Nile - At The Gate Of Sethu review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.5

300 users:
7.56
Band: Nile
Album: At The Gate Of Sethu
Release date: June 2012


01. Enduring The Eternal Molestation Of Flame
02. The Fiends Who Come To Steal The Magick Of The Deceased
03. The Inevitable Degradation Of Flesh
04. When My Wrath Is Done
05. Slaves Of Xul
06. The Gods Who Light Up The Sky At The Gate Of Sethu
07. Natural Liberation Of Fear Through The Ritual Deception Of Death
08. Ethno-Musicological Cannibalisms
09. Tribunal Of The Dead
10. Supreme Humanism Of Megalomania
11. The Chaining Of The Iniquitous
12. Enduring The Eternal Molestation Of Flame [instrumental version] [bonus]
13. The Inevitable Degradation Of Flesh [instrumental version] [bonus]


Nile have been going for a long time, and are one of the few death metal bands that have been so consistently brilliant with each release for this long. Each album in the catalogue has been subtly different, and number seven At The Gate Of Sethu is no different.

Where the band's last album had some awfully long songs on it, At The Gate Of Sethu feels more compact. The album is also slightly more technical and feels well thought out with a lot of attention to detail, but it does lack the killer death metal punch that Nile have been so capable of delivering in the past.

At The Gate Of Sethu is then perhaps the first Nile album that initially underwhelms, but at the same time it is the first Nile album that gains mileage the more it grows on you. It is easy to become complacent listening to Nile because we have had six previous albums to adjust to the horrifically fast tempo and clinical tightness the band play with, but this album is just as technically impressive, if not more so than anything the band has put out before.

This album is anything but straightforward, but it may be the lack of the more primitive sections that give At The Gate Of Sethu the impression as not quite being the unrelenting, crushing death metal machine the band have been in the past. Instead the album has short, controlled bursts of brutality complimented excellently with great timing and guitar work.

Maturity is such a cliché notion in metal, but on this album Nile sound much more self-assured and confident of who they are as a band. This may be the tightest and most meticulous Nile we have heard, and in those aspects perhaps the best Nile we have ever heard. The only aspect slightly lacking from At The Gate Of Sethu is just one more step of raw brutality.

Nile have almost created the complete album; At The Gate Of Sethu might not be initially as explosive as some in the past, but given the chance and the technical and professional prowess of the band here is like never before.

-

Death metal
Nuclear Blast
USA
Length: 47:33


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 29.06.2012 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 52   Visited by: 505 users
01.07.2012 - 01:59
Fredd
Account deleted
Written by axelx666 on 30.06.2012 at 22:06

Written by Mr. Doctor on 30.06.2012 at 21:54

Written by axelx666 on 30.06.2012 at 21:41

ah if we're going with the sound then yes you are correct. but im going with image and lyrics.


They've been doing that for quite a while and they aren't alone at that either tbh...



?? what other bands? this is new to me. plz elaborate.

Scarab, an Egyptian death metal band.
Aeternam, a Moroccan-fronted Canadian death metal band.

and many more that I cant remember right now.

EDIT: see this
Loading...
01.07.2012 - 02:26
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Even Therion played around those themes every once in a while. Hell, there's even one song they sing in only egyptian.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
01.07.2012 - 02:48
infernaldeath87
I'm still gonna buy it when it comes out despite all of the negativity. Nile never ceases to amaze me, and I'm sure they won't this time either...
Loading...
01.07.2012 - 13:40
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Guest on 01.07.2012 at 01:59

EDIT: see this

Amusingly, Nile isn't even in that list

A bunch more.
Loading...
01.07.2012 - 17:37
Fredd
Account deleted
Written by Mr. Doctor on 01.07.2012 at 02:26

Even Therion played around those themes every once in a while. Hell, there's even one song they sing in only egyptian.

which song is that?
Loading...
01.07.2012 - 18:00
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 01.07.2012 at 17:37

Written by Mr. Doctor on 01.07.2012 at 02:26

Even Therion played around those themes every once in a while. Hell, there's even one song they sing in only egyptian.

which song is that?


Well, now that I check it out maybe it isn't but it's definitely from the middle East... Maybe Hebrew? I dunno. The song is fantastic though and has quite a sinister atmosphere both in the beginning and ending.

----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
01.07.2012 - 23:48
Fredd
Account deleted
Written by Mr. Doctor on 01.07.2012 at 18:00

Written by Guest on 01.07.2012 at 17:37

Written by Mr. Doctor on 01.07.2012 at 02:26

Even Therion played around those themes every once in a while. Hell, there's even one song they sing in only egyptian.

which song is that?

Maybe Hebrew?

sounds hebrew to me
Loading...
02.07.2012 - 00:18
Iron Nostarion
Maiden Whore
I agree with this review very well. It deserves a 8.5 and I feel they have indeed "almost" reached the complete album. They've got rid of a lot of stuff I used to hate about them, but I guess they got rid of some brutality as well.
----
To their tombs the people are immured,
There is their gold, treasure and wealth,
The only condition is to ignore them,
Those who feed on corruption and weave death
Loading...
02.07.2012 - 01:06
A.Ghosheh
A good review. I find this album great, definitely not as great as the previous ones, yes they've changed but I believe this change is acceptable and I like it
----
Kem Khefa Kheshef
Loading...
02.07.2012 - 23:18
Tristus Scriptor
Rancid Reviewer
Love this album. Not gonna go into detailed explanation as to why. No debates here. Just new music from a favorite death metal band of mine
Loading...
03.07.2012 - 15:15
metlfan
Personally I like it. At first I didn't really care for it but the more I listened to it, the more it grew on me. I don't mind bands trying new things just as long as it works (AHEM...Morbid Angel..AHEM) but Nile pretty much pulled this one off but wasn't digging the production that much. When my Wrath is Done is by far the highlight track on this album, even though Ithyphallic is my least favorite out of the Nile collection.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 03:08
Lit.
Account deleted
Written by axelx666 on 30.06.2012 at 21:41

ah if we're going with the sound then yes you are correct. but im going with image and lyrics.

Then go listen to Powerslave.
Loading...
07.07.2012 - 07:35
norse72
Had the album for a few days, so far I love it. Vesano back on vocals really adds a different, chaotic element (brings me back to the Shrines era, which was a great fucking album), and I hear them experimenting with their sound a quite bit, which is awesome. Can't believe that more people haven't been talking about the improvement in the guitar soloing and the change in songwriting approach. I'm fine with the production, I'm hearing the bass as much as on any other Nile album, so...hmmm. This ain't Death Magnetic, so I hope people don't get on that bandwagon and go apeshit about bad production when it's really just average production. The last album may have been a bit clearer, admittedly. But hell, the alteration of musical direction and improvement in their sound is way more important to me, personally. Hail Nile!
Loading...
10.07.2012 - 02:17
Opethian
At the Gate of Sethu is exactly what i had predicted and proud to say, Its showing Nile move forward and they did it like a Magician pulls a Rabbit out of a Hat, no struggle, no double take. This may not be ' Album of the Year', but its still the same Nile that delivered 'Annihilation of the Wicked' (One of my favorite albums ... Period!)
Loading...
10.07.2012 - 02:27
Opethian
Written by METALOZON on 30.06.2012 at 12:23

1 The atmosphere is almost completely gone
2 The bass is to quiet
These are the main problems I have with this album. The songs themselves are good. But the thin or dry sound of the album could give you a headache. So with all this how could the production get a 9 I would give the production an 8 if I'm in a good mood.


You want Atmosphere? Go listen to the album outside
Loading...
10.07.2012 - 04:06
Dark Cornatus
Powerslave
I don't think the production is that bad really, i mean it's clear that there is a lack of any general 'loudness' or 'punch' to the album, but if you listen for awhile you forget that. I'm not enjoying the vocals for one, they sound a little too Thrashy at times (not all the time).

It might take a few more listens as Baz said.
Loading...
11.07.2012 - 01:55
BitterCOld
Gringo
Only listened once, via spotify on pc while blowing shit up in a video game, but was better than i expected coming off the last two. enjoyed the initial passing enough to check it out again.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
12.07.2012 - 04:12
I_Die_Often
I'm a Nile fan, so I of course love this, just like every Nile release.
I think it is more like their older material and I don't mind if the production is a "little thin", to me it
enabled me to hear each little cymbal and subtleties I might miss with a full bombastic sound, but still remain brutal.

Besides, if this was a black metal release, everyone would be bitching it was over produced!!
----
Old enough to be your Daddy... speaking of which... you look familiar... do I know your mother???
Loading...
11.08.2012 - 06:40
[DCLXVI]Wormwood
Account deleted
The production on this is miserable and the far different vocal choices really ruin this one for me (though it might be the production of the vocals at fault, rather than the actual vocal changeup). There are some shining moments but production really kills any potential this had. It makes it sound like a low bitrate MP3, even when listening at near-lossless quality. I keep thinking my copy is messed up or something because it never sounds right. They squeezed the hell of the cymbals and put the drums really far forward. The guitars sound anemic. Really disappointed, and this is coming from a Nile fan. I really enjoyed Ithyphallic, Annihilation of the Wicked, etc.

4/10
Loading...
28.09.2012 - 03:38
Kuroboshi
I listened to "Those whom the Gods Detest" right after this album, and it's amazing how greatly they failed at production. Still, musicianship is flawless, and it deserves an 8 I think.

This is probably the closest Nile has come to melodeath.
Loading...
30.01.2013 - 16:11
Cristi
Production 9 it right. I'm glad that their sound it's not "pumped" for mp3 player like Belphegor for example. Perfect for 2.0 home speakers and for me sounds excellent. Buy their CD, it worth.
Loading...
20.10.2013 - 21:59
Lord_Regnier
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 29.06.2012 at 21:20

Written by Guest on 29.06.2012 at 21:18

Shoddy production and sound, poor vocals, underwhelming, average songwriting. Probably the worst Nile album to date.


yep.

The production is really extremely shoddy, just listen to the horrible guitar sound.


I read many complaints about this album, mostly related to production. I don't see where the problem is. Imo, the guitars are very audible. The difference is the guitars are produced more 'in a Black Metal way' this time, kinda more raw and distorted.
Perhaps a bit scorching for the ears at higher volume.
I see it as a Death Metal album produced more in a Black Metal way and it won't please everyone for sure.

As for vocals, some of them are different. More clean than usual yet fairly aggressive. I think it's a matter of tastes here. The band tried something different. Some will like, others not.

As for songwriting, I don't see anything wrong.
----
"Why would we fear death, when life is so much more frightening?"
Loading...

Hits total: 12015 | This month: 57