Rating:
7.0
Chopstick Suicide - Lost Fathers And Sons
29 March 2012


01. Everyone Sleeps But Me
02. The Chalk And The Matter
03. Shores Are Not For Vacancies
04. Television Television
05. As I Lay Fail
06. Small People, Broken Glasses
07. Your Average Hero
08. Kolpa


Chopstick Suicide? Sounds interesting, especially paired up with that bizarre cover artwork. So just how crazy is this shit? Well, not as crazy as one might be lead to believe...It's got a certain stabbing, jagged charm to it, but nothing too surprising by today's standards.

Chopstick Suicide really seem to be channelling some Dillinger Escape Plan here. A sound that roughly revolves around a techy modern hardcore type of deal. Take the tangible, juicy riffs that D.E.P. Throw into their music, but pair it up with that distinct feeling of randomness found with Between The Buried And Me. I believe they call this "mathcore."

...And that's where the problem becomes apparent. As soon as there's a reasonable sub-genre named after a certain sound, it usually means there's enough followers to constitute having a special box with it's own special label. Chopstick Suicide toss a few whimsical jazz guitar pieces in there to keep things appropriately random, and a few segments have a distinct punk sound to them, but aside from that, it's very much assembly-line mathcore. Something like this may have had a bigger impact a few years ago, but with bands like Between The Buried And Me and Dillinger Escape Plan running around out there, this just seems a bit unneeded.

It takes a certain kind of person to love music like this. You've got to have a taste for metalcore, hardcore, and random, pointy sort of tech-metal. If you've made all of those qualifications, then you also have to enjoy it to the point of being able to recognize the very few subtle distinct qualities Chopstick Suicide have. They are there, and they do execute everything pretty well, just not strongly enough to give this any more than a half-hearted recommendation to anyone aside from those who already love this type of music.


 



Written on 20.04.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 107  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 20.04.2012 at 18:15  
No interest in math metal, or in metalcore anymore, but this is an awesome band name.
BestMetalstormer - 20.04.2012 at 18:22  
So funny band name.
Boxcar Willy - 20.04.2012 at 18:43  
I wonder how you'd do it?

Chopstick to the juggular?


anyway, checking out meow.
Boxcar Willy - 20.04.2012 at 18:45  
Wow sounds like 7 bands in one. Freaking awesome.
Doc Godin - 20.04.2012 at 22:14  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 20.04.2012 at 18:45

Wow sounds like 7 bands in one. Freaking awesome.

Howso? It sounds like regular mathcore with a few jazz guitar parts. The only thing that changes all that frequently is the dudes vocal style.
Boxcar Willy - 20.04.2012 at 22:22  
Written by Doc Godin on 20.04.2012 at 22:14

Written by Boxcar Willy on 20.04.2012 at 18:45

Wow sounds like 7 bands in one. Freaking awesome.

Howso? It sounds like regular mathcore with a few jazz guitar parts. The only thing that changes all that frequently is the dudes vocal style.

His vocals are great, and are the main reason why I think that.

But I hear nice subtle changes in the guitar as well.
Cynic Metalhead - 21.04.2012 at 07:39  
To be honest, I think the band name has evolved from "Chinese fighting culture" where some dudes on a dinning table attacks with the chopsticks while having a Maggie or kinda shit or something.
BestMetalstormer - 21.04.2012 at 10:33  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 21.04.2012 at 07:39

To be honest, I think the band name has evolved from "Chinese fighting culture" where some dudes on a dinning table attacks with the chopsticks while having a Maggie or kinda shit or something.

I see it simply funny like: Chopstick Suicide... as you can commit suicide by knife, but if by chopstick, it is harder, so Chopstick Suicide is irony, that not a way of suicide successfully.
Cynic Metalhead - 21.04.2012 at 10:53  
Makes clear.


Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Beaten To Death - Xes And Strokes 6 14.01.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Fallstaf - Bastard Sons Of A Pure Breed 6 18.10.2011 by BudDa
Reviews Chained And Desperate - Divine Authority Abolishment 6 07.08.2011 by psykometal
Reviews Northern Oak - Of Roots And Flesh 6 17.09.2014 by WinterMadness
Reviews Suicide Silence - The Black Crown 6 30.07.2011 by Lit.



Hits total: 2593 | This month: 74