Rating:
N/A
Lunar Path - Memento Mori
1 February 2012


01. The Beginning And The End
02. Promise Me
03. We'll Be There
04. The One Behind The Mirror
05. Thin White Lines
06. In The End [feat. J-P Leppäluoto]
07. Deadweight
08. Farewell To Arms
09. The Only Way Out Is Through
10. Walls Are Whispering [feat. Attila Csihar]
11. Close The Door
12. Nothing To Regret
13. Drag Me Down To Hell [feat. Tuomas Saukkonen and Antti Leskinen]
14. Who Are You Talking To?
15. River Runs Deep


Rating in words: Cutting a huge meal into many small slices will still leave you uncomfortably full when it is consumed. But if it is your favorite dish, it's worth it.
(I know it doesn't make sense now, but keep on reading!)

Last year's releases from Autumn and Cardamon were a refreshment for the female vocal enthusiasts last year, because they didn't represent anything overly symphonic, operatic vocals, dramatic themes or just about anything stereotypically tied with having a lead woman on vocals, and yet were suitably dark(ish) and fairly melodic and lightweight. Lunar Path represents that niche in 2012 with Memento Mori, and even though flawed, this concept album might be worth a listen if you're into things like these.

It was scheduled for recording in early 2011 but the recordings were delayed by an unfortunate event: the first floor of the band's rehearsal flat complex was "arsoned by a deranged girl while the band was playing on the second floor". The band rescued themselves by jumping out of the window and their guitarist and keyboardist Jonas was injured seriously in the fall, losing 20% of the mobility in his right foot as result. But the band soldiered on, proving Finns are tough.

Their music is not of the tough kind, which will please some and upset others. It is of the simplest, metal bordering on rock (or vice versa) kind, spiced up with strong and assured vocals by Janica Lönn (who was a guest on Black Sun Aeon's Routa), as well as simple piano intros and symphonic sounds, all performed on keyboards. Arguably, "the most metal" moments come from darkening the mood with "orchestral" parts, which are still rare enough for this to be classified as purely symphonic. Songs are pretty short and catchy, and there is some good quality single-material.

However. For an overly melodic album consisting of short and catchy songs, it is too long. 15 songs clocking in at about 66 minutes, to be precise. You can find at least 15 minutes of material here which, by quality, is way behind the solid whole Memento Mori would represent if it were shorter. You can't exactly call it filler because there was no place to be filled here, light and approachable releases are supposed to be a little shorter in order to be just that - light and approachable. I guess the "extra" songs were needed to develop the concept further, but even the best storytellers get lost in their stories sometimes.

If you're not intimidated by your metal not being way too heavy, and you have some extra time on your hands (whether to deconstruct this release or try to enjoy it as a whole, both are fine), you'll find some nice songs here, especially the ones featuring guests - Attila Csihar (Mayhem), J-P Leppäluoto (ex-Charon, Northern Kings), Antti Leskinen and Tuomas Saukkonen (Before The Dawn and, well, a dozen more) have all given interesting performances.


 



Written on 14.02.2012 by
Milena
A part of the team since December 2011, writes about the progressive, the sad and the melodic. She's nice until she's not.
More reviews by Milena ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 30  
Users visited: 192  
Search this topic:  


InnerSelf - 15.02.2012 at 11:31  
Read the whole review just to know what the hell is Attila doing here I can't picture him doing his deranged vocals in a soft album .... gonna check it for the sake of Attila (and this great review)
Milena - 15.02.2012 at 12:40  
Written by InnerSelf on 15.02.2012 at 11:31

Read the whole review just to know what the hell is Attila doing here I can't picture him doing his deranged vocals in a soft album .... gonna check it for the sake of Attila (and this great review)

You could have skipped to the last part you can guess my favorite song is the one featuring JP, the harsh vocals didn't exactly fit in but they were nevertheless a refreshment.
Susan - 15.02.2012 at 14:37  
I've had this one on my radar for just a short time so how cool that you reviewed it! I don't love when bands release albums that are too long (leave us wanting more!) but nonetheless I'm pretty excited to at least give this one a listen. Sounds like a nice, easy album
Milena - 15.02.2012 at 14:47  
Written by Susan on 15.02.2012 at 14:37

Sounds like a nice, easy album

Oh yeah, that it is, but it gets tiresome. My overall impression probably wouldn't have been as positive as it is now if they didn't make the closer a REAL closer... so many albums lack that "oh yeah it's over and you're gonna be sorry for it"-song, or they put it in the wrong place.
Unhealer - 15.02.2012 at 15:03  
Sounds like something I should check out. But I have the feeling those 66 minutes will be an overload of sweets 'n' candy based on what I've read

And... Attila as a guest??? That is definitely a bonus.
Milena - 15.02.2012 at 15:13  
Written by Unhealer on 15.02.2012 at 15:03

Sounds like something I should check out. But I have the feeling those 66 minutes will be an overload of sweets 'n' candy based on what I've read

And... Attila as a guest??? That is definitely a bonus.

If you don't like sweets and candy, don't enter There are albums which are too girly for me, this one was pretty close on the border, but nevertheless they can write some good songs.
Unhealer - 15.02.2012 at 15:23  
Written by Milena on 15.02.2012 at 15:13

If you don't like sweets and candy, don't enter There are albums which are too girly for me, this one was pretty close on the border, but nevertheless they can write some good songs.


I like 'em, but 66 minutes sounds like a stomachache. But there is always medicine, I'll tell you later how did it go
Milena - 15.02.2012 at 15:38  
Written by Unhealer on 15.02.2012 at 15:23

I like 'em, but 66 minutes sounds like a stomachache. But there is always medicine, I'll tell you later how did it go

Sounds fine to me one thing I'm sure you'll like is the singer, she has a very good voice.
Susan - 15.02.2012 at 16:30  
Ok, I'll approach with caution. I do like "sweets 'n candy" often enough but I've noted your warning

Written by Milena on 15.02.2012 at 14:47


or they put it in the wrong place.


And yes! I hate this!! Too many potentially good albums have this flaw. The closer comes and goes and you think Wow! What a great album! Then you realize it's only half over. Ugggh..
Milena - 15.02.2012 at 16:36  
Written by Susan on 15.02.2012 at 16:30

The closer comes and goes and you think Wow! What a great album! Then you realize it's only half over. Ugggh..

That happened to me a couple of days ago, just can't remember which album it was... seriously felt like smashing my phone but of course I would never do that.

Just for the record, this was a review request forwarded to me by Doc... receiving something so professional really makes me glad I work here.
R'Vannith - 15.02.2012 at 16:46  
I haven't heard any good Gothic metal this year, hopefully this will change that. I'll check it out. Interesting review, it makes me hungry for some reason
Milena - 16.02.2012 at 00:56  
Written by R'Vannith on 15.02.2012 at 16:46

I haven't heard any good Gothic metal this year, hopefully this will change that. I'll check it out. Interesting review, it makes me hungry for some reason

Do be warned that it's not *real* gothic metal. Should have probably brought that up but I've already ranted over genre classification in my previous review so I didn't wanna go there again
Enoch - 16.02.2012 at 05:23  
This music is so very pretty.
Mr. Doctor - 16.02.2012 at 23:47  
Came for Attila... Sadly he only did like... what... a spoken word in the beginning? Oh well. I was pleasantly surprised at the heaviness of that song and the other ones I've heard. I'm talking about the tune of the guitars here... A really thick and full "meat" sound... It was nice since sometimes I feel this sort of music has incredibly thin guitars. Definitely a good production.

Not my style, but I dig it for what it is. I can understand if someone enjoys them a lot. Also, disagree... I think the growls suited nicely.
Milena - 17.02.2012 at 00:52  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.02.2012 at 23:47

Came for Attila... Sadly he only did like... what... a spoken word in the beginning? Oh well.

Oh yeah, didn't wanna bring that up, so you extreme metal people feel betrayed when you click on the song
Unhealer - 17.02.2012 at 01:07  
Just checked the record, Mora.
Agree with everything you said on the review, lots of good songs but it gets repetitive...
Good thing is that just seconds after that thought crossed my mind, the first track with guest vocals was just starting. They did well in adding those collaborations in favor of some diversity.

And did you know the album actually clocks 66 minutes and 6 seconds? Read that on the album trailer. I really want to believe they didn't write filler songs just to reach that duration

Its a nice record. Heavy riffing with the correct amount of sugar. And the vocals are great indeed. I'll probably spin it a few more times.
Unhealer - 17.02.2012 at 01:10  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.02.2012 at 23:47

Came for Attila... Sadly he only did like... what... a spoken word in the beginning?


Yeah, the collaboration with Attila reminded me of what Shagrath from Dimmu Borgir did with Kamelot But it gave a nice touch to the song nevertheless.
Milena - 17.02.2012 at 12:25  
Written by Unhealer on 17.02.2012 at 01:07

Just checked the record, Mora.
Agree with everything you said on the review, lots of good songs but it gets repetitive...
Good thing is that just seconds after that thought crossed my mind, the first track with guest vocals was just starting. They did well in adding those collaborations in favor of some diversity.

And did you know the album actually clocks 66 minutes and 6 seconds? Read that on the album trailer. I really want to believe they didn't write filler songs just to reach that duration

Its a nice record. Heavy riffing with the correct amount of sugar. And the vocals are great indeed. I'll probably spin it a few more times.

Glad you liked it
And about Shagrath and Kamelot... always adored that song.
Slayer666 - 17.02.2012 at 12:51  
This album is guilty of false advertising, and I feel like I've been lied to. :[
Mr. Doctor - 17.02.2012 at 16:06  
Written by Slayer666 on 17.02.2012 at 12:51

This album is guilty of false advertising, and I feel like I've been lied to. :[


You are not alone dude
Susan - 19.04.2012 at 19:36  
I must say... after returning to this album I still like it quite a bit. Yes, it's harmless and catchy, but damn it's fun

"Their music is not of the tough kind..." no, maybe not, but a few songs are still quite heavy and that adds a nice touch. Just enough balance to keep me from getting "too full." (Love the food metaphor!!)

But in the end I do agree it could be a bit shorter. I enjoy the whole thing but it rarely leaves me wanting to listen again. I wish more bands would understand the virtue of giving us JUST ENOUGH and to keep us wanting more.
Milena - 19.04.2012 at 20:58  
Written by Susan on 19.04.2012 at 19:36

I must say... after returning to this album I still like it quite a bit. Yes, it's harmless and catchy, but damn it's fun

"Their music is not of the tough kind..." no, maybe not, but a few songs are still quite heavy and that adds a nice touch. Just enough balance to keep me from getting "too full." (Love the food metaphor!!)

Yeah, I knew there was an audience for this album when I wrote the review it is harmless but you do listen to stuff with teeth and therefore have enough balance and plus, who can say no to a woman that can sing.
Troy Killjoy - 19.04.2012 at 21:22  
Going to check "Walls Are Whispering" asap.
Milena - 19.04.2012 at 22:34  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.04.2012 at 21:22

Going to check "Walls Are Whispering" asap.

It's a spoken-word performance by Attila
Troy Killjoy - 19.04.2012 at 22:39  
Written by Milena on 19.04.2012 at 22:34
It's a spoken-word performance by Attila

Not going to check "Walls Are Whispering" asap.
Milena - 19.04.2012 at 22:40  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.04.2012 at 22:39

Not going to check "Walls Are Whispering" asap.

Yeah, I was too mean to mention it in the review because I knew people are going to fly to check it out there ARE harsh vocs on this album though.
Array - 19.04.2012 at 22:46  
The story for Attila's appearance was something like 'buddy from the music industry'. Not sure was someone working in some studio or something... Yea, and then someone asked something from someone, and something like this happened. Yep.
dismaleuphony - 09.11.2012 at 22:57  
I've been revisiting a lot of albums I passed over early the year, and after reading the review I was mildly hopeful for the release. Mentioning the direction that Autumn offered in their last album and seeing this listed as gothic metal, suggested something, but for me this album isn't what that suggests. I struggle to find the gothic in the album, and found lots of symphonic and maybe an AOR style rock at times(?). I quite agree that Janica's voice is strong, but it's just not utilized or produced expertly all the time. I'd love to hear more, but not so much in this release. And I found myself disappointed with JP's vocals on numerous levels. Ahh well. I do think the mindset your review gets me into is well done, just disappointed in yet another release this year that's not up to the standards of bands in past years.
Array - 09.11.2012 at 23:07  
Seriously, this was one of the worst experiences of 2012 for me. It would be a nice thing to call this Eurovision metal, since it's so long that it totally would do well in the Torturevision.
Milena - 10.11.2012 at 11:28  
Written by dismaleuphony on 09.11.2012 at 22:57

I struggle to find the gothic in the album...

Yeah, I'm not a fan of calling this gothic metal either.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Lunar Path - Memento Mori 7.5 05.02.2012 by Milena
Reviews Withered - Memento Mori 4 26.06.2006 by Lucas
Reviews Sieges Even - The Art Of Navigating By The Stars 3 09.02.2011 by
Reviews Astral Tears - Hypnotic 3 12.04.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Pagan's Mind - Heavenly Ecstasy 3 07.12.2011 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 3505 | This month: 47