Rating:
7.8
The Black Dahlia Murder - Everblack
11 June 2013


01. In Hell Is Where She Waits For Me
02. Goat Of Departure
03. Into The Everblack
04. Raped In Hatred By Vines Of Thorn
05. Phantom Limb Masturbation
06. Control
07. Blood Mine
08. Every Rope A Noose
09. Their Beloved Absentee
10. Map Of Scars


TBDM's discog seems to have its share of missteps—Ritual is pretty boring, and despite the excellent "Christ Deformed," Deflorate is too plasticky (forget my guest review of it)—but when these guys play they play hard, and, despite all their lineup changes over the years, they seem to be getting tighter in the musicianship department.

The overly-technical guitar work on their past two albums just never really jived with what seems are the the core instincts of the band: reckless, arm-flailing brashness. Solos would seem tacked on and sound more like a gesture to the metalheads who dismiss them as just another pop, short-haired, breakdown-overusing group that they've got some technical chops. And that just didn't make for good, cohesive music. They fucked up on trying to have it both ways, if you ask me.

Now, even with the continuation of misplaced, boring, overly clean and melodic soloing, most of this album feels just right. It sounds more like a band's music than the random shotgun spraying of styles aimed at their pretty goddamn big audience of their past couple discs. The Unhallowed sound may be pretty much gone, but this is good in a different, more practiced way.

I don't know how I feel about the loss of that extra bit of crudeness and snot-sleeved-soda-guzzling-Jackass-worshipping-fun-having-teenager quality of their early stuff but, even so, Everblack is a polished shredfest (with Strnad, their vocalist, sounding especially good), and shredfests are fun.

A couple of the tracks on here are tedious and feel like they need to be sped up and have fewer melodramatic solos. Some of the drumming sounds too tinny. A number of the tracks sputter out as well, lending the album a bit of an anti-climactic feel.

That said, plain fact is most of the songs here are good, bringing on the youthful, fun-having feeling these guys have on stage—and what the fuck else could a fan of these guys want? It's part evil, part melodrama, part freebasing-sugar-cubes fun.

Highlights: "Goat of Departure," "In Hell is Where She Waits for Me," and "Raped in Hatred by Vines of Thorn"


Band profile: The Black Dahlia Murder
Album: Everblack


 



Written on 16.06.2013 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 3  
Users visited: 167  
Search this topic:  


ArcesseEum - 16.06.2013 at 16:47  
This is something of a throwback to Nocturnal - the production is much fuller and rounder than the last two albums (Ritual and Deflorate were rather thin and tinny sounding). It's quite heavy, catchy and dark. The use of sampling is also very cool.

It's micro-evolution but evolution nonetheless.

(Good review, I agree that Ritual was fairly boring bar Carbonized In Cruciform; Deflorate was plasticky; this one is more cohesive. "snot-sleeved-soda-guzzling-Jackass-worshipping-fun-having-teenager quality" sounds about right for the spirit of some of their earlier works. These guys need to take themselves slightly more seriously (though not too seriously) if they're going to break out of the teencore market... nevertheless, I was a teenager when I started listening to these guys with Unhallowed (At the Gates/Dissection Worship) so I just stick to them for the Nostalgia factor and I'm glad I did for this album.)
HitokiriNate85 - 17.06.2013 at 18:11  
I do think that their style is pulled in too many directions and has hurt their last couple albums for it. I still love the band but their songwriting was at its best and most consistent on Nocturnal. It's not as technical as everything since then, but it was cohesive, thematic, and catchy as hell.

It seems like with Deflorate, Ritual, and now Everblack, they pull together a few awesome tracks that are surrounded by some aimless ones(some better than others). On Deflorate it was Christ Deformed/Death Panorama/I Will Return(one of their best tracks ever, IMO). On Ritual it was The Window/Carbonized in Cruciform/Blood In the Ink. And on Everblack I'd say the standout tracks are Goat of Departure/Phantom Limb Masturbation/Blood Mine(this is the kind of writing they're so good at). I was pretty bummed to hear Map of Scars as the closer as they've always done an awesome job with them, dating back to Miasma, which felt like a segue for Nocturnal. Oh, and I agree that the sound is better than the last two. The new drummer has chops and I dig the style change in that department(though I liked Shannon's work as well), and Trevor's vocals are as awesome as always.

Honestly, I think they're a band better fitted to releasing EPs now than full-lengths. I don't mean that to sound overly negative; some bands just write better in smaller chunks but get caught up in writing full albums because it's such a standard.
sladetroityer - 19.06.2013 at 03:41  
This is the best Melo Death Band on the Planet and this album fucking slays from START to finish. This is by far their best release and they keep outdoing the past with the present. Love it. CAN'T GET ENOUGH. Now all they need to do is ditch those geeks they're with and go on a real tour!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums The Black Dahlia Murder - Everblack 9 13.06.2013 by EW
News The Black Dahlia Murder - New Song Online 7.5 07.05.2011 by BloodTears
News The Black Dahlia Murder - UK/France Tour With Skeletonwitch 7.5 13.09.2011 by Kingface
Albums The Black Dahlia Murder - Miasma 7.5 24.03.2010 by Builtforsin88
News The Black Dahlia Murder - New Album Streaming Online 7.5 09.06.2013 by Opethian



Hits total: 4011 | This month: 79