Rating:
9.3
Reverence - The Asthenic Ascension
9 April 2012


01. Earth
02. Darwin's Black Hall
03. The Descent
04. Psalm IV
05. Ghost Of Dust
06. Cold Room
07. Genesis Of Everything
08. Those Who Believed
09. The Asthenic Ascension


If you haven't noticed by now, France is fast becoming a hot-spot for experimental black metal. Over the past 10 years the ears of several unsuspecting victims have been all but abrogated by the likes of Deathspell Omega, Blut Aus Nord, S.V.E.S.T., Diapsiquir, Peste Noire... and now, Reverence.

Furthering their expedition on the path of industrial black metal, eradicating preconceptions of standards and traditions along the way, The Asthenic Ascension is an invasion on the most intimate level, ravaging your body without remorse, stripping you bare and leaving with the last ounce of dignity you had left. Using as many of its esoteric resources as possible at any one time, the somewhat jazzed-out potency of the industrial drum patterns empowers the preternatural riffs with a sense of marvel and beauty that contradict the utter disgust permeating Luciferia's diaphragm.

In other words, prepare for a challenge. And don't expect the all-too-cliché beginner's luck to help you out. The final minute of "Psalm IV" should give you a better understanding of what's in store for you.

Composition-wise Reverence share a great deal in common with the black metal juggernaut that is Deathspell Omega, with an emphasis on doing things differently almost for the sake of it: the ultimate "fuck you" to the listener. And if you're really observant, you'll be fortunate enough to interpret the Blut Aus Nord vibes. Keep up if you can, because musicians like this don't look in the rear-view to see who's fallen by the wayside. You think you're getting some traditional dissonant black metal riffing? How about a technically driven improvisational melody held at bay by an ensemble of cathartic chants to mess with your head. That's the kind of storm you're going to weather here. And it's the kind of storm that can tear down an entire city in less than an hour.

Once you begin the journey into this textural, bombastic monstrosity of an album, you'll soon discover the eerie backdrop isn't a disguise, but a reality - a presence, something genuine and tangible, the same way a wraith might clutch at your throat with jagged sickly fingers. The hypnotic... hazy... guitar work and chaotic... storytelling approach will dumbfound... and intoxicate before luring you in to --

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: Reverence
Album: The Asthenic Ascension


 



Written on 08.04.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 28  
Users visited: 408  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 08.04.2012 at 13:47  
Damn skippy. Awesome piece of music. Great, deep and rich sound, varied, winding and immensely satisfying on every level. Has to be my favourite record so far this year.

Nice review me old china.
Slayer666 - 08.04.2012 at 14:02  
Well, fuck me. Gotta check this out.

On a related note, I want whatever the Frenchies have been getting high on recently, and I want plenty of it.
Lokaeda - 08.04.2012 at 14:18  
Woop, the band's from my hometown hehe
Unhealer - 08.04.2012 at 16:28  
I love what I heard of this French black metal movement. I should probably dig deeper into it sometime soon.
I saw the "Earth" clip from this band, it's excellent. And it features Pyramid Head.
!J.O.O.E.! - 08.04.2012 at 16:46  
Written by Unhealer on 08.04.2012 at 16:28

And it features Pyramid Head.

It does?

*checks*

So it does. These guys should hang out with The Axis of Perdition.
Troy Killjoy - 08.04.2012 at 17:13  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 08.04.2012 at 16:46
These guys should hang out with The Axis of Perdition.

Screw that. These guys should hang out with me.
Alex Fenger - 08.04.2012 at 17:14  
Hey i actually got this album already, didn't know Reverence was on here
Troy Killjoy - 08.04.2012 at 17:16  
Written by Alex Fenger on 08.04.2012 at 17:14
...didn't know Reverence was on here

Lucas and Herz both reviewed two of their earlier releases.
strade - 08.04.2012 at 19:53  
Looks like even I will be checking this one out.
PocketMetal - 08.04.2012 at 20:04  
Pyramid Head from Silent Hill video games ?
how cool are these guys ? I will check it out if I find it .
Pazdzioch - 08.04.2012 at 21:08  
I need to hear this, thanks for the review!
Mikyz - 08.04.2012 at 22:03  
I've been so busy lately I haven't had enough time for recent releases but I'll make time for this. Thanks for the review
Troy Killjoy - 08.04.2012 at 22:04  
Written by Mikyz on 08.04.2012 at 22:03
I've been so busy lately I haven't had enough time for recent releases but I'll make time for this. Thanks for the review

My pleasure. I know what it's like not to have time for 2012 releases. Seriously, this is maybe... the 25th album I've heard this year?
InnerSelf - 08.04.2012 at 22:07  
Gotta love the French
Putting this on my mp3 player and listening to it now, awesome review
Troy Killjoy - 08.04.2012 at 22:09  
Written by InnerSelf on 08.04.2012 at 22:07
Gotta love the French
Putting this on my mp3 player and listening to it now, awesome review

Seriously. They're making quite a name for themselves over there. Norway who?

And thanks! Hopefully you like the music too.
InnerSelf - 08.04.2012 at 22:13  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 08.04.2012 at 22:09

Seriously. They're making quite a name for themselves over there. Norway who?

And thanks! Hopefully you like the music too.


Haha exactly
I'm already on my first spin, the opening track sounds awesome. loving the somehow melodic feel to it, sounds like I'm in for a hell of a ride
strade - 09.04.2012 at 01:26  
Just finished my first listen, and not much stuck. Maybe I'll have to ease the transition between my indie, baroque pop binge and this sensory onslaught.

This one will take time.
Troy Killjoy - 09.04.2012 at 01:29  
Written by strade on 09.04.2012 at 01:26
This one will take time.

The girl I'm seeing said she felt paranoid while listening to it alone late at night and managed to fall asleep with it on. So it's not an easily digestible album. I don't ever recommend more listens to "get it" but if you think that will help then I definitely support the effort you're putting in. Maybe build a little playlist to lead up to it, maybe some Darkspace, Sun of the Blind, Lurker of Chalice, Deathspell Omega, Blut aus Nord... then once you've set the mood give this album another go.
Merchant of Doom - 09.04.2012 at 10:49  
Great album... my ears are bleeding! I just wish bands avoided putting the usual sobbing woman in one of the tracks... and I must say it drags a bit...
Daniell - 09.04.2012 at 12:36  
What a monster of an album.
Unhealer - 09.04.2012 at 18:06  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.04.2012 at 01:29

Maybe build a little playlist to lead up to it, maybe some Darkspace, Sun of the Blind, Lurker of Chalice, Deathspell Omega, Blut aus Nord... then once you've set the mood give this album another go.


Good advice, Troy. Sometimes if you can't get into a certain music style, you may just need to find the correct band to take you to the other side.
Marcel Hubregtse - 09.04.2012 at 18:36  
Good album I would say 8.2
-DC-002- - 09.04.2012 at 20:31  
Gotta check it out.
BoxCar Willy - 12.04.2012 at 23:38  
Must check.
garmling - 14.04.2012 at 14:23  
By far the most interesting "Black Metal" release in years...I've quit lately on this genre (maybe cuz I'm getting old hahahaha) and had no luck in finding any nice band until this one gem! it's not pure BM which is a good thing cuz there are billions of such generic bands, but nonetheless it is BM in some twisted evil form...it is dark, evil, occult, a thing which is not easily digestible, but when you get used to, it is damn tasty! highly recommended!!!
Apothecary - 14.04.2012 at 21:17  
Nice review. As a huge fan of Blut Aus Nord and Deathspell Omega, and just French metal in general, I'll definitely give this a peek when I get the chance
Víctor - 16.04.2012 at 05:13  
I will check it right now
The Galactican - 20.09.2012 at 00:50  
Huge thanks for the review that led me to the listen. Holy crow this is amazing stuff. Wow and double wow.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Reverence - The Asthenic Ascension 8 06.04.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Benevolent - The Covenant 6 22.03.2014 by mz
Reviews Pact - The Dragon Lineage Of Satan 6 28.03.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Scar Symmetry - The Unseen Empire 6 14.11.2011 by J. N.
Reviews Bolt Thrower - The IVth Crusade 6 26.04.2012 by Ace Frawley



Hits total: 6070 | This month: 94