Rating:
7.6
Crowned - Vacuous Spectral Silence
12 October 2012


01. Menelvagor
02. Journey To The Cross-roads
03. Firmament
04. Apocryphal Catacomb
05. Diamonds
06. Vacuous Spectral Silence


It's 1992, You're in Norway, It's cold and snowy outside. You brush the snow off of your tattered leather jacket as you enter your best friend's basement studio. You quickly get to work, pumping out blastbeats, savage guitar riffs, and tortured angry vocals. All recorded onto your mom's eight track.

Now let's start over. Now that it's 2012, much has changed, however the formula still remains. Crowned plays 90's black metal in this new millennium; the music is vicious. The buzz saw riffs, pounding blastbeats, and mournful growls, mix together similar to their 90's forefathers, almost a little too much at certain times. The music is extremely well done, however it feels soulless, and empty, and not in a good, black metal way. I had trouble connecting with the music, always feeling that it was just skin-deep, and nothing more.

That being said, the music itself is exceptionally well done. The drumming is quick, and tight. The guitars are droning, monotonous, and hateful. The vocals are raspy, and loathsome. It all comes together in a package showcasing the bitterness of it all. The tremolo laden riffs will make you question why you even get out of bed. The drums will hammer you into submission, just like a fourth grade bully. The vocals are the decision that you just can't take it anymore, and it's time to go…

The songs do, however, tend to get repetitive after the near hour of similar song writing. The riffs become predictable and the drumming becomes a little too monotonous. But looking back at the Peaceville Trio, or Varg's earlier work, you can easily overlook the fact that it may be just a slight bit too long, as we do with the other black metal classics. In conclusion, this is definitely one to look forward to if you're a fan of black metal, or even just extreme metal in general.

1990's black metal in 2012.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 5
Production: 8


Band profile: Crowned
Album: Vacuous Spectral Silence


 


written by Boxcar Willy | 27.10.2012



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 160  
Search this topic:  


D.T. Metal - 27.10.2012 at 20:06  
Quote:
All recorded onto your mom's eight track.
Susan - 27.10.2012 at 20:21  
Good review. I hear what you mean about it being a little empty, but still well-done music. I enjoyed this debut and loved the nostalgic vibe.

Their previous demo was featured in the Clandestine Cuts earlier this year, reviewed by Troy. Nice to see how far they've come
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.10.2012 at 21:27  
Congrats on your first front page review ; )
wormdrink414 - 27.10.2012 at 22:11  
^ ditto
Boxcar Willy - 28.10.2012 at 00:01  
Thanks guys/gal
psykometal - 28.10.2012 at 00:26  
I logged in and saw that you had a front page review and thought "Holy shit, wtf?! Did he get bumped to Contributor and I missed that discussion?!". Seriously though, nice review. I haven't listened to this but the review gives me a good sense of what to expect so I'll probably check it out when I get home and see if my expectation holds true. Congrats on the front page review.
Fradd - 28.10.2012 at 00:33  
Bongratulations, tanner
Uldreth - 28.10.2012 at 02:19  
Indeed, grats :>

Good review but I think I'll pass on this album, haha.
Boxcar Willy - 28.10.2012 at 02:23  
Written by Uldreth on 28.10.2012 at 02:19

Indeed, grats :>

Good review but I think I'll pass on this album, haha.

Thanks!

And Yeah, don't think it'd be up your alley haha
Timmeh - 28.10.2012 at 04:10  
*Goes on MS* hey a front page review by BoxCar da fuq? Hey it's Crowned (a band from my relatively small city where I know all the members personally and been to/played multiple gigs with) double da fuq!
On a serious note I LOVED the demo by these guys, I've only heard one song off of this album and thought it strayed from the demo sound a bit too much, anyways I will definitely have to give a proper listen. Nice review man .
Tristus Scriptor - 28.10.2012 at 06:48  
Good review. This is the kind of stuff I do; so I'll be checking it out. Stay Metal!
Kuroboshi - 28.10.2012 at 07:01  
Congrats Willy, and great review. However, I'm not really longing for those old days right now, so I'll pass. But I'll keep it in mind for when I get a dirty raw black craving again.
Susan - 28.10.2012 at 07:06  
Written by Timmeh on 28.10.2012 at 04:10

Hey it's Crowned (a band from my relatively small city where I know all the members personally and been to/played multiple gigs with) double da fuq!


Small world!!
R'Vannith - 29.10.2012 at 04:26  
Nice job on the front page! Sounds like the kind of Black metal I usually avoid but I can't get enough of that album cover, might give it a try sometime considering they're Aussies.
D.T. Metal - 12.11.2012 at 22:32  
Written by R'Vannith on 29.10.2012 at 04:26

Nice job on the front page! Sounds like the kind of Black metal I usually avoid but I can't get enough of that album cover, might give it a try sometime considering they're Aussies.

and their entire album streams online right now [for a limited time], click HERE and scroll down a bit.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Crowned - Vacuous Spectral Silence 7.5 02.11.2012 by Bad English
Reviews Despised Icon - Consumed By Your Poison 4.5 22.03.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Moonless - Calling All Demons 4.5 30.07.2012 by Milena
Reviews Bring Me The Horizon - Sempiternal 4.5 10.05.2013 by tea[m]ster
Reviews Baptized In Blood - Baptized In Blood 4.5 05.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 3094 | This month: 3