Rating:
9.4
Lantlôs - Melting Sun
2 May 2014


01. Melting Sun I: Azure Chimes
02. Melting Sun II: Cherry Quartz
03. Melting Sun III: Aquamarine Towers
04. Melting Sun IV: Jade Fields
05. Melting Sun V: Oneironaut
06. Melting Sun VI: Golden Mind
07. Melting Sun VII [artbook bonus]


Another semi-quasi-black metal band has taken all the "black" out of their music in favor of a relatively fresh and trendy, dare I say, "hipster" sound. Markus Siegenhort, aka Herbst, has fancied his band Lantlôs to contemporary and utopian heights. Provocative and emotive, Lantlôs show every sign of picking up the pieces after their surprising but drama-free divorce from Neige. Wanting to move on, there is no post-Neige hangover here, thank you very much.

Melting Sun pretty much will be a shock to anyone wanting anything resembling Lantlôs's last two releases, .neon and Agape. Those two albums are mighty fine examples of perfect crossbreeding between shoegazing and black metal. Although Neige was relegated to singing on those albums, his influence on the overall sound cannot go unnoticed. Alcest is the measuring stick every metalgaze band wants to size up and Lantlôs have established a demeanor refreshing to a scene fueled with a lack of diversity.

Right from the outset and through the end of this 40-minute spectacle, Melting Sun transits a perfect combination of concrete and aggressive song structures and dreamy, abstract climates. A virtual stockpile of charming and harmonious soft-metal moments, the ascendancy is a welcome change. The album delivers an effort of staggering thickness, savory sadness, and a wandering limitless acceptance. Like most dreampop and shoegaze music, there is a euphoric sense of buildup; the entire vibe of the album creates an almost plodding crescendo of the most overwhelming sense of anticipation.

To me, ever since Líam, Herbst has been a master of forging perfect guitar dispositions and textures. The massive wall of those layered guitar tones are the principal merits on this album. He just has a knack for combining melody and mesmeric moments of audio elation with ruthlessness and anguish. Heavily processed bass guitar, synthesizers, and drum work create a blissy, dreamlike, and majestic sonic template that's equally emotionally intense.

Now that Neige is gone, Herbst has taken over the vocal duties. Nothing special, his voice seems only to aid the darkening sound that somehow now seems to be made more brilliant and prismatic. Moreover, his voice eases along with beautiful melodies and gorgeous passages that collide gracefully with ambient chords and tremelo-picked noodling. Excessive use of reverb and echoey guitar lines allow the songs to vent celestial and spacey beams of light. All of these peripherals collectively are downright transcendent.

We may have to include this new era of Lantlôs under the umbrella of post-rock, and after listening to this incredible album I do not have any doubts Melting Sun will recruit new fans - or put off old ones. I, for one, love the entire package and applaud Herbst for taking a bit of a risk by creating an album under his own terms and conditions. I can't think of any more adjectives to describe this release, just go listen to it and enjoy.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 10


Band profile: Lantlôs
Album: Melting Sun


 



Written on 02.07.2014 by
tea[m]ster
Be gentle, I never said I was any good at this!
More reviews by tea[m]ster ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 47  
Users visited: 231  
Search this topic:  


Schnabeltier 24 - 02.07.2014 at 14:01  
Wow, this sounds appealing ! Although I'm not really into that type of music, I'll check this out.
mz - 02.07.2014 at 15:47  
Despite the fact that I don't have interest in this type of metal, the review is tempting. Shall go for this one.
Very well written review, again
God Alone - 02.07.2014 at 17:01  
Flawless album, top-notch songwriting. It's relatively short but not a second is wasted, not even in the beautiful instrumental, a perfect bridge between the catharsis of Jade Fields and the closer (reminds me of Cocteau Twins).
Vocals could be better but they fit pretty well the music - which rather relies on its shimmering textures.
Album of the year, for me. Proof that you can change your music without sounding like a watered-down version of yourself. Yes, Neige, I'm talking about you.
Ag Fox - 02.07.2014 at 17:09  
I don't share your enthusiasm on this album =P
Verdun_sc - 02.07.2014 at 18:50  
I wanted to like this. The first half of Azure Chimes is just so good. The shame is, the rest of the album after those four minutes is just really, really boring.
Apothecary - 02.07.2014 at 20:49  
Yeah, I have some really mixed emotions about this album. I do think it's pretty well written and really beautiful at points, but I'm still not really digging the whole "blackgaze" movement as a whole
Mr. Doctor - 02.07.2014 at 21:33  
Written by Apothecary on 02.07.2014 at 20:49
Yeah, I have some really mixed emotions about this album. I do think it's pretty well written and really beautiful at points, but I'm still not really digging the whole "blackgaze" movement as a whole

But why would your view of a genre affect the view of one specific album?
!J.O.O.E.! - 02.07.2014 at 21:34  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 02.07.2014 at 21:33

But why would your view of a genre affect the view of one specific album?

Think he just means he's not into blackgaze so his enjoyment of this is always going to be somewhat diminished.

I always found Lantlos a boring load of arse so I probably won't even check this out.
Mr. Doctor - 02.07.2014 at 21:36  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.07.2014 at 21:34
I always found Lantlos a boring load of arse so I probably won't even check this out.

In that case... I'll allow it.
!J.O.O.E.! - 02.07.2014 at 21:38  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 02.07.2014 at 21:36

In that case... I'll allow it.

I like the cover art though.
Mr. Doctor - 02.07.2014 at 21:40  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.07.2014 at 21:38

Written by Mr. Doctor on 02.07.2014 at 21:36

In that case... I'll allow it.

I like the cover art though.


Yeah, the artwork is pretty awesome. I'd love to have that vinyl size. I heard some tracks a while ago and I remember liking it. It felt very solid and not at all as redundant as the sound from other bands.
Apothecary - 02.07.2014 at 22:31  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 02.07.2014 at 21:33

Written by Apothecary on 02.07.2014 at 20:49
Yeah, I have some really mixed emotions about this album. I do think it's pretty well written and really beautiful at points, but I'm still not really digging the whole "blackgaze" movement as a whole

But why would your view of a genre affect the view of one specific album?

It was my way of saying that I don't generally enjoy blackgaze, but I am liking this specific album
tea[m]ster - 03.07.2014 at 03:47  
Written by Apothecary on 02.07.2014 at 20:49

Yeah, I have some really mixed emotions about this album. I do think it's pretty well written and really beautiful at points, but I'm still not really digging the whole "blackgaze" movement as a whole


Don't you think the 'black' in this record is pretty much non-existent Che? I hear post rock with a huge dreampop and shoegaze backdrop.
tea[m]ster - 03.07.2014 at 03:49  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.07.2014 at 21:34

I always found Lantlos a boring load of arse so I probably won't even check this out.


This is quite different than previous Lantlos efforts Joe, I bet you wouldn't like this at all...at least give it a try to confirm my intuition.
Troy Killjoy - 03.07.2014 at 04:03  
Written by tea[m]ster on 03.07.2014 at 03:47
Don't you think the 'black' in this record is pretty much non-existent Che? I hear post rock with a huge dreampop and shoegaze backdrop.

I'm with you on that one. There's hardly any metal elements to be found here - it's pretty much post-rock and shoegaze with a slightly metallic edge to it. Probably about 1% black metal. If you're not into the whole blackgaze thing that's fine since it won't have any impact on your opinion of this album.
tea[m]ster - 03.07.2014 at 04:09  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 03.07.2014 at 04:03

I'm with you on that one.


Yea Troy I just don't see it. I am hoping that metal fans won't get scared to give this a try. I mean the layered guitars are so gorgeous sounding and crushing.
Ilham - 03.07.2014 at 04:13  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.07.2014 at 21:34

I always found Lantlos a boring load of arse so I probably won't even check this out.

Surprised by the extent of your laziness. Weird, could have sworn you'd love it. I did.
Troy Killjoy - 03.07.2014 at 04:13  
I think this is as good a site as any for this kind of album to receive positive attention, although it might still do relatively poorly considering the general reaction to the latest Alcest release. Personally I'm not a fan of either, but people who appreciate either post-rock or shoegaze will likely find something to like about this.
tea[m]ster - 03.07.2014 at 04:17  
Written by Ilham on 03.07.2014 at 04:13

Surprised by the extent of your laziness. Weird, could have sworn you'd love it. I did.


I don't think he digs anything in the shoegaze/dreampop genre...I'm trying to remember....oh he may like early Alcest.
Ilham - 03.07.2014 at 04:25  
Written by tea[m]ster on 03.07.2014 at 04:17
I don't think he digs anything in the shoegaze/dreampop genre...I'm trying to remember....oh he may like early Alcest.

He'll tell us himself.
I personally liked this, first encounter with Lantlôs. I like some dreampop here and there, but I wouldn't consider myself a fan of the genre. And Alcest really pisses me off now. I'm full of contradictions.
tea[m]ster - 03.07.2014 at 04:29  
Written by Ilham on 03.07.2014 at 04:25

I personally liked this, first encounter with Lantlôs. I like some dreampop here and there, but I wouldn't consider myself a fan of the genre. And Alcest really pisses me off now. I'm full of contradictions.


Glad you dig it. It's a heavier type of dreampop, the production is perfect.
Ilham - 03.07.2014 at 04:34  
Written by tea[m]ster on 03.07.2014 at 04:29

Glad you dig it. It's a heavier type of dreampop, the production is perfect.

That is why I do. No whimsical high-pitched female vocals either, which is a huge plus.
tea[m]ster - 03.07.2014 at 04:40  
Written by Ilham on 03.07.2014 at 04:34

No whimsical high-pitched female vocals either, which is a huge plus.


Lol, but sometimes I need whimsical high-pitched female voice...like....ummm... that girl from Flyleaf. I am Jay btw, pleasure to meet you, don't think we've ever "talked".
Apothecary - 03.07.2014 at 04:44  
Written by tea[m]ster on 03.07.2014 at 03:47

Don't you think the 'black' in this record is pretty much non-existent Che? I hear post rock with a huge dreampop and shoegaze backdrop.

Well giving it another spin, you're probably right, but then I admittedly haven't listened to that much of the style anyway, so I can't say I'm entirely sure whether or not the majority of other bands sound something like this, or employ more BM in their mix.
tea[m]ster - 03.07.2014 at 04:49  
Written by Apothecary on 03.07.2014 at 04:44

so I can't say I'm entirely sure whether or not the majority of other bands sound something like this, or employ more BM in their mix.


I would say the VAST majority of blackgaze don't sound like this. Deafheaven, Krallice, AAFCT and Altar Of Plagues have very noticable black metal elements in their sound. Give this one a few spins Che, if I had to pick an AOTY for the first half of '14, this would be it.
Ilham - 03.07.2014 at 04:50  
Written by tea[m]ster on 03.07.2014 at 04:40

Lol, but sometimes I need whimsical high-pitched female voice...like....ummm... that girl from Flyleaf. I am Jay btw, pleasure to meet you, don't think we've ever "talked".

I was thinking about something similar to the in girl Amesoeurs actually. I have no idea if she's a regular though. I find the Flyleaf girl just as annoying. The only thing I can picture when listening to vocals like that is a Kenzo perfume TV ad. I mean, the vocals, just the vocals.

Hi Jay, I'm Ilham, I L H A M, as in "ill" and "ham". Enchantée, indeed we have never had the pleasure of discoursing.
tea[m]ster - 03.07.2014 at 04:55  
Written by Ilham on 03.07.2014 at 04:50

I was thinking about something similar to the in girl Amesoeurs actually. I have no idea if she's a regular though. I find the Flyleaf girl just as annoying. The only thing I can picture when listening to vocals like that is a Kenzo perfume TV ad. I mean, the vocals, just the vocals.

Hi Jay, I'm Ilham, I L H A M, as in "ill" and "ham". Enchantée, indeed we have never had the pleasure of discoursing.


I actually like the girl's voice from the Dum Dum Girls, heard of them? It's amazing how vocals can be the deal breaker when listening to music. I find that most of the post-hardcore I try gets a neg because of those dam kiddy-vocals.

I've seen you around the MS Park hootin' and a hollerin' but never had the balls to stop by....I finally grew a pair... lol
Ilham - 03.07.2014 at 05:17  
Written by tea[m]ster on 03.07.2014 at 04:55
I actually like the girl's voice from the Dum Dum Girls, heard of them? It's amazing how vocals can be the deal breaker when listening to music. I find that most of the post-hardcore I try gets a neg because of those dam kiddy-vocals.

I've seen you around the MS Park hootin' and a hollerin' but never had the balls to stop by....I finally grew a pair... lol

Same here. I usually have a huge problem with female vocals in metal and rock. And I know the Dum Dum Girls, very catchy tunes! She has the kind of voice I like, and can tolerate for a whole album. Garbage girl does it the way I like it too.

I've read a couple of your reviews and seen you around. I do abuse the shoutbox if that's what you're referring to . But there is no need to have balls to talk to me, look at the sad sods I associate with.

Anyway. To legitimize the off-topicness: the whispery childish whimsical female singing in post-rock/dreampop/post-whatever is usually what keeps me from enjoying the rest of the music. I often try to look for bands that do it instrumental only, but it's too much of a hassle. If you have any names...
tea[m]ster - 03.07.2014 at 05:26  
Written by Ilham on 03.07.2014 at 05:17

Garbage girl does it the way I like it too.

I often try to look for bands that do it instrumental only, but it's too much of a hassle. If you have any names...


Yes, Garbage Version 2.0 is a guilty pleasure of mine. Shirley Manson can flat-out sing.

Shouldn't be too much of a problem because A) post-whatever albums genrally don't have a lot of singing on them anyways and B) I know you are a hard worker, so take some time someday and check out my user lists. Plenty of good stuff to go around.
Ilham - 03.07.2014 at 05:36  
Written by tea[m]ster on 03.07.2014 at 05:26

Yes, Garbage Version 2.0 is a guilty pleasure of mine. Shirley Manson can flat-out sing.

Shouldn't be too much of a problem because A) post-whatever albums genrally don't have a lot of singing on them anyways and B) I know you are a hard worker, so take some time someday and check out my user lists. Plenty of good stuff to go around.

Why does it have to be guilty?

Well that's the thing. I have a lot to do. I took a six year break in all things that could be affiliated to metal. Around the time Alcest became big for example. Will do, bookmarked the post/blablabla one.
Mr. Doctor - 03.07.2014 at 20:00  
Also, as far as Joe. Last time I checked he actually enjoys Alcest debut and Le Secret EP. I like Amesoeurs' vocals D: Also, Flyleaf makes me go just... urgh. The vocals xD
ANYWAYS, about this album. I should give it a spin soon. As I said earlier, I remember liking some of the tracks they released earlier. Lantlôs are definitely doing this shit better than what Alcest is doing nowdays.

Written by Ilham on 03.07.2014 at 05:17
But there is no need to have balls to talk to me, look at the sad sods I associate with.

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHH...HEY WAIT A MINUTE!!!
Slayer666 - 03.07.2014 at 20:08  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.07.2014 at 20:00

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHH...


Oh man, I needed this clip in my life so much... xD
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.07.2014 at 20:14  
Written by Ilham on 03.07.2014 at 04:13

Surprised by the extent of your laziness. Weird, could have sworn you'd love it. I did.

5 years ago I might have, but I tired of the whole post-rock / punk / gaze thing in black metal a long time ago. Had a brief listen of a song from this and it sounded more like post-metal to me. Wasn't bad, but not something I'd really listen to either.
Slayer666 - 03.07.2014 at 20:20  
Yea, judging by what I've heard from this so far, there's definitively a fair bit of metal in it, not just heavier dream pop as teamster says. It's pretty decent stuff too.
Ilham - 03.07.2014 at 20:28  
I knew Doc would jump at that little joke .

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 03.07.2014 at 20:14

5 years ago I might have, but I tired of the whole post-rock / punk / gaze thing in black metal a long time ago. Had a brief listen of a song from this and it sounded more like post-metal to me. Wasn't bad, but not something I'd really listen to either.

That's exactly it. As I told Jay, I left around the time Neige started provoking erections everywhere. I didn't have the time to get sick of it.
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.07.2014 at 20:29  
Written by Ilham on 03.07.2014 at 20:28

That's exactly it. As I told Jay, I left around the time Neige started provoking erections everywhere. I didn't have the time to get sick of it.

He seemed to plant his seed everywhere. What a massive slut.
InnerSelf - 03.07.2014 at 20:44  
Loved the review Jay. Herbst is developing his own sound nicely and he doesn't seem afraid of using this sort of dense, crystal clear production which is not what's standard for the shoegaze/dreampop sort of albums.
The replay value of the album is great too, as I keep finding new details with every subsequent listens (and there has been many).
telephonebear - 03.07.2014 at 23:48  
I thought the album art was an ice cream at first
Karlabos - 04.07.2014 at 00:04  
Written by telephonebear on 03.07.2014 at 23:48

I thought the album art was an ice cream at first

Cannot be unseen
tea[m]ster - 05.07.2014 at 11:52  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.07.2014 at 20:00

ANYWAYS, about this album. I should give it a spin soon.


I forgot to mention in the review be sure to pick up the special art book edition because the bonus track is awesome and ends the album with a huge exclamation point!
AnGina-- - 05.07.2014 at 20:22  
Great album, great review. Nothing else needs to be said.
Blast 76 - 08.07.2014 at 13:31  
Not in the mood for this..... but the work is good...
BoxCar Willy - 09.07.2014 at 17:42  
I find this extremely boring, but to each his own I guess.
tea[m]ster - 10.07.2014 at 16:00  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 09.07.2014 at 17:42

I find this extremely boring, but to each his own I guess.


Really? I thought for sure this is right up your alley. Maybe the post rock direction on this has turned you off a bit..
BoxCar Willy - 10.07.2014 at 21:23  
Written by tea[m]ster on 10.07.2014 at 16:00

Really? I thought for sure this is right up your alley. Maybe the post rock direction on this has turned you off a bit..

Yeah I get bad vibes from this, I feel like it's really trying to be fresh and new with a "Hey look no more black" outlook but it doesn't really achieve that in my opinion.

I've never really liked The band minus the song Pulse/Surreal which is a masterpiece, so that probably subconciously affects how I think about this too
Diverge - 14.07.2014 at 06:09  
I need to check this one out. Gorgeous review, Jay!
tea[m]ster - 15.07.2014 at 04:48  
Holy fuck, I just listened to this again, by myself, with headphones, paying attention to every spec of detail...folks, this is my AOTY. So fucking beautiful, I felt tears comin' on. It just hits the heart in the right spot....no I haven't been drinking.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Lantlôs - Melting Sun 6 24.03.2014 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Cardamon - Sun As Never 2.5 11.01.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Sun Caged - Sun Caged 2.5 06.11.2009 by ponderer
Reviews Sun Caged - Artemisia 2.5 31.07.2007 by SacredBlade
Reviews Swallow The Sun - The Morning Never Came 2.5 27.11.2008 by BestMetalstormer



Hits total: 3492 | This month: 104