Arcturus - Arcturian review



Reviewer:
N/A

276 users:
8.23
Band: Arcturus
Album: Arcturian
Release date: May 2015


Disc I [Arcturian]
01. The Arcturian Sign
02. Crashland
03. Angst
04. Warp
05. Game Over
06. Demon
07. Pale
08. The Journey
09. Archer
10. Bane

Disc II [Rearcturianized - Limited Mediabook Edition]
01. Angst [Industrial Club Remix by Pride And Fall]
02. Archer [Sun Of The Sleepless Geisterbahn Remix]
03. Game Over [Germ Remix]
04. Warp [Wormhole Remix by Encephalon]
05. Angst [Nailbomb Remix by Fractured]
06. Arcturian Psychedelic Sign [by MøllarN]
07. Warp [Germ Remix]
08. Pale [Necro Deathmort Remix]


Imagine you are returning to a familiar place after a long period away. Since you've been gone a while you have been looking forward to returning for a long time. You have pictures in your head of what the place looked like. You know its people, its scents, and its colors during the seasons. You also have an idea of how the place might have developed. People might have left and new ones moved there. Buildings could have been razed to make room for new ones, streets refurbished, new colors all around. Yet you know, once you return, you will pick up that familiar scent, meet the old people, see the old colors and eventually feel at home just as you were.

The place we are returning to now is the music of Arcturus, who, after a seven-year-long hiatus, somewhat surprisingly announced new material in 2012 and then, finally, delivered Arcturian this year. The title alone sounds like a promise. It sounds like this is as "arcturian" as it is going to get; like this would be the very essence of Arcturus, its core ingredients simmered down to produce that familiar scent that we've been looking for so long. And that is exactly what this album is.

Arcturian is a bit on the heavy side compared to its predecessors, which is a warm welcome for fans of their early work, especially their debut. Vortex's quasi-operatic voice is omnipresent on these songs, just as expected. But there is a new, more aggressive element to it when it ventures into growls and shrieks ever so carefully to remind us of Aspera Hiems Symfonia without becoming an end in itself. The overall texture of the songs is enriched by slightly more ostensible drums and very cleanly separated instruments. Both Hellhammer and Møllarn deliver a flawless performance that combines new elements with familiar riffs and beats just as violin and keys do in their melodies. While the album has an overall faster feel to it than its predecessors due to lack of a true mid-tempo piece, all songs here have elements reminiscent of previous ones. Be it a certain melody, a synth intro, a guitar riff, or just Vortex's voice; they all oscillate between accustomed and new without sacrificing song structure to familiarity. The same applies to its lyrics; Vortex continues old stories in certain songs, picks up old themes or creates new ones in others. Slower parts are now used only to accentuate songs and provide some breathing room every now and then, contributing to the slightly heavier and faster sound.

The band claim they just let themselves go in the studio and this is the outcome and I believe every word of it. Arcturian feels like they held back way longer than necessary to produce something truly great: an album that both summarizes their previous work and raises anticipation for more. Its components are carefully interweaved so as to always provide a happy place for the listener while experimenting with a new influence. The outcome sounds undeniably "arcturian" and its clean production delivers the same ambience that has been Arcturus' trademark since La Masquerade Infernale.

Going back to my initial metaphor, this really does feel like coming home. All the colors and the scents are here after all. On this album you will meet old friends and make new ones while discovering everything that is new in a place that you have been away from far too long. Set whatever reservation you may have aside. There may be bands out there, losing their style come time and age, but not this one. There is not much more to say about Arcturian than that it is a true Arcturus album. If this is what the band's future holds, I'm already looking forward to the next one.

Written by corrupt | 22.12.2015


 


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 283 users
22.12.2015 - 02:24
psykometal
A staff guy...
Wonderful read. Masterful praise. Couldn't agree more.
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
22.12.2015 - 02:32
Darkside Momo
Retired
An apt metaphor indeed
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
22.12.2015 - 06:06
Lit.
Account deleted
Definitely their best album next to The Sham Mirrors.
Loading...
22.12.2015 - 13:12
Danny Thomas
Great review. I am three tracks in and have already fallen in love with the album. The Sham Mirrors has been one of my favorite albums for many years, and I always thought Garm's voice was perfect. Could never really get into Vortex's voice before, but he really pulls it off in this album; I'm sold.
----
Our children are dead. Burnt in the ruins that were left by war.
Loading...
22.12.2015 - 15:39
Paw!!
Nice one.
Loading...
22.12.2015 - 22:21
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by psykometal on 22.12.2015 at 02:24

Wonderful read. Masterful praise. Couldn't agree more.


I like reviews when ppl sya not about music, but suing metaphors as he did in opening paragraph , rest is just words, what ppl say, musical side, well I never pay attention to it, but to me only Aspera Hiems Symfonia is good
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
23.12.2015 - 18:26
corrupt
With a lowercase c
Written by Bad English on 22.12.2015 at 22:21
I like reviews when ppl sya not about music, but suing metaphors as he did in opening paragraph , rest is just words, what ppl say, musical side, well I never pay attention to it, but to me only Aspera Hiems Symfonia is good

Sooo, are you saying you like it or you didn't? I can't really make much of this; but if you didn't listen to Arcturus after Aspera, you've been missing out on a lot!
----


Schwarzmetall!
Loading...
23.12.2015 - 18:51
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by corrupt on 23.12.2015 at 18:26

Written by Bad English on 22.12.2015 at 22:21
I like reviews when ppl sya not about music, but suing metaphors as he did in opening paragraph , rest is just words, what ppl say, musical side, well I never pay attention to it, but to me only Aspera Hiems Symfonia is good

Sooo, are you saying you like it or you didn't? I can't really make much of this; but if you didn't listen to Arcturus after Aspera, you've been missing out on a lot!


I tried at time when I was newby here , then I did not like, tried 2008 did not like, but some songs was ok in 2011 ... now I need listen
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
23.12.2015 - 19:26
MelancholiaC
This was the most "fun" album to listen to for me this year; avant-garde may be a difficult style to get into, but this album is definitely within my Top 5 of 2015.
Loading...
30.12.2015 - 14:05
Constantine
Account deleted
Arcturian might be their best release so far imo, I love their first 3 albums too though.
Loading...
07.01.2016 - 21:13
Dave FC
A good and proper review for an album like this. Congrats.

No doubt this is the most eclectic and diverse album from their career. As you said (i think), a remembrance, a melting pot of their previous work, but sounding fresh. It also features, imo, Arcturus' best vocals ever; and Vortex's best offering of his entire career. I just love how he/they use different fxs according to each song.
Songs like Game Over, Crashland and Pale (especially the first half) are just mindblowing.
Superb.
Loading...
07.01.2016 - 23:56
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 30.12.2015 at 14:05

Arcturian might be their best release so far imo,


sorry, but...
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
08.01.2016 - 01:54
Constantine
Account deleted
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.01.2016 at 23:56

Written by Guest on 30.12.2015 at 14:05

Arcturian might be their best release so far imo,


sorry, but...


Please dont give me this bullshit, its their best or 2nd best imo.

Sham Mirrors> Arcturian > debut > masquerade.
Loading...
24.08.2016 - 14:48
Dave FC
Written by Guest on 08.01.2016 at 01:54

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.01.2016 at 23:56

Written by Guest on 30.12.2015 at 14:05

Arcturian might be their best release so far imo,


sorry, but...


Please dont give me this bullshit, its their best or 2nd best imo.

Sham Mirrors> Arcturian > debut > masquerade.

^ You forgot Sideshow Symphonies... A shame on their career.
Edit: but I must say La Masquerade Infernale is ABSOLUTELY their best, imo.
Loading...

Hits total: 4752 | This month: 26