Rating:
8.3
Tort - Tort
1 January 2012


01. Vallaha
02. Cannibals of Ma'arrat
03. Gnosis of The Dead
04. Fire Rose Vampira
05. Earl Estruch


So you all got into Lurk, right? Yeah, same label. Coincidence? I think not. This is some more very interesting doom metal. Granted, it's not quite as great as Lurk, but comparing Tort to what might turn out to be one of the most beastly albums of 2012 is really unfair, and frankly irrelevant, as Tort's approach is vastly different. Either way, the Total Rust label really needs to start slowing down with these awesome releases, lest someone start suspecting this reviewer might just be on the take.

The press release read something like this; "Old school doom metal mixed with sludge and thrash..." Ok, doom + sludge = easy...then...wait, did they say thrash? That can't be possible, can it? Well, it turns out it can. It's all in the riffs. Some bands say "let's play thrash", other bands say "let's play doom". Tort, on the other hand, said "let's make totally evil music, and let it go where it wants". Some times you'll see some Bolt Thrower moments, other times you'll be hearing a sort of crusty death metal fused Sleep. The album is pretty seamless to boot. They never sound uncomfortable or out of their element with whatever they decide to play, whether it be bouncy, catchy doom, furious death metal, or those more trancey out-there moments. When taking this baby for a casual spin though, the change ups seem so natural it's not something that's noticed at first glance.

That's where the problem lies. Sure, Tort never sound particularly uncomfortable or inexperienced at their variation of styles, but they do sound a bit bored or aimless at times, as if they spread themselves a little too thin. The couple of tracks on here that play over 10 minutes are oddly the least noticeable in this aspect. Usually, long-ass songs means there are going to be moments where you'll want to hit fast forward, but those moments seem to arise more during the 3 shorter tracks in this case.

Honestly, a totally awesome album, if for nothing else, the ability to conquer this variety of styles so smoothly. Sure, a little more direct execution would have been appreciated, but I suppose you can't have it all.


 



Written on 14.02.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 181  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 14.02.2012 at 14:39  
Doom, Sludge and Thrash? Sounds like it could be a bit like Minotaur. Sounds interesting though (and cool cover artwork) and would be a nice accompaniment to that great Lurk record.
Lokaeda - 14.02.2012 at 16:50  
It could be nice to add some links where we can check the music, instead of just adding the band on MS and writting a review :3 just my opinion though
Pazdzioch - 14.02.2012 at 17:54  
Several of their songs are on yt, pretty good stuff.
Mr. Doctor - 14.02.2012 at 20:47  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.02.2012 at 14:39

Doom, Sludge and Thrash? Sounds like it could be a bit like Minotaur. Sounds interesting though (and cool cover artwork) and would be a nice accompaniment to that great Lurk record.


Iwas just going to mention Lair Of The Minotaur Definitely checking this out.
Valentin B - 14.02.2012 at 20:51  
"Tort" means "Cake" in Romanian, so yeah, I might just enjoy this haha.
Mr. Doctor - 14.02.2012 at 21:03  
Written by Valentin B on 14.02.2012 at 20:51

"Tort" means "Cake" in Romanian, so yeah, I might just enjoy this haha.


Adding an "a" on the band's name makes the spanish worf for cake as well This should be delicious.
Boxcar Willy - 14.02.2012 at 21:48  
The mentioning of it sounding like LOTM is enough to makle me want to check this out, not to mention the great review
strade - 15.02.2012 at 00:16  
I've been singing this label's praises forever, and now everybody's jumping on the bandwagon

No, but really, this band and small record label are both great. Can't wait to see what else Total Rust has in store for us...
Enoch - 16.02.2012 at 05:13  
Lurk might have a slight edge over Tort, but this is only a beginning of this rivalry.
Xnoybis - 17.02.2012 at 04:58  
Another to check out.
Gral - 17.02.2012 at 18:58  
Where can i get a LEGAL digital copy of their album?


(edited by Bitter to include that all important adjective. )
Cynic Metalhead - 17.02.2012 at 19:07  
Written by Valentin B on 14.02.2012 at 20:51

"Tort" means "Cake" in Romanian, so yeah, I might just enjoy this haha.


In french it means "Wrong". May be you are picking it up a wrong stuff. so by that...never ever go with a mean of the word in any language.
Slayer666 - 19.03.2012 at 20:03  
Contrary to my expectations after reading the review, I actually dig this shit. A lot.
Gonna have to check out Lurk as well, ASAP.
Xnoybis - 13.07.2012 at 05:19  
Tort means "twisted" per the band and an interview with Lords of Metal... the interview also revealed this gem,

Pim B - Right, that's it from my side. Anything else you want to add?

Tort - Thanks for the interview. We hope the album will be appreciated by most people. Others can get fucked by Matt Pike riding a mammoth.
Spirit Molecule - 13.07.2012 at 10:52  
Man, I only remember to check these guys out when I'm at work.
Everything is fucking blocked at work!!!
Anyone kind enough to find me a non youtube/myspace/facebook link ?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Trepalium - H.N.P. 4.5 29.08.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Bjarm - Imminence 4.5 02.08.2014 by Zephod
Reviews The Graviators - Motherload 4.5 03.09.2014 by R'Vannith
Reviews Borgne - Royaume Des Ombres 4.5 01.07.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Marauder - Elegy Of Blood 4.5 17.05.2012 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 3558 | This month: 40