Rating:
N/A
The Man-Eating Tree - Harvest
23 November 2011


01. Harvest Bell
02. At The Green Country Chapel
03. Code Of Surrender
04. Armed
05. Like Mute Companions
06. Exhaled
07. Down To The Color Of The Eye
08. Incendere
09. All You Kept Free
10. Karsikko
11. Everything Dies [Type O Negative cover] [bonus]


Rating in words: pleasant, seductive, well-structured.

The Man-Eating Tree, what a symbolic band name. The band has grown so much over the course of one year, effectively branching* into new territories while at the same time staying firmly rooted** in the same ground - the product of this wonderful change is one of the best gothic metal albums of 2011. Their debut, Vine, an album nominated for the Metal Storm Awards as well, came across as a bit pedestrian to me. It had the same balance of wonderfully gentle and intricate elements, but failed to produce memorable tunes that would stick to my head. Harvest is an enormous improvement in terms of songwriting - it is a lot catchier and more cohesive. While Vine relied on a slightly brooding atmosphere, Harvest is all about song development and progression, which makes it a lot better in my eyes.

Although the focus has been shifted to achieving qualities different than on the first release, the base of The Man-Eating Tree's sound hasn't changed between the two albums. The key word here is layering. Every element alone is soft and intricate - very gentle guitar melodies, keyboards mostly adopting the sound of a classic piano, creative but simple rhythms and, as a cherry on top, the uniquely expressive vocals of Tuomas Tuominen. When there are displays of raging emotion, they're confined to one instrument alone, while others are keeping up with their delicate dance. And yet, when you join them all together, their collective weight crushes you.

I must note that this is one of the bands that makes me wish we made "atmospheric metal" or "(melodic) dark metal" legit sub-genres. There is little or no connection to goth rock or gothic metal of the 90's, but every dreary, bleak and/or overly melodic band is being lumped into the gothic category nevertheless. This might be a sign of genre progression, or, on the other hand, a sign that we use sub-genres as means to describe the atmosphere rather than the sound. This is not the only sub-genre with an identity crisis, but I guess that if it isn't broken, you don't fix it.

Of course, since this band is composed of skilled professionals of (semi) famous Finnish bands, you'll find no flaws there; even though Tuominen is the shining star on the album (he reminds me slightly of Eddie Vedder!), and certain tough guys (hi Rod) have admitted going gay over his wondrous voice, the rest of the band doesn't lag behind at all. The production is top notch as well; the only flaw of this album, and the only song I skip is "Down To The Color Of The Eye", an attempt at delivering a heavier punch that wasn't constructed very well. Lovers of darkness and melodies in their metal should consider this a recommendation.

* Sorry about this, I like lame puns.
** At least you didn't get a lame dendrophilia joke.


Band profile: The Man-Eating Tree
Album: Harvest


 



Written on 12.02.2012 by
Milena
A part of the team since December 2011, writes about the progressive, the sad and the melodic. She's nice until she's not.
More reviews by Milena ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 47  
Users visited: 243  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 12.02.2012 at 18:02  
Now I can't back up from anything I said because of this review ahahahahha. The only thing that is funnier is the "tough guy" tag. ... But yeah, a really good album imo. Long time ago since I was moved by clean vocals and this kind of music in general.

Good review too, although i couldn't stop groaning during the first couple of sentences.
Boxcar Willy - 12.02.2012 at 18:03  
Maybe I should check this out... maybe.
Milena - 12.02.2012 at 18:25  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 12.02.2012 at 18:02

... although i couldn't stop groaning during the first couple of sentences.

Why, you like the first album too? I liked it too, but it bored me quickly, this is a lot better.
Mr. Doctor - 12.02.2012 at 18:26  
Written by Milena on 12.02.2012 at 18:25
Why, you like the first album too?


Haven't heard it, I meant the horrible puns.
Milena - 12.02.2012 at 18:27  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 12.02.2012 at 18:26

Haven't heard it, I meant the horrible puns.

I apologized for those I thought of throwing in a Botanist pun but couldn't think of anything as horrible.
Mr. Doctor - 12.02.2012 at 18:28  
Written by Milena on 12.02.2012 at 18:27
I apologized for those I thought of throwing in a Botanist pun but couldn't think of anything as horrible.


Hhahhaha yeah, Joe really went overboard with that one but I like bad puns anyway... A masochistic attitude.
Unhealer - 12.02.2012 at 18:31  
I checked them when going through the gothic nominees, not my cup of tea but you can tell they have some attractive.

And hey, your writing is outstanding. By reading your review I could actually picture the sound of the album and its damn close to what I remember, that is the real success in a review for me.
Milena - 12.02.2012 at 20:21  
Written by Unhealer on 12.02.2012 at 18:31

I checked them when going through the gothic nominees, not my cup of tea but you can tell they have some attractive.

And hey, your writing is outstanding. By reading your review I could actually picture the sound of the album and its damn close to what I remember, that is the real success in a review for me.

Oh gee, thanks glad to know people check out the nominees instead of whining about the placement/the nominees themselves
Susan - 13.02.2012 at 03:11  
I miss Fall Of The Leafe, the vocalist's previous band. I was so excited to hear about Man Eating Tree and that I'd get to enjoy his voice again!

I so want to like this band but with this and the debut I just haven't heard anything very special. Perhaps I should give both albums more listens but unfortunately I just get bored whenever I try. It's lovely music, well done and beautiful... just not for me I think. Sad!

(But for the record I LOVE the puns!!!!!)
Void Eater - 13.02.2012 at 07:55  
The seeds of greatness have been sewn.
JohnDoe - 13.02.2012 at 08:01  
Left me unimpressed
Milena - 13.02.2012 at 11:20  
Written by Susan on 13.02.2012 at 03:11

It's lovely music, well done and beautiful... just not for me I think. Sad!

That's how I felt about Heavenwood this year
Windrider - 13.02.2012 at 15:14  
Nice review, I've always wanted to check this band out but never found time... I also like this 'new' review style, well done!
Milena - 13.02.2012 at 15:21  
Written by Windrider on 13.02.2012 at 15:14

Nice review, I've always wanted to check this band out but never found time... I also like this 'new' review style, well done!

I don't have a new review style, it's an attempt of the old style after a month of almost no writing

If you mean "the rating in words"... I might need a numeral rating again to complete it. After some time, when I read my reviews again, even I am not sure whether I was positive about something on a 9-level or on an 8-level if I read only the words...
Mr. Doctor - 13.02.2012 at 16:00  
Written by Milena on 13.02.2012 at 11:20

Written by Susan on 13.02.2012 at 03:11

It's lovely music, well done and beautiful... just not for me I think. Sad!

That's how I felt about Heavenwood this year


Same here... left me totally meh.
malaikat - 13.02.2012 at 16:31  
I love the "rating in words". That's the reason why I regularly visit Allmusic when writing an article on some popular music, they pretty much say everything about a band/artist with just a dozen or so keywords (which describe the musical "feeling" and atmosphere of the said band/artist). Reviews in general can benefit from this impressionistic approach.
Windrider - 13.02.2012 at 16:42  
Written by Milena on 13.02.2012 at 15:21

Written by Windrider on 13.02.2012 at 15:14

Nice review, I've always wanted to check this band out but never found time... I also like this 'new' review style, well done!

I don't have a new review style, it's an attempt of the old style after a month of almost no writing

If you mean "the rating in words"... I might need a numeral rating again to complete it. After some time, when I read my reviews again, even I am not sure whether I was positive about something on a 9-level or on an 8-level if I read only the words...

It's actually quite cool because people need to read the review and don't come, see the rating, say 'aha' and go again without having read anything! I also skip the rating as a number when I really want people to read what I think about, if the album is important to me e.g...
Merchant of Doom - 13.02.2012 at 18:36  
Have Entwine changed their name? I did like it, though...
Milena - 13.02.2012 at 22:11  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 13.02.2012 at 18:36

Have Entwine changed their name? I did like it, though...

This sounds nothing like Entwine and I'm not saying that just because I don't like Entwine a lot
Merchant of Doom - 14.02.2012 at 11:04  
Written by Milena on 13.02.2012 at 22:11

Written by Merchant of Doom on 13.02.2012 at 18:36

Have Entwine changed their name? I did like it, though...

This sounds nothing like Entwine and I'm not saying that just because I don't like Entwine a lot



Maybe I should have said that the singer sounds a lot like Entwine's Mika Taurianen... apologies for the misleading comment...
Milena - 14.02.2012 at 11:53  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 14.02.2012 at 11:04

Maybe I should have said that the singer sounds a lot like Entwine's Mika Taurianen... apologies for the misleading comment...

Ah, but he doesn't
Just kidding, they have *some* similarities, but ultimately their voices and singing are pretty different.
Merchant of Doom - 14.02.2012 at 12:50  
Written by Milena on 14.02.2012 at 11:53

Written by Merchant of Doom on 14.02.2012 at 11:04

Maybe I should have said that the singer sounds a lot like Entwine's Mika Taurianen... apologies for the misleading comment...

Ah, but he doesn't
Just kidding, they have *some* similarities, but ultimately their voices and singing are pretty different.



mmm... I still think it's Mika in disguise....
Enoch - 16.02.2012 at 05:06  
I like this band and their music.
Slayer666 - 22.02.2012 at 19:45  
The chorus on "Armed" is catchy beyond belief, and that Type O Negative cover is nice.
The rest... pretty meh, methinks.
Milena - 23.02.2012 at 02:18  
Written by Slayer666 on 22.02.2012 at 19:45

The chorus on "Armed" is catchy beyond belief, and that Type O Negative cover is nice.

Like Mute Companions is even catchier to me.

Mmm hmm. Which 2011 gothic nominees did you like?
Mr. Doctor - 23.02.2012 at 16:24  
Written by Milena on 23.02.2012 at 02:18

Written by Slayer666 on 22.02.2012 at 19:45

The chorus on "Armed" is catchy beyond belief, and that Type O Negative cover is nice.

Like Mute Companions is even catchier to me.


Code Of Surrender was easily the catchiest chorus for me.
Milena - 23.02.2012 at 16:46  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 23.02.2012 at 16:24

Code Of Surrender was easily the catchiest chorus for me.

Surrendered, surrendee-aahhaa---red!
Mr. Doctor - 23.02.2012 at 16:50  
Written by Milena on 23.02.2012 at 16:46

Written by Mr. Doctor on 23.02.2012 at 16:24

Code Of Surrender was easily the catchiest chorus for me.

Surrendered, surrendee-aahhaa---red!


My favorite part is actually when it kicks... It's really powerful after the little silence.

Inside the moment
But outside of the code of this...MOTIONLESS DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWN
Milena - 23.02.2012 at 16:53  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 23.02.2012 at 16:50

But outside of the code of this...MOTIONLESS DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWN

Uh, now I really have to play it.

I'll look at your album rates now, but so far I don't think there has been an album we've both enjoyed... well, we listen to very different genres so there's not much of a surprise, but still
Mr. Doctor - 23.02.2012 at 17:00  
Written by Milena on 23.02.2012 at 16:53

I'll look at your album rates now, but so far I don't think there has been an album we've both enjoyed... well, we listen to very different genres so there's not much of a surprise, but still


Ava Inferi - Onyx
Graveyard - Hisingen Blues (I even liked it more than you )
In Flames albums
Nightwish - Oceanborn
Paradise Lost albums

That's pretty much it besides this one.
Milena - 23.02.2012 at 17:07  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 23.02.2012 at 17:00

Ava Inferi - Onyx
Graveyard - Hisingen Blues (I even liked it more than you )
In Flames albums
Nightwish - Oceanborn
Paradise Lost albums

That's pretty much it besides this one.

Oh well, that is quite enough
Mr. Doctor - 23.02.2012 at 17:12  
Written by Milena on 23.02.2012 at 17:07
Oh well, that is quite enough


Hey if you dig this kind of gothic I think you should check out Lacrimas Profundere middle period... When they weren't really doom anymore and they weren't goth rock either
Burning: A Wish
Fall, I Will Follow

Those two are some of my favorite "catchy gothic" albums. The first one being more calm and emotional and the other one being more of a badass rock attitude.
Milena - 23.02.2012 at 17:15  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 23.02.2012 at 17:12

Hey if you dig this kind of gothic I think you should check out Lacrimas Profundere middle period... When they weren't really doom anymore and they weren't goth rock either
Burning: A Wish
Fall, I Will Follow

Those two are some of my favorite "catchy gothic" albums. The first one being more calm and emotional and the other one being more of a badass rock attitude.

Duly noted.
Mr. Doctor - 23.02.2012 at 17:43  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 23.02.2012 at 17:40

question


What? Don't understand the question.
Cynic Metalhead - 23.02.2012 at 17:46  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 23.02.2012 at 17:43

Written by Cynic Metalhead on 23.02.2012 at 17:40

question


What? Don't understand the question.


I was saying...did you really like the emotional side of the music??!
Mr. Doctor - 23.02.2012 at 17:55  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 23.02.2012 at 17:46
I was saying...did you really like the emotional side of the music??!


I find this question really stupid. Not to mention that I fail to see what it has to do with whatever I wrote in my profile.

We enjoy music because it touches us in an emotional level... Unless you are a robot.
Slayer666 - 23.02.2012 at 19:17  
Written by Milena on 23.02.2012 at 02:18

Mmm hmm. Which 2011 gothic nominees did you like?


Haven't checked them all out just yet, but 2011 was definitively not a good year for Gothic.

Kamlath - Very decent, but I expected a lot more from a line-up like that. Even Benevento (who's simply brilliant in The Foreshadowing) cant make it impressive.
Heavenwood - Less "meh" than this album, but meh nonetheless.
Draconian - Would rate it a very, very low 7, bordering with a 6. Ergo, slightly above average.
NeraNature - Nice and catchy, quite entertaining during the first 4-5 listens. After that, like all catchy but ultimately shallow music, it looses more than half of its appeal. Still, one or two tracks will be spinning for a long while, I guess.

4 more nominees to go, and I'm not getting my hopes up. The Gothic genre needs some innovation ASAP. Or more bands that take the tried and true formula and make it blow me away, like Oionos did last year.
Cynic Metalhead - 23.02.2012 at 19:24  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 23.02.2012 at 17:55

Written by Cynic Metalhead on 23.02.2012 at 17:46
I was saying...did you really like the emotional side of the music??!


I find this question really stupid. Not to mention that I fail to see what it has to do with whatever I wrote in my profile.

We enjoy music because it touches us in an emotional level... Unless you are a robot.


that wasn't me!! it was my stupid friend who sat on my laptop when i was away for few minutes. Sorry for that.
Mr. Doctor - 23.02.2012 at 19:25  
Written by Slayer666 on 23.02.2012 at 19:17
4 more nominees to go, and I'm not getting my hopes up. The Gothic genre needs some innovation ASAP. Or more bands that take the tried and true formula and make it blow me away, like Oionos did last year.


The only stuff I found worth the time was Ava Inferi, To Cast A Shadow and this album.
Slayer666 - 23.02.2012 at 19:27  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 23.02.2012 at 19:25

The only stuff I found worth the time was Ava Inferi, To Cast A Shadow and this album.


This one is the weakest of the lot, if you ask me. I'm gonna put my faith in Blasphemer and check out Ava Inferi next. I might be surprised, but I doubt it.
Mr. Doctor - 23.02.2012 at 19:28  
Written by Slayer666 on 23.02.2012 at 19:27
This one is the weakest of the lot, if you ask me. I'm gonna put my faith in Blasphemer and check out Ava Inferi next. I might be surprised, but I doubt it.

Meh. This is far superior and more inspired that more than half of that category.
I found stuff like Kamlath just plain bad.... REALLY shitty production. All the others went from bad to meh as well. Kamlath and Weeping Silence take the price as the worst of the lot for me.
Milena - 24.02.2012 at 00:26  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 23.02.2012 at 19:28

Written by Slayer666 on 23.02.2012 at 19:27
This one is the weakest of the lot, if you ask me. I'm gonna put my faith in Blasphemer and check out Ava Inferi next. I might be surprised, but I doubt it.

Meh. This is far superior and more inspired that more than half of that category.
I found stuff like Kamlath just plain bad.... REALLY shitty production. All the others went from bad to meh as well. Kamlath and Weeping Silence take the price as the worst of the lot for me.

Quoted this comment to quote you both - we kinda share some of our opinions here, pretty neat.

Forgettable: Draconian, Heavenwood, Lake Of Tears (three of the biggest nominees lol), Weeping Silence
Not bad but could be so much more: NeraNature, Kamlath
Very decent: Ravenscry, To Cast A Shadow
Pretty darn good: Ava Inferi and this.
omjaimes - 25.02.2012 at 03:46  
I used to hear suomi metal bands, but I dont know what happen with this band ... they have all this catchy elements that I've enjoy but my impression is that particulary this album lacks originality ... dont crucify me but I prefer thousand times hear Entwine, Charon, Poisonblack or even Lovex
Milena - 25.02.2012 at 10:29  
Written by omjaimes on 25.02.2012 at 03:46

I used to hear suomi metal bands, but I dont know what happen with this band ... they have all this catchy elements that I've enjoy but my impression is that particulary this album lacks originality ... dont crucify me but I prefer thousand times hear Entwine, Charon, Poisonblack or even Lovex

Well I don't think TMET actually can be compared to any of those bands... neither the results nor the base of the sound are the same, despite the similiarities. And of course, what the individual man prefers is his own doing, no one will "crucify" you
omjaimes - 25.02.2012 at 17:36  
Why could not be compared? if essentially the elements that characterize it are present in other bands, for example, the catchy melodies, the kind of riffs and arpeggios so common in Finnish rock-metal bands , emotional male voice as the star, and more. I wonder why this band have been so popular in the audience that used to listen bands like the ones I mentioned before, I personally could not find TMET original and remarkable, trying to ignore the accent that sometimes makes the lyrics unintelligible
Mr. Doctor - 25.02.2012 at 21:04  
Written by omjaimes on 25.02.2012 at 17:36

I wonder why this band have been so popular in the audience that used to listen bands like the ones I mentioned before


Some members from TMET are from bands such as Sentenced and Poisonblack.
Mike - 15.08.2012 at 21:30  
This is a very nice review of the album and Milena your puns are appreciated. I recently discovered TMET not long ago and I find their brand of melodic melancholy-ness very enjoyable. Tuomas Tuominen's voice is unique, I don't think I've ever heard anyone else who sounds similar to him, however his vocals lend a rich fresh dimension to the music. TMET is a great band which I hope to hear more from.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums The Man-Eating Tree - Harvest 7.5 21.09.2011 by Milena
News The Man-Eating Tree - New Video Online 6 10.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy
News The Man-Eating Tree - Part Ways With Vocalist 6 01.01.2013 by Susan
News The Man-Eating Tree - Lyric Video For New Song Released 6 29.06.2014 by mz
News The Man-Eating Tree - New Video Online 4.5 14.08.2010 by Jeeers



Hits total: 3678 | This month: 46