Rating:
N/A
Wilderun - Olden Tales & Deathly Trails
21 September 2012


01. The Cracking Glow
02. Suncatcher
03. How Stands The Glass Around?
04. Storm Along
05. Vaunting Veins
06. The Coasts Of High Barbaree
07. The Dying Californian


I like to imagine the guys in Wilderun were all sitting around the dinner table, probably with some really fantastic beer in one hand and a leg of lamb in the other hand. One of them says, "I used to love folk metal but these days it's getting lame; everyone is doing the same tired shit over and over." "Yeah…" say the other guys to nods of agreement. They all rip a bite of lamb off the bone and contemplate this statement. One guy has an epiphany and breaks the silence with, "What if… what if we made a folk metal album that wasn't lame? What if we just did things a little differently?" Everyone's chewing slows to a halt. They stare at him, wide-eyed and mystified. "Tell us more, brother..."

And thus begins the saga of Olden Tales & Deathly Trails: an album for lovers of folk metal but one that just approaches it a little differently. It's hard to put your finger on HOW they're different. Perhaps it's the variation in instruments, in tempos, and that this isn't just a non-stop assault. In fact, it's rarely an assault at all. The use of acoustic guitars and mandolin during the more intense parts of some songs, plus the sheer variety in others, makes me feel like Wilderun sometimes listens to people like Gogol Bordello and the Diablo Swing Orchestra in addition to all the classic folk metal bands we know and love.

Both epic and straight forward, symphonic and bare, and with well-done clean and extreme vocals, if there is something you love about folk metal then Wilderun does it. The best part is that despite the variety this is remarkably streamlined and cohesive. They really find the shining middle ground between everything that is good and wonderful and badass about the genre. Perhaps overall it's a bit more on the melodic side of things, but it's free of cheese. No, that's totally a lie; it's just not cheesy in the same way most melodic folk is. There are no flute solos, no female vocals, and no visions of smiling fairies dancing in an open field to welcome the rising sun. Nope. This is the kind of cheese that makes you defensive about it. "So? It's cheesy. The fuck you gonna to do about it, huh?!" Then you bitchslap the hater and give the album another spin.

Listen at Bandcamp.


Band profile: Wilderun
Album: Olden Tales & Deathly Trails


 



Written on 07.10.2012 by
Susan
Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Susan ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 34  
Users visited: 493  
Search this topic:  


Rulatore - 07.10.2012 at 04:40  
Sounds very, VERY good. Jesus, don't even know when was the last time I heard something so fresh in this genre. Thanks Susan
Lit. - 07.10.2012 at 06:19  
Complete with a nice album cover that looks like something out of Tak and the Power of Juju.
Draugen - 07.10.2012 at 13:47  
A fresh take on folk metal you say? I am intrigued...
Milena - 07.10.2012 at 17:35  
Quote:
"So? It's cheesy. The fuck you gonna to do about it, huh?!" Then you bitchslap the hater and give the album another spin.

I've done this a lot of times
Thank you for the lovely read Susan, it's nice to have you back.
R Lewis - 07.10.2012 at 17:36  
I am totally into Elvenking and Tyr. This review is encouraging, let's try!
Promonex - 07.10.2012 at 17:37  
Legs of lambs? I am intrigued...
Frodd - 07.10.2012 at 17:47  
I'm listening to this on Bandcamp right now. So far, I agree with Susan.

Edit: I hear hints of Falconer, Turisas , Equilibrium and some other great folk classics in there. Awesome!

Edit 2: Excellent and quite fresh. Spot-on review as well.
FeskarN - 07.10.2012 at 20:19  
Sounds really good!
kaspair - 07.10.2012 at 21:07  
If you like this, try Brymir.
Abel - 07.10.2012 at 21:52  
Funny review!!! XD
Abel - 07.10.2012 at 22:00  
Symphonic folk metal?? from the use??? 0.0
Frodd - 07.10.2012 at 22:22  
Written by kaspair on 07.10.2012 at 21:07

If you like this, try Brymir.

SECONDED. Brymir are awesome and their album was my folk favourite last year.
Cynic Metalhead - 08.10.2012 at 09:14  
Omg the start of "The Coasts of High Barbaree " made me dance. Weee--huuuuuu!
JÄY - 08.10.2012 at 23:04  
Thank you so much for reviewing this
Richard 32 - 08.10.2012 at 23:22  
Greatest review ever. Had me laughing out loud. Definitely gotta check this out.
Metall Jesus - 09.10.2012 at 02:34  
Written by kaspair on 07.10.2012 at 21:07

If you like this, try Brymir.

Yes! Brymir was my "breath of fresh air" last year and I told some friends that were awestruck by Wilderun to check them out as well.

Both of these bands rock my socks off.
Dentura - 09.10.2012 at 12:09  
Hmm... I have never heard of this band before now. Great review! I'm interested in hearing what it's all about.
Ellrohir - 09.10.2012 at 23:19  
Turisas 2.0...or more likely 3.0 or something
JÄY - 10.10.2012 at 23:39  
Written by Ellrohir on 09.10.2012 at 23:19

Turisas 2.0...or more likely 3.0 or something

I would agree haha
Evil Chip - 11.10.2012 at 20:49  
Reallly refreshing somehow. Reminds me a bit of the nautic feeling of Holy Land by Angra.
Sir Thrashalot - 12.10.2012 at 00:49  
Wow, that really makes me want to try this one out. But I got to do it before Wintersun's "Time I" comes out... i'll be listening to it for the next month ! Ah ha.

I'll give it a shot right away in fact !
Frodd - 12.10.2012 at 10:03  
Written by Ellrohir on 09.10.2012 at 23:19

Turisas 2.0...or more likely 3.0 or something

After some more listens, I agree. But it's still awesome.
Rulatore - 12.10.2012 at 16:33  
I don't hear that much of Turisas. Indeed an awesome album
Susan - 12.10.2012 at 19:50  
Oh god, I don't think they sound like Turisas one bit! That's interesting that several of you do....

...but the important thing is that everyone is digging it! Refreshing metal is such a universal "good" isn't it?
In5anity - 14.10.2012 at 13:33  
Wow, this is really great. And I just got here because I wanted to know what kind of band has such a horrible cover artwork.
Justicelust - 16.10.2012 at 16:54  
I really enjoy this, great album
The Evergreen - 23.10.2012 at 18:32  
I will buy this album. It's more than good enough.
PowerThrash - 25.10.2012 at 01:00  
The cover artwork wouldn't have been that bad if it wasn't for the massive band logo.
PocketMetal - 25.10.2012 at 13:27  
I heard Diablo Swing Orchestra , now I'm interested even more
Risto - 26.10.2012 at 13:58  
Written by Susan on 12.10.2012 at 19:50

Oh god, I don't think they sound like Turisas one bit! That's interesting that several of you do....

Some of the vocal work and wind instrumentation reminds me of Turisas as well but that doesn't mean this ain't distinctly different
flamey - 01.02.2013 at 14:08  
It does indeed remind me a LOT of Turisas. But these guys are much more competent at their instruments, making everything more interesting. Hopefully in the next albums they will have a more unique sound though. But anyway a nice album!
moe5512 - 04.02.2013 at 17:25  
Bit suprised, I had lost almost all interest in new folk metal bands but these guys are quite good. Sounds like a more "guitarish" first album of Turisas .
Rhiannon - 15.02.2013 at 12:21  
Nice album, both epic and straightforward, as you said in the review. Yes, they are similar to Turisas, but thats a good thing for fans like me
WinterMadness - 25.02.2014 at 07:31  
I love this album because it's actually AMERICAN folk metal. Not that I'm some patriotic moron, but so many American folk metal bands are just trying to chase Ensiferum's coattails, and for that reason the American folk metal scene is mostly a bunch of bland cliched crap. But Wilderun is a breath of fresh air...playing glorious folk metal a la Turisas, but using American folk melodies and instruments in healthy doses. The end result sounds like Aaron Copland wrote an album with Mathias Nygard, and it's awesome.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Wilderun - Olden Tales & Deathly Trails 9 07.10.2012 by JÄY
Reviews Gloryhammer - Tales From The Kingdom Of Fife 4.5 26.05.2013 by Super_Greg
Reviews Pythia - The Serpent's Curse 3 02.10.2012 by Dentura
Reviews Rhapsody Of Fire - Legendary Tales 2.5 04.08.2006 by The Alchemist
Reviews Raintime - Tales From Sadness 2.5 05.02.2011 by Luneth



Hits total: 6821 | This month: 172