Rating:
8.1
Yayla - Sathimasal
21 January 2012


01. Fordreame Wonderlore
02. Emperor; Elegy To Wars Never Fought
03. Harvester; Modesty Of All Malevolence
04. Conjurer; Prophetillars Will Hollow
05. Will To Walk Paths To No Temple


You can stream and buy the album here

Staring directly into the void, unsure if this journey through dark and empty maelstroms of negativity will enlighten me or drive me insane. As the crimson red doors start to open in front of me, an electric shiver runs down my spine. A deep cave of pitch-black intensity is what awaits me and as I make my way through the cavernous labyrinth, the voices can be heard: Hymns to celebrations never performed, requiems to the dead never mourned, elegies to wars never fought...

A sudden misstep and I fall.
A radiant abyss… Where men meet themselves.
Hell.

…Heh. Sorry about that, guys. There's just something about that artwork that I find truly inspiring and quite scary for some reason, just like Giygas from the game Earthbound. While the music didn't affect me as much as the artwork, it didn't let me down and it gave me some vivid images. So what have we here anyway? Ambient black metal from Turkey is what's on the menu today. Yayla is a project created by Emir Toğrul in 2007 and Sathimasal is his sophomore album. Five songs running through 55 minutes, so it goes without saying that this is not something for those times you just want a quick listening.

The guitars are incredibly fuzzy but with a gentle touch to them. In fact, one of the strongest points of this album is the sound of the guitars. The whole production is spot on for this atmospheric and mid-to-fast-paced style of black metal. There's a certain warmth in this music which kind of goes against the classic "grim and frostbitten" sound and together with the mesmerizing guitars and the very audible and pulsing bass, it makes the overall product oddly pleasing. Soft black velvet through your ears and a bassy wall of sound that washes through your veins.

It can get a bit repetitive though. The first song serves pretty much as a test to the listener. An instrumental of almost 8 minutes that has the same fast tempo the whole time with only the keyboards providing some melodies. The album pretty much assures you that if you can deal with that song, the rest counts as a smooth and more varied ride. Keyboards are present most of the time but kept in the background (as they should be), giving a fuller and highly hypnotic sound especially in the three middle tracks which are the highlights here.

Conclusion? Very nice, trance-friendly and sometimes even relentless black metal. There's room for improvement though, especially in regards to the songwriting but the good outweighs the bad and once Toğrul manages to make it sound more varied, Yayla will definitely be a project to count on.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 10


 


written by Mr. Doctor | 19.02.2012



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 23  
Users visited: 169  
Search this topic:  


Marcus - 20.02.2012 at 01:02  
A very nice intro, I'm definitely checking this out now. Well done.
Mr. Doctor - 20.02.2012 at 01:06  
Written by Marcus on 20.02.2012 at 01:02

A very nice intro, I'm definitely checking this out now. Well done.


Heh, thank you... I was aiming for a tribute to Troy. We (the staff/elite) miss him a lot and I'm sure he would have reviewed this if he was around.
Marcel Hubregtse - 20.02.2012 at 01:12  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.02.2012 at 01:06



Heh, thank you... I was aiming for a tribute to Troy. We (the staff/elite) miss him a lot ...


Maybe you do, but WE don't

I hadn't even noticed that he's away
Mr. Doctor - 20.02.2012 at 01:14  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 20.02.2012 at 01:12

Maybe you do, but WE don't
I hadn't even noticed that he's away



Ah c'mon dude! Don't shit in my place and make me all depressed ... I'm trying to get emotional here
Boxcar Willy - 20.02.2012 at 01:46  
I miss him too...
Susan - 20.02.2012 at 01:48  
Marcel, if you're not joking then you're on an island with that opinion

Mr Doc, awesome review! I've heard the first few tracks and was completely mesmerized. I can see how more variety could be helpful but also how it's wonderful for those seeking "trance-friendly" BM. You put it perfectly when you say, "Soft black velvet through your ears and a bassy wall of sound that washes through your veins."

Marcus - 20.02.2012 at 01:48  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.02.2012 at 01:06

Heh, thank you... I was aiming for a tribute to Troy. We (the staff/elite) miss him a lot and I'm sure he would have reviewed this if he was around.

Shit I think just about everyone on the site does...except for Marcel of course!
Boxcar Willy - 20.02.2012 at 04:00  
I'm crying a little right now...
Verdun_sc - 20.02.2012 at 07:21  
I might give this more of a chance.

On the listen to a few yt tracks, it sounded like Arizmenda, but less dynamic/chaotic.
Mr. Doctor - 20.02.2012 at 07:30  
Written by Susan on 20.02.2012 at 01:48
I can see how more variety could be helpful but also how it's wonderful for those seeking "trance-friendly" BM.


I'm off course using a very vague form of "variety". Specially since we are talking about ambient black metal, a subgenre that needs repetition. I'm just saying that if the first and last track played a little more with the tempos and keyboards like the middle tracks, This would have got a couple of more points easily.

Written by Verdun_sc on 20.02.2012 at 07:21
On the listen to a few yt tracks, it sounded like Arizmenda, but less dynamic/chaotic.


Fuck man, I KNEW there was a band this stuff reminded me of! You are correct, this gave me a good Arizmenda vibe and now I kind of wish to add that in my review since I know a couple of folks who would be more interested in listening to this because of that reference.
Milena - 20.02.2012 at 10:53  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.02.2012 at 07:30

You are correct, this gave me a good Arizmenda vibe and now I kind of wish to add that in my review since I know a couple of folks who would be more interested in listening to this because of that reference.

If they cared enough, they'd look at the comments too

Nice review.
Merchant of Doom - 20.02.2012 at 12:34  
Very trance-inducing indeed... so much, I fell asleep...
Slayer666 - 20.02.2012 at 14:49  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.02.2012 at 07:30

Fuck man, I KNEW there was a band this stuff reminded me of! You are correct, this gave me a good Arizmenda vibe


I'm bought.
Mr. Doctor - 20.02.2012 at 18:50  
Written by Slayer666 on 20.02.2012 at 14:49

Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.02.2012 at 07:30

Fuck man, I KNEW there was a band this stuff reminded me of! You are correct, this gave me a good Arizmenda vibe
I'm bought.


You might like it but like I said to Joe, I guarantee nothing But yeah, I did feel some reference to Arizmenda in the three middle tracks. Specially during the moments when it was fast-paced and the keyboards playing some melodies in the background.
veeja - 21.02.2012 at 21:44  
Where's Troy Gone?
Verdun_sc - 22.02.2012 at 04:51  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.02.2012 at 07:30

Fuck man, I KNEW there was a band this stuff reminded me of! You are correct, this gave me a good Arizmenda vibe and now I kind of wish to add that in my review since I know a couple of folks who would be more interested in listening to this because of that reference.

Yeah, it's similar. I really, really loved Arizmenda's first release though, so this didnt quite do it for me just from the yt sampling. Not enough clarity or riffing. Basically as you said in your review though, could use a bit more variation, then it'd be golden.
!J.O.O.E.! - 22.02.2012 at 04:55  
Written by veeja on 21.02.2012 at 21:44

Where's Troy Gone?

I'm sorry to inform you...
Boxcar Willy - 22.02.2012 at 05:02  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 22.02.2012 at 04:55

Written by veeja on 21.02.2012 at 21:44

Where's Troy Gone?

I'm sorry to inform you...

R'Vannith - 22.02.2012 at 06:13  
Written by RetardedByMetal on 22.02.2012 at 05:50

Written by Boxcar Willy on 22.02.2012 at 05:02

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 22.02.2012 at 04:55

Written by veeja on 21.02.2012 at 21:44

Where's Troy Gone?

I'm sorry to inform you...




What the hell are u talking about He is asking about the staff of Metal Storm Troy Killjoy, a Canadian. Not the actor in Austria.


The actor was Canadian born I believe, so the mix-up is understandable.
Mr. Doctor - 22.02.2012 at 10:02  
Written by Verdun_sc on 22.02.2012 at 04:51
Not enough clarity or riffing.


This is far more Ambient than Arizmenda though... So I view those two things as positive. I just felt a vibe of Arizmenda's music... but they clearly aren't playing the same thing anyways. You should give it a another try in their bandcamp someday.

Compared to most ambient BM bands nowdays that use far too much keyboards, Yayla are putting more emphasis on guitars instead and there's a lot more riffing compared to those bands.
veeja - 23.02.2012 at 09:37  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 22.02.2012 at 04:55

Written by veeja on 21.02.2012 at 21:44

Where's Troy Gone?

I'm sorry to inform you...

wtf?
!J.O.O.E.! - 28.03.2012 at 23:20  
Need to properly check this out, I recall it sounding pretty good. Think someone already said it but the artwork reminds me of Impetuous Ritual's cover art
Mr. Doctor - 28.03.2012 at 23:22  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 28.03.2012 at 23:20

Need to properly check this out, I recall it sounding pretty good. Think someone already said it but the artwork reminds me of Impetuous Ritual's cover art


Yeah, it's pretty nice stuff. I haven't heard it that much since the review got published but I still stand by my review. Also yeah... both artworks have a similar vibe. Tell me what you think about it after you properly check it out.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews MAL - Eonian Quiescence 3 08.02.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Mayhem - Esoteric Warfare 3 17.06.2014 by ManiacBlasphemer
Reviews Trepan'Dead - Instinct 3 03.08.2012 by theFIST
Reviews Reverorum Ib Malacht - De Mysteriis Dom Christii 3 14.08.2014 by Ilham
Reviews Ulcerate - Vermis 3 19.09.2013 by Kuroboshi



Hits total: 3149 | This month: 33