Rating:
6.6
Hate - Solarflesh: A Gospel Of Radiant Divinity
30 January 2013


01. Watchful Eye Of Doom
02. Eternal Might
03. Alchemy Of Blood
04. Timeless Kingdom
05. Festival Of Slaves
06. Sadness Will Last Forever
07. Solarflesh
08. Endless Purity
09. Mesmerized
10. Hatehammer [limited edition bonus]
11. Venom [limited edition bonus]
12. Fall Of All Icons


Even though when I saw Hate open up for Mayhem a year or so ago I thought they were a local Behemoth cover band, and despite the fact that this album here sounds a bit like a collection of tracks cut from Evangelion, Hate deserves some credit. They've been playing generic and derivative sounding shit since, at the latest, 1996 when they released Daemon Qui Fecit Terram. They're not just Behemoth wannabe newbs.

And, fact of the matter, even if they were just Behemoth-worshiping newbs, the stuff they put out doesn't sound bad at all. In fact, it's pretty alright. Solarflesh is more proof of that.

Nothing on this is original sounding, the constant, flat-sounding double kicks are annoying and bland, the vocals are beta-wolf style to Nergal's alpha growls, and the themes and feel of the album are, to say the least, boring and contrived. But there are more than enough tunes and riffs and parts that come together cohesively and evilly on this to bite into and enjoy. There are plenty of straight-up, no bullshit, neck snapping grooves here.

But, some big alases, neverthelesses, yets, howevers and thoughs, this still sounds like a package of Behemoth knock-offs. It's the kind of LP that's made for people who can't get enough of Behemoth's style of blackish death—people who are willing to settle for some off-brand version of Behemoth rather than just keep returning to old Behemoth while waiting for some new Behemoth.

Behemoth. Hate sounds like Behemoth. But that's not that bad of a thing necessarily.


Band profile: Hate
Album: Solarflesh: A Gospel Of Radiant Divinity


 



Written on 01.03.2013 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 178  
Search this topic:  


RottingDeathHead - 01.03.2013 at 08:10  
I always found them pleasant to listen too and found Behemoth to be really boring.
Winterthrone - 01.03.2013 at 08:42  
Written by RottingDeathHead on 01.03.2013 at 08:10

I always found them pleasant to listen too and found Behemoth to be really boring.

Some people prefer Pepsi over Coca-Cola...Seriously, they started playing Blackened Death in 1996...In 1996 Behemoth released Grom and their sound was more Black Metal. To me they play something similar to Behemoth, but it doesn't mean they are copycats. I just think they had the same influences...
Xeravia - 01.03.2013 at 13:33  
I honestly prefer HATE to Behemoth.. HATE have been a constant, whereas Behemoth went from fucking amazing black metal to now blackened death, not saying blackened death isn't good.. i just preferred them as black metal musicians. Solarflesh was fucking awesome In my opinion.
Machiavelli - 01.03.2013 at 21:46  
Hate is a great live band but I felt Solarflesh was a letdown.
Hellcult - 02.03.2013 at 01:40  
I agree with 'Winterthrone' and in fact Hate had played this kind of music from begining, behemoth - NOT... anyway i like both of those bands very much and have to say that they do great albums. and talking about Solarflesh i think it is very good but i prefere Erebos
wolf6666 - 02.03.2013 at 21:06  
Beznadziejna płyta Hate.
nowa LUNA AD NOCTUM np. niszczy ich przy porównaniu
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.03.2013 at 21:16  
Written by wolf6666 on 02.03.2013 at 21:06

Beznadziejna płyta Hate.
nowa LUNA AD NOCTUM np. niszczy ich przy porównaniu



speak English or die
Horlan - 01.05.2013 at 11:51  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.03.2013 at 21:16

Written by wolf6666 on 02.03.2013 at 21:06

Beznadziejna płyta Hate.
nowa LUNA AD NOCTUM np. niszczy ich przy porównaniu



speak English or die



Let me translate, I'm from Poland too
"The Hate new album is a crap. Much worse than for example new LUNA AD NOCTUM"

BTW, personally I really enjoy Solarflesh

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Hate - Anaclasis: A Haunting Gospel Of Malice & Hatred 5.5 09.10.2010 by Maxx666
Albums Hate - Solarflesh: A Gospel Of Radiant Divinity 4.5 21.07.2012 by ChaoSun
Albums Hate - Anaclasis: A Haunting Gospel Of Malice & Hatred 4.5 25.06.2014 by LeKiwi
News Hate - Exclusive Song Stream: Alchemy Of Blood Of The New Album Solarflesh 4.5 10.12.2012 by Hellcult
Reviews Destroying Divinity - Dark Future 4.5 10.08.2011 by Marcus



Hits total: 2931 | This month: 2