Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.6
Station Dysthymia - Overhead, Without Any Fuss, The Stars Were Going Out
1 July 2013


01. A Concrete Wall [feat. M. Hater]
02. Ichor
03. Starlit: A Rude Awakening
04. Starlit: We Rest At Last [feat. I. Stellarghost]


"A Concrete Wall", the opening track to this album, is the sonic equivalent of the Star Trek movie. No, not the 2009 action packed reboot… the "boring" one released back in 1979.

Like the movie it is long, slow moving and slow developing. On one hand, for a lot of folks, that's a recipe for coma-inducing boredom. For others, like myself, in this case it's a monolithic, gripping listen that ensnares you, has its way with your auditory senses (albeit terribly slowly), and leaves you bound for 30+ minutes.

The core of Station Dysthymia's sound is funeral doom, only with lots of various other elements of other doom sub/related genres tossed in. Some drone here, psychedelia there. There are passages that sound like well done "SFDD" (same funeral, different day), followed by other passages that sound like a Sunn O))) riff played at 78 RPM (so still slow compared to most metal), with an Esoteric-like sanity stripping ambient noise creeping around the background.*

The other three tracks found on Overhead, Without Any Fuss, The Stars Were Going Out also embody these very same traits, only in a much shorter fashion. "Ichor" clocks in at over 18 minutes, and the two closers, "Starlit - A Rude Awakening" and instrumental sibling "Starlit - We Rest At Last" are a grindcore-esq nine minutes and change each. Yeah, when something a hair under ten minutes seems short, you know they've packed in a lot of music. And they've packed a lot into their music as well… the slow movement might make it seem like not a lot is going on, a lot is going on.

With the year more than halfway done, this is probably my favorite "extreme doom" release of 2013. So, yeah, worth checking out.

*- Side note: once again we find the presence of extreme doom's Al Jourgenson… Greg Chandler. Tack this on the growing list of albums he has helped master.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Station Dysthymia
Album: Overhead, Without Any Fuss, The Stars Were Going Out


 



Written on 04.08.2013 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 224  
Search this topic:  


Apothecary - 04.08.2013 at 03:34  
A band that sounds like a mix of Sun O))) and Esoteric? Count me in!
!J.O.O.E.! - 04.08.2013 at 06:46  
A band that sounds like Star Trek: The Motion Picture and Sunn O)))? Sounds like the best thing ever.
!J.O.O.E.! - 04.08.2013 at 06:49  
Written by Apothecary on 04.08.2013 at 03:34

Sun O)))

I'd be remiss in not pointing out the egregious Sunn O))) mis-tag there.
Mr. Doctor - 04.08.2013 at 11:47  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 04.08.2013 at 06:49

Written by Apothecary on 04.08.2013 at 03:34

Sun O)))

I'd be remiss in not pointing out the egregious Sunn O))) mis-tag there.


Could be worse... He could've said "Sunno" In any case, I MUST check this stuff out. Seems hella promising. Great review, I'm sold.
Alex Fenger - 04.08.2013 at 11:55  
I'll definitely have to check this out when I get the chance.
Merchant of Doom - 04.08.2013 at 12:08  
Prepare yourself for a loooong, tortured journey.
!J.O.O.E.! - 04.08.2013 at 13:32  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.08.2013 at 12:08

Prepare yourself for a loooong, tortured journey.

Why, are you going to talk to us about genres again?

Sorry, couldn't resist that.
Merchant of Doom - 04.08.2013 at 15:46  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 04.08.2013 at 13:32

Written by Merchant of Doom on 04.08.2013 at 12:08

Prepare yourself for a loooong, tortured journey.

Why, are you going to talk to us about genres again?

Sorry, couldn't resist that.


lol... no, BitterCold's review is spot on... He just forgot to mention that M. Hater and I. Stellarghost of Abstract Spirit feature as guest musicians... you can clearly hear some Abstract Spirit influence in the album.
Chobo_jokeR - 04.08.2013 at 20:41  
Great review for a great album. This has been a pretty fantastic year for doom (Mourning Beloveth, Officium Triste and Lycus to name a few), and now we get this. Thoroughly enjoyed it, and the review was spot on with the type of sound. Greg Chandler has the Midas Touch thats for sure.

EDIT: I've spun the album several times now...as of right now, this is my favourite extreme doom album of the year. You don't get this quality of music every day, and I'm not going to complain if these guys sound like Esoteric. Thanks BitterCOld.
Daggon - 05.08.2013 at 08:47  
Dammit MS, all of you are overloading my mind with soul-crushing bands and albums!
Rodney - 07.08.2013 at 14:20  
Doesn't sound like my type of album, but great review regardless.
BitterCOld - 20.11.2013 at 02:42  
Written by Chobo_jokeR on 04.08.2013 at 20:41

Great review for a great album. This has been a pretty fantastic year for doom (Mourning Beloveth, Officium Triste and Lycus to name a few), and now we get this. Thoroughly enjoyed it, and the review was spot on with the type of sound. Greg Chandler has the Midas Touch thats for sure.

EDIT: I've spun the album several times now...as of right now, this is my favourite extreme doom album of the year. You don't get this quality of music every day, and I'm not going to complain if these guys sound like Esoteric. Thanks BitterCOld.


Afraid it will get overlooked - seems most those I review for Solitude are come award time - but still my favorite in the genre this year.
Apothecary - 14.02.2014 at 04:40  
I just came back to this album and it is indeed seriously good. Even made me switch my pick in the MSA from The Ruins Of Beverast to this
Apothecary - 14.02.2014 at 05:16  
By the way, the title of this comes from an Arthur C Clarke story called "The Nine Billion Names Of God." It's about these Tibetan Buddhist monks who have a traditional prophecy that the world will end when all the names of God are written down. They invent an alphabet through which they can count the names, and get some Westerners to help them with typing up the names on a computer so the process will go faster. The Westerners think the monks will get angry when they have the last name on the computer and nothing happens, so they take off from their camp one night. As they look back at the Tibetans' location, they look up at the sky and begin to notice that "overhead, without any fuss, the stars were going out," and that the prophecy was fulfilled.
BitterCOld - 14.02.2014 at 22:23  
Written by Apothecary on 14.02.2014 at 05:16

By the way, the title of this comes from an Arthur C Clarke story called "The Nine Billion Names Of God." It's about these Tibetan Buddhist monks who have a traditional prophecy that the world will end when all the names of God are written down. They invent an alphabet through which they can count the names, and get some Westerners to help them with typing up the names on a computer so the process will go faster. The Westerners think the monks will get angry when they have the last name on the computer and nothing happens, so they take off from their camp one night. As they look back at the Tibetans' location, they look up at the sky and begin to notice that "overhead, without any fuss, the stars were going out," and that the prophecy was fulfilled.


Well done. You get a gold star.
Apothecary - 14.02.2014 at 22:46  
Written by BitterCOld on 14.02.2014 at 22:23

Written by Apothecary on 14.02.2014 at 05:16

By the way, the title of this comes from an Arthur C Clarke story called "The Nine Billion Names Of God." It's about these Tibetan Buddhist monks who have a traditional prophecy that the world will end when all the names of God are written down. They invent an alphabet through which they can count the names, and get some Westerners to help them with typing up the names on a computer so the process will go faster. The Westerners think the monks will get angry when they have the last name on the computer and nothing happens, so they take off from their camp one night. As they look back at the Tibetans' location, they look up at the sky and begin to notice that "overhead, without any fuss, the stars were going out," and that the prophecy was fulfilled.


Well done. You get a gold star.

Hehe thanks
I'm sure you can find a little pdf version through Google if you're interested, it's actually a pretty short one

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Station Dysthymia - Overhead, Without Any Fuss, The Stars Were Going Out 18 03.08.2013 by theembryo
Reviews The Deadists - Time Without Light 6 26.04.2011 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Exodus - Exhibit B: The Human Condition 4.5 10.07.2010 by vezzy
Reviews A Storm Of Light - As The Valley Of Death Becomes Us, Our Silver Memories Fade 4.5 17.05.2011 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews The Distorting Glass - The Germ. 4.5 07.03.2014 by afu



Hits total: 3368 | This month: 92