Rating:
7.5
Grave - Endless Procession Of Souls
27 August 2012


01. Dystopia
02. Amongst Marble And The Dead
03. Disembodied Steps
04. Flesh Epistle
05. Passion Of The Weak
06. Winds Of Chains
07. Encountering The Divine
08. Perimortem
09. Plague Of Nations
10. Epos


So Grave is back with another release, one that continues the trend set forth about... oh, 10 years ago now. I'll get straight to the point, much like these guys do with their music: expect more of the same.

Am I saying this is a bad album? Far from it. It's still a solid death metal release, one that captures the less melodic side of their early albums while maintaining their contemporary straightforward approach. Obviously they aren't trying to wow anybody in the originality department, but those who are looking for more of the same will be more than pleased with this. It's grimy and old school but still slightly polished, blending in the old with the new seamlessly, as they've been doing now for quite some time. Consistency is still a positive quality in the world, right?

And of course you don't write a review of a Grave album without focusing on that nasty guitar tone - that barbaric "crunch" factor more or less synonymous with the band's moniker. When you think Grave, you think old school crunching guitar riffs. What band wouldn't want that kind of signature sound?

I seem to be asking a lot of questions from the readers. So here's a simple answer: this is pure, unrelenting death metal. Not technical, not overly melodic, nothing extra. Just no-nonsense, to the point death metal.

Oh, and for those of you who for whatever reason don't know who these guys are and this is the first Grave album you've ever thought of listening to, here's what you can look forward to: old school mid-paced chunky death metal riffing, bass-heavy pummeling drums, deep-yet-discernible raspy growls, and hints of soloing scattered throughout the album. And a seven minute closing track that honestly doesn't overstay its welcome, even setting up a decent evil atmosphere to help close things out.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 5
Production: 8


Band profile: Grave
Album: Endless Procession Of Souls


 



Written on 09.08.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 234  
Search this topic:  


Void Eater - 09.08.2012 at 06:33  
Don't think I've listened of anything by Grave aside from Into The Grave and some of their demos. Not sure why, I really like old school Swededeath, and Into The Grave is a darn good album. Gonna keep an eye out for this for sure.
Maxx666 - 09.08.2012 at 06:37  
I'm amazed that they still churn out quality releases year after year. I mean seriously its quite hard to find a single weak album in their catalog. And this album is equally great, catchy, and powerful. 9/10
D.T. Metal - 09.08.2012 at 17:09  
Written by Maxx666 on 09.08.2012 at 06:37
.... And this album is equally great, catchy, and powerful. 9/10


Ditto! But I wouldn't go with a 9/10 even though I think it's their strongest album in regards of songwriting and production as of yet.
hmmm..."...hints of soloing scattered throughout the album..." might be a bit of an understatement and what I really dig about the new album is the a) "Evil Chuck" influence thru out and b) the thrashiness that can't be denied.
Troy Killjoy - 09.08.2012 at 17:13  
Written by D.T. Metal on 09.08.2012 at 17:09
"...hints of soloing scattered throughout the album..." might be a bit of an understatement

I suppose I worded that poorly, what I meant was the solos aren't prolonged. I appreciate the brevity and all and I know they aren't here to compete with the likes of Obscura in terms of technicality, but little five second solos here and there doesn't really rev my engine.
silenius - 09.08.2012 at 20:49  
Good old grave still putting out awesome albums all the fucking time, just love their brand of death! solid album to say the least.
thefallenalchmst - 10.08.2012 at 02:26  
I just got finished listening to this one, Troy. Even though Decibel praised it, I can't help but think that this is just a solid album at best. Eros was pretty good, but that's about as good as it got. Sadly, the new Revolting isn't much better, but I'd put it well above this Grave disc.

www.thegrimtower.blogspot.com
Troy Killjoy - 10.08.2012 at 06:06  
Written by thefallenalchmst on 10.08.2012 at 02:26
Even though Decibel praised it, I can't help but think that this is just a solid album at best.

Agreed. I wouldn't be surprised if a lot of well-known zines praised this - it's a big name death metal band that has a fairly big following due to some early classics back in the '90s and a lot of people lose their shit over veteran bands repeating themselves for some reason. I dunno, I think their contemporary stuff is a big step down from what they were doing when they started and this album is just another by-the-numbers release that, while far from bad, just isn't worth praising.
thefallenalchmst - 10.08.2012 at 18:46  
You're right
Maxx666 - 12.08.2012 at 09:30  
Written by D.T. Metal on 09.08.2012 at 17:09

Written by Maxx666 on 09.08.2012 at 06:37
.... And this album is equally great, catchy, and powerful. 9/10


Ditto! But I wouldn't go with a 9/10 even though I think it's their strongest album in regards of songwriting and production as of yet.
hmmm..."...hints of soloing scattered throughout the album..." might be a bit of an understatement and what I really dig about the new album is the a) "Evil Chuck" influence thru out and b) the thrashiness that can't be denied.

yeah 9 might seems quite much, but the thing is i'm a huge fan of Grave. So i tend to like all of their releases no matter what.
basquetal - 13.08.2012 at 03:26  
It was not supposed this album only come out on august 27?
Troy Killjoy - 14.08.2012 at 01:08  
Written by basquetal on 13.08.2012 at 03:26
It was not supposed this album only come out on august 27?

The official release date is August 27th.
basquetal - 14.08.2012 at 17:19  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.08.2012 at 01:08

Written by basquetal on 13.08.2012 at 03:26
It was not supposed this album only come out on august 27?

The official release date is August 27th.

ah ok, I wasn´t finding anything about new album on the net and as I saw that you had already done a review, so I wondered how you heard the new album.
But it´s ok, I already got to hear the album and I really liked the song called Epos.
Priest1927 - 17.08.2012 at 10:37  
Nevertheless the album is wonderful. The thing I would like to admit is the originality of the expressed ideas leaves much to be desired.. it would be more surprising to listen to something new and novative. However 7 out of 10, in my opinion.
alcross51 - 17.08.2012 at 16:57  
This is a blast! Listening to grave for years...no disappointment here, just pure death metal!
Protostar - 30.08.2012 at 17:03  
<3 you Grave.
This is another fine addition to my list of "play it loud and scream at your neighbors".
Blackhand - 24.09.2012 at 17:57  
I have all of Grave's albums, so I definitely need to pick this one up as well.
Sonic MrSumo - 14.03.2013 at 23:50  
This is their best work since Soulless. I think it's a truly solid album!

Am seeing them live tonight also...bring it!
matai65 - 23.03.2013 at 09:48  
Totally excellent,their best release since 'You'll never See',cant stop playing it!
deadone - 14.04.2014 at 06:54  
Excellent review and one that hits the nail very much on the head.

It sums up a lot of these kind of old school DM bands very well.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Grave - Endless Procession Of Souls 7.5 30.08.2012 by Protostar
Reviews Grisâtre - Esthaetique 4.5 17.06.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Grey Heaven Fall / Twilight Is Mine - The Original Seed Of Decadence / Age Of Aquarius [Split] 4.5 15.12.2013 by
Reviews Dwellers Of The Twilight - Sycophant 4.5 15.12.2011 by Milena
Reviews Dødsengel - Imperator 4.5 16.05.2012 by Mr. Doctor



Hits total: 4291 | This month: 2