Rating:
8.5
Body Count - Manslaughter
10 June 2014


01. Talk S**t, Get Shot
02. Pray For Death
03. 99 Problems BC
04. Back To Rehab
05. Manslaughter
06. Get A Job
07. Institutionalized 2014
08. Pop Bubble [feat. Jamey Jasta]
09. Enter The Dark Side
10. Bitch In The Pit
11. Black Voodoo Sex
12. I Wanna Be A Gangsta
13. I Will Always Love You
14. 99 Problems BC [rock mix]


Let's get one thing straight - this is not a nu metal album. Body Count isn't Limp Bizkit or Korn. This isn't a bunch of suburban white boys spouting nasally high school poetry over drop-A chugging. This is more like the legendary Anthrax/Public Enemy collaboration: real attitude, real power, and a real legend spitting venom over heavy riffs.

Ice-T is angry. He has something to say; he didn't just resurrect this band out of boredom. Intertwining his socially-conscious rage with almost comical violence, Ice-T shouts his rants over mid-paced hardcore tracks and frenetic crossover thrash influenced by D.R.I., Suicidal Tendencies, Rollins Band, and even some modern hardcore acts. Hatebreed's Jamey Jasta provides guest vocals on "Pop Bubble" to underscore Body Count's revitalization. While Black Sabbath still leave their mark, particularly on the gloomy but meaningful "I Will Always Love You," the majority of bluesy, old school giants that complemented the band's thrashier tendencies have fallen by the wayside in favor of newer, heavier influences.

With a few hardcore-style breakdowns, gang vocals, lightning-fast solos, and memorable riffs, Body Count have pulled out all the stops and made a record to bring their classic sound into the 21st century. Murder 4 Hire was a decent record, but it could occasionally sound passionless or mired in itself. Manslaughter is a true Body Count album, the likes of which we haven't seen in nearly 20 years; it strips away all pretensions, atmospherics, and anything more complicated than it should be, returning to the band's roots. Songs like "Back To Rehab," "Get A Job," and the title track bring back the aggression and attitude that made Body Count and Born Dead such powerful albums.

"99 Problems BC" is a heavier re-hash of Ice's 1993 song "99 Problems" (from which Jay-Z took the hook for his hit of the same name); while fans of Ice-T's rap material might appreciate this new take, most fans from the metal side could safely avoid it. Body Count treat us to another semi-cover, in the form of "Institutionalized 2014" - the Suicidal Tendencies classic, updated hilariously for the modern era. "Black Voodoo Sex," meanwhile, continues the story of "Voodoo" from their self-titled debut.

Metal fans who approach this album should recognize that, while Ice-T is Ice-T and brings with him a certain hip-hop mentality, Body Count is more of a hardcore punk/crossover thrash band than anything else. Manslaughter is a violent, heavy-hitting metal album that takes some detours through different approaches, but overall makes Body Count's return a triumphant one.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 7


 



Written on 30.06.2014 by
ScreamingSteelUS
Reviewing since 2010. Reviewing competently since 2013. More metal than you since before the dawn of 'istry.
More reviews by ScreamingSteelUS ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 28  
Users visited: 215  
Search this topic:  


ANGEL REAPER - 01.07.2014 at 00:03  
Hell i gotta check this one...
Lit. - 01.07.2014 at 01:19  
Sounds tasty. Also gonna check it.
Troy Killjoy - 01.07.2014 at 01:42  
This is probably your best review, and not just because I agree with it.
Mr. Doctor - 01.07.2014 at 01:48  
Yeah man, I dig this review a lot. I haven't heard anything by Body Count at all but your review got me pumped to check this shit out!
ScreamingSteelUS - 01.07.2014 at 02:03  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 01.07.2014 at 01:42

This is probably your best review, and not just because I agree with it.

Written by Mr. Doctor on 01.07.2014 at 01:48

Yeah man, I dig this review a lot. I haven't heard anything by Body Count at all but your review got me pumped to check this shit out!

Thanks! I'm quite surprised that nobody has loudly disagreed with it yet.
Darkside Momo - 01.07.2014 at 02:10  
Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 01.07.2014 at 02:03

Thanks! I'm quite surprised that nobody has loudly disagreed with it yet.

haven't listened to the album yet, so I can't comment on that (even if the single sounded lame by Body Count standards), but I agree it's one of your best reviews, dude!
Chronic - 01.07.2014 at 02:12  
Good review man. I like this album a lot. I've always been a fan of Ice-T and Body Count.
ScreamingSteelUS - 01.07.2014 at 02:13  
Written by Darkside Momo on 01.07.2014 at 02:10

Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 01.07.2014 at 02:03

Thanks! I'm quite surprised that nobody has loudly disagreed with it yet.

haven't listened to the album yet, so I can't comment on that (even if the single sounded lame by Body Count standards), but I agree it's one of your best reviews, dude!

sbuswell - 01.07.2014 at 03:29  
Not my thing, but different from most stuff out now and kind of fun to listen to for a short while.
R Lewis - 01.07.2014 at 10:33  
If you were looking for somebody to loudly disagree, here I am. Sorry, but I couldn't take this stuff seriously for more than a minute, it just sounds like a giant joke to me. Seriously, these guys talk shit. Therefore, they get shot.
Michaelis - 01.07.2014 at 17:31  
Maybe not to listen on iPod but this is nice album. I got sentimental attachment for Ice-T from teenage years...
BlueMobius - 01.07.2014 at 18:45  
Written by R Lewis on 01.07.2014 at 10:33

If you were looking for somebody to loudly disagree, here I am. Sorry, but I couldn't take this stuff seriously for more than a minute, it just sounds like a giant joke to me. Seriously, these guys talk shit. Therefore, they get shot.


Lyrics are obviously commentary on the social situations in the United States' ghettos. There literally are people shot and sometimes killed in incidents stemming from verbal altercations. These lyrics may have no bearing on your life in Italy, but that doesn't mean they don't have meaning to someone living in a different social situation than you.
Malignar - 01.07.2014 at 18:49  
Definitely not nu metal. Much more of thrash influence and even a hint of death metal in a few of the chords. Really heavy stuff, I enjoy it.
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.07.2014 at 19:02  
Written by Malignar on 01.07.2014 at 18:49

Definitely not nu metal.


Nowhere does it say that this is nu metal.
Ag Fox - 01.07.2014 at 20:29  
Very convincing review (=
ScreamingSteelUS - 01.07.2014 at 22:39  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.07.2014 at 19:02

Written by Malignar on 01.07.2014 at 18:49

Definitely not nu metal.


Nowhere does it say that this is nu metal.

No, he's just agreeing with what I said in the intro. I thought that anyone unfamiliar with Body Count would look at this band with a well-known rapper as the lead singer and assume it was some kind of nu metal.
ScreamingSteelUS - 01.07.2014 at 22:41  
Written by R Lewis on 01.07.2014 at 10:33

Sorry, but I couldn't take this stuff seriously for more than a minute, it just sounds like a giant joke to me.

I'd say people who listen to Rhapsody Of Fire in glass houses shouldn't throw stones, but I know what you mean.
Troy Killjoy - 01.07.2014 at 22:42  
^ shots fired
ScreamingSteelUS - 01.07.2014 at 22:42  
Written by Ag Fox on 01.07.2014 at 20:29

Very convincing review (=

Thanks!
R Lewis - 01.07.2014 at 23:07  
Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 01.07.2014 at 22:41

I'd say people who listen to Rhapsody Of Fire in glass houses shouldn't throw stones, but I know what you mean.

Touché
Rulatore - 02.07.2014 at 04:15  
Written by R Lewis on 01.07.2014 at 10:33

If you were looking for somebody to loudly disagree, here I am. Sorry, but I couldn't take this stuff seriously for more than a minute, it just sounds like a giant joke to me. Seriously, these guys talk shit. Therefore, they get shot.

that pun
Ilham - 02.07.2014 at 05:01  
You need a compliment for your review, sir. Would you have been explaining I should get in your van because you had candy, I would have. I'm listening to this right way.
Cill O' Connor - 02.07.2014 at 12:44  
Listened to first few seconds of 'Talk Shit, Get Shot' and turned off. I understand the appeal of mixing the two aggressive styles of rap and metal together, but I can never find anyone who pulls it off in style, as opposed to cringe.
ScreamingSteelUS - 02.07.2014 at 13:06  
Written by Ilham on 02.07.2014 at 05:01

You need a compliment for your review, sir. Would you have been explaining I should get in your van because you had candy, I would have. I'm listening to this right way.

I promise to use my powers of persuasion for metal and not for evil, except in those instances when the two are the same.
Ilham - 02.07.2014 at 14:01  
Written by ScreamingSteelUS on 02.07.2014 at 13:06
I promise to use my powers of persuasion for metal and not for evil, except in those instances when the two are the same.

Too bad.

The title track is awesome, and Institutionalized is hilarious. It didn't take me long to like it.
I was always reluctant to try Body Count, although I have listened to more than a couple Ice-T solo albums. I'm going to listen to that controverted Cop Killer album that I heard about many times.
Mr. Doctor - 02.07.2014 at 16:19  
Damn, I'm listening to some of the tracks and shiiiiiieeeeeeeet.

Zack, eat your heart out because Ice-T is rocking this motherfucker.
Mattybu - 02.07.2014 at 19:40  
Pretty good review SS, I'm interested in checking this one out. For some reason I have a certain level of skepticism about it, because an actual really good crossover album doesn't come along too often, but that being said I think Ice T's mindset was in the right place for this album, based on some interviews I read.
Jtbmetal123 - 06.07.2014 at 07:55  
This is a great review for the album. Its better than what people think.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Body Count - Manslaughter 6 23.05.2014 by Jtbmetal123
News Body Count - Premiere New Video 4.5 23.01.2015 by TrueMetalJope
Albums Body Count - Murder 4 Hire 4.5 14.05.2014 by Jtbmetal123
Albums Body Count - Born Dead 4.5 23.01.2015 by Bad English
Albums Body Count - Body Count 4.5 21.08.2012 by



Hits total: 3793 | This month: 1