Rating:
8.6
Amorphis - Circle
19 April 2013


01. Shades Of Gray
02. Mission
03. The Wanderer
04. Narrow Path
05. Hopeless Days
06. Nightbird's Song
07. Into The Abyss
08. Enchanted By The Moon
09. A New Day
10. Dead Man's Dream [Box set bonus] [American Deluxe Edition Bonus]
11. New Song [Japanese bonus]
12. My Future [Vinyl bonus]

[American Deluxe Edition Bonus DVD]
01. The Making Of "Circle"
02. Nightbird's Song [video]


Finland's Amorphis have mutated from a cherished 90s death/doom act into a new wave of heavy metal type of phenomenon in the early 2000s. Having successfully redefined their sound with albums such as Eclipse and Silent Waters, the band journeyed through time with two more releases made of the same cloth with Skyforger and The Beginning of Times. Now facing the challenge to either continue on the same path or deviate to a different sound, will the band make the right decision? All the answers can be found in the release of one of this year's most anticipated albums entitled Circle.

As usual their music is a nice convergence of styles, which encompasses elements of folk, doom, black, you name it. But despite borrowing from diversified sources, the core of their sound remains heavy metal. In a world that is all shades of grey, the band followed a narrow path to success. The mission was to not fall into the abyss of oblivion. If you ask me, mission accomplished. Sure, these songs are essentially more pumped-up versions of what Amorphis has been putting out there for the last few years. They harbor darker melodies and overall more growls than we are used to from Tomi Joutsen. However the rest is pretty much more of the same.

But when all is said and done, Circle is a more rounded album than both its predecessors. It feels more like the proud inheritor of Silent Waters without being its twin. The killer songs nicely fall into place right in the middle of the album, which manage to give the whole experience a second life when one thinks nothing more exciting is going to happen.

Now the various editions available are confusing as hell in terms of bonus tracks. My favorite one is "Illusion", which features a nice hint of a throwback to the 70s tone not dissimilar to what Spiritual Beggars have been bringing to the table.

Circle is not that much different from what Amorphis have being doing for the last decade or so. Yet even after the original excitement has waned, I still find myself going back to this album for more. It is definitely a step in the right direction they managed to take without overhauling their sound.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Amorphis
Album: Circle


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 16.06.2013



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 387  
Search this topic:  


Zadion - 16.06.2013 at 08:54  
Huh. I have like the opposite feeling of this album. When I'm listening to the album, everything sounds great, but once it's done I have no desire to return to it. This is the first Joutsen-era album that doesn't make me scream with fangirl glee, to be honest.

Well written review, though.
Vykintas - 16.06.2013 at 10:07  
Well written and as close to what I would say about this album as it gets.
ravendeath - 16.06.2013 at 17:18  
Ok, nice review, but when the fuck Amorphis played thrash??? Death/doom yes, but thrash?
Marcel Hubregtse - 16.06.2013 at 17:29  
Written by ravendeath on 16.06.2013 at 17:18

but when the fuck Amorphis played thrash??? Death/doom yes, but thrash?


my reaction as well. WTF? thrash? never. That remark about them being thrash in the early 90s left me gasping for air for a couple of hours
ravendeath - 16.06.2013 at 20:31  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 16.06.2013 at 17:29

Written by ravendeath on 16.06.2013 at 17:18

but when the fuck Amorphis played thrash??? Death/doom yes, but thrash?


my reaction as well. WTF? thrash? never. That remark about them being thrash in the early 90s left me gasping for air for a couple of hours

Yep, that must be corrected, such misinformations shouldn't be allowed in such a website.
SilentScream - 16.06.2013 at 23:23  
I suspect the reviewer needs to relisten to the old Amorphis classics!

Fallen Ghost - 17.06.2013 at 00:12  
I feel this album is very.. generic. It has some REALLY GOOD songs, but most of the songs are very tame and "meh", in my opinion
-DC-002- - 17.06.2013 at 00:22  
Havent listened since Silent Waters and I think I'll give this a shot.
!J.O.O.E.! - 17.06.2013 at 03:10  
Written by SilentScream on 16.06.2013 at 23:23

I suspect the reviewer needs to relisten to the old Amorphis classics!


I assuming the reviewer's confusion comes from their doom / death debut. If he thinks 'Tales...' is thrash then he needs a serious talking to
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.06.2013 at 03:24  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 17.06.2013 at 03:10

Written by SilentScream on 16.06.2013 at 23:23

I suspect the reviewer needs to relisten to the old Amorphis classics!


I assuming the reviewer's confusion comes from their doom / death debut. If he thinks 'Tales...' is thrash then he needs a serious talking to


also if he thinks the debut is thrash
!J.O.O.E.! - 17.06.2013 at 03:25  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.06.2013 at 03:24

also if he thinks the debut is thrash

Well yes
WorpeX - 17.06.2013 at 03:37  
Yeaaah agree with everyone else here about the Thrash thing. There is nothing Thrashy about early Amorphis. haha Reviewer must be listening to the wrong band!

About the album, I like it a lot. The Bonus tracks are also killer, if you can find them. I bought the album but downloaded the bonus tracks off of youtube since they didn't come with my version. : /
kalmah999 - 17.06.2013 at 04:13  
Awesome album, for me at least nice review
Demonic Tutor - 19.06.2013 at 03:24  
Thrash? Did I write Thrash? I guess I did

Better change that now!
Baryss - 25.06.2013 at 11:10  
The Great song in this album is absouletly Nightbird's Song. The riff which is comin' after intro is awesome and madly! And this song have a classic "Amorphis enstrumental break/change" . Can't you hear that flute and mystic melody?! This is not a Great Album but there are good songs in this album.
metalwolf - 25.06.2013 at 13:55  
I can but agree with the review (now the Trash bit has been corrected ). My fav track is 'Enchanted by the moon': great melody + Tomy showing the versatility of his voice .
The Evergreen - 29.06.2013 at 06:41  
Thanks for putting up the review, I'd lost track of Amorphis... seems like Beginning of Times was just out yesterday! On that note, Circle is a better album. Still not as good as Skyforger, but almost. It is better paced.
Plenty of memorable songs and those awesome melodies I love so much.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Amorphis - Silent Waters 7.5 08.03.2008 by Katatronik
Reviews Dream Theater - Black Clouds & Silver Linings 4.5 30.06.2009 by Dane Train
Reviews Vanden Plas - The God Thing 4.5 02.05.2010 by JohnDoe
Reviews Suidakra - Book Of Dowth 4.5 12.05.2011 by BlueMobius
Reviews Warrel Dane - Praises To The War Machine 4.5 18.10.2008 by corrupt



Hits total: 4929 | This month: 112