Rating:
N/A
Endless Horizon - Annihilation Of Human Beliefs
1 December 2012


01. Dawn Of Darkness
02. Dictator Of Horrific Hordes
03. End Of Daydream
04. Carthusian Monastery
05. Dominion Of Chaos
06. Frozen Soul


Antoine Baril, Hemisphere Studio - production, recording, mixing
François C. Fortin - mastering
Sylvain Arel - artwork


Let's say you want to build something really awesome. It could be anything. What do you do first? Perhaps you brainstorm ides and gather parts, as many awesome things as you can find to add to your creation. A bit of this, a chunk of that. Once everything is collected you might lay it all out, observe your components, and start assembling.

Endless Horizon got part of this memo but unfortunately missed the very last step. This is a beautifully varied black metal album full of AWESOME parts. Great compositional ideas were laid out on the table, observed, but never assembled.

Credit where credit is due: these guys came up with some really brilliant musical ideas. I appreciate every note as the album spins on. But afterward nothing is left but parts. There is no musical arc, no story to be told. This album goes so many places without taking me anywhere.

Annihilation Of Human Beliefs is 6 tracks of upbeat black metal sprinkled with thrash, symphonic elements, even acoustic guitars and some classic, rockin' nostalgia. It really, really wants to work. Take the fourth track, "Cathusian Monastery"; it has a strong beat, higher pitched vocals (vocals here cover a wide range, with the lows being perhaps the biggest liability), tempo changes near the middle, and keyboards that move things along from time to time. It then breaks out into a thrashy end, the rhythm of which gets my attention every time.

But that's just it. No, I mean, that's IT. Great idea after great idea, disconnected. The music is so well played and creatively thought up so I do want to like this, I really do. Hopefully the creativity and spontaneity will be better utilized on the next album through more cohesive songwriting. If that happens, we'll have something really special on our hands.


 



Written on 15.02.2013 by
Susan
Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Susan ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 188  
Search this topic:  


K†ulu - 15.02.2013 at 18:12  
Wow, that sounds interesting... I am really excited to hear this disjointed sack of ideas
Winterthrone - 16.02.2013 at 00:10  
Thank you for reviewing our work Susan! Can't say I agree on everything you wrote about our album but you explained your points well and have been honest. I don't think our album is as disjointed as you said but I do lack objectivity ;-) For those who would be interested to listen to our music:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Endless-Horizon/84630748498
Tristus Scriptor - 16.02.2013 at 15:30  
This sounds like a worthy listen, despite the detriments. Also, it's some of the most vivid explanations of said detriments I've read in a review. Well done, Susan. I wonder if there's any "well dones" to be found with this album, at least in my own eyes. Going to check it out soon. \m/
Vermoorden - 16.02.2013 at 17:50  
Written by Winterthrone on 16.02.2013 at 00:10

Thank you for reviewing our work Susan! Can't say I agree on everything you wrote about our album but you explained your points well and have been honest. I don't think our album is as disjointed as you said but I do lack objectivity ;-) For those who would be interested to listen to our music:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Endless-Horizon/84630748498


Nice music guys, I too thought it felt a little out of place, but I don't think thats a bad thing really. The music was top notch, and I actually felt like the constantly changing music helped keep my attention throughout.
Winterthrone - 17.02.2013 at 01:55  
Written by Vermoorden on 16.02.2013 at 17:50

Written by Winterthrone on 16.02.2013 at 00:10

Thank you for reviewing our work Susan! Can't say I agree on everything you wrote about our album but you explained your points well and have been honest. I don't think our album is as disjointed as you said but I do lack objectivity ;-) For those who would be interested to listen to our music:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Endless-Horizon/84630748498


Nice music guys, I too thought it felt a little out of place, but I don't think thats a bad thing really. The music was top notch, and I actually felt like the constantly changing music helped keep my attention throughout.

Thank you!
Winterthrone - 23.02.2013 at 22:16  
Written by Tristus Scriptor on 16.02.2013 at 15:30

This sounds like a worthy listen, despite the detriments. Also, it's some of the most vivid explanations of said detriments I've read in a review. Well done, Susan. I wonder if there's any "well dones" to be found with this album, at least in my own eyes. Going to check it out soon. \m/

For those who still buy records:
-The End Records (Omega): http://www.theomegaorder.com/ENDLESS-HORIZON-Annihilation-Of-Human-Beliefs?sc=2&category=19
-Galy: http://galyrecords.bigcartel.com/artist/endless-horizon
-PRC music: http://prcmusic.com/zencart/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=3&products_id=220
-Red Stream: http://www.redstream.org/Endless-Horizon-Annihilation-of-Human-Beliefs_RD24608.php
Tristus Scriptor - 24.02.2013 at 04:30  
Written by Winterthrone on 16.02.2013 at 00:10

Thank you for reviewing our work Susan! Can't say I agree on everything you wrote about our album but you explained your points well and have been honest. I don't think our album is as disjointed as you said but I do lack objectivity ;-) For those who would be interested to listen to our music:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Endless-Horizon/84630748498


How gracious indeed...especially since I *listened* to it! Jeezuzz!!! It's incredibly strong, dark, quality stuff. The changes sound deliberate and interesting, as well. I stand by the picture-painting and descriptiveness...yet cannot agree. However, good thing is; nobody is being malicious here...well, except the music!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Promotion and Ads Endless Horizon (Black Metal from Quebec) presents Annihilation of Hum 4.5 05.11.2012 by Winterthrone
Reviews Vanisher - Unbound 3 11.12.2012 by Tristus Scriptor
Reviews Wedding In Hades - Misbehaviour 3 31.05.2012 by InnerSelf
Reviews Void Of Silence - Human Anthitesis 2.5 16.01.2008 by velvet
Articles Summer Slaughter Tour - San Francisco, USA - July 2013 2 23.08.2013 by Mr. Doctor



Hits total: 2986 | This month: 29