Yayla - Sathimasal review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.1

3 users:
8.00
Band: Yayla
Album: Sathimasal
Release date: January 2012


01. Fordreame Wonderlore
02. Emperor; Elegy To Wars Never Fought
03. Harvester; Modesty Of All Malevolence
04. Conjurer; Prophetillars Will Hollow
05. Will To Walk Paths To No Temple


You can stream and buy the album here

Staring directly into the void, unsure if this journey through dark and empty maelstroms of negativity will enlighten me or drive me insane. As the crimson red doors start to open in front of me, an electric shiver runs down my spine. A deep cave of pitch-black intensity is what awaits me and as I make my way through the cavernous labyrinth, the voices can be heard: Hymns to celebrations never performed, requiems to the dead never mourned, elegies to wars never fought...

A sudden misstep and I fall.
A radiant abyss… Where men meet themselves.
Hell.

…Heh. Sorry about that, guys. There's just something about that artwork that I find truly inspiring and quite scary for some reason, just like Giygas from the game Earthbound. While the music didn't affect me as much as the artwork, it didn't let me down and it gave me some vivid images. So what have we here anyway? Ambient black metal from Turkey is what's on the menu today. Yayla is a project created by Emir Toğrul in 2007 and Sathimasal is his sophomore album. Five songs running through 55 minutes, so it goes without saying that this is not something for those times you just want a quick listening.

The guitars are incredibly fuzzy but with a gentle touch to them. In fact, one of the strongest points of this album is the sound of the guitars. The whole production is spot on for this atmospheric and mid-to-fast-paced style of black metal. There's a certain warmth in this music which kind of goes against the classic "grim and frostbitten" sound and together with the mesmerizing guitars and the very audible and pulsing bass, it makes the overall product oddly pleasing. Soft black velvet through your ears and a bassy wall of sound that washes through your veins.

It can get a bit repetitive though. The first song serves pretty much as a test to the listener. An instrumental of almost 8 minutes that has the same fast tempo the whole time with only the keyboards providing some melodies. The album pretty much assures you that if you can deal with that song, the rest counts as a smooth and more varied ride. Keyboards are present most of the time but kept in the background (as they should be), giving a fuller and highly hypnotic sound especially in the three middle tracks which are the highlights here.

Conclusion? Very nice, trance-friendly and sometimes even relentless black metal. There's room for improvement though, especially in regards to the songwriting but the good outweighs the bad and once Toğrul manages to make it sound more varied, Yayla will definitely be a project to count on.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 10


 



Written on 19.02.2012 by An extremely lazy reviewer but he's so cute you'd forgive him for it.


Comments

Comments: 23   Visited by: 178 users
20.02.2012 - 01:02
Marcus
Doit Like Bernie
A very nice intro, I'm definitely checking this out now. Well done.
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 01:06
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcus on 20.02.2012 at 01:02

A very nice intro, I'm definitely checking this out now. Well done.


Heh, thank you... I was aiming for a tribute to Troy. We (the staff/elite) miss him a lot and I'm sure he would have reviewed this if he was around.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 01:12
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.02.2012 at 01:06



Heh, thank you... I was aiming for a tribute to Troy. We (the staff/elite) miss him a lot ...


Maybe you do, but WE don't

I hadn't even noticed that he's away
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
20.02.2012 - 01:14
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 20.02.2012 at 01:12

Maybe you do, but WE don't
I hadn't even noticed that he's away



Ah c'mon dude! Don't shit in my place and make me all depressed ... I'm trying to get emotional here
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 01:46
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
I miss him too...
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 01:48
Susan
Smeghead
Marcel, if you're not joking then you're on an island with that opinion

Mr Doc, awesome review! I've heard the first few tracks and was completely mesmerized. I can see how more variety could be helpful but also how it's wonderful for those seeking "trance-friendly" BM. You put it perfectly when you say, "Soft black velvet through your ears and a bassy wall of sound that washes through your veins."

----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 01:48
Marcus
Doit Like Bernie
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.02.2012 at 01:06

Heh, thank you... I was aiming for a tribute to Troy. We (the staff/elite) miss him a lot and I'm sure he would have reviewed this if he was around.

Shit I think just about everyone on the site does...except for Marcel of course!
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 04:00
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
I'm crying a little right now...
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 07:21
Verdun_sc
I might give this more of a chance.

On the listen to a few yt tracks, it sounded like Arizmenda, but less dynamic/chaotic.
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 07:30
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Susan on 20.02.2012 at 01:48
I can see how more variety could be helpful but also how it's wonderful for those seeking "trance-friendly" BM.


I'm off course using a very vague form of "variety". Specially since we are talking about ambient black metal, a subgenre that needs repetition. I'm just saying that if the first and last track played a little more with the tempos and keyboards like the middle tracks, This would have got a couple of more points easily.

Written by Verdun_sc on 20.02.2012 at 07:21
On the listen to a few yt tracks, it sounded like Arizmenda, but less dynamic/chaotic.


Fuck man, I KNEW there was a band this stuff reminded me of! You are correct, this gave me a good Arizmenda vibe and now I kind of wish to add that in my review since I know a couple of folks who would be more interested in listening to this because of that reference.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 10:53
Milena
Learning To "X"
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.02.2012 at 07:30

You are correct, this gave me a good Arizmenda vibe and now I kind of wish to add that in my review since I know a couple of folks who would be more interested in listening to this because of that reference.

If they cared enough, they'd look at the comments too

Nice review.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 12:34
Merchant of Doom
Very trance-inducing indeed... so much, I fell asleep...
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 14:49
Slayer666
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.02.2012 at 07:30

Fuck man, I KNEW there was a band this stuff reminded me of! You are correct, this gave me a good Arizmenda vibe


I'm bought.
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 18:50
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Slayer666 on 20.02.2012 at 14:49

Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.02.2012 at 07:30

Fuck man, I KNEW there was a band this stuff reminded me of! You are correct, this gave me a good Arizmenda vibe
I'm bought.


You might like it but like I said to Joe, I guarantee nothing But yeah, I did feel some reference to Arizmenda in the three middle tracks. Specially during the moments when it was fast-paced and the keyboards playing some melodies in the background.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
21.02.2012 - 21:44
veeja
Where's Troy Gone?
Loading...
22.02.2012 - 04:51
Verdun_sc
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.02.2012 at 07:30

Fuck man, I KNEW there was a band this stuff reminded me of! You are correct, this gave me a good Arizmenda vibe and now I kind of wish to add that in my review since I know a couple of folks who would be more interested in listening to this because of that reference.

Yeah, it's similar. I really, really loved Arizmenda's first release though, so this didnt quite do it for me just from the yt sampling. Not enough clarity or riffing. Basically as you said in your review though, could use a bit more variation, then it'd be golden.
Loading...
22.02.2012 - 04:55
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by veeja on 21.02.2012 at 21:44

Where's Troy Gone?

I'm sorry to inform you...
Loading...
22.02.2012 - 05:02
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 22.02.2012 at 04:55

Written by veeja on 21.02.2012 at 21:44

Where's Troy Gone?

I'm sorry to inform you...

----
forever bummed out
Loading...
22.02.2012 - 06:13
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Written by RetardedByMetal on 22.02.2012 at 05:50

Written by Boxcar Willy on 22.02.2012 at 05:02

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 22.02.2012 at 04:55

Written by veeja on 21.02.2012 at 21:44

Where's Troy Gone?

I'm sorry to inform you...




What the hell are u talking about He is asking about the staff of Metal Storm Troy Killjoy, a Canadian. Not the actor in Austria.


The actor was Canadian born I believe, so the mix-up is understandable.
Loading...
22.02.2012 - 10:02
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Verdun_sc on 22.02.2012 at 04:51
Not enough clarity or riffing.


This is far more Ambient than Arizmenda though... So I view those two things as positive. I just felt a vibe of Arizmenda's music... but they clearly aren't playing the same thing anyways. You should give it a another try in their bandcamp someday.

Compared to most ambient BM bands nowdays that use far too much keyboards, Yayla are putting more emphasis on guitars instead and there's a lot more riffing compared to those bands.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
23.02.2012 - 09:37
veeja
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 22.02.2012 at 04:55

Written by veeja on 21.02.2012 at 21:44

Where's Troy Gone?

I'm sorry to inform you...

wtf?
Loading...
28.03.2012 - 23:20
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Need to properly check this out, I recall it sounding pretty good. Think someone already said it but the artwork reminds me of Impetuous Ritual's cover art
Loading...
28.03.2012 - 23:22
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 28.03.2012 at 23:20

Need to properly check this out, I recall it sounding pretty good. Think someone already said it but the artwork reminds me of Impetuous Ritual's cover art


Yeah, it's pretty nice stuff. I haven't heard it that much since the review got published but I still stand by my review. Also yeah... both artworks have a similar vibe. Tell me what you think about it after you properly check it out.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...

Hits total: 3906 | This month: 19