Diabulus In Musica - The Wanderer review



Reviewer:
N/A

61 users:
7.70
Band: Diabulus In Musica
Album: The Wanderer
Release date: February 2012


01. A Journey's End (Intro)
02. Ex Nihilio
03. Sceneries Of Hope
04. Blazing A Trail
05. Call From A Rising Memory (Intro)
06. Hidden Reality
07. Shadow Of The Throne
08. Allegory Of Faith, Innocence And Future
09. Sentenced To Life
10. Oihuka Bihotzetik
11. No Time For Repentance (Lamentatio)
12. The Wanderer


The Wanderer is a sophomore album that follows a "take notice" debut, 2010's Secrets. I am happy to say that this is a beautiful improvement; the band continued forward and in two years produced something far exceeding their first work. Too often, bands use up all their good ideas on the debut and thus sophomore albums are legendarily stale and less interesting. Diabulus In Musica has proven themselves as capable songwriters by releasing this superior work and forging ahead, down a fine road of musical exploration.

The symphonic metal crowd will find this album full of variety and quite exciting. Epic is certainly the name of the game, and the energy and passions are high. They stick to the symphonic metal roots while still incorporating many aspects of peripheral genres; keeps it a nice and interesting listen. Even after repeated spins I'm still finding countless hidden treasures and new tunes to adore.

What holds this exciting album together so tightly is the mix. This is also where many symphonic bands go wrong, usually as relating to the vocals. Not here. The lovely Zuberoa Aznárez's singing is like icing on the cake, and she assists the music instead of the other way around. They're not showcasing a single diva: this is a cohesive and brilliantly mixed album that conveys complex ideas with each movement.

Lately, some have been grumbling about the state of the symphonic metal scene and even about it being dead. Yes, many of our favorite pioneering bands of the late 90s and early 00s are no more, or have lost their enigmatic front-women. That is of course sad but doesn't mean the death of anything. The torch has been passed, people. Sit up and take notice of the many exciting and capable bands now wielding it. I'm not saying that this album is single-handedly saving the scene or anything; just let Diabulus In Musica serve as a reminder that the scene is far from dead in the first place.

Written by Susan | 12.06.2012


 


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 210 users
12.06.2012 - 04:36
Rulatore
Good review It's a fun listen indeed
Loading...
12.06.2012 - 05:22
Gelati
There damn well better be tons of tri-tones...
Loading...
12.06.2012 - 05:25
Susan
Smeghead
Written by Gelati on 12.06.2012 at 05:22

There damn well better be tons of tri-tones...


Haha! Nice one. Music nerd humor
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
12.06.2012 - 05:41
Unhealer
Eclecticist
Written by Gelati on 12.06.2012 at 05:22

There damn well better be tons of tri-tones...


Ba-dum tssss!

I checked this one out a couple of times and it was enough for me, good record but no replay value for me, same for their debut.
And as you said in the review, this band is an example where the front-woman didn't give me the urge to stop the record after two songs
Loading...
12.06.2012 - 06:18
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Haha, you beat me to the review. But you've said it better than I could (= I had a mind about mentioning the growls worked well in the album
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
12.06.2012 - 08:00
PocketMetal
I will give this another listen 'cause I really liked their debut , great review btw .

how can Symphonic Metal be dead when there's a Haggard album coming our way ?
Loading...
12.06.2012 - 08:19
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Honestly had this written of as yet another run-of-the-mill symphonic release based simply on the cover art, I guess I should be regretting that now..
Loading...
12.06.2012 - 12:52
BudDa
I love this album. The debut as well. I also like the band though I find them striking similar to Epica
----
Freeze! Step away from the hubris.
Loading...
12.06.2012 - 22:36
Gelati
Written by Susan on 12.06.2012 at 05:25

Written by Gelati on 12.06.2012 at 05:22

There damn well better be tons of tri-tones...


Haha! Nice one. Music nerd humor


Glad I'm not alone here lol. I typed that hoping somebody would pick up on it!
Loading...
01.11.2012 - 00:00
sonatoarctico
Great variety of sounds, excellent work!
----
POWER TO POWER
Loading...
13.03.2013 - 14:36
Rhiannon
Account deleted
I agree fully with the review, amazing album! their previous was very disappointing for me, absolutely unmemorable, boring songs, but this was a positive surprise. In my top 3 of the year for sure. The Epica influences are strong (and Mark Jansen is a guest vocalist), but it's not a bad thing, in fact this is better than the last Epica album. The songs are varied and exciting, just like you said. I also like that they sing in their native Basque too (how many bands sing in this language?).
Loading...

Hits total: 5274 | This month: 16