Rating:
7.5
Fading Waves - The Sense Of Space
31 October 2011


01. Air
02. Flashes
03. Destroying The Time
04. Perforate The Sky
05. Through The Veins


Fading Waves is the brain child of Rostov-on-Don resident, Alexey Maximuk. Alexey's first full-length, The Sense Of Space, sees him call upon call up a half dozen of his amazing friends and bang out a pretty cool initial offering that sees post-metal blended with a little pinch of both goth and doom for good measure.

Fading Waves, in addition to being the band name, is probably a good enough starting point to describe the music. Waves can be beautiful and serene, gently lapping at the shore. They can also swell, crash upon the shore with a subtle ferocity that can drag surfers to their death. Gnarly, brah.

The album starts off innocently enough with "Air" and "Flashes", a nice, serene build up and some entrancing female vocals and continues along with lots of Explosions In The Sky style post-y developments. Clean guitar tones with reverb that slowly and gradually build in intensity.

Just as the songs ebb, flow, and grow, so does the album as a whole as with, say, Ulver's Bergtatt. The album grows from tranquil water, light and clean with beautiful female vox to raging, stormy seas with growls, distortion-pedal aided post-riffs, and even some guitar solos.

By the time the album ends with "Through The Veins", is almost surprising how far the album has come from the opening until close. Perhaps even more surprising how it escalated to that crescendo without any particular abrupt turns.

While the album was perhaps more enjoyable than I thought it would be (what, me with my "post-metal traumatic stress disorder" and all), ultimately it isn't particular innovative in a very crowded field of acts. But I guess that is present in all genres of music, eh?

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 21.03.2012 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 103  
Search this topic:  


InnerSelf - 21.03.2012 at 10:42  
Weird how the blackgaze movement got so tedious in a short time but the Post-metal stuff still brings something good at least, even if the originality factor is more or less absent it is still great to say the least
loved the review and will be checking this soon
tea[m]ster - 21.03.2012 at 17:20  
FUCK YES! Thanks for the review Craig. I have been digging this "band" since their EP "Please Wait" came out. Alexey states on his website that influences are Rosetta, Cult of Luna, and Isis. No wonder, right?

Also, an observation by me: This is what Mikael Akerfeldt would sound like if he did post-metal
tea[m]ster - 21.03.2012 at 17:20  
Written by InnerSelf on 21.03.2012 at 10:42

loved the review and will be checking this soon


This on on my 2011 best of list!! I knew you'd remember
InnerSelf - 21.03.2012 at 17:35  
Written by tea[m]ster on 21.03.2012 at 17:20

This on on my 2011 best of list!! I knew you'd remember

I knew I had seen the name of the band before xD

Written by tea[m]ster on 21.03.2012 at 17:20

FUCK YES! Thanks for the review Craig. I have been digging this "band" since their EP "Please Wai"t came out. Alexey states on his website that influences are Rosetta, Cult of Luna, and Isis. No wonder, right?

Also, an observation by me: This is what Mikael Akerfeldt would sound like if he did post-metal

Rosetta, Isis and Mikael Akerfeldt ... checking it NOW
tea[m]ster - 21.03.2012 at 19:29  
Written by InnerSelf on 21.03.2012 at 17:35

I knew I had seen the name of the band before xD


Be sure to check out their EP "Please Wait". You can download it for free on their website!
http://fadingwavesband.com/releases.html
InnerSelf - 22.03.2012 at 00:52  
Written by tea[m]ster on 21.03.2012 at 19:29

Be sure to check out their EP "Please Wait". You can download it for free on their website!
http://fadingwavesband.com/releases.html

Will do
K†ulu - 22.03.2012 at 16:08  
Wow, what a great review! Flows well as the album itself I guess, and the description is both detailed and artistic.
Merchant of Doom - 22.03.2012 at 18:24  
All his production is pretty good... check it out!
tea[m]ster - 23.03.2012 at 21:52  
Written by InnerSelf on 22.03.2012 at 00:52

Will do


Inner, you and I are gonna take over the post-metal world!!
InnerSelf - 24.03.2012 at 00:31  
Written by tea[m]ster on 23.03.2012 at 21:52

Inner, you and I are gonna take over the post-metal world!!


I still can't seem to get bored of all the Post-Metal stuff coming out from everywhere, thanks to your thread I guess
tea[m]ster - 24.03.2012 at 17:19  
Written by InnerSelf on 24.03.2012 at 00:31

I still can't seem to get bored of all the Post-Metal stuff coming out from everywhere, thanks to your thread I guess


The genre is fast becoming over-saturated but with a little time and effort their are gems out their waiting to be discovered!
Like this one!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews The Great Old Ones - Al Azif 4.5 17.04.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews The Prestige - Black Mouths 4.5 13.07.2012 by Ag Fox
Reviews The Deadists - Time Without Light 4.5 26.04.2011 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Ruina / Tundra / Operation Winter Mist - Allegiance Of The Profane Pack [Split] 4.5 02.03.2010 by Ellrohir
Reviews Ahab - The Divinity Of Oceans 4.5 25.08.2009 by Marcel Hubregtse



Hits total: 2556 | This month: 2