Rating:
8.4
Cloak Of Altering - Plague Beasts
29 April 2014


01. Plague Beasts
02. White Inverted Void
03. Translucent Body Deformities
04. Chaos Magician Of The Abyss
05. Ash666ura
06. Into Celestial Hell
07. Altering Forever


As some of you know, I'm a shameless "Mories" fanboy. I always end up having huge expectations for all his new releases and the latest Cloak Of Altering was not an exception. The previous album, Ancient Paths Through Timeless Voids, as well as the NONE EP were turning points for this project as it showed a different side of Mories' works in which electronic elements where heavily used. It seems like Cloak Of Altering got a solid identity and could easily be separated from the rest of his projects. So how does Plague Beasts compare? Is it better or worse? Nah, it's just a bit different.

Cloak Of Altering started as an unusually melodic project by a guy whose main characteristic is being noisy and chaotic as all hell. With new releases, the electronic touches began to appear. Showing a more accessible and mellow vibe (for Mories that is) but keeping a few bursts of dissonant madness here and there. Plague Beasts acts as an obvious step as more electronic and industrial influences are thrown into the mix. This makes it more balanced in terms of combining black metal and electronics. Is it more accessible because of that? Hell no. This is in fact Cloak Of Altering's most oppressive album. It's a colossal mechanical beast.

Right from the start, a change has been noticed. The tempos are more insane than what was displayed on the previous album. The beats are out of control and faster paces dominate this time. Only the melodic synths in the background serve as a last resort in order to stay afloat during the waves of chaos. The vocals remained in classic Mories fashion with high-pitched shrieks combined with disturbingly deep growls.

Another notable change is the production. Plague Beasts has a far more muddy sound and it's more bass-oriented. To be honest, I'd prefer the production to be just a little bit brighter as it'd make some of the hidden melodies more palpable.

On a more personal note, I'm far from disappointed, yet it probably stands as my least favorite Mories work under the Cloak Of Altering name. It's an extremely satisfying listening but it simply doesn't leave me in awe as I'm used to be from his work. But please, don't let this silly nitpicking fool you; Plague Beasts remains one of the highlights of this year in terms of black metal's more out-there projects. Embrace the chaos !!

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 8


Band profile: Cloak Of Altering
Album: Plague Beasts


 


written by Mr. Doctor | 03.06.2014



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 41  
Users visited: 197  
Search this topic:  


mz - 03.06.2014 at 18:09  
Pff fanboys everywhere.
Ilham - 03.06.2014 at 18:09  
Oh oh oh oh. That sounds like something I'd like. You'll get my feedback in 24 hours.
Mr. Doctor - 03.06.2014 at 18:14  
Written by Ilham on 03.06.2014 at 18:09

Oh oh oh oh. That sounds like something I'd like. You'll get my feedback in 24 hours.

You have no idea what you are getting yourself into. Because if you want to check out Cloak Of Altering... Then you must check out all of Mories different projects:
Gnaw Their Tongues, De Magia Veterum, Aderlating, Seirom, Mors Sonat.......

But yeah, I'm curious to know what you think of this. Also, make sure to check out the previous full length as I consider even better.
Apothecary - 03.06.2014 at 18:16  
Quote:

This is in fact Cloak Of Altering's most oppressive album. It's a colossal mechanical beast.


Yep, pretty much how I feel about it. Definitely can see how this songwriting wears Mories the fuck out after a while, as he told us at Roadburn. Great review, took ya long enough
Ilham - 03.06.2014 at 18:25  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.06.2014 at 18:14

You have no idea what you are getting yourself into. Because if you want to check out Cloak Of Altering... Then you must check out all of Mories different projects:
Gnaw Their Tongues, De Magia Veterum, Aderlating, Seirom, Mors Sonat.......
But yeah, I'm curious to know what you think of this. Also, make sure to check out the previous full length as I consider even better.



Yeah, those are in my list, so much to catch up :/. I might give you the freshest and unaltered opinion, since I have no idea what all this sounds like yet .
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.06.2014 at 18:47  
Agreed, probably my least favourite release under this name. Mories' records though are like sex. Even when they aren't the best they're still pretty damn good.
Mr. Doctor - 03.06.2014 at 19:12  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 03.06.2014 at 18:47
Mories' records though are like sex. Even when they aren't the best they're still pretty damn good.


So we get the holy triology of good things: Sex, pizza and Mories' records.
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.06.2014 at 19:16  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.06.2014 at 19:12



So we get the holy triology of good things: Sex, pizza and Mories' records.

It's a well rounded existence I think. Especially when they all happen at once.
Mr. Doctor - 03.06.2014 at 19:19  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 03.06.2014 at 19:16

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.06.2014 at 19:12

So we get the holy triology of good things: Sex, pizza and Mories' records.

It's a well rounded existence I think. Especially when they all happen at once.


You fuck and eat a huge pizza while listening to Mories? You sick fuck.



Wonder if I can find a girly kinky enough to have some of Mories' records in the background during sexy times. Judging by my circle of friends and acquaintances, only Seirom would do... Which ain't bad anyways.
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.06.2014 at 19:20  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.06.2014 at 19:19


You fuck and eat a huge pizza while listening to Mories? You sick fuck.

Wonder if I can find a girly kinky enough to have some of Mories' records in the background during sexy times. Judging by my circle of friends and acquaintances, only Seirom would do... Which ain't bad anyways.

If you ever find the girl that lets you do that, wife her. Immediately.
Lit. - 03.06.2014 at 21:07  


But yeah, I guess I'll give this a shot, too. I listened to NONE a bit ago and remember being hugely impressed, even more so considering I didn't care for the GtT material I dived into.
Ilham - 03.06.2014 at 22:23  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.06.2014 at 19:19

You fuck and eat a huge pizza while listening to Mories? You sick fuck.
Wonder if I can find a girly kinky enough to have some of Mories' records in the background during sexy times. Judging by my circle of friends and acquaintances, only Seirom would do... Which ain't bad anyways.


It's almost as if you called my name.
Mr. Doctor - 03.06.2014 at 22:26  
Written by Ilham on 03.06.2014 at 22:23
It's almost as if you called my name.

There's surely an anagram for your name in that post. :3
Ilham - 03.06.2014 at 22:32  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.06.2014 at 22:26

There's surely an anagram for your name in that post. :3


I came up with one, but it's too easy/silly.
Apothecary - 04.06.2014 at 18:06  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.06.2014 at 18:14

Mors Sonat.......

Sheeeeeeit, there's a sixth one?
Karlabos - 04.06.2014 at 18:10  
Written by Apothecary on 04.06.2014 at 18:06

Sheeeeeeit, there's a sixth one?

Sixth?
!J.O.O.E.! - 04.06.2014 at 18:11  
Mors Sonat is a great project. Hoping to see more of that.
Apothecary - 04.06.2014 at 19:05  
Written by Karlabos on 04.06.2014 at 18:10

Written by Apothecary on 04.06.2014 at 18:06

Sheeeeeeit, there's a sixth one?

Sixth?

1. De Magia Veterum
2. Gnaw Their Tongues
3. Aderlating
4. Cloak Of Altering
5. Seirom

I thought it was just those five
Karlabos - 04.06.2014 at 19:09  
Written by Apothecary on 04.06.2014 at 19:05

I thought it was just those five

I understood. I just linked his profile to show that even with Mors Sonat it isn't just six =)
Apothecary - 04.06.2014 at 19:15  
Written by Karlabos on 04.06.2014 at 19:09

I just linked his profile to show that even with Mors Sonat it isn't just six =)

Ah, didn't catch that link for a second. Damn, bastard's prolific as fuck
Daggon - 04.06.2014 at 20:24  
After reading your review and the comments above, I feel like I've been missing a whole world of music.
I'll be checking the music of this Mories you keep talking about, seems like punish myself for not listening to this before, then again, Mr. Doctor always recommends great music.

By the way, I had sex while listening to Electric Wizard's "Dopethrone" once, it was awesome, still I can't imagine having sex while listening to Black Metal hahaha.
tea[m]ster - 04.06.2014 at 20:59  
Hey Doc, would I dig this? Worth my time checking out?
Mr. Doctor - 04.06.2014 at 22:08  
Written by Apothecary on 04.06.2014 at 18:06
Sheeeeeeit, there's a sixth one?

Written by Karlabos on 04.06.2014 at 18:10
Sixth?

Not all of them are active though. Let's count:

Astral (NED): Not active, only two demos back in the 90s. They are actually available for free in his bandcamp page.
Cloak Of Altering: Active
The Nefarious Cult: Not active. Only one demo. This wasn't any one man band though. He played with some other dude.
De Magia Veterum : Active..... Well, that's what I think! Metal Archives listed it as disbanded this year! I hope that ain't right.
Dimlit Hate Cellar: Only one EP back in 2004. This is apparently the original name before Mories changed it to Gnaw Their Tongues.
Gnaw Their Tongues: Active.
Pompidou: I can't find any info of this project so I assume it's an old one that doesn't exist anymore.
Aderlating: Active. Worth mentioning that this is another project where Mories is not alone. He works with a dude called Eric Eijspaart.
Seirom: Active
Mors Sonat: Active. This is the third active project that I know in which Mories also works with someone else. In this case it's Nekrasov, who plays in a one-man ambient BM with the same name.

So... Yup 6 active projects. He works alone in 4 of those. If we include De Magia Veterum that is.... I really hope MA got it wrong.
Tristus Scriptor - 06.06.2014 at 00:26  
Fanboy here as well. I don't think the man can disappoint me. The type of honest and bewildering expression he pulls off can only be summed up like stated: Similar, or different. I just find that as long as he puts effort into it, being that it is truly "artsy", there's a vast area in which he can explore while remaining top-notch, respectable, and brilliant. My OPINIONS. (I said that because a lot of time on here if you state something in too factual of a way, no matter how positive or correct, someone will stab ya in the groin with a red-hot poker...) Hail Mories and all his projects!
mz - 06.06.2014 at 00:32  
Written by tea[m]ster on 04.06.2014 at 20:59

Hey Doc, would I dig this? Worth my time checking out?

Since he did not answer this, I'm going to say No. You probably would not like it. It's chaotic and intense, with a lot of weird electronic touches.
But anyway, give it a chance, it will take you just 5 minutes to see if you dig it.
Mr. Doctor - 06.06.2014 at 18:35  
Written by tea[m]ster on 04.06.2014 at 20:59
Hey Doc, would I dig this? Worth my time checking out?

My answer will differ from mz a little bit. This particular album might be a bit too much for you but I STILL recommend you to check some stuff because it is unique. Their previous album is less abrassive.
Let's put it this way: Listen to this song (good headphones a must tbh). If you like what you hear: Feel free to go nuts with this project.
Ilham - 08.06.2014 at 03:31  
I told you I'd give feedback. I understand why it's good. I can hear it. I love the industrial aspect. I like incredibly fast beats. But I can't seem to be able to like them all together . I got tired after 20 minutes. Not giving up on this guy, as it looks like he became the Lady GaGa of metal.
Mr. Doctor - 08.06.2014 at 13:13  
Written by Ilham on 08.06.2014 at 03:31

I told you I'd give feedback. I understand why it's good. I can hear it. I love the industrial aspect. I like incredibly fast beats. But I can't seem to be able to like them all together . I got tired after 20 minutes. Not giving up on this guy, as it looks like he became the Lady GaGa of metal.

Heh I was actually about to quote you and ask you if you heard it.
Well I'm glad you could appreacite it. He does have many different projects as you know already so yeah. Don't give up on the dude. Also, not even this project. Check out the previous Cloak Of Altering album as I consider it more balanced. The NONE EP is also great as it goes more in the electronic side of things rather than being too brutal.

The 2011 album, The Night Comes Illuminated With Death. Is also very different since the project didn't really have a solid identity so to speak. It has many symphonic influences together with the dissonance. Thanks for checking it out!
mz - 08.06.2014 at 13:17  
I'd say go for aderlating first. If you like that, it's would be easy to assume that you will like anything else by this man.
Mr. Doctor - 08.06.2014 at 13:18  
Written by mz on 08.06.2014 at 13:17
I'd say go for aderlating first. If you like that, it's would be easy to assume that you will like anything else by this man.

Depends of the person. I for one disagree with this completely. It doesn't really represents all the aspects of Mories' music. I'd say Gnaw Their Tongues is his more rounded up project covering most of the bases his other projects specialize in.
mz - 08.06.2014 at 13:26  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 08.06.2014 at 13:18

Depends of the person. I for one disagree with this completely. It doesn't really represents all the aspects of Mories' music. I'd say Gnaw Their Tongues is his more rounded up project covering most of the bases his other projects specialize in.

That was half serious to be honest.
But, I think some people who like GTT might not be a fan of aderlatint
I turned two of my friends into GTT using aderlating as starting point. They are not able to listen to aderlating on regular basis (or the GTT itself for that matter) but they said that once their virginity was blown away by the aderlating, it was easier to sit for GTT. My point is that if someone likes aderlating, (s)he will probably like GTT,DMV, CoA and MS.
Agreed that GTT is the best representative of him, and the core of his musical efforts, though. My
Ilham - 08.06.2014 at 13:39  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 08.06.2014 at 13:13

Heh I was actually about to quote you and ask you if you heard it.
Well I'm glad you could appreacite it. He does have many different projects as you know already so yeah. Don't give up on the dude. Also, not even this project. Check out the previous Cloak Of Altering album as I consider it more balanced. The NONE EP is also great as it goes more in the electronic side of things rather than being too brutal.
The 2011 album, The Night Comes Illuminated With Death. Is also very different since the project didn't really have a solid identity so to speak. It has many symphonic influences together with the dissonance. Thanks for checking it out!

Glad to see I am the object of your thoughts Rod, I think about you in my sleep too.
Yeah, "appreciate" is the word. I can totally understand what's going on and why you're all having boners for this guy. But I didn't like this. I'll start with the EP, less time consuming, more electronics, that suits me.
Also, I really understood this week that I have much less tolerance for this kind of music, than I had before. After about 25 minutes everything turns into a blur and pisses the hell out of me. So I will only listen to stuff in two or three sittings, otherwise I might not want to give difficult albums like these a second chance. Which I know they deserve, I can hear it.
I'll try The Night Comes Illuminated With Death. Symphonic means so many different things I don't know if I have to be excited or not. If it's CoF "symphonic", no thank you haha.
Mr. Doctor - 08.06.2014 at 13:47  
Written by Ilham on 08.06.2014 at 13:39
I'll try The Night Comes Illuminated With Death. Symphonic means so many different things I don't know if I have to be excited or not. If it's CoF "symphonic", no thank you haha.

We can say that it uses a lot of synths in a very melodic manner. I dunno why I end up using the word symphonic though.
I remember Der wrote in his review the word "royal". It does suit the main atmosphere it evokes.
mz - 08.06.2014 at 13:59  
Written by Ilham on 08.06.2014 at 13:39


...Also, I really understood this week that I have much less tolerance for this kind of music...


Maybe it is just this week
Ilham - 08.06.2014 at 14:02  
Written by mz on 08.06.2014 at 13:59

Maybe it is just this week


Haha. Nice try, but no . I get my period twice a year. I'm a broken clock.
mz - 08.06.2014 at 14:04  
Written by Ilham on 08.06.2014 at 14:02


Haha. Nice try, but no . I get my period twice a year. I'm a broken clock.

what an odd creature you are .
!J.O.O.E.! - 08.06.2014 at 14:06  
Written by mz on 08.06.2014 at 14:04

what an odd creature you are .

Until you learn to like TRoB you'll still be the oddest creature in the village.
Ilham - 08.06.2014 at 14:11  
Written by mz on 08.06.2014 at 14:04

what an odd creature you are .

Eeeeh not at all really, I'm like every other girl, I just need cake in my life and I'm happy. But because of my shit genes, I do get to have cake, so I turned to BM.
Mr. Doctor - 08.06.2014 at 14:24  
Ok, bunch of freaks. Let's that one be the last station of the offtopic-train.

The last track might be my favorite. I dunno. The electronic interlude in the middle is really nice. Although the crazy and fast keyboards in White Inverted Void are pretty brilliant as well.
tea[m]ster - 08.06.2014 at 14:31  
Written by mz on 06.06.2014 at 00:32

Since he did not answer this, I'm going to say No. You probably would not like it. It's chaotic and intense, with a lot of weird electronic touches.
But anyway, give it a chance, it will take you just 5 minutes to see if you dig it.


Thanks for the honest opinion. I'd rather talk to friends about metal rather than waste time digging around the internet for samples, crystal clear youtube vids, etc.
tea[m]ster - 08.06.2014 at 14:32  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.06.2014 at 18:35

Let's put it this way: Listen to this song (good headphones a must tbh). If you like what you hear: Feel free to go nuts with this project.


I will try to get the listen in with headphones sometime today. Stay tuned....and thanks!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Cloak Of Altering - Plague Beasts 7.5 12.02.2014 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Cloak Of Altering - Ancient Paths Through Timeless Voids 5.5 17.02.2013 by -DC-002-
Reviews Cloak Of Altering - The Night Comes Illuminated With Death 5.5 29.10.2011 by Mr. Doctor
News Cloak Of Altering - Debut Another New Track 5 07.04.2014 by mz
Albums Cloak Of Altering - Ancient Paths Through Timeless Voids 4.5 05.11.2012 by Pazdzioch



Hits total: 2052 | This month: 158