Rating:
5.5
Slash - Made In Stoke 24/7/11 [Live]
14 November 2011


Disc I
01. Been There Lately
02. Night Train
03. Ghost
04. Mean Bone
05. Back From Cali
06. Rocket Queen
07. Civil War
08. Nothing To Say
09. Starlight
10. Promise

Disc II
01. Doctor Alibi
02. Speed Parade
03. Watch This
04. Beggars & Hangers On
05. Patience
06. Godfather Solo
07. Sweet Child O' Mine
08. Slither
09. By The Sword
10. Mr. Brownstone
11. Paradise City


Now, I'm not one to gauge my music tastes according to popularity or lack there of. There's some really great mainstream music out there, believe it or not. Unfortunately, when I see/hear things like this, I begin to wonder what's going through the heads of people who religiously follow mainstream rock. Why is music like this put on a pedestal? Is it the name? It's gotta be. Is the same mentality that your poor uncle has? You know the one who has to change grandmas diapers because he was the only one with objections to putting her in a home? Is it something like that? This live album from former Guns N' Roses guitarist Slash is a testament of how some rock stars need to be put out to pasture.

To be honest, Slash has never really been able to quite crack it on his own. Duff made mildly amusing punk/garage rock on his own, his only major flaw was it being over polished. Axl made his entertaining, albeit bloated Chinese Democracy. Slash? Slash has seemed comfortable making the most bland series of radio rock albums. Snakepit? Somewhat boring, a few good moments. Velvet Revolver? Was anyone not taking a nap, during, you know...their entire existence? Now it comes to this. A combination of all these mundane failures, plus a few Guns N' Roses songs performed live.

This whole thing would have been acceptably generic was it not for Myles Kennedy. Has anyone else heard this guy? Am I the only one hearing this shit? He sounds like an even worse version of Vince Neil for Christ sakes. Nasally and grating. In fact, there are some cool moments; the Godfather solo would have been pretty entertaining if it were cut down a bit, and "Been There Lately" didn't prove to be a bad opener. Myles Kennedy was just a colossally bad decision to bring in as a singer, especially for the GnR moments. Basically this live album proves that between Axl & Slash, who the more easily replaceable Gunner is.

Boring radio rock. Now with even worse vocals!


Band profile: Slash
Album: Made In Stoke 24/7/11


 



Written on 14.02.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 28  
Users visited: 290  
Search this topic:  


Milena - 14.02.2012 at 14:08  
I heard some bootleg of one of the Slash + Myles shows and Myles didn't sound bad on it at all I must say... I wonder how does this sound like.
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.02.2012 at 14:22  
Myles kennedy is the best thing to happen to Slash solo. Without Myles it would all be even worse. My God Slash solo is so goddamn mediocre it's not even funny.
Axl without Slash is mediocre as is Slash without Axl. Both need echa other, which has been proven by Chinese Democracy and by everything Slash has done since leaving GnR
Milena - 14.02.2012 at 18:43  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.02.2012 at 14:22

Axl without unlimited drugs and booze is mediocre as is Slash without unlimited drugs and booze.

Am I doing it right?
Angel_Lament - 15.02.2012 at 01:44  
Weird, I always thought of Myles Kennedy as one hell of a vocalist, I was shocked by this review...
Baz Anderson - 15.02.2012 at 03:10  
Stoke isn't the first place that jumps to mind when I think of rock 'n' roll...
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.02.2012 at 04:00  
I like Kennedy's vocals a lot but that's still not going to make me check this out.
Carl Berg - 15.02.2012 at 04:13  
Finally, thank you for saying it out loud.
davidehc - 15.02.2012 at 05:37  
I respectfully disagree. I think Slash has made a better job alone than Axl. I saw Slash on his Latin American Tour, in Venezuela, and the live sound was good, maybe not as good as the studio album, especially without all the vocalist (Ozzy,lemmy, etc). The way I see it, Slash create some good songs that fit great with the vocalist of each song. The concept works great in the studio, but obviously not so good on tour, because Myles Kennedy can't sing as Lemmy or Ozzy for example. The songs that sound good live with Myles, are the ones who he recorded originally in the studio album. That's what I felt in the concert in Venezuela anyway. I will check this out to compare. Maybe the sound on this live recording does sucks.

Still, I prefer a thousand times the "Slash" album over the "chinese democracy". I do agree about a couple of things, wath made GNR so great, was the combination Axl/Slash, apart, they will never be that great again. And I really didn't like any of the works from Slash untill the "Slash" album.
M C Vice - 15.02.2012 at 09:58  
Since this lookes like turning into a "Slash or Axl" debate, am I the only one who recognises the input Izzy and Duff had in GnR?
Kwis - 15.02.2012 at 12:27  
Thought Myles was one of the best rock vocalists around...
thehondo - 15.02.2012 at 18:38  
Written by M C Vice on 15.02.2012 at 09:58

Since this lookes like turning into a "Slash or Axl" debate, am I the only one who recognises the input Izzy and Duff had in GnR?

No. Your not. Theres really not alot of people here who even care about mainstream, but Izzy wrote most of Appetite. Myles is good, especially with Alterbridge. The majority here prefer a different vocal. I dont even know why they bother with hard rock reviews, since this is not the venue for it.
Milena - 16.02.2012 at 01:13  
Written by thehondo on 15.02.2012 at 18:38

I dont even know why they bother with hard rock reviews, since this is not the venue for it.

Well, I know for a fact that there is a lot of people here who enjoy hard rock, and the reviewer is one of them
Doc Godin - 16.02.2012 at 05:52  
Written by Milena on 16.02.2012 at 01:13

Written by thehondo on 15.02.2012 at 18:38

I dont even know why they bother with hard rock reviews, since this is not the venue for it.

Well, I know for a fact that there is a lot of people here who enjoy hard rock, and the reviewer is one of them

Hence why I'm so hard on this.
frankeli - 16.02.2012 at 10:07  
This is a good album. I didn't like that much most of his solo songs, but the rest is really good work. Honest, good rock and roll. You don't like it? Do I like it? Who cares?
Quorthon once told me that "Opinions are like arseholes..." ... no hard feelings
Boxcar Willy - 18.02.2012 at 23:16  
Written by Guest on 18.02.2012 at 22:45

long post with poor grammar.


Doc is one of the most open-minded people on MS.



And pretty much aybody can see this is just a feeble attempt to make some money.
Boxcar Willy - 19.02.2012 at 17:28  
Written by Guest on 19.02.2012 at 17:15

Quote:


Number 1: Someone who writes "And pretty much aybody..." should think before open it's mouth and say i write with a very poor grammar! lool! (by the way i'm a languages major, so enough said about that)



Damn, that's what I get for trying to be a smartass.

Language major eh? sounds a lot like a guy we MS'ers used to know.
Boxcar Willy - 19.02.2012 at 18:02  
Written by Guest on 19.02.2012 at 17:57

Written by Boxcar Willy on 19.02.2012 at 17:28

Written by Guest on 19.02.2012 at 17:15

Quote:


Number 1: Someone who writes "And pretty much aybody..." should think before open it's mouth and say i write with a very poor grammar! lool! (by the way i'm a languages major, so enough said about that)



Damn, that's what I get for trying to be a smartass.

Language major eh? sounds a lot like a guy we MS'ers used to know.


Man, i was not bragging about that, you were the one who put my writing abilities in question.

And i don't know and don't care about that guy you "MS'ers used to know", i'm a member of MS like you or anyone else and i'm here just to share and enjoy good music \m/

I guess you weren't here for the whole "Ponderer" thing.

let's stop spamming up the Doc's review
TheLostChord - 23.02.2012 at 22:20  
Fuck Slash. He sucks.
Exciter0870 - 25.02.2012 at 15:05  
I have to think some of you people miss the point on writing a review. You're supposed to be objective - even when you don't care for the type of music played. I think the people who would disagree with me are the same ones who would bash me for this post and a negative review on one of your favorite bands. I happen to think Slash's post-GnR career took a few steps back and started going forward with his cd "Slash" in 2010. Slash is a blues-influenced rock guitarist who helped influence a whole new generation of players. I find his guitar work very melodic and soulful. Rock on, Slash!
Marcel Hubregtse - 25.02.2012 at 15:11  
Written by Exciter0870 on 25.02.2012 at 15:05

I have to think some of you people miss the point on writing a review. You're supposed to be objective - even when you don't care for the type of music played.


Doc cares immensely for the sort of music played here.
I think you are missing the point what a review is, there is no such thing as an objective review.
Marcel Hubregtse - 25.02.2012 at 15:14  
About reviews and their objectivity I urge everyone to read this http://www.metalstorm.net/pub/article.php?article_id=920
Mr. Doctor - 25.02.2012 at 15:15  
Reviews being objective? Hhahahahahahah nice joke dude.
Doc Godin - 25.02.2012 at 21:35  
Written by Exciter0870 on 25.02.2012 at 15:05

I have to think some of you people miss the point on writing a review. You're supposed to be objective

No. No it isn't. At all. I suggest you look up the word "objectivity" in the dictionary before batting that word around with any review you disagree with. There is no way to make any kind of critical assessment of any kind of art objectively.

I swear to God, I lose more and more faith in humanity every time someone bitches about lack of objectivity in a review.
Winterthrone - 27.02.2012 at 22:07  
Quote:
I swear to God, I lose more and more faith in humanity every time someone bitches about lack of objectivity in a review.

Well Doc, you are perfectly right on this one... The most objective reviewer is the one who admits his subjective bias in the first place and that's what you did. People can disagree with you on the rating and on musical tastes, but your review is legitimate and well explained so there is no problem here...You fanboys should realize taht Slash's golden years are far behind him IMO...
AnGina-- - 25.05.2012 at 11:31  
I seem to be the only one totally liking Myles on this CD I think the whole live CD is pretty swell, good car music and I think there is absolutely nothing wrong with Myles; even the opposite, I love hearing him do old GNR stuff.
Mr. Doctor - 25.05.2012 at 12:39  
Written by AnGina-- on 25.05.2012 at 11:31

I seem to be the only one totally liking Myles on this CD


Not really, check other people here and you see some others enjoy his vocals, just not this album.
AnGina-- - 25.05.2012 at 12:56  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.05.2012 at 12:39

Written by AnGina-- on 25.05.2012 at 11:31

I seem to be the only one totally liking Myles on this CD


Not really, check other people here and you see some others enjoy his vocals, just not this album.


I dig the album. Just got the DVD and I totally dig it too. I like it aaaalllll, Myles in general, Myles & Slash, this CD, DVD and Apocalyptic Love.
Boxcar Willy - 24.07.2012 at 15:32  
Saw them last night, it was terrible, bored me to tears, Myles voice DOES NOT fit here.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Turisas - The Varangian Way 5 17.12.2011 by Milena
Reviews Folkstorm - Het Stille Lied Van De Maan 4.5 19.06.2012 by BitterCOld
Reviews Murder Construct - Results 4.5 11.08.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Goatwhore - Constricting Rage Of The Merciless 4.5 17.07.2014 by Lit.
Reviews Nachtvorst - Silence 4.5 12.05.2012 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 3797 | This month: 3