Rating:
6.2
Tao Menizoo - Journey Through A Devastated Mind
5 September 2012


01. Wreckage
02. What If…
03. Your Weakness
04. Released
05. Celebration Day
06. The Lie Within
07. My Shroud, My Scars
08. Messiah
09. My Last Resort
10. So Tired
11. Emotional Control


Once again, this is a full DIY album : produced, recorded, edited and mixed by the band in its own project-studio.

The mastering has been done by Brett Caldas-Lima (Kalisia, Devin Townsend Project, Cynic,…) at Tower Studio. Cover photography by Eric Honeycutt.


Uncomfortable and abrasive is the new effort from French industrial thrashers Tao Menizoo. The Journey Through A Devastated Mind is by no means an easy one, it's torturous in fact.

What the band seem keen to do is throw everything they have at you and by this I do really mean everything. Hints of numerous metal subgenres are utilised in this primarily hardcore driven assault on the senses. A very unconventional industrialised thrash is buried within, covered in a coat of garish bits of groove and even stoner. A black metal-like stride in "Your Weakness" is brought forth by tempo, drum and guitar work characteristic of the genre but made anew into something barely distinguishable. As a point of contrast "Messiah" is a rapid propulsion of groove thrash not too distant to Machine Head material. All this sampling of various genres as well as brief piano passages and echoed guitar lines surrounding random spoken interludes advising you about your emotional state make for an extremely chaotic listening experience.

Overall the album has very little coherency and consistency in structure to allow for the listener to attach themselves. When it does come together it can do so in very interesting ways but are often overplayed giving the record a very unstructured sound interspersed with recycled moments of accessibility. Some elements are more difficult to digest than others, the hardcore style shouts especially are like trying to swallow a razor blade as they by no means make the listening experience any easier. A tumultuous atmosphere is present in many tracks which houses all this untethered chaos within the song writing and giving the listener some sense of scope to grapple with.

This uneasy mind makes for uneasy listening and will likely never sit at all comfortably with you once experienced.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 8
Production: 7


 



Written on 15.12.2012 by
R'Vannith
R'Vannith enjoys music, he's hoping you do too.
More reviews by R'Vannith ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 104  
Search this topic:  


PocketMetal - 15.12.2012 at 15:03  
Well I guess I should avoid this one , the cover is interesting ... but it doesn't fit the genre . I always thought Devin Townsend produces his music himself ... am I completely wrong ?
R'Vannith - 15.12.2012 at 15:24  
Written by PocketMetal on 15.12.2012 at 15:03

Well I guess I should avoid this one , the cover is interesting ... but it doesn't fit the genre . I always thought Devin Townsend produces his music himself ... am I completely wrong ?


It doesn't really sit in any genre well, which is the only interesting thing about it for me. It has mostly just an irregular industrial metal sound, doesn't grab me at all though. It would be hard to find some appropriate artwork for it.
As for Devin I thought he did too.. At least I thought he did for his albums under the "Devin Townsend Project" naming.
Rodney - 15.12.2012 at 15:24  
Written by PocketMetal on 15.12.2012 at 15:03

Well I guess I should avoid this one , the cover is interesting ... but it doesn't fit the genre . I always thought Devin Townsend produces his music himself ... am I completely wrong ?


Producing & Mixing =/= Mastering. The review only said that he mastered the work of The Devin Townsend Project, not that he produced it or mixed it. Hope that clears things up.
R'Vannith - 15.12.2012 at 15:34  
Written by Rodney on 15.12.2012 at 15:24

Written by PocketMetal on 15.12.2012 at 15:03

Well I guess I should avoid this one , the cover is interesting ... but it doesn't fit the genre . I always thought Devin Townsend produces his music himself ... am I completely wrong ?


Producing & Mixing =/= Mastering. The review only said that he mastered the work of The Devin Townsend Project, not that he produced it or mixed it. Hope that clears things up.


So it does. Looking Brett up now he's also the vocalist for Kalisia. Highly rated around these parts so that's interesting..
Rodney - 15.12.2012 at 15:46  
Written by R'Vannith on 15.12.2012 at 15:34

So it does. Looking Brett up now he's also the vocalist for Kalisia. Highly rated around these parts so that's interesting..


Huh, never heard of them, but a highly regarded progressive death album isn't something I can pass up, I shall definitely have to give that one a try. Even though the band reviewed didn't catch my interest, I still managed to walk away with something new to check out. Good eye R'Vannith.
R'Vannith - 15.12.2012 at 15:51  
Written by Rodney on 15.12.2012 at 15:46

Written by R'Vannith on 15.12.2012 at 15:34

So it does. Looking Brett up now he's also the vocalist for Kalisia. Highly rated around these parts so that's interesting..


Huh, never heard of them, but a highly regarded progressive death album isn't something I can pass up, I shall definitely have to give that one a try. Even though the band reviewed didn't catch my interest, I still managed to walk away with something new to check out. Good eye R'Vannith.


I'll be joining you there, haven't heard them before either.
Rupert - 15.12.2012 at 16:46  
Just listened to "What If...", sounded pretty good to me. Maybe they fooled me by putting their most accessible song in their MySpace player.
Ag Fox - 15.12.2012 at 17:12  
I might check them out, time permitting. The review got me interested
PocketMetal - 15.12.2012 at 20:30  
Written by R'Vannith on 15.12.2012 at 15:24

It doesn't really sit in any genre well, which is the only interesting thing about it for me. It has mostly just an irregular industrial metal sound, doesn't grab me at all though. It would be hard to find some appropriate artwork for it.
As for Devin I thought he did too.. At least I thought he did for his albums under the "Devin Townsend Project" naming.


It somehow reminded of Deadwing cover art by Porcupine Tree . ( I don'y know why )

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Desire - Infinity... A Timeless Journey Through An Emotional Dream 4 09.03.2014 by Monolithic
Albums Desire - Infinity... A Timeless Journey Through An Emotional Dream 3 28.04.2013 by Erik M.
Albums Disperse - Journey Through The Hidden Gardens 3 17.08.2011 by DrM
Lists My Musical Journey Through 2012 3 15.02.2012 by Milena
Albums Pantheist - Journey Through Lands Unknown 3 17.01.2010 by Uirapuru



Hits total: 2588 | This month: 30