal message outweighing songwriting, or too much showy technique, and no emotion. El Caco definitely manage to not only balance out these two aspects, but use each to enhance the other. The transfer from massive riff to massive riff is a nice display of skill behind the guitars & bass, but the champion of this album is definitely drummer Fredrik Wallumrød, who swings from basic rock jams to complicated drum patterns with controlled precision, even while the music is at it's mellowest. The riffs have that massive appeal, almost sounding like a Tool-meets-Pelican sort of hybrid, but everything is enhanced by the desperation behind the vocals to give it that emotional edge.

Hatred, Love & Diagrams quite a nice little prog album, for sure, but it isn't quite a home-run. For one, the vocals do have a tendency to get a bit grating by the end, a bit squeeky you could say. Their main issue seems to lie in the same ballpark as their obvious musical mentors; the massive riffs which lie in-between each of the high points sound incredible at first, but their repetition in almost every track gives the album a very samey feel by the end.

Hatred, Love & Diagrams is a nice, slightly more simplistic, radio-friendly take on prog, but engaging enough to let yourself drift off into.


 



Written on 04.02.2012 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 128 users
04.02.2012 - 12:33
Milena
Learning To "X"
"Their main issue seems to lie in the same ballpark as their obvious musical mentors; the massive riffs which lie in-between each of the high points sound incredible at first, but their repetition in almost every track gives the album a very samey feel by the end."
And this is why, my children, Mora doesn't like Tool.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
04.02.2012 - 12:53
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Milena on 04.02.2012 at 12:33
Mora doesn't like Tool.


You fucking suck



Needless to say I don't think Tool has that problem at all. One of the few prog stuff I enjoy all the time.
Will check this out of curiosity . I can only take so much prog but let's see if I dig them.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
04.02.2012 - 12:54
BloodTears
ANA-thema
This album sounds interesting, should check it out.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
04.02.2012 - 13:43
Milena
Learning To "X"
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.02.2012 at 12:53

I can only take so much prog

Right back at ya
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
04.02.2012 - 14:09
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Milena on 04.02.2012 at 13:43

Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.02.2012 at 12:53

I can only take so much prog

Right back at ya


As always, I didn't really this. But whatever, my feelings are still hurt
At least we agree with the gothic awards
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
04.02.2012 - 14:33
Milena
Learning To "X"
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.02.2012 at 14:09

At least we agree with the gothic awards

Yes, that's more than what I find in common with some other people
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
04.02.2012 - 14:54
Edmund Fogg
Tool meets Pelican... Added El Caco to bands to check out.

Edit: Checked a couples of tracks and I prefer the instru parts to the actual singing parts. I just cant get into his tone. Don't know why.
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...
04.02.2012 - 15:01
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Not much of a Tool fan, but I do like Pelican. Sounds like a blast.
Loading...
04.02.2012 - 20:06
Introspekrieg
Totemic Lust
Checked them out after the great review, not bad at all. Missing a little bit of something in each department, but a good listening experience nevertheless.
Loading...
07.02.2012 - 19:27
Unhealer
Eclecticist
El Caco???? Lol, that is slang for "the thief" in my country, can't believe they are Norwegian.
I'll do my best to like this band so I can tell people here "I listen to El Caco"

Nah seriously, If it sounds like tool I should check this.
It is a strange phenomena that whenever a "new style" shows up and a lot bands follow the trend everything is cool but if you sound like Tool, you are to be crucified
Loading...
11.02.2013 - 15:42
inakaa
I find this album excellent! The vocals are strong and deep with this hurt feeling to it, the guitar is just- amazing! I loved the entire album and bought a signed CD last spring
Loading...

Hits total: 4417 | This month: 16