Hail Spirit Noir - Oi Magoi review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.0

209 users:
8.02
Band: Hail Spirit Noir
Album: Oi Magoi
Release date: January 2014


01. Blood Guru
02. Demon For A Day
03. Satan Is Time
04. Satyriko Orgio (Satyrs' Orgy)
05. The Mermaid
06. Hunters
07. Oi Magoi


These days it can tend to be rare to come across bands that are both entirely original while also not too far out there with their quirkiness, and that combine the best of both the familiar and the unconventional. Greece's Hail Spirit Noir already added to the list of such bands with their 2012 effort Pneuma, easily one of the best debuts of the year. With Oi Magoi they now stand poised to take their sound in a perhaps more sophisticated direction.

Oi Magoi is, one the whole, a great follow up to Hail Spirit Noir's debut, retaining many of the qualities of Pneuma while also testing some new ingredients. Everything from the debut that won listeners over is more or less retained: the distinct xylophone/keyboard usage ("The Mermaid," "Blood Guru"), catchy chorus lines ("Demon For A Day"), beautiful clean vocals ("Satan Is Time," "The Mermaid"), as well as some harsher black metal moments ("Blood Guru," "Satyriko Orgio").

Unlike Pneuma, however, Oi Magoi embraces Hail Spirit Noir's progressive personality a lot more, and seems to be far more oriented towards improvisation and periods of extended instrumentation. In a sense this makes the music feel more sophisticated, or "complete" in a sense, as though some of the songwriting features from the band's debut have now matured. On the other hand, it also gives the music a more serious vibe that lacks some of the more lighthearted, tongue-in-cheek playfullness of the debut. Whether or not fans like this shift will, as usual, be a matter of personal preference, but it's likely most on display on "The Mermaid," essentially an 11 minute jam session, which in many ways takes the band's proggy persona to even greater heights than the climactic "Into The Gates Of Time" from Pneuma.

Is Oi Magoi a better release than Pneuma? It's quite difficult to say, as at many points it doesn't really seem better or worse, necessarily, simply different. And although this reviewer does prefer the goofiness of Hail Spirit Noir's debut to some of the more serious technicalities of this follow up, I can't deny that with Oi Magoi, they still manage to nail that peculiar blend of the trippy and the creepy that made the debut so damn good. Here that blend simply seems a bit more... restrained, perhaps, or rather as though it's shifted the way in which it's delivered slightly. But I'll be damned if that doesn't mean Hail Spirit Noir can't still bring home the goods and craft a complex, thoroughly stimulating release, for Oi Magoi is certainly that.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 9


 



Written on 07.01.2014 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 47   Visited by: 489 users
09.01.2014 - 23:00
Vitriolic Hate
Chaos Reaper
Written by Erik M. on 08.01.2014 at 22:36


Now playing Oi Magoi (what does it even mean? It sounds damn funny )

It's actually greeklish (Οι Μάγοι) which means The Mages/Wizards.
Loading...
09.01.2014 - 23:18
Erik M.
Written by Vitriolic Hate on 09.01.2014 at 23:00

It's actually greeklish (Οι Μάγοι) which means The Mages/Wizards.


Thanks for clearing that up.
Loading...
13.01.2014 - 02:22
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
^concurrencies I feel like a stereotyped Hasidic saying the album name and It's funny how nobody has voted on this yet.

The first listen was a little rough but it becomes itself in time. I wouldn't call it 9.2 but I'd say maybe around 8.8 overall with moments of 9.2 Apothecary did a good job on the review too.
----
Coldgrits
Loading...
13.01.2014 - 04:37
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by -DC-002- on 13.01.2014 at 02:22

It's funny how nobody has voted on this yet.

The album officially comes out on the 20th. Voting on here can't begin until albums are actually released
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
13.01.2014 - 05:55
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
Written by Apothecary on 13.01.2014 at 04:37

Written by -DC-002- on 13.01.2014 at 02:22

It's funny how nobody has voted on this yet.

The album officially comes out on the 20th. Voting on here can't begin until albums are actually released


dah-ha-ha. my bad. yup i can't wait for it to come out.....
----
Coldgrits
Loading...
14.01.2014 - 16:07
necros4dead
Written by Vitriolic Hate on 09.01.2014 at 23:00

Written by Erik M. on 08.01.2014 at 22:36


Now playing Oi Magoi (what does it even mean? It sounds damn funny )

It's actually greeklish (Οι Μάγοι) which means The Mages/Wizards.



It's Greek (not Greeklish) and yes it means THE WIZARDS.
If you here words that you don't understand it's Greek between English lyrics.
----
Lost In The Battlefield Of Opposite Extremes...
Loading...
14.01.2014 - 16:10
Vitriolic Hate
Chaos Reaper
Written by necros4dead on 14.01.2014 at 16:07

Written by Vitriolic Hate on 09.01.2014 at 23:00

Written by Erik M. on 08.01.2014 at 22:36


Now playing Oi Magoi (what does it even mean? It sounds damn funny )

It's actually greeklish (Οι Μάγοι) which means The Mages/Wizards.



It's Greek (not Greeklish) and yes it means THE WIZARDS.
If you here words that you don't understand it's Greek between English lyrics.

I meant, it's spelled in greeklish & not in proper greek.
Loading...
15.01.2014 - 19:00
Traezeus
I dig this album. This goes without saying, but It's my favorite this year so far
Loading...
16.01.2014 - 17:38
Carrion Misery
It's always good to have, "Satan is time. Satan is time. Satan. Satan." blasting at work, and coworkers give you a weird look. "What is that supposed to be?" lol.
----
-- Carrion Misery
Loading...
16.01.2014 - 17:40
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Carrion Misery on 16.01.2014 at 17:38

It's always good to have, "Satan is time. Satan is time. Satan. Satan." blasting at work, and coworkers give you a weird look. "What is that supposed to be?" lol.

Let me know if you manage to convert anyone with that
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
17.01.2014 - 23:22
strade
Man, this album is classy as fuck. Almost makes me want to take up the megalisting business again. A delight
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
18.01.2014 - 10:17
Shmyt
Holy shit I am loving this, never heard of them, saw this review and gave it a spin and now it is playing nearly constantly it is just a wonderful album and i seriously do not want to stop listening. I have missed lectures because i could not stop listening to this and had no idea of where the time went.
Loading...
19.01.2014 - 17:05
boo-boo
I love this album, though I have to admit PNEUMA hooked me up a lot faster and strogner.
----
World won't end today - it's already tomorrow in Australia.
Loading...
07.03.2014 - 02:37
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
Would I like this? Anyone..that "KNOWS" me?
Loading...
11.03.2014 - 17:37
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by tea[m]ster on 07.03.2014 at 02:37
Would I like this? Anyone..that "KNOWS" me?

It's a lot more exotic than what you normally listen to but I think it's accessible and structured enough that you'll at least consider it "good". I suspect you'd probably end up giving this a 7 or 8.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
11.03.2014 - 20:26
mz
Written by tea[m]ster on 07.03.2014 at 02:37

Would I like this? Anyone..that "KNOWS" me?

Yeah. This is not much intense in its black metal department and is pretty progressive (as stated in review). In theory, I think you'll like it.
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...
18.04.2014 - 16:28
barnesy
I just added Hail Spirit Noire to my band favorites after listening to Oi Magoi for the last week straight. I rated it a 9 but the more I listen it the more I'm leaning toward 10.
Loading...

Hits total: 10341 | This month: 64