Rating:
8.0
Epica - Requiem For The Indifferent
9 March 2012


01. Karma
02. Monopoly On Truth
03. Storm The Sorrow
04. Delirium
05. Internal Warfare
06. Requiem For The Indifferent
07. Anima
08. Guilty Demeanor
09. Deep Water Horizon
10. Stay The Course
11. Deter The Tyrant
12. Avalanche
13. Serenade Of Self-Destruction
14. Nostalgia [bonus]
15. Twin Flames [bonus]


Epica is back with a new album, trying to continue their success over the past years and to satisfy their many fans, even though they're not experimenting with a whole new approach this time; the result is something different from Design Your Universe.

Requiem for the Indifferent is less aggressive and more accessible, but at the end of the day it's just as enjoyable. The album has its flaws like every other Epica album, but almost every song has enough interesting moments to look forward to. It can be the professional choirs, some good riffs and solos, some well timed growls or Simone's amazing vocals. But you also have to endure the average done-to-death stuff that keep appearing throughout your lengthy listen.

The main problem with Requiem for the Indifferent is its lack of courage, songs like "Monopoly on Truth" or the brilliant "Serenade of Self-Destruction" can make for a nice experience but nothing on this record will surprise anyone already familiar with Epica. Also a few songs can be considered as highlights and the rest, not terrible in any way, but they are also nothing special. At the risk of sounding like a Simone fanboy I'm starting to think that not only is she just a beautiful front woman for this band, but she's the only one that is getting the job done; if not for her work this album could be labeled as an average release. (Also the band's lyrics keep getting better.)

I hope for their next album that they step up their songwriting and try something completely new, but to conclude this review: Epica continues to satisfy me with this record but it's nowhere near what I really wish to hear from this band.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Epica
Album: Requiem For The Indifferent


 


written by PocketMetal | 11.06.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
IanYeara

Rating:
7.0
So I've finally marshaled my thoughts on Requiem for the Indifferent. I love Epica, they are my third favorite band, but when I heard this album I didn't fanboy out, I just sat there in confusion unsure of what to think. What's really different about this album is that's it's not as inherently catchy as their previous material, it's slower as well and a lot more progressive. Ultimately this album really doesn't stack up to the rest of their discography and especially not Design Your Universe which is literally one song away from being perfect; they clearly decided to experiment with this album which I have no problem with, but in music one must be careful with experimentation because while in this case it's not completely disastrous it could have been so much worse. In some cases that experimentation on this album works well and it was somewhat refreshing.

Read more ››
published 23.09.2013 | Comments (12)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 181  
Search this topic:  


Unhealer - 11.06.2012 at 19:01  
I agree with the review, only that I think Simone is currently the weak link and not the main feature.
She needs to take some singing lessons or the band should get a new singer, I don't mind.
Monolithic - 11.06.2012 at 20:46  
The review did enough justice to the album: not much of an incendiary package filled with creativity or anything special. Still it's worth it to be listened to once in a while.
R'Vannith - 12.06.2012 at 08:15  
Nice review Pocket, that's something like what I heard in this album, though I just found everything except the vocals really mundane. As you mention Simone saves it from being average, personally I don't think she quite manages to pull that off here and even she sounds a bit faltering at times, like in "Guilty Demeanor" for example. There really isn't anything that would make me want to listen to this over the previous album.
PocketMetal - 12.06.2012 at 09:42  
Written by R'Vannith on 12.06.2012 at 08:15

Nice review Pocket, that's something like what I heard in this album, though I just found everything except the vocals really mundane. As you mention Simone saves it from being average, personally I don't think she quite manages to pull that off here and even she sounds a bit faltering at times, like in "Guilty Demeanor" for example. There really isn't anything that would make me want to listen to this over the previous album.


"Guilty Demeanor" should be one of the worst songs they have ever recorded , I can't even get why she sings like that on that one ... but I really like the vocals on the other songs , it's different but still great .
after listening to all their albums frequently over these past months I think my favorite is "The Divine Conspiracy" , I really miss songs like "Fools of Damnation" or "Menace of Vanity" . this and "Design Your Universe" are in the same level for me ...
demonsarising - 12.06.2012 at 14:14  
I feel the same way. I guess I don't like a lot of the lyrics either, though. Well written review, though.
Cal Wolvington - 12.06.2012 at 15:24  
As I feared, this album demonstrates no inspiration and no new ideas. I am indifferent to this requiem indeed. Pretty nice review though.
Delamortia - 14.06.2012 at 09:16  
Nice review.
However I personally don't think Simone did a decent job. Her voice brings a hint of suffocation, and too sweet for her and the band's music's own good.
PocketMetal - 14.06.2012 at 10:41  
Written by Delamortia on 14.06.2012 at 09:16

Nice review.
However I personally don't think Simone did a decent job. Her voice brings a hint of suffocation, and too sweet for her and the band's music's own good.


I think it's just a matter of taste , I know little about technical singing stuff I just happen to enjoy them . the songs are too sweet in general , not in a good way .
Surion - 12.12.2012 at 05:42  
I don't think Simone's vocals are the highlight in this record, her voice sounds so much better in Consign to oblivion and The Divine Conspiracy. But instrumentally i really like this album, also good to hear more harsh vocals...the production is well done, but I have to agree that it's nothing groundbreaking or new, but Suits Epica. Loved the song "Avalanche".
PocketMetal - 12.12.2012 at 11:56  
Written by Surion on 12.12.2012 at 05:42

I don't think Simone's vocals are the highlight in this record, her voice sounds so much better in Consign to oblivion and The Divine Conspiracy. But instrumentally i really like this album, also good to hear more harsh vocals...the production is well done, but I have to agree that it's nothing groundbreaking or new, but Suits Epica. Loved the song "Avalanche".


Thanks for your comment , I may be in the minority but I'm not sure I could enjoy this if not for the vocals . on the previous album there were many great songs , but on this one it seems there are only great moments . ( not songs )
Fritillaria - 12.12.2012 at 13:29  
Written by Delamortia on 14.06.2012 at 09:16

Her voice brings a hint of suffocation, and too sweet for her and the band's music's own good.
That's the reason I can't stand listening to them.
AngelofDeth - 10.06.2013 at 00:09  
Why all the hate on Simone? I do agree that she doesnt have the same power and consistency as other singers like Tarja and Floor but I prefer Simone's tone and quality over all other Symphonic singers, there's just something angelic about her voice.

As for the album I wouldn't be so generous as to give this an 8/10. It is inarguably Epica's weakest album and as you mentioned there's alot of great parts but few great songs in their entirety. Though, now that I have gotten over my high expectations and given the album another chance it has grown on me a bit but it is still a low point for the band. Hopefully the new songs Mark is making are better than these.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Epica - Requiem For The Indifferent 10 23.09.2013 by Erik M.
Reviews Malebolgia - Requiem For The Inexorable 5.5 14.04.2009 by Collin
Albums Jeff Loomis - Requiem For The Living [EP] 4.5 09.07.2013 by quisableed
Albums Hecate Enthroned - The Slaughter Of Innocence, A Requiem For The Mighty 4.5 27.10.2010 by
Reviews Cradle Of Filth - Live Bait For The Dead 4 27.11.2007 by Katatronik



Hits total: 2950 | This month: 3