Rating:
8.0
Tad Morose - Revenant
20 November 2013


01. Beneath A Veil Of Crying Souls
02. Follow
03. Babylon
04. Within A Dream
05. Ares
06. Absence Of Light
07. Death Embrace
08. Dance Of The Damned
09. Spirit World
10. Timeless Dreaming
11. Millenium Lie
12. Gypsy


Sometimes They Come Back.

Tad Morose is a US power metal band from Sweden (whoa?) that in the 90's had been making itself a name in the metal scene, thanks to the release of six solid, heavy pieces of music. Then, after the 2003 Modus Vivendi, the band completely disappeared. 2012 saw their comeback, with the announcement of the upcoming album, an almost completely renewed line-up and the signing with Despotz Records.

Revenant, though marking an obviously important event in the band history, doesn't show a complete revolution, regarding the sound. This brings to the fact that old fans will be more than satisfied with this new album, but at the same time shouldn't lead one to think Revenant as a sterile copy of the early releases. Rather, it should be considered as the wise and coherent follow-up to Modus Vivendi, like this 10-years hiatus had never happened.

Already from the very first notes of the opener "Beneath A Veil Of Crying Souls", the new singer Ronny Hemlin (ex-Steel Attack) shows what he is capable of: raw, soulful and varied, his voice guides the album through a darker and heavier path than the one the band used to follow in the years with the well-loved Urban Breed, which was characterized more by atmosphere at the expense of some of the incisiveness shown here.

Revenant is not the typical up-tempo power metal album, being slower but well cadenced and rhythmic. To distinguish it from the usual genre albums is also the lack of a true ballad and the skilful incorporation of the choruses into the songs' mood. Refrains, in fact, aren't detached from their surroundings, and at an absent-minded listen they could also sound somehow weak while, in reality, they stick subtly in the listener's mind, returning to the surface after hours or days from the last listen.

Riffing is, in one word, heavy. Founder Christer Andersson and newcomer Kenneth Jonsson already show feeling, delivering guitar work which is comparable to that which made Gus G's Firewind famous. The bass has some cool moments of predominance, which add a flavour of doom to the album, while Morén's drumming is fundamental to define the tempo of an effort like this where rhythm is fundamental.

If there was a blemish to be found in Revenant, it would be the lack of strong variations between one track and another. This surely gives the album consistency, but risks to let a bit of boredom infiltrate the listener in the long run.

In conclusion: if you want to conjugate your love for power metal and the claim of your masculinity, here's Tad Morose for you.


Band profile: Tad Morose
Album: Revenant


 



Written on 08.11.2013 by
R Lewis
Hopefully you won't agree with me, diversity of opinions is what makes metal so beautiful and varied.

So... critics and advices absolutely welcome.
More reviews by R Lewis ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 218  
Search this topic:  


DragonWisdom - 08.11.2013 at 17:34  
Holy shit! I didn't even know this wad coming out!
3rdWorld - 09.11.2013 at 07:11  
Doesn't sound like a very interesting release but will check it out anyway.
White Death - 09.11.2013 at 07:37  
How did you get it 11 days before it's out?
Syk - 09.11.2013 at 09:17  
Written by White Death on 09.11.2013 at 07:37
How did you get it 11 days before it's out?
Oh, the advantages of being a reviewer with a reputation. Or at least, aligned with a semi-decent [web]zine

Their 2003 release is one of my very favs from that year, and indeed, from the whole power metal subgenre. Caught the first vid for this new effort and I'm not intrigued yet to give it too much of my time. Good luck to them, though - hopefully they can put out another video with a stronger song
White Death - 09.11.2013 at 10:31  
Written by Syk on 09.11.2013 at 09:17

Written by White Death on 09.11.2013 at 07:37
How did you get it 11 days before it's out?
Oh, the advantages of being a reviewer with a reputation. Or at least, aligned with a semi-decent [web]zine

Their 2003 release is one of my very favs from that year, and indeed, from the whole power metal subgenre. Caught the first vid for this new effort and I'm not intrigued yet to give it too much of my time. Good luck to them, though - hopefully they can put out another video with a stronger song


Thanks for the Info

I've listened to all of their older albums with my favorite songs being Way of HIstory, Circuit Vision, Anubis and Take on the World

From what I've heard of Revanent (Beneath a Veil of Crying Souls) (Millennium Lie) it's more of their classic sound which is amazing considering it's been 10 years
R'Vannith - 09.11.2013 at 13:33  
Thanks for the review, sounds like it's going to be a good comeback for them. I really enjoy the European bands that take up the US style of power metal as it often leads to very interesting results. My favourite is another Swedish group, Morgana Lefay, wish they would put out some more material as well. It's been a while, though not a decade as is the case with Tad Morose.
Zaphod - 09.11.2013 at 14:40  
Quote:
Sometimes They Come Back.

This year it seems be more often than "sometimes" though
R Lewis - 09.11.2013 at 18:55  
Written by Zaphod on 09.11.2013 at 14:40

This year it seems be more often than "sometimes" though

When Stephen King will write "They Often Come Back", I'll edit this review
R Lewis - 09.11.2013 at 18:59  
Written by Syk on 09.11.2013 at 09:17

Written by White Death on 09.11.2013 at 07:37
How did you get it 11 days before it's out?
Oh, the advantages of being a reviewer with a reputation. Or at least, aligned with a semi-decent [web]zine

Reputation? Me? Man, I'm just a kid. Only a few death metal bands contacted me via fb.
Let's say it's thanks to Metal Storm.
Zaphod - 09.11.2013 at 19:00  
Written by R Lewis on 09.11.2013 at 18:55

When Stephen King will write "They Often Come Back", I'll edit this review

Ah, didn't realize it was a Stephen King reference
By the way, King is just another example of things coming back this year (I'm talking about the Shining sequel of course)
R Lewis - 09.11.2013 at 19:03  
Written by Zaphod on 09.11.2013 at 19:00

By the way, King is just another example of things coming back this year (I'm talking about the Shining sequel of course)

Shining what?
Shit, I'm afraid I've lost something.
Zaphod - 09.11.2013 at 20:43  
Written by R Lewis on 09.11.2013 at 19:03

Written by Zaphod on 09.11.2013 at 19:00

By the way, King is just another example of things coming back this year (I'm talking about the Shining sequel of course)

Shining what?
Shit, I'm afraid I've lost something.

Don't worry, you read it right http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doctor_Sleep_(novel)
plastictownok - 10.11.2013 at 16:47  
Never been a fan of tad morose before until now. I've like songs like afraid to die, no mercy and take on the world etc.. but just never got into them. With Ronny in the band, they're a lot better! (My opinion) This is great album. A little slow, (wish it was faster) but it won't disappoint
deadone - 12.11.2013 at 03:33  
Really enjoyed Modus Vivendi so naturally I am really curious about this one.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Tad Morose - Revenant 6 05.01.2014 by musicalkaratekid
News Tad Morose - New Album In November 4.5 22.08.2013 by cossaisVendeurs
Interviews Tad Morose interview 4.5 25.11.2013 by Bad English
News Tad Morose - New Song Sample Online 4.5 18.09.2013 by sinister
Albums Tad Morose - TBA 4.5 09.06.2010 by kefa



Hits total: 4557 | This month: 79