Rating:
7.3
Bring Me The Horizon - Sempiternal
2 April 2013


01. Can You Feel My Heart
02. The House Of Wolves
03. Empire (Let Them Sing)
04. Sleepwalking
05. Go To Hell, For Heaven's Sake
06. Shadow Moses
07. And The Snakes Start To Sing
08. Seen It All Before
09. Anti-Vist
10. Crooked Young
11. Hospital For Souls


Everybody, let's give a round of applause.

Bring Me The Horizon has made an album that DOESN'T suck.. No, no they have not. It seems after a few releases of some sub-par material and general band dumbassery, Bring Me The Horizon have managed to make something that's actually good. Not ironic "Bro check this breakdown" good either.

This is actually good.

Sempiternal is a post-hardcore release with some heavy electronic hints. Sounds pretty awful on paper eh? Well, for some reason it all manages to blend together nicely. The guitars have a nice, light, non-metal tone, which complements the electronics quite well. The electronics work almost like the synth in an atmospheric black metal band. It provides a nice base, and fills any gaps that may be left by the rest of the music. As expected with a modern metal release, bass is inaudible. That's nothing new, however. It's almost expected nowadays. I also really enjoyed the drum work on this release; it's nice and varied, complex, and buried a little back in the mix. They're not overpowering, nor underwhelming. Now, the piece of resistance.

Oli Fucking Sykes.

Oli is the main reason why this band has a terrible reputation. His utter incompetence and ignorance really made me steer clear of them. After a few listens to some scattered songs here and there I was impressed. This kid's got a voice.

Don't expect any first-album-bree-breeing in this release. Oh no, Oli steers completely clear of this path. Most of the vocals here are clean, sad, emo-esque vocals. They're not whiny or nasally, just sad and mellow. When he does eventually scream, it's high pitched and not nearly as all out as on previous releases. I was extremely impressed with his cleans. I honestly did not expect anything good to come out of his mouth. But, low and behold, I was proven wrong. Good job, Bring Me The Horizon.

Good job.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Bring Me The Horizon
Album: Sempiternal


 



Written on 10.05.2013 by
BoxCar Willy
Str8 thuggin since 96

Wu Tang Clan aint nuttin ta fuck with.
More reviews by BoxCar Willy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 299  
Search this topic:  


tea[m]ster - 10.05.2013 at 16:20  
I listened to this a couple of times and the disc went back into the ugly fray that is the cd spindle of burned music. It's prolly at the bottom so I might have to dig it out again. Nice review.
Pitwulf93 - 10.05.2013 at 16:25  
After reading this I decided to give bmth another chance. But again I wasn't impressed. The electronic sounds just make it worse imo :/
Zaphod - 10.05.2013 at 17:37  
Still sounds like shit to me...
Coolingsrock - 10.05.2013 at 17:45  
Count your blessings will always be the only album i'll listen to again and again. no appreciation for their newer releases. Still never checked this one out yet but i'll give it a chance.
Vermoorden - 10.05.2013 at 19:36  
Sounds a million times worse then anything they've ever put out, which is saying something.... Count your blessings is the only decent album.
Darth Mitchell - 10.05.2013 at 21:14  
Saw them live yesterday. Didn't know any songs from them, but the sound and the crowd was awesome. While this isn't my genre, I can understand that people like it.
koob - 10.05.2013 at 21:36  
You made me give it one more try and all I have to say is... Damn you ! This is an utter emo-teenie piece of shit with shit vocals, same chords all over again and shit drumming... I'm not even sure we've heard the same album.
Horlan - 10.05.2013 at 22:59  
Yeah, haters gonna hate, but it won't change one thing. I don't know their previous releases, but it's hard to say something bad about Sempiternal. Emo-teenie? What, Shadow Moses? Or maybe Empire? Or just post-hardcore textures? Wow, that's an original opinion, really.

And about review - well done
Dylan - 11.05.2013 at 05:21  
Still think Count Your Blessings is the only decent output
Vermoorden - 11.05.2013 at 08:07  
Written by koob on 10.05.2013 at 21:36

You made me give it one more try and all I have to say is... Damn you ! This is an utter emo-teenie piece of shit with shit vocals, same chords all over again and shit drumming... I'm not even sure we've heard the same album.


Well said.
S.K.Ø.M - 11.05.2013 at 10:31  
Some songs remind of later In Flames, generally, they matured a lot than their first albums, really decent album ..
Blakheim - 11.05.2013 at 16:09  
Just gave it a try, it's like 30 Seconds to Mars with those pseudo electro tunes, at least for me... catchy at least
forfrosne - 11.05.2013 at 21:25  
This is one of those albums where "haters gonna hate" is really, really true. People are very, very willing to throw out criticisms that make no sense, as if they've only listened to Count Your Blessings.
Absak - 12.05.2013 at 21:10  
Written by forfrosne on 11.05.2013 at 21:25

This is one of those albums where "haters gonna hate" is really, really true. People are very, very willing to throw out criticisms that make no sense, as if they've only listened to Count Your Blessings.

I used to be a hater but I quite like this album.
Cynic Metalhead - 12.05.2013 at 21:11  
Quote:
This kid's got a voice.


That's where i went for a long piss.
Uldreth - 18.10.2013 at 12:00  
Considering you rated Count Your Blessings with a 9 and Suicide Season with a 8, I find statements like:

Quote:
Bring Me The Horizon has made an album that DOESN'T suck.


Quote:
It seems after a few releases of some sub-par material and general band dumbassery.


to be quite weird.

And also Sykes always had good vocals. I say this as someone who dislike the way his vocals sound on Suicide Season, but he always had a very large range and good techniques, and his harsh vocals on CYB were damn good.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Bring Me The Horizon - Sempiternal 7.5 28.02.2013 by Uldreth
Reviews Emmure - Speaker Of The Dead 6 07.01.2012 by Void Eater
Albums Bring Me The Horizon - Count Your Blessings 6 29.06.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Despised Icon - The Ills Of Modern Man 6 21.07.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Protest The Hero - Fortress 6 07.01.2012 by JÄY



Hits total: 7258 | This month: 85