Slumber - Fallout review



Reviewer:
8.6

264 users:
8.80
Band: Slumber
Album: Fallout
Release date: October 2004


01. Rapture
02. Conflict
03. Where Nothing Was Left
04. Fallout
05. Distress
06. Dreamscape
07. A Wanderer's Star


Slumber is a half Swedish half Persian atmospheric death/doom metal band based in Sweden. After releasing two demo's they have now given out their first debut full length album Fallout.

The album starts with the opening track Rapture, a mid-paced song with a melancholic atmosphere and depressive touch, almost leaning towards gothic/doom and the gothic influences are much clearer in the end of the song when we hear some backup female vocals (almost orchestral). The second track is more melodic and the guitar work immediately reminds me of mid-period Katatonia and the Katatonia influences are crystal clear. The overall atmosphere and feeling of this album also reminds me a bit of Rapture.

I think that Fallout and Distress must be my favourite tracks from this album, very melodic and emotional. Also the cover and artwork are very nice and depressive and fit perfectly with the rest of the mood from this album. Another great thing with this album is that it's constantly "moving" forward. It's definitely not dry or repetitive and although it manages to keep the same kind of feeling throughout the album, each song has its own special sound and moments.

The only complaint that I have about this album is that I feel like the vocals are somehow trapped under the strong melodic layer of this album. Don't misunderstand me, I think that the vocals are good and I like the growls, but it's almost as if it's coming from down a basement or something and I feel like it needs more energy so it can get the same space in the songs as the rest of the instruments.

However, this is overall a great album and should appeal to fans of bands such as: Katatonia, Rapture, Paradise Lost, Tristania or anyone that seeks melodic, emotional and melancholic music.

Written by Azhidahak | 20.12.2004


 


Comments

Comments: 19   Visited by: 220 users
19.03.2007 - 09:04
CrypticMyth
Metal Scientist
This album is unbelievable!!
----
"You're all the same, the lot of you, with your long hair and faggot clothes. Drugs, sex, every sort of filth. And you hate the police, don't you? You make it easy."
Loading...
21.03.2007 - 18:46
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Downloaded it when I found the thread, and fell in love with it. Some really good stuff, better than most of the bands which it is influenced by I must say.

Recommendation!
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
13.04.2007 - 14:48
Merchant of Doom
fantastic melodic doom... topped only by Hanging Garden's debut album...
Loading...
16.04.2007 - 08:48
Jason W.
Razorbliss
This Cd has all the elements I like in this type of doom (the only kind I care for), but for some reason it feels concocted and detached from emotion. It just seems like music that's made to sound like it's supposed to. A 7 from me.
----
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
Loading...
13.05.2007 - 15:55
metal2000
ONE OF THE BEST DOOM METAL I EVER HEARD IN MY WHOLE LIFE, THANK YOU FOR YOUR SONGS
Loading...
13.05.2007 - 16:16
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by metal2000 on 13.05.2007 at 15:55

ONE OF THE BEST DOOM METAL I EVER HEARD IN MY WHOLE LIFE, THANK YOU FOR YOUR SONGS


Please don't write in all caps.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
21.05.2007 - 07:36
metal2000
Written by Lucas on 13.05.2007 at 16:16

Written by metal2000 on 13.05.2007 at 15:55

ONE OF THE BEST DOOM METAL I EVER HEARD IN MY WHOLE LIFE, THANK YOU FOR YOUR SONGS


Please don't write in all caps.



WHY
Loading...
21.05.2007 - 20:24
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by metal2000 on 21.05.2007 at 07:36

Written by Lucas on 13.05.2007 at 16:16

Written by metal2000 on 13.05.2007 at 15:55

ONE OF THE BEST DOOM METAL I EVER HEARD IN MY WHOLE LIFE, THANK YOU FOR YOUR SONGS


Please don't write in all caps.


WHY


Because it is tiring to read. Call me a whino, but believe me, if you read caps all day it gets annoying. And caps are usually meant for screaming, which is also annoying.

SEE WHAT I MEAN?!?!
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
03.06.2008 - 17:18
THE_BLACK_GOD
Account deleted
i will check it for sure it seems nice thanks for nice review
Loading...
22.06.2008 - 12:06
THE_BLACK_GOD
Account deleted
really nice album recommend to any Doom lover
Loading...
23.12.2008 - 21:58
LebRuins
Account deleted
Only two words: Mind Blowing

Highly Recommended for any Doom or Melodic metal fan
Loading...
04.02.2009 - 22:49
MELANCOHOLIC
A masterpiece
Loading...
11.05.2009 - 21:49
Land Of Doom
Very Nice Album Espicially Distress Its Very Wonderful
----
We Only Fear What Comes
And Smell Death Every Day
Search For The Answers That Lie Beyond
Loading...
12.02.2011 - 19:50
metaleaterr
abstract_bliss
Some songs are just good,some very good,some superb and some few are gems....this album is one of 'em.a real melodic masterpiece....criminally underrated...this band deserves far more attention
Loading...
11.03.2011 - 04:39
SimbelmynëAshes
Such a great discovery. Amazing album. Rapture, Conflict, Dreamscape...
Loading...
14.06.2011 - 20:44
Vonpire
OMG , what a "lost" gem!

Amazing!!!
----
Beware the Shadows of Dusk
Loading...
29.10.2011 - 14:50
Justicelust
Whoever find this it means found a treasure but unfortunately they split up which is the worst thing that happened in Metal imo.
Loading...
26.11.2011 - 05:22
Helvegr
Written by Justicelust on 29.10.2011 at 14:50

Whoever find this it means found a treasure but unfortunately they split up which is the worst thing that happened in Metal imo.

They formed a new band called Atoma (although nowhere near as good), and Jari (the guitarist) is working on his own material which sounds amazing.
Loading...
26.11.2011 - 16:58
Justicelust
Written by Helvegr on 26.11.2011 at 05:22

Written by Justicelust on 29.10.2011 at 14:50

Whoever find this it means found a treasure but unfortunately they split up which is the worst thing that happened in Metal imo.

They formed a new band called Atoma (although nowhere near as good), and Jari (the guitarist) is working on his own material which sounds amazing.


I know about Atoma, their debut album isn't released yet. I have heard some demos of Jari's material and I'm blown away, I think it's better than Slumber. thanks for telling me
Loading...

Hits total: 6947 | This month: 41