Rating:
6.2
Defeated Sanity - Passages Into Deformity
5 February 2013


01. Initiation
02. Naraka
03. Verblendung
04. Lusting For Transcendence
05. The Purging
06. Verses Of Deformity
07. Perspectives
08. Frenzy
09. Martyrium


Defeated Sanity play brutal/technical death well—they aim to counterbalance their sweepy wanks in all their counter-intuitive insanity with the kind of stupid, visceral pounding BDM fans seem to want and expect. They're in the business of blending the cerebral and the slightly pretentious with the animalistic and id-tickling, which is what you'll get on this thing.

Problem is, overall, they didn't live up to their name here. Sanity won't be defeated. The goal seems to be to get the listener smearing shit on walls and babbling loudly about papayas and the atomic bomb. This won't do that. If you've got a Mr. Hyde in you and you play this for him, he'll probably just shrug. It's not that crazy.

In general, it does sound pretty good though. Despite the lapses into tech psychosis, it's really just an album to throw on and bang your head to. It's dirty and violent and brutal and whatnot, things I can't complain about at all. Where it really shines is when the confusing licks go away for some grimy slammingness to take their place. That just doesn't happen enough on this to keep me interested, though. It's a spin once, flail around a little, then move on sort of deal.

That said, if you listen to a band like Obscuraand you can only think about how much better it would be if there were more brutals, then my guess is you'd find enough to dig on Passages Into Deformity. Otherwise? It's got a lot to offer on a quick spin (it's pretty short), but nothing that's going to get me to come back to it any time soon.


Band profile: Defeated Sanity
Album: Passages Into Deformity


 



Written on 10.05.2013 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 135  
Search this topic:  


Candlemass - 10.05.2013 at 22:02  
I don't think this review does justice (especially "sweepy wanks" neither "kind of stupid" when it comes down to the genre. It ain't no more stupid then shuffle in blues- If you don't like the genre don't review albums from it) to their latest (and best) release.
Absak - 11.05.2013 at 02:12  
This is their best release to date and one of the top brutal death metal albums of this year as far as I'm concerned.
bloodwrage - 11.05.2013 at 06:45  
Don't really agree with you on this one. It's a very solid release that definitely had some thought put into it. The only thing I really have a problem with on this album are the vocals.
!J.O.O.E.! - 11.05.2013 at 23:02  
The best thing about this is the artwork. The music is quite mediocre.
Sunioj - 11.05.2013 at 23:49  
I agree, nothing to really shit your pants over. First album was boss though.
Misfit74 - 12.05.2013 at 03:50  
Written by Absak on 11.05.2013 at 02:12

This is their best release to date and one of the top brutal death metal albums of this year as far as I'm concerned.


This.

Elite musicianship, cohesion, sound, and production. The drumming is out of this world. Vocals are good. Lyrical concepts are interesting and well thought out (watch the DVD if you haven't). Most of all I love the riffs and the quality, well-constructed songs. I can tell them apart and pinpoint special riffs in many of them. They blend in their own unique flavor which is catchy, at times. Overall, this is one of my top-3 albums in 2013 so far. As an added bonus, the artwork is amazing. I pre-ordered this and just love it. Played it to death and still go back to it time and time again. I think it's fantastic.

6.2? I'd guess the reviewer isn't a big fan of this genre, but I don't know. 6.2 on a scale of 0-to-6 I could get along with.
Misfit74 - 12.05.2013 at 03:54  
By the way if you want to read some quality reviews of this album look no further than here.
Tristus Scriptor - 12.05.2013 at 06:07  
I don't mean to follow the flock here...but...no. For the style - this is as good as it gets. I realize that I'm stating an opinion; but it seems to be a popular one.
Diamonds - 21.05.2013 at 06:39  
Maybe this is one of those albums that takes awhile to grow on you... But speaking as a die-hard brutal fan, I wouldn't say this is anything to go out of your way for. I agree with the review, the overall score not so much, though. I'd say maybe 7.5.
Decent tunes, well produced, somewhat original. Nothing really BAD just kind of... Blah, to listen to. Maybe Katalepsy, Abominable Putridity and Wormed have me on too much of a stimulus addiction because of the extremely vicious nature of their latest releases.
theFIST - 21.05.2013 at 21:10  
Written by Diamonds on 21.05.2013 at 06:39

Maybe this is one of those albums that takes awhile to grow on you... But speaking as a die-hard brutal fan, I wouldn't say this is anything to go out of your way for. I agree with the review, the overall score not so much, though. I'd say maybe 7.5.
Decent tunes, well produced, somewhat original. Nothing really BAD just kind of... Blah, to listen to. Maybe Katalepsy, Abominable Putridity and Wormed have me on too much of a stimulus addiction because of the extremely vicious nature of their latest releases.

i also prefer Wormed

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Defeated Sanity - Passages Into Deformity 9 20.11.2012 by HAAZBRUTAL8666
Reviews Defeated Sanity - Prelude To The Tragedy 5.5 18.11.2010 by Maxx666
Reviews Defeated Sanity - Psalms Of The Moribund 5.5 12.10.2007 by Stigmatized
News Defeated Sanity - New Track Streaming Online 4.5 12.12.2012 by MetalDoomMaster
News Defeated Sanity - Another New Song Online 4.5 11.01.2013 by Rulatore



Hits total: 2457 | This month: 1