Rating:
9.5
Blut Aus Nord - The Work Which Transforms God
2003


01. End
02. The Choir Of The Dead
03. Axis
04. The Fall
05. Metamorphosis
06. The Supreme Abstract
07. Our Blessed Frozen Cells
08. Devilish Essence
09. The Howling Of God
10. Inner Mental Cage
11. Density
12. Procession Of The Dead Clowns
13. Mighty Trust Krusher [Godflesh cover]


Stemming from the brain of twisted genius Vindsval emanates Blut Aus Nord's black metal masterpiece: "The Work Which Transforms God." With such a grandiose album title you'd expect nothing less from the French trio.

Imagine yourself stranded alone in a post-apocalyptic metropolis that's cloaked in a blanket of perpetual darkness and despair, violent storms evoking harrowing winds that crush the dead structures that surround you, all the while you cower pathetically in a tiny hole waiting for your timely death... This is just one of the countless possible nightmares this piece will allow you the displeasure of experiencing. I hate to talk about "atmospheres" when it comes to black metal as it seems a little contrived nowadays but with this album it's unavoidable. So, for the purpose of this review I'll restrict my description to simple, concise words:

Crushing. Nihilistic. Cold. Terrifying.

All these give some indication of the disparity that this nasty yet beautiful work of art exudes; however, you'll have to listen to it for yourself to fully comprehend this.

The opener of the album, pretentiously entitled "End," is designed to lull the listener into a false sense of security with its near silent, almost ambient sounds of thuds and bangs that seem to echo down an empty corridor, all before throwing you head first into the albums first highlight "The Choir of the Dead." Seemingly chaotic riffs combined with insane, yet intricate drum beats that only the madman W.D.Feld could execute appear to serve as a failed barrier, trying to protect you from Vindsval's tortured shrieks that will leave you rocking back and fourth with your ears bleeding profusely. The track has unquestionable substance such as the howls of demented beings and unidentifiable industrial clicks and moans that only repeated listens will reveal.

Short ambient/industrial tracks such as "The Fall" and "Devilish Essence" will keep you second guessing this record as it tricks you into feeling safe with its odd piano notes and the droning whir of machinery in the background, whereas the mid-paced "Metamorphosis," which is much more vocally prolific than other tracks, keeps you feeling decidedly uncomfortable as Vindsval's croaks continually taunt you throughout the slow plodding march toward the end. The album's second highlight comes in the form of what could be described as the most accessible song: "Our Blessed Frozen Cells." Lengthy and much more coherent than the other songs, it's split into two distinct sections the first being a sinister slow march, much like "Metamorphosis" whereas the second part, after a short ambient section, has the most pleasant and melodic music you'll hear on this album and is comforting with it's echoing guitars and slow drums. The final section, after the 18 seconds of silence from "Density," is a looping, wonderfully emotive and melancholic instrumental piece and is undoubtedly the best song on the album. This song, "Procession of the Dead Clowns," will make you feel like you've died and are on a slow journey to the afterlife. Inspiring stuff.

With its mixture of complex, pummelling drums, dissonant guitar work and minimal vocals combined with artful use of ambience and industrial effects all encompassed by crisp, clear yet raw production, Blut Aus Nord have created a truly unique Black Metal opus with unparalleled atmosphere that I'm unable to compare with anything else I've ever heard. You need to hear this.


Band profile: Blut Aus Nord
Album: The Work Which Transforms God


 


written by !J.O.O.E.! | 06.01.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 44  
Users visited: 212  
Search this topic:  


sev7en77 - 25.10.2007 at 10:02  
this album blew me away!
i herd this album 2 other times an it just sounded like a blur. But the last half of the album is great.
i'd give this album a solid 8
Nosurper - 16.03.2012 at 04:11  
"This Blood Falls as Mortal" and "Granite" on Lurker of Chalice brought me into some addictive phobophobic realm in my mind as i listened to it comfortably on the couch. It was intimidating, but just inescapable. Would this album be a good follow up?
Troy Killjoy - 16.03.2012 at 04:20  
Written by Nosurper on 16.03.2012 at 04:11
Would this album be a good follow up?

Yep. Especially if you smoke some weed* when listening to it.
Nosurper - 16.03.2012 at 04:22  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.03.2012 at 04:20

Written by Nosurper on 16.03.2012 at 04:11
Would this album be a good follow up?

Yep. Especially if you smoke some weed* when listening to it.


danke
Troy Killjoy - 16.03.2012 at 04:25  
Written by Nosurper on 16.03.2012 at 04:22
danke

It has a really strong "cold" feel to it, like an old machine that's been unused in the middle of winter. And it kind of envelops you with this "end of the world" vibe. It's definitely a lot to take in but if Lurker of Chalice is up your alley then I suspect something this bizarre should appease your tastes.
!J.O.O.E.! - 24.04.2012 at 23:50  
God, what a terrible review.

Good album though.
Mr. Doctor - 24.04.2012 at 23:58  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 24.04.2012 at 23:50

God, what a terrible review.
Good album though.


I've heard the dude who wrote this piece of shit did it only for the community points, can you believe that?
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.04.2012 at 00:03  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 24.04.2012 at 23:58

I've heard the dude who wrote this piece of shit did it only for the community points, can you believe that?

Yeah, he said he doesn't even like this band and that they're really just pretentious rubbish.
InnerSelf - 25.04.2012 at 00:09  
Why did I just get an update for this ! and under the name "sephiroth soul"
Please don't let this be JOOE's old name :p
Mr. Doctor - 25.04.2012 at 00:09  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.04.2012 at 00:03

Written by Mr. Doctor on 24.04.2012 at 23:58

I've heard the dude who wrote this piece of shit did it only for the community points, can you believe that?

Yeah, he said he doesn't even like this band and that they're really just pretentious rubbish.


I've heard he lives near you.... You should totally go to his house and punch the cunt in the throat.
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.04.2012 at 00:10  
Written by InnerSelf on 25.04.2012 at 00:09

Why did I just get an update for this ! and under the name "sephiroth soul"
Please don't let this be JOOE's old name :p

Yeah sorry about that. I changed the score down from a 10 and I didn't know it sends out notifications... and yes I did used to be called that
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.04.2012 at 00:11  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.04.2012 at 00:09

I've heard he lives near you.... You should totally go to his house and punch the cunt in the throat.

I'll cunt the fucker right in the punch hole!
Mr. Doctor - 25.04.2012 at 00:14  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.04.2012 at 00:11
I'll cunt the fucker right in the punch hole!


And rape-murder-rape his woman and burn his house!
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.04.2012 at 00:15  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.04.2012 at 00:14


And rape-murder-rape his woman and burn his house!

I'll burn his woman and rape his house!!!111oneoneone
Mr. Doctor - 25.04.2012 at 00:15  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.04.2012 at 00:15

I'll burn his woman and rape his house!!!111oneoneone


Give the dude a decent haircut while you are at it.
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.04.2012 at 00:17  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.04.2012 at 00:15


Give the dude a decent haircut while you are at it.

Screw you bitch tits!
InnerSelf - 25.04.2012 at 00:18  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.04.2012 at 00:10

Written by InnerSelf on 25.04.2012 at 00:09

Why did I just get an update for this ! and under the name "sephiroth soul"
Please don't let this be JOOE's old name :p

Yeah sorry about that. I changed the score down from a 10 and I didn't know it sends out notifications... and yes I did used to be called that

hahaha no problem, reading fanboyish review by you is always fun
I agree with the review though
Mr. Doctor - 25.04.2012 at 00:18  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.04.2012 at 00:17
Screw you bitch tits!


Would you believe me if I say that I wanted to go there from the beginning?
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.04.2012 at 00:20  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.04.2012 at 00:18


Would you believe me if I say that I wanted to go there from the beginning?

You're just jealous because your hair is a boring colour.
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.04.2012 at 00:21  
Written by InnerSelf on 25.04.2012 at 00:18

hahaha no problem, reading fanboyish review by you is always fun
I agree with the review though

I still agree with it but it's very fanboyish indeed
Mr. Doctor - 25.04.2012 at 00:24  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.04.2012 at 00:20

Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.04.2012 at 00:18


Would you believe me if I say that I wanted to go there from the beginning?

You're just jealous because your hair is a boring colour.


The shape of my hair totally makes up for it. Also, I do think the colors I've seen matches you. That wouldn't be the case for me.


Oh and.... Sephiroh soul.... wtf. xD
InnerSelf - 25.04.2012 at 00:24  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.04.2012 at 00:20

Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.04.2012 at 00:18


Would you believe me if I say that I wanted to go there from the beginning?

You're just jealous because your hair is a boring colour.

It still gets him chicks though *looks at Rod's signature*
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.04.2012 at 00:26  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.04.2012 at 00:24

The shape of my hair totally makes up for it. Also, I do think the colors I've seen matches you. That wouldn't be the case for me.

Oh and.... Sephiroh soul.... wtf. xD

That's probably because you've never seen me without red hair =P

Yeah don't ask....
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.04.2012 at 00:27  
Written by InnerSelf on 25.04.2012 at 00:24

It still gets him chicks though *looks at Rod's signature*

It's true. Rod is a total babe magnet. Science cannot explain it.
Mr. Doctor - 25.04.2012 at 00:37  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.04.2012 at 00:26
That's probably because you've never seen me without red hair =P


You have blue hair in one of your profile's pics.
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.04.2012 at 00:38  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.04.2012 at 00:37


You have blue hair in one of your profile's pics.

Your mother has blue hair.
Boxcar Willy - 25.04.2012 at 01:41  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.04.2012 at 00:38

Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.04.2012 at 00:37


You have blue hair in one of your profile's pics.

Your mother has blue hair.

Oh sheeeiit son!
Boxcar Willy - 25.04.2012 at 03:38  
And now it makes the front page!
LeChron James - 25.04.2012 at 03:46  
This review's like 5 years old, why the shit is it showing up on the front page?
Boxcar Willy - 25.04.2012 at 03:47  
Written by LeChron James on 25.04.2012 at 03:46

This review's like 5 years old, why the shit is it showing up on the front page?

Joe edited it, and it resubmitted it
LeChron James - 25.04.2012 at 03:48  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 25.04.2012 at 03:47

Joe edited it, and it resubmitted it

The Work Which Transforms God review THE RE-RE-RE-REMIX!
Tristus Scriptor - 25.04.2012 at 03:55  
Wonderful review. Your descriptive abilities are remarkable and paint a vivid picture. I haven't been in very much of a black metal mood for a while, yet you've sold me on this one. I'm seeking this.
Xnoybis - 25.04.2012 at 06:34  
So.... this thread is entirely too much like mod work.

please keep it relatively on topic... staff/e folks, that also applies to you as well.
Oaken - 31.08.2012 at 01:07  
Going back through this recently, and I don't think it's as great as used to think. The whole album pales in comparison to The Procession Of Dead Clowns/Our Blessed Frozen Cells. That being said, I'm not a great fan of dissonance.
Erik M. - 07.08.2013 at 16:53  
Excellent review, easily one of the best reviews on MS.

And damn, this album is indeed just totally unique (maybe it resembles Lurker of Chalice a bit?) and crushing.
Ozman - 07.08.2013 at 17:00  
Written by Erik M. on 07.08.2013 at 16:53


And damn, this album is indeed just totally unique (maybe it resembles Lurker of Chalice a bit?)...



then you must certainly mean that Lurker Of Chalice resembles TWWTG a bit since TWWTG is two years older
Mr. Doctor - 07.08.2013 at 17:05  
I don't hear any Lurker Of Chalice here at all. The only common things for me would be that it's labeled Black and they are unique.
V01d - 27.08.2014 at 19:05  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 24.04.2012 at 23:50

God, what a terrible review.

Good album though.


I apologize for unearthing a two year old post, but I really enjoyed this review, and your sense of almost humility/reverence for this wonderful album. One question, who did the vocals for this release? I tried looking up some information regarding this, as some say that a character named Taysiah did vocals for this album.
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.08.2014 at 20:09  
Written by V01d on 27.08.2014 at 19:05

I apologize for unearthing a two year old post, but I really enjoyed this review, and your sense of almost humility/reverence for this wonderful album. One question, who did the vocals for this release? I tried looking up some information regarding this, as some say that a character named Taysiah did vocals for this album.

While I may dislike the review I guess this is the most fanboyish I've ever been. Back then this music was totally new to me and I was barely scratching the world of black metal. I often wish I could go back and explore this kind of music all over again.

As for this Taysiah character, I honestly have no knowledge of what he or she did on this. I always thought Vindsval did everything on it, but the Taysiah name seems to crop up a lot of a session vocalist here. Sounds like a good opportunity to play this through and have a close examination for the first time in a long while!
V01d - 27.08.2014 at 22:03  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 27.08.2014 at 20:09

Written by V01d on 27.08.2014 at 19:05

I apologize for unearthing a two year old post, but I really enjoyed this review, and your sense of almost humility/reverence for this wonderful album. One question, who did the vocals for this release? I tried looking up some information regarding this, as some say that a character named Taysiah did vocals for this album.

While I may dislike the review I guess this is the most fanboyish I've ever been. Back then this music was totally new to me and I was barely scratching the world of black metal. I often wish I could go back and explore this kind of music all over again.

As for this Taysiah character, I honestly have no knowledge of what he or she did on this. I always thought Vindsval did everything on it, but the Taysiah name seems to crop up a lot of a session vocalist here. Sounds like a good opportunity to play this through and have a close examination for the first time in a long while!


Judging from the countless fanboyish reviews I'm sure we've all seen, this is done very tastefully. I just experienced this album for the first time a couple nights ago, and words can't even describe. If Silent Hill were a band, this would be it, even more so than The Axis of Perdition, I'd say.

I only have the three albums prior as a reference, yet from what I can hear the screams sound just like Vindsval's. Perhaps Taysiah was moreso involved in the backround moans/chants? I can only speculate. Cannot wait to revisit this album, myself! I am still disoriented from the first initial listen.
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.08.2014 at 22:08  
Written by V01d on 27.08.2014 at 22:03

Judging from the countless fanboyish reviews I'm sure we've all seen, this is done very tastefully. I just experienced this album for the first time a couple nights ago, and words can't even describe. If Silent Hill were a band, this would be it, even more so than The Axis of Perdition, I'd say.

I only have the three albums prior as a reference, yet from what I can hear the screams sound just like Vindsval's. Perhaps Taysiah was moreso involved in the backround moans/chants? I can only speculate. Cannot wait to revisit this album, myself! I am still disoriented from the first initial listen.

Well you still have a way to go through BaN's discog! If you liked the purely industrial / dark ambient tracks from it then you'll certainly like the Thematic Emanation... EP. Not really sure any descriptions can prepare you for MoRT though.
V01d - 27.08.2014 at 22:17  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 27.08.2014 at 22:08

Written by V01d on 27.08.2014 at 22:03

Judging from the countless fanboyish reviews I'm sure we've all seen, this is done very tastefully. I just experienced this album for the first time a couple nights ago, and words can't even describe. If Silent Hill were a band, this would be it, even more so than The Axis of Perdition, I'd say.

I only have the three albums prior as a reference, yet from what I can hear the screams sound just like Vindsval's. Perhaps Taysiah was moreso involved in the backround moans/chants? I can only speculate. Cannot wait to revisit this album, myself! I am still disoriented from the first initial listen.

Well you still have a way to go through BaN's discog! If you liked the purely industrial / dark ambient tracks from it then you'll certainly like the Thematic Emanation... EP. Not really sure any descriptions can prepare you for MoRT though.


I really enjoyed that EP; it came with the TWWTG album as a two disc set. I believe you said somewhere else before, Thematic....is a continuation of Procession of the Dead Clowns (for the first two tracks at least), Level 2 being interesting but my least favorite. I really enjoyed the experimentation employed on that EP, as I had no clue what to expect from each track. BaN is well on its way to toppling the illustrious throne of DsO (for me, anyway) if they keep this up. Whereas DsO is almost constantly in your face, BaN just seem to be much more dynamic to me.
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.08.2014 at 22:25  
Written by V01d on 27.08.2014 at 22:17

I really enjoyed that EP; it came with the TWWTG album as a two disc set. I believe you said somewhere else before, Thematic....is a continuation of Procession of the Dead Clowns (for the first two tracks at least), Level 2 being interesting but my least favorite. I really enjoyed the experimentation employed on that EP, as I had no clue what to expect from each track. BaN is well on its way to toppling the illustrious throne of DsO (for me, anyway) if they keep this up. Whereas DsO is almost constantly in your face, BaN just seem to be much more dynamic to me.

Oh yeah I forgot you said you got the album + EP package so makes sense you'd listen to them as one. I agree, Level 2 is somewhat of a low point; the style doesn't quite match the rest. BaN definitely know how to keep things interesting at least.
V01d - 27.08.2014 at 22:32  
All in all, I think the hype that surrounds this album is warranted. From what I hear about Mort, it is an exercise in industrialized ambient minimalism, or to some such effect. If that's the case, I can't wait to see how far down the rabbit hole goes.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Blut Aus Nord - The Work Which Transforms God 13.5 30.05.2012 by esw1026
Reviews Blut Aus Nord - 777 - The Desanctification 8.5 16.02.2012 by The Galactican
Reviews Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta II - Dialogue With The Stars 8.5 10.10.2011 by The Galactican
Reviews Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta I - Fathers Of The Icy Age 8.5 12.04.2012 by InnerSelf
Albums Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta II - Dialogue With The Stars 7.5 19.02.2011 by Nocturno-Inculto



Hits total: 6214 | This month: 119