Rating:
7.3
Azaghal - Nemesis
31 January 2012


01. In Deathlike Silence
02. Pohjoisen Valkoinen Kuolema
03. De Masticatione Mortuorum
04. Vihasta Ja Veritöistä
05. Hail The Whore
06. Ex Nihilo
07. The Baying Of The Dead
08. Nemesis
09. Black Legions Of Satan
10. The Pit Of Shoggoths
11. Satanic Devotion


So I heard you were busy looking for the next Oranssi Pazuzu or ...And Oceans. Something a little progressive, maybe a little psychedelic, overly melodic, heavily atmospheric... well, I'm here to tell you that you might as well just look somewhere else.

Azaghal are what you'd call a consistent band. For over 10 years they've been shelling out the same sort of archetypal raw Finnish black metal you'd expect from the likes of Horna or Behexen. And that's all well and good if that's what you're looking for. Not so much if you wanted some experimental instrumental interplay or whatever.

Nemesis is the band's umpteenth release and if you're in any way familiar with the band's sound, you won't be surprised by anything you hear this time around. Azaghal have a formula that works for them and they make sure not to wander the vast plains of black metal trying to figure out what totally new and original influences they can incorporate into their sound. Instead, you get exactly what they want to give you.

Not to separate themselves from the foundation of what makes black metal "black metal", these Finns get things started early and leave you without any question marks. You'll be exposed to furious blastbeats, chainsaw riffs with bits and pieces of melody, and excellent work behind the mic. Kind of what you'd expect from pretty much any straightforward black metal album. And that's not to say it's a bad release, or even "dull" or "boring". It just is what it is: black metal.

And it's a pretty fucking long black metal album at that. Almost an hour? There isn't really enough variation to sustain the average listener's attention span, but there is enough spite and aggression to help you cool down after finding out that your non-returnable 1500 dollar plasma screen is now being sold for 300 bucks to make room for the latest model. You just bought that shit last week bro! What the fuck.

This could also make for a pretty decent soundtrack to you walking into Future Shop, seeking out the rat bastard who withheld that crucial information, and therapeutically stabbing him in his fucking head 23 times in self-defense. There's a couple riffs in particular on songs like "Hail the Whore" that really make me want to defecate on an overweight Future Shop employee's decomposing body.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 5
Production: 8


Band profile: Azaghal
Album: Nemesis


 



Written on 29.03.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 159  
Search this topic:  


3rdWorld - 29.03.2012 at 18:16  
Nice review troy. Hipster black metal bands are a frequent lot these days. I totally need my meat and potatoes stuff then and there to get my head straight and enjoy the things that brought me into this genre.

And that examples of real life events for the review.
Alex Fenger - 29.03.2012 at 18:19  
I don't tend to like lenghty albums unless its doom metal or atmo/depressive/ambient BM, but this sounds good. Might have to check it out
Troy Killjoy - 29.03.2012 at 18:59  
Written by Alex Fenger on 29.03.2012 at 18:19
Might have to check it out

Worst-case scenario you trim a few songs you don't like and boom. Awesome album.
3rdWorld - 29.03.2012 at 19:46  
An hour long?? I see its just 51mins or something...
Troy Killjoy - 29.03.2012 at 19:52  
Written by 3rdWorld on 29.03.2012 at 19:46
An hour long?? I see its just 51mins or something...

That's nine minutes short of an hour by my calculations.
3rdWorld - 29.03.2012 at 20:03  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 29.03.2012 at 19:52

Written by 3rdWorld on 29.03.2012 at 19:46
An hour long?? I see its just 51mins or something...

That's nine minutes short of an hour by my calculations.

Alright. I just thought there are some bonus tracks or something with the one u reviewed. Anyway 51mins would still sound better if it is rounded off as just above 50 mins.
BoxCar Willy - 29.03.2012 at 21:30  
So it wasnt that bad eh troy?
Maybe I'll check it out.
Troy Killjoy - 29.03.2012 at 21:34  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 29.03.2012 at 21:30
Maybe I'll check it out.

It's probably my favorite Azaghal release thus far, to be honest. This or Omega.
Alex Fenger - 30.03.2012 at 04:15  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 29.03.2012 at 18:59
Worst-case scenario you trim a few songs you don't like and boom. Awesome album.

After my first listen through i really enjoyed it. The third track "Vihasta Ja Veritöistä" was my favorite by far. I'd give it closer to an 8 than a 7... but yeah, pleasantly surprised by this. Might get some earlier releases of theirs if i still enjoy this a couple more listens through.
Troy Killjoy - 30.03.2012 at 08:59  
Written by Alex Fenger on 30.03.2012 at 04:15
After my first listen through i really enjoyed it. The third track "Vihasta Ja Veritöistä" was my favorite by far. I'd give it closer to an 8 than a 7... but yeah, pleasantly surprised by this. Might get some earlier releases of theirs if i still enjoy this a couple more listens through.

Its nice when you can find music you enjoy that someone else doesn't really, but that person still recommended it inadvertently. It's like, don't listen ot this band because they aren't really that good, but you'll be like now I have to check them to form my own opinion and then boom, you really like it. Weird but awesome how that works.
theFIST - 30.03.2012 at 14:29  
I think on a few songs they lost their own style and got more to average black metal (although their style was normal black metal already)
great album anyways
Branzig - 31.03.2012 at 06:50  
It just so happens I LOVE Behexen and Horna! So this album is right up my alley.

Only complaint is the same as yours...need to trim fat, BADLY!
Troy Killjoy - 31.03.2012 at 23:40  
Written by Branzig on 31.03.2012 at 06:50
It just so happens I LOVE Behexen and Horna!

Finland has quite a little nice black metal scene.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Epheles - Je suis autrefois 4.5 01.01.2012 by InnerSelf
Reviews Tal'Set - La via del guerriero 4.5 30.03.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Pandemonium - Misanthropy 4.5 16.06.2012 by JD
Reviews Before The Dawn - Deathstar Rising 4.5 07.11.2011 by
Reviews Neige Et Noirceur - Gouffre Onirique et Abîmes Cosmiques 4.5 11.04.2014 by BoxCar Willy



Hits total: 2631 | This month: 3